• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Can Singlish show to the rest of world?

char_jig_kar

And here's a classic from a mother to her child: "Don't make me, wait want to rain already!"

Let me add a few more examples. (I have no idea whether they are classic or not.) Here goes,

"Outside wet wet, don't go out!"

"Don't play with the ezlink card! Later drop cant go out then u know!"

"Ah boy... later go home then u know..."

Let me add a few more examples. (I have no idea whether they are classic or not.) Here goes,

"Outside wet wet, don't go out!"

"Don't play with the ezlink card! Later drop cant go out then u know!"

"Ah boy... later go home then u know..."

Your Singlish standard is not there yet. Needs improvement. Proper Singlish speakers say "wait drop...then you know," "wait go home then you know" instead of the more English "later." Work harder if you want to speak proper Singlish. :biggrin:

char_jig_kar

no no. according to huat-kee singlish dictionary, 'later go home then u know', 'later drop then u know' are also correct.

char_jig_kar

proud of it anot ... singlish is growing ... :p :biggrin:

its growing, but thats not a good sign. singlish brings us miscommunication. lots of communication break down occur in this society due to the language singlish. people don't speak clearly, don't listen properly.

in a small scale,

customer: one kopit c.

kopi aunty: teh c jig puay!

in a large scale,

Air Traffic controller, "Runway D is clear."

Sinkie Pilot, "Okay roger that. Runway A is clear."

its a sure sign for disaster using singlish.

it is because chinese language is versatile. and singlish is mainly based on chinese.

See? Singlish augments the versatility of Chinese with the flexibility of English and Malay. Not a bad thing, right? Friend, this has been how languages have evolved since the dawn of civilization.

Air Traffic controller, "Runway D is clear."

Sinkie Pilot, "Okay roger that. Runway A is clear."

its a sure sign for disaster using singlish.

Even Singlish-speaking air traffic controllers are trained to say "Runway Alpha" or "Runway Delta". Don't try to pull a fast one. :biggrin:

its growing, but thats not a good sign. singlish brings us miscommunication. lots of communication break down occur in this society due to the language singlish. people don't speak clearly, don't listen properly ...

watever language u use, communication breakdowns can oso occur ... of course, dat incl cases where singlish was used ...

char_jig_kar

watever language u use, communication breakdowns can oso occur ... of course, dat incl cases where singlish was used ...

yes communication breakdowns in other places.

but singlish would cause more communication breakdowns in our society.

so its a good bet for singapore eh? u really think so?

Regardless of the spoken Singlish, Singaporean students have been topping written tests like TOEFL and GMAT, over and above native English speakers (British, US, Canadian, Australian, NZ) regularly. So what's the problem?

char_jig_kar

Regardless of the spoken Singlish, Singaporean students have been topping written tests like TOEFL and GMAT, over and above native English speakers (British, US, Canadian, Australian, NZ) regularly. So what's the problem?

the problem is singlish is one ugly language. and when the PM speaks singlish, it doesn't look good on us singaporean. when the whole nation speaks singlish, its a disgrace.