• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

another iconic food centre disappearing soon.....

The wanton mee over rated nothing nice about it, the wanton noodle only so so only!!!

lianbeng replies kuailan: yalor! some more so expensive! some more got mediacorpse went to promote for them! :D

A long time ago, there was a stall that sold bull's testicle soup and rice. I've never had it before but the dish was reputed to be a aphrodisiac, (like 20,000 other things, I suppose.) Tonychat, it's meat but I suppose they could have been taken from castrated bulls.

Lemme guess... another condo or mall? :rolleyes:

I don't think I've ever dined there before... maybe I'll visit it soon.

P.S: Nice sleazy hotel (Kam Leng Hotel) across the road from it. :D

Kam Leng upgraded liao. Boon Leng runs the hotel. Very cheap rental from the owner as place was collapsing when Boon Leng came to the rescue. Great deal for him being cash rich.

Kim Leng hotel refurbished and upgraded..hardly sleazy now.

Memories if chiong ktv upstairs then bring girls down for supper before going hotel.

Will miss frog porridge, dim sum, wanton noodles, pig organ soup there

Yes, Bai Tian Er and Ye Sze Wu Zhen brings back fond memories of the mid and late 90s.

I once booked a room at this budget hotel near to Lavender Food Court..

Then hungry I went down to the Food Court to makan..

Walked at the backlane.. While walking, I saw a police van.. 2 police officers and 2 Tong Aik staff were busy carrying a dead body from the van into this back door..

KNN I had a shock..:eek: I then realised that I walking at the back of S'pore Casket Building...:o:o:o

Tong Aik staff always makan at the food centre and will occupy the seats outside the main hawker centre - Foch Rd side.

Kim Leng hotel refurbished and upgraded..hardly sleazy now.

Memories if chiong ktv upstairs then bring girls down for supper before going hotel.

Will miss frog porridge, dim sum, wanton noodles, pig organ soup there
Pig organ soup still have. It is along Foch Rd.
Serving 24 hours.

Kam Leng upgraded liao. Boon Leng runs the hotel. Very cheap rental from the owner as place was collapsing when Boon Leng came to the rescue. Great deal for him being cash rich.

You say it's an upgrade, I say it's a downgrade. The old building had a retro atmosphere, pillars with big Chinese characters adorned the entrance.

o0yn2Rk.png

You say it's an upgrade, I say it's a downgrade. The old building had a retro atmosphere, pillars with big Chinese characters adorned the entrance.

o0yn2Rk.png
i tink it is removed. went past last month.
they still retain the retro furnishing.
they have their own website.

Tong Aik staff always makan at the food centre and will occupy the seats outside the main hawker centre - Foch Rd side.

During 2010 World Cup, I was at Broadway Kopitiam besides the Jalan Besar Stadium watching a live game at the kopitiam's TV..

Was sitting at the smokers section drinking my beer.. Many punters there too cheering England.. Then a group of Tong Aik boys came sit next to the punter's table to see the game.. They wore their trademark Tong Aik shirts..

The Punters upon seeing the Tong Aik boys sitting next to them quickly left their table and went to sit at the non smoker's section at the other side of the kopitiam.. Quite funny.. Maybe they think its Suay to have the Tong Aik boys next to them..

Isnt the fucking architecture similar to the lau pa sat? So that means it should be a historical site right?

Or those money grubbing cunts in the URA are in such a fucking hurry to collect monies from the development charge all they see is the fucking cash?
Better than your tua kang drifter house lah, that 1 is a whorehouse :D:D:D

o0yn2Rk.png

Dun look like this now.
Exterior painted a bright color...looks brand new.
The words Kim Leng on the building facade

Yes.. The soup kopitiam still have but problem during parking..

That's another one further down the main jalan berseh road a few blocks away....nicely decorated kopitiam....think its the offshoot....name almost similar.

Went there a couple of times but have yet to eat the Wanton Mee there. Long queue. Me hate to queue. :mad:

During 2010 World Cup, I was at Broadway Kopitiam besides the Jalan Besar Stadium watching a live game at the kopitiam's TV..

Was sitting at the smokers section drinking my beer.. Many punters there too cheering England.. Then a group of Tong Aik boys came sit next to the punter's table to see the game.. They wore their trademark Tong Aik shirts..

The Punters upon seeing the Tong Aik boys sitting next to them quickly left their table and went to sit at the non smoker's section at the other side of the kopitiam.. Quite funny.. Maybe they think its Suay to have the Tong Aik boys next to them..

Not sure if it is a 'suay' thing or not. They, Tong Aik boys, must be used to people's reaction towards them by now. For me , it is more a 'hygiene' thing, psychological maybe. I know these chaps always find their seats next to the wall. I siamed the seats and always find one that is nearer the road.

lianbeng replies: that food court located at the corner of Lavender Street and Jalan Besar basically serves customers of Eminent Plaza and customers from nearby kinjiokar or banana leg n desker road lah! :D

I think this food court quite new? Was working as a temp staff around there in the 80s and dont remember much about the presence of this food court. I thought the nearby area is mangga kar or mango leg?

Not sure if it is a 'suay' thing or not. They, Tong Aik boys, must be used to people's reaction towards them by now. For me , it is more a 'hygiene' thing, psychological maybe. I know these chaps always find their seats next to the wall. I siamed the seats and always find one that is nearer the road.

True, i once saw a Tong Aik guy sitting by himself on the table by the wall. My seat just beside him. This kind of thing is fine with me.

Good for you but I rather keep my distance. Seating nearby may be fine bit I don't wish to take over his seat. Same pair of bermudas on bed? No way.

i tink it is removed. went past last month.
they still retain the retro furnishing.
they have their own website.

very nicely renovated. more like a boutique hotel. nice restaurant inside as well.

one of my overseas friends stayed there a few months ago. free wifi