• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

A Tribute To Good Old Forum Banter

Goh Meng Seng People's Power Party

·

+2

https://www.facebook.com/peoplespow...qfEc72wPfzuVbNxZYBKTAX2QrlahA&__tn__=<<,P-y-R

People's Power Party - PPP

·
The False Dream Sold by the Asset Enhancement Scheme: What It Cost Us
-
The belief that HDB flats are ‘retirement assets’ is fundamentally flawed. In reality, these flats are meant for housing all generations, not as investment tools. The 99-year lease policy only works if we’re ready to rebuild and renew by year 30.
-
For years, the Asset Enhancement Scheme lulled us into a false sense of security, selling us the idea of forever ‘enhanced’ values. In chasing short-term profits, Singaporeans may have jeopardized their own future and that of generations to come. With each passing year, the sustainability of our housing market grows more uncertain.
-
The way forward is clear—focus on creating a housing policy that prioritizes need over profit. This means acknowledging the limits of 99-year leases and planning for regular rebuilding cycles. Only by doing so can we ensure a stable, sustainable future for all.
-
#hdb #retirement #singaporepolitics #singapore #singaporehousing

·
I guess a lot of Singaporeans are extremely disappointed by the broken promise of LTA & SMRT of resuming the train service along the East West line on Monday, from Buona Vista to Jurong East.
This is after 5 days of disruption from normal service and contrary to what the Minister for Transport Chee Hong Tat has wished, there is apparent anger outburst from the ground and lots of Singaporeans are losing patience. My friend was basically screaming and venting his frustration to me when he was trying to travel between town and Boon Lay.
When the MRT broke down and service disrupted for 5 hours in Dec 2011, the then CEO & President of SMRT Saw Phaik Hwa resigned in Jan 2012 and the performance bonus shares awarded to her were cut back.
Right now, instead of 5 hours disruption, we are having 5 days or even longer disruption! I really wonder who will take responsibility and accountability for this disruption?!
I really don't know how they do their checks on the tracks before they started the track repair. They first claimed there are 34 cracks and after fixing these cracks, they found another 12 more?!
This doesn't instill confidence in the whole repair and maintenance of the SMRT and LTA at all! How would we know if they didn't miss another few more cracks after fixing the 12?
They say that these cracks were previously "not visible" during the first checks. My question is, how did they perform the checks in the first place!
Are they just using their eyes for visual checks or with laser scanners? There are already high tech Robotic scanners which utilize AI to identify fine line defects for rail!
How can they miss these additional cracks if they are using effective tools?
I think it is time to have another COI on this apparent incompetency of LTA and SMRT in maintaining our MRT.

GMS gives some adviCe. :wink::coffee::tongue:

·
This is an advanced small size, handy rail track Robotic AI Laser scanner which the Chinese developed to help in the maintenance of the hundreds of thousands kilometers of rail tracks in China.
There are also 3D Robotic scanners made by other companies which will do scanning to ensure the surrounding area of the tracks are clear and safe for the trains to pass through, apart from checking on the wear and tear of the tracks.
Some companies from the Western countries have also develop similar devices utilizing AI technology to help them to maintain their rail systems.
There is really no excuse for LTA and SMRT to miss out the 12 cracks if they have used the appropriate tools to do the checks on the tracks.
I really wonder how they plan their "predictive maintenance" if they don't utilize such scanners to provide data for their system to crunch! What types of sensors have they installed that would end up with 3 breakdowns within 2 weeks?

GMS provides some comments. :wink::coffee::tongue:

·
Critical Infrastructure Maintenance & Retainment of Core Expertise
For the past 5 days, we have witnessed how our critical infrastructure fell apart and how incompetent and inadequate SMRT was in dealing with such incident.
SMRT and LTA tried to excuse themselves from such inadequacy by providing the "unfortunate" narrative that this was some "very rare" incident. Their spin doctors tried very hard to soften the anger among the public with the help of the main stream media.
A 35 year old train with its axles dropping off is rare because no proper maintenance and inspection was carried out prior to the incident. We don't believe things just happen out of the sudden.
This is the first sign of under investment in maintenance.
We definitely expect SMRT sending lots of its core maintenance team to rush in to save the day. However from the first batch of photographs posted on official social media, it is apparent that cheap and unskilled or semi skilled foreign workers were deployed in great numbers without a clear idea on what to do on the track, just waiting for instructions.
To put salt onto injury, more cracks were found after work was done and they have to delay for another day to patch it up.
It makes me wonder whether they have used any appropriate tools to carry out the initial inspection of the track.
From all these observations, not withstanding the record breaking of 6 days disruptions, it seems that there are more serious underlying problems with the top management.
Those unskilled or semi skilled workers are most probably from contractors or subcontractors.
Out sourcing is a common practice in modern commercial settings. However, I would say that for rail maintenance, especially for specific track replacement, there are only 2 MRT operators and SMRT is the larger operator.
When there is a monopolistic structure which involve in maintaining a Critical Infrastructure like MRT, it is important to build a competent inhouse maintenance team to train and retain the niche and special skills involved in managing train system.
Not only do we need the huge number of workers on the track during such crisis, but all these workers must be skilled, trained and proficient in track maintenance.
Else, productivity will be greatly compromised and disruption will inevitably be longer than necessary.
I am also skeptical that SMRT has adequate effective and efficient tools for inspection of the tracks during such crisis. Cracks don't just appear suddenly and most of the time, they start with very fine hairline cracks which are very difficult to detect by human eyes.
There are modern advanced devices specially designed for such purpose. It seems that inspite of all those boasting about high tech investment, such important basic tools are lacking.
It is important for MRT to be run by a team of people who understand, this is critical Infrastructure and maintaining a team with adequate number of professionals who are highly proficient in maintaining the train system is of utmost importance without compromise. Our whole economy depends on it
SMRT should cut down its reliance on contractors and subcontractors when it comes to maintenance of mission critical assets while building up its own core maintenance team.
On top of that, SMRT may have to form a crisis quick response team of engineers to manage such breakdowns and disruptions.
Grooming and retaining technical expertise in maintenance are fundamental to a reliable subway.
6 days of disruption is really unacceptable and unprecedented in Singapore's history. Singaporeans won't want to experience it again.

GMS comments on spin doctors. :wink::coffee::biggrin:

·
The New Tactics of Spin Doctors
Have you noticed something? In almost all the statements and social media postings from LTA and SMRT, they have not made any formal "apologies" or say "sorry" for the inconvenience caused to everyone!?
They merely report on how hardworking they were, working round the clock, the progress they made or even project "upbeat" emotions when they were near completion of repair. But when there was setback, they didn't mention the setback right away but spin it as they were concerned about everyone's safety and it was the track's fault of having additional cracks ... Not their fault at all... Etc
They project the impression everyone is very understanding, very patient, nobody is angry of them and if you are angry, you are the odd one out. You will be deemed as the one "ungrateful" of their hardwork and you are wrong to be angry!
The whole main stream media helped to maintain that "social psyche" and they have successfully suppressed any outburst of anger.
Only good things said about the staffs and "arrangements" are broadcast while all negativity are suppressed.
This is the new psychological propaganda technique utilized by PAP's spin doctors.
The only mistake they made were putting up the first set of photos of unskilled and clueless foreign workers on the track.
The only apology I heard was from Chee Hong Tat.
They ignored those who got angry and pretended that everyone was very patient and understanding.
They just hope nobody will mention about their incompetency and mismanagement, carefully crafted the narrative that this is some "unfortunate rare" incident which has nothing to do with them, not their fault....etc.
Of course, they will send their full force of IBs to those who criticize them or point out the obvious incompetency... People like me.
I must say, they are really good but I will continue to raise the issues.

·
Someone sent me this PAP's 1988 General Elections Slogan...
How should they use it now? Singapore's on the Broken Track Let's Jump Train?

461735839_1032673115535180_7247610712345291742_n.jpg

·
This is the EXPLICIT propaganda tactic PAP is utilizing.
"Patience is maturity" and it implicitly means you will be immature and it would be even a sin if you kpkb or "finding fault" over such Greatest Blunder in MRT History.
You are expected to "rally behind" these incompetent people and you are expected to cheer and praise them when they merely recover from their own blunders after such a huge delay of 6 days! You must also learn to "Salute" them when they are just merel…
See more
May be an image of 1 person and text

·
How would the PAP Spin Doctors spin these "Unfortunate" incidents?
Thomson East Coast Line was down for 6 hours in Dec 2020 when it was launched in Jan 2020.
Now, it is down again... Right after they resolved the 6 days disruption for East West Line!

·
I believe many Singaporeans start to realize the current PAP is no longer the PAP they used to know.
They expect to be paid the World's Highest salaries for "Top Talents who will not corrupt" but we ended up with a PAP Minister charged for accepting gratification which in the past, it would normally presumed as corruption for public servants but now, it's just of lesser charge instead of corruption charges.
And these highly paid talents have not performed well as we would expect. From OBU, SimplyGo, oil spill to Historical Record 6 days MRT breakdown disruptions to GST increases amidst high inflation, enormous increase population over past 20 yrs and planning for more, highly inflated prices for HDB, inadequacy of CPF for retirement, inadequate healthcare resources and hospital beds etc...
Singapore is just like a train running on a broken track and it could derail anytime if we are not careful.
It's Time To Change these broken tracks. Yes We Can!
May be an image of train and text

23h ·
I agree totally with High Court Judge Vincent Hoong that the proposed sentences from both AGC and defense are insufficient in reflecting the seriousness of the crimes, a total of 34 counts of acceptance of gratifications as a public figure servant.
However, personally I still feel that 1 year jail term is too light when it is unprecedented for his corruption charges to be amended and reduced to a lesser charge.
As this is the first time a public servant has been charged under 165 Penal Code, 34 counts of such breach with a total amount more than $300K would make it to be a very serious breach. This sentencing will set important precedent for future cases on this similar charge.
Any similar situation with lower number of breaches or lesser amount of value/money involved would take reference from this current sentence.
I would expect a full 2 years jail term or at least one and a half year jail term. I guess the respectable Judge has taken into account that Iswaran has made a disgorgement of more than $380K to the state as the main mitigation for this sentence of 1 year jail term. I can accept that as mitigation factor.
I would consider the proposed sentence of 7 months from AGC is really off the mark and I am glad the learned judge thinks the same.
I hope that this judgement will set an example for all public servants, including political office holders, that such practice of accepting gratifications is really unacceptable for Singapore.
May be an image of 6 people and text that says Best News Website or Mobile Service cna Top Stories Digital Media Awards Worldwide 2022 Latest News Asia East Asia Sir Former Singapore minister S Iswaran sentenced to 12 months' jail for obtaining valuables worth S$403,300, obstructing justice 8 minutes 8minutesago aA Singapore As it happened: Iswaran gets jail after pleading guilty to 5 offences 2 hours A FAST Singapore

GMS will go through the Population Paper again. :coffee:

Goh Meng Seng People's Power Party was live.​

·
Too many issues happened over this week and it is good to tackle these issues early.
I will go through the Population Paper again in response to the comment of 8million to 10million population.

GMS is concerned. :cautious:

·

+2

https://www.facebook.com/peoplespow...STi0n5mC6Gg9VbwsoONkApnLjKnvA&__tn__=<<,P-y-R

·
Here’s Why Your HDB Flat Might Not Be the Retirement Security You Think It Is
-
Many Singaporeans have been counting on their HDB flats to provide financial security in retirement. But what happens when your HDB flat loses value as it ages? A house built on shaky ground is no foundation for a secure future.
-
A shrinking resale market, falling demand for older flats, and an overburdened CPF system—these are the realities facing us today.
-
It’s time for Singapore to dismantle the social engineering in housing and embrace a transparent market where value reflects reality. Redevelopment and policy realignment are necessities to prevent a housing market meltdown and ensure a stable future for all.
-
#hdb #singapore #singaporepolitics #retirement

GMS explains meritocracy. :wink:

·
Meritocracy
The basis of "Meritocracy" must be built up on a set of clear and uncompromising rules on rewards and punishment in accordance to performance.
These must be based on the objective assessment of performance and not subjected to who you are or who you know.
选贤举能
选贤举能的制度最根本的前提是赏罚分明。
这是以客观审查结果的优质或恶劣为依据,而不受身份地位和家世背景所左右。

462165324_1037191275083364_6155971787344196033_n.jpg

·

https://www.facebook.com/peoplespow...BfI6JvYaDacNOghIE1yPLhkK4aFeg&__tn__=<<,P-y-R

·
The People's Power Party concurs with High Court Judge Vincent Hoong’s assessment that the proposed sentences from both the prosecution and defense fail to adequately reflect the seriousness of the 34 counts of gratification involving a public servant.
-
However, while we recognize that the judge has imposed a sentence higher than what the Public Prosecutor initially sought, we have hoped for a much longer sentence that could reflect fully the severity of the charges. The crimes involved a total value of the gifts amounting to approximately $403,300, which we opine that the sentence on such gravity should give a strong message and effect a deterrence to all public servants and political office holders.
-
We also respectfully seek clarification from the Attorney-General’s Chambers regarding its statement on 24th September 2024, specifically concerning the litigation risk and the application of Section 8 of the Prevention of Corruption Act. This provision presumes corrupt intent unless proven otherwise, effectively placing the burden of proof on the accused. We are keen to understand how this legal principle was applied in the present case.
-
PPP expressed concern as this case could set a dangerous precedent for future corruption-related cases underscoring the need for a more fitting charges to serve as a deterrent for public officials.
-
#singapore #singaporepolitics

GMS explains his position. :wink::coffee::thumbsup:

20h ·
Stop Giving Out New Citizenship Aggressively
1) Ageing population would mean we will face shortage in manpower while those who retired would grow in size.
2) We do not need to give out New Citizenship to supplement our workforce. We just need PRs, EP, SP or even WP to supplement our workforce.
3) As long as we have enough foreign labour working here, paying GST and income tax, the government's Fiscal position would not be compromised.
4) Giving out New Citizenship in an aggressive way would actually worsen the situation of ageing population in the mid and long term. It will also worsen our fiscal position as the gov will need to provide more subsidies to these New Citizens as compared to PRs.
5) Most importantly, unlike PRs or other migrant workers, the country will have to take care of their retirement and Healthcare needs!
6) Over 50% of New Citizenship were given to those who are above 30 years old. This will NOT improve our situation of ageing population at all. In fact it will aggravate the situation of ageing population in 30 years time if our population continues to have low fertility rate
7) The Fundamental issue is how to get our young couples married at youngest age possible and how to facilitate family formation so to encourage each young family to have more than 3 children.
1f60e.png
In the mid term, we should just utilize foreign labour to supplement our reduced workforce but after they reach retirement age, these foreign labour should return to their homeland instead of staying on in Singapore to compete for limited retirement resources like healthcare.
9) We should only give New Citizenship primarily to foreign spouses of Singapore Citizens and those of younger age like foreign students.
10) In my view, the current Policy of giving out New Citizenship in such an aggressive way will inevitably bring devastating impact upon us in 30 or 40 years time.
It is time to rethink the path of our Nation ahead.

·

https://www.facebook.com/peoplespow...g1GhLlkeVEm738kuJQ2p8-57NM79w&__tn__=<<,P-y-R

·
The promise of homeownership has long been tied to the dream of financial stability in Singapore. But with 2035 approaching, half of all HDB flats will have less than 60 years left on their lease. Is this the retirement safety net we were promised?
-
The current HDB-CPF linkage has created a flawed system that leads many to believe they’re building wealth. But in reality, many homeowners are stuck with depreciating assets and mounting debt. Young couples are forced into expensive decisions with limited housing options. The illusion of an appreciating asset is fading, and the consequences are becoming clearer.
-
It’s time to rethink our housing policies and untangle CPF from HDB purchases. We need more transparency, flexibility, and fairness in the market to prevent an impending housing crisis. Reform is not just an option; it’s a necessity for the future of Singapore.
-
#hdb #singapore #singaporepolitics #retirement #finance

GMS is worried. :coffee::cautious::tongue:

·
Most people would not find anything interesting about the 2 charts shown attached but for me, they provide very important indications of a few aspects of PAP's Population Policy.
One must understand the Context of these data before we proceed to analyze them.
Any Citizen who have left Singapore and not return for 12 months or more will be considered as "Overseas Singaporeans" and they will not be included in the calculations of "Residents Population" aka "Singaporeans residing in Singapore". Presumably children born by Singaporeans outside Singapore and registered their Singapore citizenship will be considered as "Overseas Singaporeans" as well.
Among the issues I garner insights from these data is that there was a huge number of Singaporeans who have given up their Singapore citizenship in 2021.
Some people say that the drop of 20,000 in Resident Singaporean population in 2021 was due to Singaporeans being stranded overseas. This is apparently false as the number of Overseas Singaporeans has also reduced drastically by 24000 from 2020 figures!
It basically means that there is a total drop of 44000 of Singapore citizens from both Overseas and Resident Singaporeans.
There was only a 4000 increase in deaths as compared to 2020.
If we take into account of the number of New Citizenship given out in 2021, the number of Singaporeans who have given up their citizenship may reach over 60,000 to 70,000!
This is a very worrying sign because it shows that in times of crisis like Covid, there may be an exodus of Singaporeans who will just throw in their pink IC, withdraw their CPF and leave Singapore altogether.
But who could do that within a short period of time? Only a few groups of people can do that easily while majority of Singaporeans who are born and grown up in Singapore's HDB flats could hardly have that international mobility amidst lockdowns in almost all countries in the world!