Pai Seh, need to consult the resident Kopi expert who has MIA for last few days laew.
Resident Kopi Siao busy applying for government grant and registering a new patent. Anything special can always PM me.
Roasted ground coffee can go stale quickly. A good rule of thumb is simply do not buy more than you can drink in a week. Once ground coffee has been opened and the vacuum has been broken, ground coffee is subject to light and odors. The optimum drinking time for opened ground coffee is five to seven days. After opening the ground coffee, it should then be transferred from the bag or can into a light-proof container that is also airtight. The biggest culprits in storing ground coffee are light, air, moisture, and heat. By storing ground coffee in an opaque container that is airtight, you can avoid these coffee flavor offenders.
Another way to avoid these flavor sucking factors is to store your coffee in the freezer in a double wrapped package. Never, and it can’t be said enough, never store your coffee in the refrigerator. Why? Do you put baking soda in your refrigerator to catch odors? If you don’t, have you seen the commercials extolling the virtues of an open container of baking soda in the refrigerator? Coffee acts just like baking soda in the refrigerator. It traps all the moisture and all the odors and flavors of other foods. The best part of waking up is certainly not coffee that tastes of last nights fish or the leftover garlic chicken that has been sitting in the refrigerator. However, coffee can be stored in it’s original packaging and then placed in a plastic freezer bag and then stored in the freezer. Using a drinking straw to suck out the extra air and form a type of vacuum bag is recommended. Be sure you don’t suck any coffee grounds up through that straw though.
Storing ground, well wrapped coffee in the freezer is only a smart option if you have more coffee than you can use in the next week. For coffee that will be used within a week, the best method of storage is, as mentioned above, an opaque, airtight container. A stone or ceramic cannister is a smart investment for coffee storage. It is recommended that you actually invest in a quality cannister. A cheap cannister is not going to be airtight. Since most people keep their cannisters on the counter, you must have an airtight one unless you like your coffee tasting of anything that is cooked on your stovetop.
Read more: http://www.brewplus.com/coffee/how-...some-obvious-tips-and-pointers/#ixzz1tRpqSaOG