• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

A Singaporean's guide to living in Thailand

Re: A Singaporean's guide to living in Thailand ? Feasible?

its part of culture n fun thing. Let us knowof any upcoming concerts in banok pls?

I think you just started off something, local concerts. We should be posting local concerts on this thread for everyone. Guess many Singaporeans and foreigners love Thai music not just lukthung and morlam like me but also the other music like pop, puer chiwit, Thai rap etc. ok I will start to post on concerts here from now on hope chonburifc and any other underground bros can contribute.

(sorry I disappeared for past few hours, now at poseidon car park about to drivel home)

Carabao likes to play adhoc at small venues like pubs own by their friends.....the fan club will release details as and when.....last caught their concert in Singapore a few months back.....before that was also here in Tawandaeng Dempsey when they hop on stage for an impromptu set.....

Malihuana song's are so hard to sing......was told he used to be a teacher from southern thailand...

hmmmmmm not sure he teacher or not but sure sure hybrid music goes very well with a stick of real marijuana.

Re: Patts (de-brief?)

Just to share some personal thoughts on my Patts getaway and meetup with esteemed joetys and chonburifc last weekend.

Patts is surreal, with majority population either -local migrants from other parts, tourists (in-transit)and foreigner residents. It's still the tail end high season, so you can't help but notice the hordes in hotels, WS and other attractions (invitably includes beer bars, arb nam joints).

Thanks to chonburifc's guided tour, I had different insight to Patts (beyond WS). Eye opener to Russkie and Korean presence. Near Jomtien, you even Russkie "town" with own shops, massage and laundry! And food courts/restaurants have russian text on menus and signs. Jomtien precinct smells money alright, with nice and clean boulevards. And beach sure looks more "swimmable" than main Beach Rd's.

We even managed to hit Sattahip, very much thai naval "turf" with U-Tapao airport. You don't see many tourists here. And we had had (possibly) best fishball nooodles in thailand in this kopitiam. Suit our blander sg taste buds. 2 bowls noodles + side dish + 2 drinks for princely sum thb150 only (and chonburifc thinks it's not cheap). He's even commuted 40km from his base to fix his craving (or if he's had a bad hair day in office!)

Didn't sample arb nam joints, but had a few mid afternoon beers at looksee in Rasputin (sounds russkie?). Quite luxurious setup, similiar to better ones in Ratchada Bkk. You have the popular Sabai establishments not far off.

As for WS, little to add to what others have not already experienced (or written about). Baccara agg is nicer, more comfortable than some of other aggs (some quite grotty, where you wouldn't want to imbibe more than 1 pint). SuperBaby and Supergal aggs more tuned to asian clientele (with more kao2or fairer types). Insomnia disco was packed like sardines, with prospects of FLs (so I hear) but I couldn't check it out or get in minus ID.

Also did soi Buakow, more laid back and popular with local farangs with cheaper drinks pricing (half of WS! thb60 for a beer vs thb120++).

Was honoured to be acquainted with both chonburifc and joetys (straight talking and successful businessman). Appreciate both made time/effort, and tcss was enlightening too. Am lousy with pics, so no visuals here

PS: Bells bus service ex Bkk airport is good for commute with transfers to specific hotels. But I didn't have luxury of time, so had private taxi service from Mr T - to Patts thb1000 (incl tolls) and return thb900. Both ways, I had 2 different lady drivers with good spoken english and comfy cars (Camry, Altis).
Hehehe. you forgot to mention the most important thing in a FR. What about the RTF? Guess F might stand for Fantasy in this case. :D

Paiseh, I couldn't find the way to the lunch time karaoke. But will recce the place again cos' sometimes need a break from Pattaya. :)

I think you just started off something, local concerts. We should be posting local concerts on this thread for everyone. Guess many Singaporeans and foreigners love Thai music not just lukthung and morlam like me but also the other music like pop, puer chiwit, Thai rap etc. ok I will start to post on concerts here from now on hope chonburifc and any other underground bros can contribute.

(sorry I disappeared for past few hours, now at poseidon car park about to drivel home)
LOS concerts can be fun because of the audience. Most will get very high with or without additional stuff. Even aunties also wave their hands the 'Sek Loso' style.

Add this line. Saw your last comments in brackets (). You very the good life hor. Me still in office.

OK, think there is some problem on the import tariff database. The export tariff search is working but not the import. Usually, I just key in some search description and it will return the results with the tariff in percent. In this case, you have to rely on the printed version which is available at SE-ED bookstores.

I have never come across any SE-ED bookstores. Any in Bangkok ?

Wah piangz! You confirm not studious type (Tak Chek Kia). They have so many branches in BKK that they have to seperate their BKK branches into sub-districts. Refer to http://www.se-ed.com/Branch/Branch.aspx for nearest branch to ThongLor. Website not in English but I will see if there any branches near Thong Lor. Also, if you cannot find a book in the branch, they can arrange for delivery to a branch of your choice. I have been using their service for sometime and they are good but not much English books beside those for learning English.

the RTF? Guess F might stand for Fantasy in this case. :D, I couldn't find the way to the lunch time karaoke. :)
Just picture this in your mind: Carrying your private collection 5kg rice (with my ipad on other hand) after your drop off in WS, and showing sights to other forummer?! Kns, he can 'tong' blxxdy 1 week in Patts? Pom ngoen mot laew..

Thanks, your special organic rice put to good use (khao tom).

Wah piangz! You confirm not studious type (Tak Chek Kia). They have so many branches in BKK that they have to seperate their BKK branches into sub-districts. Refer to http://www.se-ed.com/Branch/Branch.aspx for nearest branch to ThongLor. Website not in English but I will see if there any branches near Thong Lor. Also, if you cannot find a book in the branch, they can arrange for delivery to a branch of your choice. I have been using their service for sometime and they are good but not much English books beside those for learning English.

Hello ? So many branches ? You sure or not ? I only know of Asia Books and Kinokuniya.

Anyway, what is the title of that book ? At least when I step in I can ask the sales lady.

Hehehe. No problem. Paiseh to make you carry the rice in WS. Now, I think about it. How silly of me? Paiseh paiseh.

Actually it's call Khao Mai (Freshly harvested rice).The rice available in supermarkets are actually old rice. The rice traders/merchants do a FIFO (First-In First-Out) in their rice warehouse. The rice available in most supermarkets can be up to 6-12 months old. The freshest rice is always store in the warehouse and the oldest rice is always first to distribute to the supermarkets. I suspect it's even older for oversea supermarkets which LOS exports to.

I still have about a quarter tonne of jasmine rice in the upcountry. Can only keep this little as I do not have the proper storage facility. When the next harvesting season start, I will either sell the rice from previous harvest at low price or donate. Most farmers will keep some rice to last till the next harvesting season.

Hello ? So many branches ? You sure or not ? I only know of Asia Books and Kinokuniya.

Anyway, what is the title of that book ? At least when I step in I can ask the sales lady.
OK, My ex-colleague will confirm the actual title but she told me it's "Pa See Sun La Ga Gorn" or Customs Duty. The book is huge about the size of SG's yellow page.

This morning when I flipped open RoC Apple Daily, I saw this shocker:

084007-9h00.jpg

Recognizable at first instance ?

This morning when I flipped open RoC Apple Daily, I saw this shocker:

http://ent.yinsha.com/photo/2012/02/01/084007-9h00.jpg[/IMG

Recognizable at first instance ?[/QUOTE]Taiwan billionaire wants this abalone okay......dun play play

OK, My ex-colleague will confirm the actual title but she told me it's "Pa See Sun La Ga Gorn" or Customs Duty. The book is huge about the size of SG's yellow page.
KYP, pai seh. The official name is Pri Gat Sun La Ka Korn. SE-ED no longer sell this book. You have to get it at Customers Department at Pra Ram 4.

Do you have a copy of that book ? If so, I will just have to ask you to check one or two items for me :) No need to buy a cow just because I want to have a glass of milk right ?

Books in my ex-company but just a phone call to my ex-colleague will settle. PM me the items you need. I sent you the pdf. ;)