• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Breaking: Sands CONFIRMED Dou Diu! 3 Tombstones DOOMED!

williamsF1

Exactly... Traditionally, banks are the major corporate spenders for MICE. Now with the whole industry fucked up by the subprime scam, a big market chunk is permantly gone.

It's bad enough with one IR. We have TWO.
now, it will no longer be known as Integrated Resort, it will be renamed as IDIOT's RETRIBUTION

Ah Guan

I foresee they will decide to allow sinkies in and gamble our pants off to sustain these 2 casinos.

Afterall, SM Goh has already instructed us to 'spend more'.

newyorker88

Even if we have these white elephants, who's going to come.

With the global financial crises you now have alot of poorer people around. This crises has wiped out many & it will take years to recover

In good times or bad times, people still gamble. Matter is how many.

Even if we have these white elephants, who's going to come :

Don't worry lah. When the 3 tombstones and 3 graves ready. Tens of thousands will pay homage with real sinkie dollars for offerings. Don't forget your to bring 2 red candles and joss sticks.

newyorker88

I foresee they will decide to allow sinkies in and gamble our pants off to sustain these 2 casinos.

Yes, I agree with Lao Goh on spending. But without jobs, where the people going to get $$$ ti spend? FTs are first to go home WITH THEIR EARNINGS. You think they spend in singapore?

Most importantly, people need to have $$$ in their pockets. If not how to spend? GOV must stop their crap in taxing more and reduce GST. If not people where got $$ to spend? They take the $$$ out and LOST overseas, come back to tax the common. How they expect the $$$ to stay in the market for the common people to spend?

So simple, yet they have no brains to figure out. really MILLION DOLLARS WHITE elephants.

Were there any doubts they'd do this?

Looks like all successful PAP projects require Sporeans money, but how much longer can PAP do this? The younger generation don't have the savings & can leave as they have fewer ties & less reason to stay. :rolleyes:

chinkangkor

Looks like all successful PAP projects require Sporeans money, but how much longer can PAP do this? The younger generation don't have the savings & can leave as they have fewer ties & less reason to stay. :rolleyes:

Everywhere is in recession. Where to go to? Overseas s'poreans are coming back to depress the wages further.

Ah Guan

Yes, I agree with Lao Goh on spending. But without jobs, where the people going to get $$$ ti spend? FTs are first to go home WITH THEIR EARNINGS. You think they spend in singapore?

Actually what Lau Goh recommended is quite risky. Like another fourmmer wrote - younger sinkaporeans don't have much savings and use debt to sustain their lifestyles. In times of recession, nobody's income is guaranteed. Is Lau Goh trying to bankrupt sinkies?

Regarding the 2 white elephants, normal takings from tourists and (let's assume) locals will be nothing compared to that of corporate clients. Banks can throw millions for organising a 3-day retreat or meeting. Normal consumers can't spend that kind of money at one go.

Ah Guan

Yes, the Gen Y-ers have very different spending habits from us. Unlike us, they are not adverse to debt. This is really dangerous during a time like this.

newyorker88

Actually what Lau Goh recommended is quite risky. Like another fourmmer wrote - younger sinkaporeans don't have much savings and use debt to sustain their lifestyles. In times of recession, nobody's income is guaranteed. Is Lau Goh trying to bankrupt sinkies?

Regarding the 2 white elephants, normal takings from tourists and (let's assume) locals will be nothing compared to that of corporate clients. Banks can throw millions for organising a 3-day retreat or meeting. Normal consumers can't spend that kind of money at one go.

Regarding the white elephants, I am referring to 84 of them :biggrin:

Yes, the Gen Y have not experience any hard times before. This will be a shock to them. Then they will understand what the old been thru.

Ah Guan

Regarding the white elephants, I am referring to 84 of them :biggrin:.

Hahaha... My bad :P

Yes, the Gen Y have not experience any hard times before. This will be a shock to them. Then they will understand what the old been thru

Alamak you are making me feel old... I graduated when Asian Financial Crisis was at the peak. In The first few years of my career I've seen the dotcom bubble burst, the telco/tech decline, 9/11, Bali bombing, SARS, FT invasion etc. My cohort and I do not count the number of recessions anymore... we've decided that counting the number of booms is easier.

Merl Haggard

Given the present financial turmoil & current Sands financial health, there will not be 10,000 jobs available as depicted in the newspaper. :(

And don't forget to feel sorry for those speculators who are holding onto apartments costing
$1800-$2800 psf in the vicinity hoping that the IR would add higher value to their investments.

No wonder these days there are sellers at as low as $1400 psf, but can find no buyers.

2lanu

And don't forget to feel sorry for those speculators who are holding onto apartments costing
$1800-$2800 psf in the vicinity hoping that the IR would add higher value to their investments.

No wonder these days there are sellers at as low as $1400 psf, but can find no buyers.

If you are a buyer now, would you going to buy a place at $1400 psf with IR in question and economy going down?

Maybe $140 psf can consider...

2lanu

That's right. The white scum only had economy progress at 1st place. Not because of the survival but because their paycheck is peg to that!

Whatever moral or ethnics can play second fiddle...

2lanu

You are wrong! Few years back when economy is down, FT did not went back as white scum claimed had to treated them fairly. So they continue to leeching here while the local do the NS to protect them.

Most importantly, people need to have $$$ in their pockets. If not how to spend? GOV must stop their crap in taxing more and reduce GST. If not people where got $$ to spend? They take the $$$ out and LOST overseas, come back to tax the common. How they expect the $$$ to stay in the market for the common people to spend?

Taxes are too high. Not only GST and ciggie tax is 400% and liquoir tax is 100%. In HK a pack of Marlboro cost HK$29(~5.60) while here is S$11. That is crazy come to think of it as there are SG people need to buy from smuggler at the price at $5. And white scums need to employ more custom officers to catch smuggler.

In short their policy in the 1st place is wrong!

So simple, yet they have no brains to figure out. really MILLION DOLLARS WHITE elephants.

Many of their policies are really questionable but there are not protest on the ground at all. Does that mean the people are idiot? I tend to believe they are given too much power and covered up avenue for them to do whatever they want.

TeeKee

pouring in so much effort & tax payers $ to make his dream come true. but when LV sands decides to cut losses, and pull out. the marina IR will just be another white elephant looking like;
stonehenge_07.jpg

This is not White Elephant My Friend! It's a world famous Tourist Attraction!!

downgrader

You are wrong! Few years back when economy is down, FT did not went back as white scum claimed had to treated them fairly. So they continue to leeching here while the local do the NS to protect them.

Taxes are too high. Not only GST and ciggie tax is 400% and liquoir tax is 100%. In HK a pack of Marlboro cost HK$29(~5.60) while here is S$11. That is crazy come to think of it as there are SG people need to buy from smuggler at the price at $5. And white scums need to employ more custom officers to catch smuggler.

In short their policy in the 1st place is wrong!

Many of their policies are really questionable but there are not protest on the ground at all. Does that mean the people are idiot? I tend to believe they are given too much power and covered up avenue for them to do whatever they want.

Government doing people a favour by sky high tobacco tax. By making smoking prohibitively expensive, will save on healthcare costs

But somehow there will be people who smoke despite knowing all the risks. They can't help it, they are addicted, but they try to justify their addiction thinking it looks cool when they just look like a chimney and smell like shit on top of polluting the air

Smokers who can't give up are weaklings.. they are slave to a little stick which they spend their hard earned money for and risk going to jail by buying illegal cigarettes for

To my knowledge they owe ARUP consultants about $15m, Ssangyong main contractors about $45m and many others which are long overdue.

when the PRC workers ain't getting their dough from Ssangyong, we should have known better... :biggrin::eek::eek::biggrin::eek::eek: