• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Australia really so good?

TopSage

more stories about ordinary Singaporeans from this blog : http://sgordinary.blogspot.com

Yesterday suddenly got a call from Sec 2 classmate saying Andrew one of my classmate sho emigated to Australia wanted to meet up ...he is back in Singapore for holiday. My memory of Andrew is very vague. I just remember hs nickname 'chao hee' which mean smelly ear in hokkien.Andrew dropped out of Sec 2 to go ITE to get his NTC qualifications worked as a mechanic until he emigrated to Australia with the help of his uncle. He has been there for ten yrs.

Our meeting place was Buffet Town at Raffles Place. Andrew told us a lot of stories about moving to Melbourne ....how he learned skiing, work for some ang moh at a workshop . He said pay is much. higher than Singapore ....can buy landed proprty drive a Camry etc. He started showing pictures of his car house wife and children. ....like a bit boasting like that. Then he asked the rest of us how we are doing...I told him I used to workat fastfood restaurant but now jobless still living with my mother. others updated him on how their life is in Singapore....out of 6 pple from our Sec 2 class who remained in spore only 1 person drive car and biggest home was 3room flat. Andrew looked at us like we somewhat pathetic and said leaving singapore before it became overcrowded was the best decision in his life...then he went on and on abt how good Australia is....

At some point I couldn't tahan so I countered....if Australia so good why this woman called Amy Cheong come all the way from Australia to work here and live in HDB flat with void deck?....Andrew was quite taken aback but he pointed out that once she had no job here she flew straight back to Australia so difference is really abt jobs...Australia

QXD

It's because Singaporeans define a good life very narrowly; i.e.- having lots of money that they forget that they will never have the time to enjoy spending it.

I'm not saying your friend splurges all he earns, but rather, he is paid a fair day's wage for a fair day's work, unlike Singapore where employers are too used to expecting employees to work unreasonable hours for less pay.

Earning good money in Australia is mostly true, but above all of this, one can live in dignity, regardless of disability, wealth, education etc.

Cruxx

It's because Singaporeans define a good life very narrowly; i.e.- having lots of money that they forget that they will never have the time to enjoy spending it.

I'm not saying your friend splurges all he earns, but rather, he is paid a fair day's wage for a fair day's work, unlike Singapore where employers are too used to expecting employees to work unreasonable hours for less pay.

Earning good money in Australia is mostly true, but above all of this, one can live in dignity, regardless of disability, wealth, education etc.

I don't think it's fair to compare Singapore to a first world country like Australia. Let's compare apples with apples, shall we? :biggrin:

but he pointed out that once she had no job here she flew straight back to Australia so difference is really abt jobs...Australia

"Good" is not an absolute term. It all depends what sort of lifestyle you prefer and what sort of values you hold.

i thought there many racists?

I've lived in Singapore and I've lived in two major Australian cities. Singapore is the worst of the lot and I'm speaking from personal experience.

In childhood, racism comes in the form of taunts and rude remarks.

As a working adult, racism becomes slightly more subtle but it affects all aspects of life. I was even told that I wouldn't be promoted because my potential subordinates would not like working for someone of my skin colour.

I've faced none of these sorts of issues in OZ or NZ.

ZorrorroZ

I've lived in Singapore and I've lived in two major Australian cities. Singapore is the worst of the lot and I'm speaking from personal experience.

As a working adult, racism becomes slightly more subtle but it affects all aspects of life. I was even told that I wouldn't be promoted because my potential subordinates would not like working for someone of my skin colour.

Sadly, for all it's much vaunted "multi-racial" fame, I have to agree with you on this. I have been in Oz nearly 6 months now, and so far I have not yet experienced a single incident of racism yet. Strangely enough, whilst almost everyone I have met so far is very friendly and courteous - I experience the least of this in Asian shops! Such irony!

Only when I visit Chinese shops around Perth do I NOT get the same level of welcome or courtesy that I get at other shops like Woolworths or Coles or the smaller shops run by Aussie proprietors. The Chinese shop owners are not deliberately rude, but to other Asians they are not as courteous as they are to the white Aussies. To the white Aussies, they absolutely gush over them with welcomes and thanks.

In Singapore, over the many decades I have lived there, I have seen many many incidents of subtle and overt racism, mainly by Chinese towards the minorities, and to a lesser extent, by Malays as well. I guess I shall have to experience Oz for a much longer time to come to any conclusion, but thus far, I think Oz is so far a better place to live - in terms of quality of life, and of course, salaries.

neddy

but he pointed out that once she had no job here she flew straight back to Australia so difference is really abt jobs...Australia

For someone like Amy, she will not have difficulties finding jobs in Perth. But she will be more keen to work in a culturally similar environment than in small Perth.

A lot of Perth grads eventually leave for the big cities like Sydney, London, Singapore, etc. Sometimes, it is the pressure from high-class parents (In Singapore context, the example will be - Your son can only find work in Palau Ubin, how come don't go to mainland Singapore to work)

1. Singapore gives very nice sounding job titles.

2. Singapore welcome FTs, and Aussies probably perform better at job interviews over the locals. So, they can get higher paying jobs.

But of course, the way Singapore dealt with Amy will be very unusually cruel in Perth context

Even if she were to scold the aborigines and their divorce rates while holding a senior executive position - she will be unlikely to be given a summary political solution but Australia have the appropriate institutions to deal with that "really stupid girl" case so that she get a fair outcome, even if the outcome is job termination

mulvi74

I am born in oz to a singaporean father. I have lived in oz my entire life but have spent significant time in Asia and the uk. Make no mistake Australia is a backwards shit tip and I will be out of here within a year. It is expensive, backward, the PAP and their corruption is kindergarten stuff compared to the stuff that goes on down here. Third world infrastructure and full of brain dead simpletons. I cannot wait to leave the joint and wipe my pantat with the passport of this absolute cunthole of a nation. My wife is in the same boat. Gimme sinkie any day

bertaka

I am born in oz to a singaporean father. I have lived in oz my entire life but have spent significant time in Asia and the uk. Make no mistake Australia is a backwards shit tip and I will be out of here within a year. It is expensive, backward, the PAP and their corruption is kindergarten stuff compared to the stuff that goes on down here. Third world infrastructure and full of brain dead simpletons. I cannot wait to leave the joint and wipe my pantat with the passport of this absolute cunthole of a nation. My wife is in the same boat. Gimme sinkie any day

Are you going to Singapore? Have you done your NS?

bertaka

For someone like Amy, she will not have difficulties finding jobs in Perth. But she will be more keen to work in a culturally similar environment than in small Perth.

A lot of Perth grads eventually leave for the big cities like Sydney, London, Singapore, etc. Sometimes, it is the pressure from high-class parents (In Singapore context, the example will be - Your son can only find work in Palau Ubin, how come don't go to mainland Singapore to work)

1. Singapore gives very nice sounding job titles.

2. Singapore welcome FTs, and Aussies probably perform better at job interviews over the locals. So, they can get higher paying jobs.

But of course, the way Singapore dealt with Amy will be very unusually cruel in Perth context

Even if she were to scold the aborigines and their divorce rates while holding a senior executive position - she will be unlikely to be given a summary political solution but Australia have the appropriate institutions to deal with that "really stupid girl" case so that she get a fair outcome, even if the outcome is job termination

Excellent reply Neddy :smile:

bertaka

What a revelation!

bertaka

Living in dignity is a core value with Centerlink.

ChewCheng

In Singapore, as long as you got food on your table, the government would consider that your life is good.

neddy

Keep your OZ passport, in case you need to return.

Australia has pampered you too much. I know a lot of people from Korea to Ireland who will want your place in this "shitty" sunburnt country.

Very exciting SKA project just launched this month.
teles-b.jpg