Stating the obvious.... better let social media solved it own problems without gahmen interference.
And I'm challenging it. Chinese should be downgraded to "nationality" status.
After all an "Englishman" can now be as black as charcoal!
The government only has itself to blame for the rise in racism.
We sinkies were perfectly happy in the good old days. Equilibrium was reached and each ethnic group knew their place in Society.
Ordinary Bayi will be jaga or policeman.
Blue sash Bayi will trade in electronics.
Ah Neh... whole range, Lawyer, Doctor, Jamban cleaner etc.
Malay... driver, barber, band boy etc.
Chinks.. Swindlers, gangsters, civil serpents, Bankers, Traders of things other than electronics.
CECA disrupted the delicate balance and now all hell is breaking loose.
Don't expect Burmese to know the difference."Chinese" is a race, not a nationality. Same with "Malay" and "Indian".
You owe me an apology because I am not MAY or scroobal.Dr Ahmad Mattar was doctor + driver + policeman.
You owe me an apologyYou can challenge it but I don't think it will change anything. All the best in this endeavour.
I think you got the point!It has nothing to do with race...the current issue is Singaporean against other nationalities just conveniently coming in and enjoying/invading our country of Singapore which we have built through the LKY years.
LW is not LKY, he is no way to compare with LKY in terms of intellectuality and wisdom.Laulan short memory, 1965 to before CECA agreement rarely had racism problems like today. Who is to blame for the state we are today!!
I agree.It has nothing to do with race...the current issue is Singaporean against other nationalities just conveniently coming in and enjoying/invading our country of Singapore which we have built through the LKY years.
I agree.
It is more a mix of condescending xenophobia.
Singaporeans had been taught over the years to think of SG as better than all the other asian countries.
Filipino equals maids.
Dark skinned equals bangla workers construction or cleaning
And so on.
Even when the Hongkies came Singaporeans also laugh at their accent.
And PRC? They say chinaman. That time china still poor. Now much more respect for PRC. Money talks.
As for India nationals. Again historically india was poor and is poor. How often you hear of rich indians bring money to sg to spend? Blow on high end luxury goods? They are not the level of PRC now.
Indian can speak english well compared to PRC. Hence go to sg and take jobs from singaporeans.
Xenophobia. Not racism.
I think you got the point!
Singapore has no racial issue before the CECA Agreement Indians started to invade Singapore. Take away the jobs from our local PMET, form their own clan in the company to kick our our local, abuse our local Singaporeans publicly.
So you are right, the recent events are not racial issue, it is rather a nationality issue. Singaporeans are trying to fight for their sovereignty and pride.
I have talked to my relatives about this too.Since our independence we always had "racism" among ourselves but in the manner macam sibling rivalry....always wanting to the the apple of the eye of the ruling gahmen liken to be your parents.
The standoff between races were obvious and elbowed but nothing as serious as recently with the CECA Ah Nehs as the targeted disgruntle and disharmony.
The 4G gahmen has failed to see this from their $m pedestal which the 1G gahmen has managed to.
I have talked to my relatives about this too.
I think Singaporeans agree to the policy that gets cheap foreign laborers to do menial jobs. Low class work. Low pay. Totally ok! Indian. Bangla. Filipino. PRC. All also can.
But foreigner come and take up management positions. Become the boss. The CEO. The Head of Department. That one is no no. Should reserve for local Singaporeans.
Actually I want to ask.....why does the PAP government encourage this?