• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Can Singlish show to the rest of world?

char_jig_kar

tis 1 ... gt any facts 2 back up? ...

u just do a search on youtube, look for LHL speech or any other singlish accented speech, and compare them with other languages such as american or british accented clip, and see for yourself which has high potential for miscommunication? singlish accented speech or english speech?

the problem is singlish is one ugly language. and when the PM speaks singlish, it doesn't look good on us singaporean. when the whole nation speaks singlish, its a disgrace.

Why you so like that huh? Where got disgrace leh? Local taste mah.

u just do a search on youtube, look for LHL speech or any other singlish accented speech, and compare them with other languages such as american or british accented clip, and see for yourself which has high potential for miscommunication? singlish accented speech or english speech?

Politicians' speeches are for speaking and rallying, not for listening and understanding.

Do you or anyone understand or remember what George W. Bush said that enabled him to beat Al Gore in 2000 and John Kerry in 2004? Do you or anyone understand or remember what Francis Seow said in 1988 or what Tang Liang Hong said in 1996? Proclaimed best orators in Singapore politics, both of them. Who remember what they said?

char_jig_kar

Why you so like that huh? Where got disgrace leh? Local taste mah.

put it this way... its like some afro american dance move. head on floor, spinning, hands touch floor, they just dance like one mop cleaning the floor, its kind of cool. but any self respecting human beings would not be a mop all day. he would have to stand up straight, walk straight, talk straight when the dance is over.

singlish is kind of fun. but one cant and shouldn't be a mop all day. there would be times to stand up straight, walk properly, and speak properly. to do otherwise, something is seriously wrong.

char_jig_kar

Politicians' speeches are for speaking and rallying, not for listening and understanding.

Do you or anyone understand or remember what George W. Bush said that enabled him to beat Al Gore in 2000 and John Kerry in 2004? Do you or anyone understand or remember what Francis Seow said in 1988 or what Tang Liang Hong said in 1996? Proclaimed best orators in Singapore politics, both of them. Who remember what they said?

Doesn't matter whether its a political speech, or speaking to one another, most of the Singaporeans use singlish. Thats including our PM LHL.

Singlish is prevalent here in our society.

Their problem. Not mine too.

However, I do speak Singlish too. Just for the convenience of communication. Imagine if you go to a hawker centre and speak proper English? You'd most likely have to repeat yourself a few times in order to get your message or order across. Language is a medium for communication. Black cat or white cat, if it can catch a rat it's a good cat. Singlish or English, if it can get the message across it's a useful language.

For example:

Customer A: Wei, char kuay teow mai hum one plate, want chilli.
Hawker Assistant: OK.
Customer B: Excuse me, I'd like to have a plate of pan fried noodles without cockles but with chili.
Hawker Assistant: Huh? What cocker? Talk what cock?

huh? ... looking @ clips can tel whether sumting has high potential 4 miscommunication? ... :confused:

singlish clips ... as long as 1 who understands singlish can understand it ... can liao la ...

char_jig_kar

huh? ... looking @ clips can tel whether sumting has high potential 4 miscommunication? ... :confused:

singlish clips ... as long as 1 who understands singlish can understand it ... can liao la ...

so... just fuck the world and talk among ourselves??

char_jig_kar

My friend, which is efficient? Speaking mandarin among Chinese Singaporean or translate mandarin into english and speak it among Chinese Singaporean?

Which way of communication is highly susceptible to miscommunication?

char_jig_kar

Why don't u look at yours? In other thread, you cant backup your argument and have to resort to vulgarity and insult. Your attitude is worse than Ramseth.

char_jig_kar

What is there to back up ?? You are a twit means you are one !!

i said to u, there're english educated helicopter in spore. but u deny that.

and also, not many chinese educated helicopter nowadays since the 80s. almost all of the subjects are in english, you retard!

JustLikeU

2030458-Typical_Singlish-Pulau_Ubin.jpg

LINK: 'SINGLISH - A Language Guide for Foreigners'

Chinese education in Singapore ended in 1979. Today, nobody younger than 40 years old are Chinese educated. Make your calculations when they'd be all gone. There's also no such thing as English education as it was meant to be in past. In 20 years time, all Singaporeans will be Singlish educated. It's not necessarily a bad thing, depending on how it's managed.