• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

A Singaporean's guide to living in Thailand

Re: A Singaporean's guide to living in Thailand ? Feasible?

joetys, think this one must 'tui' instead of massage. Have did it myself in the past with some 'tui' oil. If massage wrongly, can worsen the condition. One bad thing is I still continue to drink 'cold stuff' just like beer.

Funny how different is TCM to modern medicine. I'm a believer in both.

If you want to try the sports medicine way, what you need is RICE i.e. Rest, Ice, Compression, Elevation. The objective is to minimize the swelling of blood vessels in the 1st 2 days. Massage stimulates blood circulation, that would be a bad thing the first couple of days - you'd want the opposite effect. You try heat/massage only after the swelling has gone down - to promote healing - after the first couple of days.

I play competitive sports and that's helped me through the many injuries I've had.

Funny how different is TCM to modern medicine. I'm a believer in both.

If you want to try the sports medicine way, what you need is RICE i.e. Rest, Ice, Compression, Elevation. The objective is to minimize the swelling of blood vessels in the 1st 2 days. Massage stimulates blood circulation, that would be a bad thing the first couple of days - you'd want the opposite effect. You try heat/massage only after the swelling has gone down - to promote healing - after the first couple of days.

I play competitive sports and that's helped me through the many injuries I've had.
Hi rtks, thanks for providing the info. What I got what a simple sprained ankle. The normal type which one gets when the foot did not land properlyt but land at an angle. Got this many times during my younger days. The foot is slightly swollen. The pain is only acute when the foot make certain movements. Regarding the cold drink myth, I quite believe it as the last 'sprained ankle' I got was about 1.5 years ago (motorbike accident). It took almost a month to heal completely as I did not abstain from drinking beer. Guess another factor is me old liaoz.

Btw i hear that the chinese over there actually speak more thai and have thai names rather than chinese ones like that pornsak.

From my experience, the older generation (60s and up) speak Chinese well. They are usually 1st or more likely 2nd generation immigrants. Lots of Teochews - Thaksin for example has donated lots of money to the Shantou area (or so says my mom).

Those that are 20s-50s cannot speak anything but Thai. Just like Indonesia, the Chinese were forced to localize i.e. names had to be changed and few to no schools in the vernacular. The Thai school system is a very efficient brainwashing factory line in more ways than just language. Besides, there was little inspiration then to connect with their Chinese roots - China was a backwater in 70s and opened up only in the 80s.

Those that have young kids now are all sending them to Mandarin classes so you will see a rebound in language ability in the future. Lots of Chinese schools that teach Mandarin alongside the Thai curriculum - very popular option.

In the end, no different than any Chinese immigrant story anywhere else in the world i.e. 1st one-or-two generations keep the language, language lost the next generation, only to be recovered by later generations.

Alamak, think if I come to BKK,..last destination in the itinerary. :p
massage wrongly, can worsen the condition
joetys said:
knn you living in Thailand and Thailand has Thai massage la go for a 3hr session guarantee come out song song
Jua gen massage?!:p Oops, wrong diagnosis.. wrong body part
chonburifc said:
I cannot really tell the difference between a good wine and bad wine. Normally, I just ask the waiter or captain to introduce something reasonable.
Sometimes, a good house red will do the trick:D But vintage will do you good, as sour maybe mean too young grape harvest. Unless you like syts over milf;) But even vintage if not kept properly can turn into vinegar, jing2

Joetys, welcome home even it's for weekend.

Sprains can be easy and sprains can be hard. I would see a doctor if it doesn't get better - you may have torn a ligament or a fracture.
A minor sprain is not a muscle injury or bone injury - it is your ligaments that get stretched or minor tearing. Those ligaments need to heal
A doctor can also inject cortisone to bring down swelling and can also do a MRI/X-Ray to determine if it's more severe or not. Usually they don't do the MRI first because it is expensive. MRI's are unlike X-ray because they can reveal soft-tissue injury.

It will take up to a month. Important is to rest and immobilize - the ankle area is harder to heal fast because of constant motion. I also take a class of painkillers called NSAID (non steroidal anti inflammatory drug). It's like panadol but not panadol. Ask pharmacy for ibuprofen - they're usually available over the counter in western countries. I take it for the 1st week to bring the swelling down. Don't worry, like I said, it's like panadol (not special special drug) with the added benefit of reducing swelling.

I just recovered from a running injury I have sometimes called plantar fasciitis so I feel your pain. I've had a pretty bad hamstring pull 2 years back that took 4 months to recover.

When swelling comes down, that's the time for massage or physio. The ligaments will heal and new ligament tissue will grow. Physio/massage important because you don't want them to stiffen but you want "coach" them to be pliable.

Guess what? Wine for me is quite wasteful. I cannot really tell the difference between a good wine and bad wine. :D
Normally, I just ask the waiter or captain to introduce something reasonable. Last night, only have Heineken draft.

I too don't know much about nor care about wine. I know I like red, never white, and I like an medium to full-bodied varietal like a Merlot or a Shiraz. Recently I like Malbecs from Argentina/chile. Only time I drink really is on a plane to put myself to sleep. Thailand also produces wine and the ones I have tasted were very very bad. Don't know what varietals they use.

Beer I like darker ales. Not dark like stout. But I don't like or drink pilsners like Heineken/Leo etc often. If I had to choose a pilsner, I like Yanjing - very nice. Preferably without ice cubes in it but if I am with Thais, I don't insist - I go with the flow.

Saw this rare Bentley Coupe at the car wash while sending hybrid for regular car wash. A rare beauty.

Photo0419.jpg

Photo0420.jpg

If same car in S'pore, maids will be entrusted to wash the car meticulously. Public car wash, even handwash, for these cars not common here.

joetys, think this one must 'tui' instead of massage. Have did it myself in the past with some 'tui' oil. If massage wrongly, can worsen the condition. One bad thing is I still continue to drink 'cold stuff' just like beer.

My orthopaedic surgeon friend once advised me not to 'tui' as 'tui-ing' will exacerbate the injury.

Here's some pics of last evening dinner at Pan Pan Italian restaurant (my only favorite Italian restaurant). They are using the traditional stove for the pizzas. Did not go for wine but 2 pints of Heineken to go with the food. :)

Photo0410.jpg

Photo0417.jpg

Is that the Italian restaurant at Pan Pacific:confused:

My orthopaedic surgeon friend once advised me not to 'tui' as 'tui-ing' will exacerbate the injury.

Yes, 'tui-ing' will exacerbate the injury. The moral of the story is not to add pressure on the injured spot.

Tomorrow Singapore till Monday night. Have a few meetings to attend.

Just got home "dinner" with Hazard. Got my birthday present guess what?

91fe7f7c.jpg

So thoughtful. Love it.

So what did you get for her ?

The Thai school system is a very efficient brainwashing factory line in more ways than just language.

I like you buddy, you very kraengjai to just stop at this point. :D cheeky fella. Ooops did I just revealed I'm red?

Joetys, welcome home even it's for weekend.

Thanks Yingyang, back to help my distributor sell products la, ad 3 presentations lined up for me. Of course at the same time I will not miss my meepok-tar.

When swelling comes down, that's the time for massage or physio. The ligaments will heal and new ligament tissue will grow. Physio/massage important because you don't want them to stiffen but you want "coach" them to be pliable.

Chonburifc when you get to this point when swelling comes down, I also advise you to use hydro-therapy in a nice hot jacuzzi with helpers, but be careful don't slip na, wait another ankle kenna injured.

So what did you get for her ?

Nothing leh we only had dinner at Wine I Love You bistro. Its not her birthday so no present for her. Anyway this is my early present la actual day is not today its next week.

So thoughtful. Love it.

I've got to ask - who or what is "Hazard". I'm figuring that it's got to be more than that Thai-only menswear label.

"Hazard" is the nick of his old flame. She got the nick from me because she was a promoter for the menswear "Hazard". And the topic of Hazard was brought into life because of the sexy uniform.

he he he old flame? hmmm ???

Now in airport. 45mins to my flight and I'm still in the super long queue for immigration. I'm sure I'll be late. Multi billion dollar airport you get this fucking long line. Unbelievable. Please be warned go early, this fuckup is something new.

After one had checked-in next is to get into the Immigration hall where there are lines. Don't know what the fuck is happening now the line OUTSIDE the hall is like fucking 250m long. Dont use to have any line outside. YES and this is before you get into the hall, more lines. Good hardware fuckup software. This never happen before. Shame on the Thais.

7dd0ae81.jpg

Behind me

f2040a4d.jpg

Front of me

he he he old flame? hmmm ???
Nice.. you'd look wal lun and see daeng too. Liked roti's "incisive" query on label or something more +555:p
Unbelievable. Please be warned go early, this fuckup is something new.
Last month, I was in Swampy (another farang nick for airport) 2X and noticed immig Q was getting longish ..but nothing like this kns. Also may have something to do with ongoing reno. I used to check on monitor which departure channel (of 2) had shorter Q, but now both koyak anyhow.