more stories about ordinary Singaporeans from this blog : http://sgordinary.blogspot.com
Yesterday suddenly got a call from Sec 2 classmate saying Andrew one of my classmate sho emigated to Australia wanted to meet up ...he is back in Singapore for holiday. My memory of Andrew is very vague. I just remember hs nickname 'chao hee' which mean smelly ear in hokkien.Andrew dropped out of Sec 2 to go ITE to get his NTC qualifications worked as a mechanic until he emigrated to Australia with the help of his uncle. He has been there for ten yrs.
Our meeting place was Buffet Town at Raffles Place. Andrew told us a lot of stories about moving to Melbourne ....how he learned skiing, work for some ang moh at a workshop . He said pay is much. higher than Singapore ....can buy landed proprty drive a Camry etc. He started showing pictures of his car house wife and children. ....like a bit boasting like that. Then he asked the rest of us how we are doing...I told him I used to workat fastfood restaurant but now jobless still living with my mother. others updated him on how their life is in Singapore....out of 6 pple from our Sec 2 class who remained in spore only 1 person drive car and biggest home was 3room flat. Andrew looked at us like we somewhat pathetic and said leaving singapore before it became overcrowded was the best decision in his life...then he went on and on abt how good Australia is....
At some point I couldn't tahan so I countered....if Australia so good why this woman called Amy Cheong come all the way from Australia to work here and live in HDB flat with void deck?....Andrew was quite taken aback but he pointed out that once she had no job here she flew straight back to Australia so difference is really abt jobs...Australia
Yesterday suddenly got a call from Sec 2 classmate saying Andrew one of my classmate sho emigated to Australia wanted to meet up ...he is back in Singapore for holiday. My memory of Andrew is very vague. I just remember hs nickname 'chao hee' which mean smelly ear in hokkien.Andrew dropped out of Sec 2 to go ITE to get his NTC qualifications worked as a mechanic until he emigrated to Australia with the help of his uncle. He has been there for ten yrs.
Our meeting place was Buffet Town at Raffles Place. Andrew told us a lot of stories about moving to Melbourne ....how he learned skiing, work for some ang moh at a workshop . He said pay is much. higher than Singapore ....can buy landed proprty drive a Camry etc. He started showing pictures of his car house wife and children. ....like a bit boasting like that. Then he asked the rest of us how we are doing...I told him I used to workat fastfood restaurant but now jobless still living with my mother. others updated him on how their life is in Singapore....out of 6 pple from our Sec 2 class who remained in spore only 1 person drive car and biggest home was 3room flat. Andrew looked at us like we somewhat pathetic and said leaving singapore before it became overcrowded was the best decision in his life...then he went on and on abt how good Australia is....
At some point I couldn't tahan so I countered....if Australia so good why this woman called Amy Cheong come all the way from Australia to work here and live in HDB flat with void deck?....Andrew was quite taken aback but he pointed out that once she had no job here she flew straight back to Australia so difference is really abt jobs...Australia