• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Advice needed: How to deal with MLM relative?

When companies are unable to innovate or drive sales, they resort to MLM to push their merchandize. The company itself may even be on verge on bankruptcy, kept afloat only by cash flow from MLM associates. In a sense, there are actually two ponzi schemes -- the MLM tree which needs more and more members to sustain itself, and the company's balance sheet which is riddled with debt that it cannot pay off.

Its very sad to see pple screwed because MAS allows things like this to go on.

The insurance industry is a bit diff, because in this case it is a legitimate product which is not a fraud and can earn some meager returns, but the buyer pays huge commissions to agents. In this case it is an industry taking advantage of the financially ignorant through fancy packaging and sales gimmicks. The only sensible product is term insurance sold cheaply on a group basis like the SAF group term insurance, or a product like medishield enhancement plan.

It was the members of the Insurance industry that lobbied the govt to differentiate between Pyramid schemes and MLM. Many of them not only sold Insurance but during the sale managed to identify the gullible Alamaks of our society. I know one Insurance bigshots whose wife was fitted out to run MLM rubbish. Ho Peng Kee announced the lifting of the ban. Quite irresponsible.

That is why Insurance agents fall just above 2nd hand car dealers. They conveniently changed their name to Financial Planners. Ever wonder why Insurance agents are in the leadership of many of the new age churches. The Rock's right hand man is in Insurance.

Notice also that Insurance and New Age church members tend to dress along similar lines.

Thanks all bros for all the inputs.

This afternoon, had a good talk with my gf on this MLM relative. Turn out gf is trying to support her cousin (auntie's daughter) who just moved to BKK from countryside and joined MLM. Gf is not interested in this MLM as she has experienced MLM before even knowing me. More of 'giving face' to her auntie and hopefully, her cousin is able to make it in the MLM business in BKK. Before the BKK flooding, cousin only bother gf once in a while but since the flooding started, cousin temporary moved to Pattaya and so, no choice, have to help a little more but gf already allocated a budget as to how much to help her cousin and not a baht more.

Some bros accurately pointed out, the relationship portion is the difficult part. Gf called it 'Greng Jai' in Thai, we call in 'Pai Seh' in Hokkien. There's no equivalent in English for Pai Seh. Consolation is gf mentioned she would have do the same or even more if I am the one doing MLM. But she do accepted the fact I really hate MLM.

That's not the impressive you gave us when you started the thread. You said she was into it, attending meetings and so on. I took it that she appeared enthusiastic. I think you need a decisive commitment to stay away from that nonsense, not some wishy washy excuse that "i was just trying to help my relative in his low moment ..." That simply cannot cut it.

This afternoon, had a good talk with my gf on this MLM relative. Turn out gf is trying to support her cousin (auntie's daughter) who just moved to BKK from countryside and joined MLM. Gf is not interested in this MLM as she has experienced MLM before even knowing me. More of 'giving face' to her auntie and hopefully, her cousin is able to make it in the MLM business in BKK. Before the BKK flooding, cousin only bother gf once in a while but since the flooding started, cousin temporary moved to Pattaya and so, no choice, have to help a little more but gf already allocated a budget as to how much to help her cousin and not a baht more.

Some bros accurately pointed out, the relationship portion is the difficult part. Gf called it 'Greng Jai' in Thai, we call in 'Pai Seh' in Hokkien. There's no equivalent in English for Pai Seh. Consolation is gf mentioned she would have do the same or even more if I am the one doing MLM. But she do accepted the fact I really hate MLM.

Another option is to go with the flow and 'crack' the MLM by exposing it's flaws (monetary specific) and not only you get to save yourself, you are also doing a favor to your sis and bro. Assumption here is that you are analytical enough and is fairly good with numbers.

That was quiet sometime back in the 90's, they have learnt their lesson.

I am not good with numbers, common sense prevail... :):):)

That was quiet sometime back in the 90's, they have learnt their lesson.

I am not good with numbers, common sense prevail... :):):)

The numbers would shock anyone gullible enough to go into MLM. A few years back there was this MLM company whose product was web seminars and internet educational materials. I actually did some back-of-envelope calculations, and found that 65% of the revenue generated by the MLM tree would go into company coffers, while 35% is distributed to the tree as commissions.

It does not take a genius to figure that most in the tree would never make a single dime no matter how hard they work. Its a con job. And its MAS approved.

That's not the impressive you gave us when you started the thread. You said she was into it, attending meetings and so on. I took it that she appeared enthusiastic. I think you need a decisive commitment to stay away from that nonsense, not some wishy washy excuse that "i was just trying to help my relative in his low moment ..." That simply cannot cut it.
Relative (cousin) needs new members for meeting. Only mistake GF did was not informing me her ideas beforehand.

Congrats buddy.

I think others in this thread have said more than enough for you to make the right decision.
Thanks TFBH, got your message. Was a bad time last few weeks especially the weekends. Only times we fight is either over relatives or my driving habits and sometimes my drinking. I previously over spent in marine fish hobby and she did not say a word even though she know the hobby will not last long.

Wow bro , you also keep marine fish ? By the way , the money you spend is you earn yourself ..so she got no right to stop you . Now she's asking u to pay for her MLM products it totally different .

Good point. I go supermarket buy things if got promoters sales talks I never buy one. Except coffeeshop I like beer promoters more expensive nevermind can entertain me talk more cock LOL

Those supermarket promoter only promoter the product which give them highest com. I really hate some of them wanted to scold and slap them keep follow me like dog asking me buy this brand eg better.............Already tell them no need their help.

Bro...this is not good omen for couples intending to marry each other to have frequent quarrels and fights. Get someone who shares your interests. Lots of couples marry because of youthful lust and not because of shared interests. That is why so many broke up later. Many stayed married because of their kids, but if they had none I doubt they wish to stay together. Believe me, every ten years your POV, opinions and values changed.

Wow bro , you also keep marine fish ? By the way , the money you spend is you earn yourself ..so she got no right to stop you . Now she's asking u to pay for her MLM products it totally different .
Yes, the dry empty tank and equipments in my room are now memories of this hobby. Not shy to say I will try again and again to set up my next tank.

You should start back your hobby again .. I also feel like to start back my marine hobby ...but marine fishes and corals are very expensive in japan . We also need heater not only chiller :(

We are not talking about big sums. Its masak masak money. Unless you can't afford it. I rather pay a small amount for them to learn their lesson. We are not buying a consignment of rice are we ?

This has nothing to do with luck at all, luck is like trying to win a lottery.

You need to explain them, why you are so against it.

Do you really need to buy a products which you don't really need, and in the meantime you have to try sales talk and convince yours friends and relatives to get into the MLM thingy (they might be doing the same thing) what % is going to be split from the top before it trickle down to you.

The time and effort you have to put in, you might as well forget about doing your regular job cause you need to hit a target before you see any return, and there is no gurantee that it will work.

What is the price of Vietnam Jasmine rice on the retail mkt, let said 10kg at 15 usd, i will give you good profit margin, if you buy from me at 750 usd per mt CIF, but you need to buy a MOQ of 25,000 mt per month x 12 month, that is just an example.... :):):)

Lee Is Another Cunning Fox

24zdjr7.gif

When companies are unable to innovate or drive sales, they resort to MLM to push their merchandize. The company itself may even be on verge on bankruptcy, kept afloat only by cash flow from MLM associates. In a sense, there are actually two ponzi schemes -- the MLM tree which needs more and more members to sustain itself, and the company's balance sheet which is riddled with debt that it cannot pay off.

Its very sad to see pple screwed because MAS allows things like this to go on.

... insurance industry is a bit diff, because in this case it is a legitimate product ...

MLM is actually a con job scheme designed to give false hope to greedy folks. The first few tiers will be successful but the lowest of the echelons will be subjected to risk like discontinuity of the momentum. Some branches will break and fall off but the base will still continue to expand. Conqueror used to say this : the last men die. Eventually, when that day comes ... the master mind will leave the place and those who are 'promoted' will be responsible for the evil deals beneath them. "It's your own business !" will really become "It's your own business (and we don't care)!"

Insurance is also the same ... those products are like false hope for greedy people who will not want to invest the monies themselves ... these monies are locked up so that you will continue to pay and pool for others (claims plus fat CEO's paychecks). This is like giving $1 to a charity org and the receiver (poor target person) will only receive $0.25. Where's the rest ? You should have guess it. Even the 'gatekeeper' (the useless fella who will waste time to see whether that poor man qualify to receive that little donation money) who is probably a grad will benefit from such 'non-profit' org with a good paychecks too. To hell with all these people !

Lee and gang will be VERY HAPPY to receive GST with such ludicrous amount and not to mention the company's 'net-profit' which is also chargeable to a profitable 21% rate ! How much do you pay for your tax ? They heck care you lah ! Pay And Pay Huat ah ! Pay And Pay Huat ah ! Pay And Pay Huat ah !

Re: Lee Is Another Cunning Fox

The first few tiers are company insiders and shareholders. I am pretty sure they are not the ones who share their success stories about screwing ignorant housewives and students. Whole life insurance is a bit different. You spend the first few years paying the agents commissions and giving your money for free, before you get that 1.5% return on your investment. Those who do a fixed deposit and buy a basic term insurance come out financially better. But people will always be attracted by packaging, gimmicks, free gifts (which is basically bought using your own money), etc

MLM is actually a con job scheme designed to give false hope to greedy folks. The first few tiers will be successful but the lowest of the echelons will be subjected to risk like discontinuity of the momentum. Some branches will break and fall off but the base will still continue to expand. Conqueror used to say this : the last men die. Eventually, when that day comes ... the master mind will leave the place and those who are 'promoted' will be responsible for the evil deals beneath them. "It's your own business !" will really become "It's your own business (and we don't care)!"

Insurance is also the same ... those products are like false hope for greedy people who will not want to invest the monies themselves ... these monies are locked up so that you will continue to pay and pool for others (claims plus fat CEO's paychecks). This is like giving $1 to a charity org and the receiver (poor target person) will only receive $0.25. Where's the rest ? You should have guess it. Even the 'gatekeeper' (the useless fella who will waste time to see whether that poor man qualify to receive that little donation money) who is probably a grad will benefit from such 'non-profit' org with a good paychecks too. To hell with all these people !

We are not talking about big sums. Its masak masak money. Unless you can't afford it. I rather pay a small amount for them to learn their lesson. We are not buying a consignment of rice are we ?

Ok, you are rich enough to play masak masak with your money good for you...... :):):)

Admit, this is a tough one.
First, ALL MLM's are not 'scams'! Sure, there are some, but not all.
Second, not all MLM Products are 'bad'. Many are excellent quality and better than what you buy at the store. Of course, most are more expensive as well, as there are many levels of commissions to be paid.
MLM is a great way to earn a substantial income - but if someone is harrassing their 'friends' and 'family', they're amateurs. That is the quick way to loose friends, get your family mad, and be teased endlessly.
Tell her to LAY OFF and get online and get some Real training in how to build a business. Learn to treat it like a business. If you started any other kind of business, would you keep bothering your friends over and over? NO!
Finally, those who said you have to sponsor many, many people? Nope. Depending on the company's compensation plan, very frequently all you need is 2 or 3 people who actively work and build their business. That can make you a fortune.
JP