• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Adam Khoo - "The Expats Will Rule Singapore",

Why are Singaporeans always putting down other Singaporeans!? First Adam Khoo, then we have that lau cheebye kia Goh Choke Tiong talking nonsense about Singaporeans!?
You can not take criticism from others , then do not criticise others.

Before i start, I would like to ask: Can you take criticism of this nature well?

This is not about taking criticism or giving criticism. It's about nationalism. Why can't they use the "soft" propaganda approach? Go ahead and spin tales about the superiority of Singaporeans. It may start off as a charade but after awhile people may just buy that and start feeling nationalistic. Nationalistic people are proud people. I would like to think that proud people are productive given the GDP/Capita of proud nations like Japan, Germany, USA etc.....

So do you think the criticism approach is going to work? Maybe for some, but definitely not for the majority. Not many people can take criticism well. I seriously do not find their criticism constructive at all. They emphasize too much on the so-called "capabilities" of the FTs; this seriously make their criticism very bias.

What the fuck do they expect!? As an economy advances, people will of course shun lower end jobs mainly because of the low wages and also because it is damn sia suay to work in this kind of job.

The message he tried to convey is this.. grab the opportunity to advance, and start from the bottom of ladder, if necessary. Especially for those looking for jobs.
However, If the jobs are 'looking for' you, then you can ask for an 'oversize' pay.

I am sure that everyone would not mind starting from the bottom of the ladder PROVIDED that that job is really what he / she likes to do. Face it man, Singapore is relatively advance compared to neighbouring countries. Please do not expect us all to start from the bottom of the ladder just so we can make heaps of money and end up selling our body to the company. Have you not heard of the backward bending labour supply curve? Have you not come across advance countries being more concern about Gross National Happiness rather than the GDP/Capita? Wake up man! We are not slaves!

I mean just look a Australia and other European countries (Since our pinkerton syndrom PAP fucks love the west so much). Lower end jobs are taken up mostly by cheap foreign labours because citizen won't want that kind of Job. Alas, the situtation is not that bad in the western countries because THEY HAVE SUCH THINGS AS MINIMUM WAGES AND STRONG UNION TO PROTECT THE INTEREST OF THOSE WORKING IN LOWER END JOBS.
OZ is sitting on millions and billions $$ of precious mineral/metal/commodity underground.. just like some t-shirt says 'lucky to be an aussie'. Their nature can easily/quickly turn in tourist destinations, no need to man-make...

Australia is just one of the few exception. Many rich countries are without natural resources but yet they can afford decent minimum wages and workplace protection to mitigate the negative perceptions of working in lower end jobs. So if PAP truly wants to keep even the lower end jobs for Singaporeans, perhaps they can start off by implementing minimum wage and liberalize the unions abit.

Singapore is relatively advance compared to neighbouring countries.

Hang on a second. In what way is Singapore relatively advanced? Comparing to neighbours??

You must be fucking joking. I do not see Malaysians or Indonesians for that matter whine and whinge as much as the Ah Beng/Ah Seng.

Where is that swiss standard of living? If you Chinks indeed feel superior to your neighbors, can I suggest you bite the bullet and stop buying up properties in JB.

So much for Chinkapore being better than her neighbors.

FUCK all these bastards restaurant bosses, cleaning companies bosses. Its not about a dirty job in cleaning company or too long hours standing in the restaurant. Fucking problem is that kind of chee bye salary, who wants to work in this kind of job????? Foreigner no need contribute CPF, accomodation provided for, ka ni na, which mother fucker foreigner dont want.

Ka Ni Na, that chee bye Adam Khoo is just a young punk ass, thats all. Childish mentality, that's all I can say!

I'm getting a bit sick with the media constant ranting of Singaporeans not wanting to take up waiting and cleaning jobs.

The media is suggesting that FT policy only affects waiting and cleaning jobs. For donkey years, the media has been using this one and only example to justify FT policy.

Why didn't they mention the loss of programming jobs ? And what about engineers having to drive cabs ?

Before i start, I would like to ask: Can you take criticism of this nature well?

This is not about taking criticism or giving criticism. It's about nationalism. Why can't they use the "soft" propaganda approach? Go ahead and spin tales about the superiority of Singaporeans. It may start off as a charade but after awhile people may just buy that and start feeling nationalistic. Nationalistic people are proud people. I would like to think that proud people are productive given the GDP/Capita of proud nations like Japan, Germany, USA etc.....

It is about soul-searching, look for room for improvement.

Thousands of Singaporeans leaving SG to migrate willingly to OZ/US/UK/Can (mostly), in search of better living/education/Salary... they become other countries's immigrants, then they fight for equal rights, equal employment opportunity..

The very same things they reluctantly/unwillingly gave to the new immigrants coming to SG.

Some highly educated SG immigrants in OZ/UK/US are willing to drop their pride/expectations to work in (or start) restaurants (including cleaning the toilet). Somthing they would not do in SG.

Proud people are productive people?

So do you think the criticism approach is going to work? Maybe for some, but definitely not for the majority. Not many people can take criticism well. I seriously do not find their criticism constructive at all. They emphasize too much on the so-called "capabilities" of the FTs; this seriously make their criticism very bias.
I have heard enough of immigrants/FT bashing in every megazine/news outlets. It is refreshing to hear something different. A healthy debate is to have both sides of story told in many ways.

What the fuck do they expect!? As an economy advances, people will of course shun lower end jobs mainly because of the low wages and also because it is damn sia suay to work in this kind of job.
If so sia-suay, then they should not apply for the job in the first place. Call the company to figure out what the job entails, before submitting the resume.

I am sure that everyone would not mind starting from the bottom of the ladder PROVIDED that that job is really what he / she likes to do. Face it man, Singapore is relatively advance compared to neighbouring countries. Please do not expect us all to start from the bottom of the ladder just so we can make heaps of money and end up selling our body to the company.

In the advanced-countries like US/OZ/UK, they are lots of local abled-bodies men and women working in construction sites, landscaping, labour works, flipping hamburgers.. there is nothing to shame about it, it is honor job for honor wage. Only people who want to lay 'shame' on these people need to be shameful.
If one is so qualified, having right skill-sets and competent, I am sure they will not need to apply for those 'low-skill', 'low-pay' jobs.

Have you not heard of the backward bending labour supply curve? Have you not come across advance countries being more concern about Gross National Happiness rather than the GDP/Capita? Wake up man! We are not slaves!

I do not know about GNH, if one has no job, no money.. it cannot be a happy thing.. regardless where he/she lives.

Australia is just one of the few exception. Many rich countries are without natural resources but yet they can afford decent minimum wages and workplace protection to mitigate the negative perceptions of working in lower end jobs.

I do not think that in countries with minimum wages have NO negative perceptions/stigma attached to those low-end jobs.
One of reasons why racism exists in some countries, is because the society thinks/believes some 'races' are incompetent/inferior/unfit... to hold a decent/(high-end) job.

aiyah! gov keep on saying sinkapoorean dun wan to wash toilet, thats y they let in foreigners to wash toilet. but in the end they let in a lot of fake degree foreigners to be management and now gov expect local degree holders to accept lower pay and wash toilet. election coming, those who know how to think regardless of hokkien peng or scholars will know what to do.

When the day PAP downfall, PRC will govern Singapore.We will be part of China.

Adam Khoo should be consider as a traitor in Singaporean eyes for not hiring Singaporean.

The real question to be asked but was not asked is:

Why after 50 years of PAP govt who continually touts Singapore as a model development story must Singaporeans fight with cheap labour in jobs like cleaners and waiting staff?

Or, ask: what happened to the Swiss std of living where Singaporeans enjoy higher value added jobs and a decent means to retire?
When they talked about model development and swiss standard of living, they were referring to themselves, their families and friends.
Unfortunately, some of us thought that they were referring to everyone.

Agree with Khoo. Because many youngster whose are on full time job still need support from parent. Free logging (free food and room without helping hosuhole expenses), some even worst ask for money.

I'm getting a bit sick with the media constant ranting of Singaporeans not wanting to take up waiting and cleaning jobs.

The media is suggesting that FT policy only affects waiting and cleaning jobs. For donkey years, the media has been using this one and only example to justify FT policy.

Why didn't they mention the loss of programming jobs ? And what about engineers having to drive cabs ?

nothing new, under the great rule of our leader, got phd end up driving cab also