• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

A Brief Story about Lexus

nightsafari

Lexus just can’t seem to get their design right... it is still a luxury ah Pek car
So who is this design for?

1617092114668.png

1617092293021.png

beaver that's lost it's mate?

nightsafari

K.N.N.

Safety mostest important mah..:biggrin:.

Ask Boss SamLeong.
Strongest advocate of
PMDs.:thumbsup:
KNN if everyone else in PMD I will also in PMD. If in PMD and forced to be on road with cars, no thank you.

KNN

Actually I prefer walk and MRT KNN

Hypocrite-The

Lexus is extremely reliable but a bit boring and some may say ugly
but their latest compact crossover quite handsome

View attachment 107020
View attachment 107021
Actually u got me thinking,,,,,Lexus probably got its design inspiration from Toyota,,because Toyota cars are damn boring,,,when compared with Kim chee cars,,,the kim chees really put alot of emphasis on design,,,it just till date to me,,,Nip cars are still better in reliability and serviceability ...if one wants a real go getter tough as nails vehicles,,the to go for vehicle in ang mor lands is still the classic toyota land cruiser,,,its like being in an 80s car,,,everything damn old fashion and old tech,...but because it doesent have those sensors and made to last,,,its chance of cock ups in extreme terrain is very highly unlikely,,,but to drive that vehicle in singkieland is a nightmare,,,with all the start and stops etc,,,just changing gears already sian

mahjongking

drove 2 foresters before and they are quite tough and very spacious
love them....
Subarus are a bit of a European style car
downside is, a drinker especially with AWD and turbo

LordElrond

Only Italian designs and German engineering (occasionally the design as well) can make it... Japanese wins in reliability but that’s about it... just like Ho Ching is a reliable wife for Ah Loong

Hyundai has caught up and possibly surpassed japanese in design in certain categories,

The Kia Telluride is the 2020 MotorTrend SUV of the Year
History Made: Kia joins the premier league
2020 Kia Telluride SX V6 AWD 11
1617097413073.jpeg

SEE ALL 21 PHOTOS
Angus MacKenzieWordsJade NelsonPhotos
Nov 19, 2019
The Kia Telluride's achievement as winner of MotorTrend's 2020 SUV of the Year award is more inevitability than incongruity.

Hypocrite-The

Hyundai has caught up and possibly surpassed japanese in design in certain categories,

View attachment 107043View attachment 107043
SEE ALL 21 PHOTOS
Nov 19, 2019
The Kia Telluride's achievement as winner of MotorTrend's 2020 SUV of the Year award is more inevitability than incongruity.
is it reliable and economical and value for money? no point having a glass cannon

nightsafari

View attachment 107043View attachment 107043
SEE ALL 21 PHOTOS
Nov 19, 2019
you can thank the entire german-led design team.

blackmondy

KNN the most beautiful Lexus I ever saw was the 2-door version in the US 20 years ago KNN. It has curves in all the right places and reminds me of the early 90s Honda Prelude at the time KNN.

001.jpg

is it reliable and economical and value for money? no point having a glass cannon
Our 2020 Kia Telluride Appeals to Both Hearts and Minds
Now at the 30,000-mile mark, Kia's biggest SUV continues to serve us as a rational yet exceedingly pleasant-to-drive choice.

BY ERIC TINGWALL AND DANIEL PUND
OCT 14, 2020

VIEW PHOTOS
2020 kia telluride sx awd
MARC URBANOCAR AND DRIVER

30,000-Mile Update
People typically buy three-row crossovers out of necessity rather than desire. They have a lot of kids or a lot of stuff or a medium amount of kids and a medium amount of stuff, all of which combine to fill an extra-large SUV. No one buys a big family SUV because they're fun to drive because, for the most part, they aren't.

But among the class of capacious three-row utes that includes the Ford Explorer, Toyota Highlander, and Honda Pilot, the Kia Telluride is surprisingly and delightfully pleasant to drive. It rides with easygoing suppleness yet corners with better manners than most of its peers. (The Mazda CX-9 is the other impressively mannered outlier in this class.) Our long-term Telluride SX AWD model also appeals to our irrational brains by spoiling its occupants with an interior that feels more expensive than its $47,590 price suggests.

ADVERTISEMENT - CONTINUE READING BELOW

MORE TELLURIDE READING

2021 Kia Telluride: Car and Driver 10Best

Blacked-Out Telluride Nightfall Edition Looks Good

2020 Kia Telluride vs. 2019 Volkswagen Atlas

With more than 30,000 miles on the Telluride's odometer, our staff remains as charmed by the big Kia as we were when we named it to our 10Best list in fall 2019. It is a pragmatic people hauler and a serious value, and its overall dynamics are far better than the competition requires. "The Telluride nails the three-row SUV fundamentals: comfortable, spacious, and as a bonus, far more luxurious than the price suggests," vehicle testing director Dave VanderWerp recently noted in the logbook.

In an age of ubiquitous turbocharged inline-fours, the Telluride's 3.8-liter V-6 is a refreshing, naturally aspirated breath of fresh air. There's ample torque on the low end for sliding through city traffic, and the V-6 feels strong and polished as it spins toward its redline when you pin the accelerator to merge onto the highway. It's a great engine that feels perfect for this application, and yet it's probably one of the few things we would change if we could wave a magic wand and have our way. Our drivers dream of a Telluride that's quicker than its 7.0-second zero-to-60-mph run, which speaks more to how spoiled we are than any shortcoming of this Kia. "Aside from the lack of extra horsepower that nobody actually needs, the Telluride is a joy to drive," summarized staff editor Austin Irwin.

VIEW PHOTOS

Since our last update, we've run our long-term Telluride through the Car and Driver highway fuel-economy test. Over 200 miles at a consistent 75 mph, the Telluride averaged 27 mpg, beating its EPA highway rating by 3 mpg. Considering this three-row SUV weighs 4507 pounds and has the aerodynamic attributes of a school bus, we're impressed. But when we're not performing our objective tests, we drive harder and faster. The Telluride is averaging 21 mpg to date, in line with what we see among the competition in this class. If you want that 27 mpg, you're going to have to work for it.

At this point in a long-term test, the only thing that could sink a vehicle as universally beloved as the Telluride is a major mechanical failure. It's been another drama-free 10,000 miles since our last update, though. We paid $195 for the scheduled 30,000-mile maintenance, which included an oil change, replacement engine and cabin air filters, and a tire rotation. If that sounds steep, at least the dealer provided us with an invaluable service. During the visit, the technician discovered a nail in the right rear tire and repaired the puncture before it left us sidelined or stuck on the shoulder. Not this time, universe.

VIEW PHOTOS

The 40,000-mile finish line is now in sight for our Kia Telluride. Going into this test, we were well aware of its value, dynamic virtues, and accommodating interior. Now we know that it's capable of impressive fuel economy and is mechanically robust. The cabin appears to be weathering our use and abuse without undue wear. We fell in love with the Telluride because it won over our hearts. We're thriving in this long-term relationship because it's also a sensible choice.

Months in Fleet: 14 months Current Mileage: 33,715 miles
Average Fuel Economy: 21 mpg
Fuel Tank Size: 18.8 gal Observed Fuel Range: 390 miles
Service: $632 Normal Wear: $0 Repair: $0
Damage and Destruction: $1618

Hypocrite-The

Our 2020 Kia Telluride Appeals to Both Hearts and Minds
Now at the 30,000-mile mark, Kia's biggest SUV continues to serve us as a rational yet exceedingly pleasant-to-drive choice.

BY ERIC TINGWALL AND DANIEL PUND
OCT 14, 2020

VIEW PHOTOS

30,000-Mile Update
People typically buy three-row crossovers out of necessity rather than desire. They have a lot of kids or a lot of stuff or a medium amount of kids and a medium amount of stuff, all of which combine to fill an extra-large SUV. No one buys a big family SUV because they're fun to drive because, for the most part, they aren't.

But among the class of capacious three-row utes that includes the Ford Explorer, Toyota Highlander, and Honda Pilot, the Kia Telluride is surprisingly and delightfully pleasant to drive. It rides with easygoing suppleness yet corners with better manners than most of its peers. (The Mazda CX-9 is the other impressively mannered outlier in this class.) Our long-term Telluride SX AWD model also appeals to our irrational brains by spoiling its occupants with an interior that feels more expensive than its $47,590 price suggests.

MORE TELLURIDE READING

2021 Kia Telluride: Car and Driver 10Best

Blacked-Out Telluride Nightfall Edition Looks Good

2020 Kia Telluride vs. 2019 Volkswagen Atlas

With more than 30,000 miles on the Telluride's odometer, our staff remains as charmed by the big Kia as we were when we named it to our 10Best list in fall 2019. It is a pragmatic people hauler and a serious value, and its overall dynamics are far better than the competition requires. "The Telluride nails the three-row SUV fundamentals: comfortable, spacious, and as a bonus, far more luxurious than the price suggests," vehicle testing director Dave VanderWerp recently noted in the logbook.

In an age of ubiquitous turbocharged inline-fours, the Telluride's 3.8-liter V-6 is a refreshing, naturally aspirated breath of fresh air. There's ample torque on the low end for sliding through city traffic, and the V-6 feels strong and polished as it spins toward its redline when you pin the accelerator to merge onto the highway. It's a great engine that feels perfect for this application, and yet it's probably one of the few things we would change if we could wave a magic wand and have our way. Our drivers dream of a Telluride that's quicker than its 7.0-second zero-to-60-mph run, which speaks more to how spoiled we are than any shortcoming of this Kia. "Aside from the lack of extra horsepower that nobody actually needs, the Telluride is a joy to drive," summarized staff editor Austin Irwin.

VIEW PHOTOS

Since our last update, we've run our long-term Telluride through the Car and Driver highway fuel-economy test. Over 200 miles at a consistent 75 mph, the Telluride averaged 27 mpg, beating its EPA highway rating by 3 mpg. Considering this three-row SUV weighs 4507 pounds and has the aerodynamic attributes of a school bus, we're impressed. But when we're not performing our objective tests, we drive harder and faster. The Telluride is averaging 21 mpg to date, in line with what we see among the competition in this class. If you want that 27 mpg, you're going to have to work for it.

At this point in a long-term test, the only thing that could sink a vehicle as universally beloved as the Telluride is a major mechanical failure. It's been another drama-free 10,000 miles since our last update, though. We paid $195 for the scheduled 30,000-mile maintenance, which included an oil change, replacement engine and cabin air filters, and a tire rotation. If that sounds steep, at least the dealer provided us with an invaluable service. During the visit, the technician discovered a nail in the right rear tire and repaired the puncture before it left us sidelined or stuck on the shoulder. Not this time, universe.

VIEW PHOTOS

The 40,000-mile finish line is now in sight for our Kia Telluride. Going into this test, we were well aware of its value, dynamic virtues, and accommodating interior. Now we know that it's capable of impressive fuel economy and is mechanically robust. The cabin appears to be weathering our use and abuse without undue wear. We fell in love with the Telluride because it won over our hearts. We're thriving in this long-term relationship because it's also a sensible choice.

Months in Fleet: 14 months Current Mileage: 33,715 miles
Average Fuel Economy: 21 mpg
Fuel Tank Size: 18.8 gal Observed Fuel Range: 390 miles
Service: $632 Normal Wear: $0 Repair: $0
Damage and Destruction: $1618
Quite Ex leh,,,,,for that price can get Nip cars,,,and depreciation for Kim CHee cars are quite high,,,but of course that means just get a 1 or 2 year old one,,after depreciation

nightsafari

KNN the most beautiful Lexus I ever saw was the 2-door version in the US 20 years ago KNN. It has curves in all the right places and reminds me of the early 90s Honda Prelude at the time KNN.

View attachment 107047
that car was designed in California by Calty in California. The design credits Erwin Liu and Denis Campbell.

I remember checking out the car. I also remember thinking it couldn't have been well-engineered.

The reason for this was a big deal was made out of it's "ingenious" door hinges. In 2-door cars, the front doors are necessarily longer to allow access to the rear seats. So to make it easier for owners of this car, they specifically engineered it's door hinges to shift it's pivot axis outward to allow wider-opening doors. Every Lexus salesman made a great big fuss about how it made access easier without having to open the doors wider.

Great in theory, but in practice I remember the stupid door would not open to more than a 30 degree angle. I did not measure it with instruments, but if anything it looked like a 20+ degree angle. It was so narrow that you had to you couldn't just mindlessly enter the car and had to be mindful of the narrow gap. A super-fat American would have to squeeze through it.

I wondered what was wrong with all the people pitching this idea when it was so obvious it was half-baked engineering... They quietly got rid of it after this model.

But it did look great for it's time.

Hypocrite-The

I am really looking forward to the electric cars,,,,,no more going to petrol stations,,,,and no more oil change etc etc,,,minimal maintenance

Electric vehicles to dominate line up at Toyota's Lexus by 2025
Lexus, a luxury auto brand owned by Toyota Motor Corp, said on Tuesday it plans to introduce 20 new or improved models by 2025, of which more than 10 will be electric.
FILE PHOTO: A security guard is reflected in the logo of a Toyota Motor Corp's Lexus car at the company's showroom in Tokyo May 31, 2013. . REUTERS/Toru Hanai
30 Mar 2021 07:55PM
Bookmark
TOKYO: Lexus, a luxury auto brand owned by Toyota Motor Corp, said on Tuesday it plans to introduce 20 new or improved models by 2025, of which more than 10 will be electric.
Electrified models such as battery electric vehicles (BEV), plug-in hybrids and hybrid electric cars will be introduced, the company said in a statement.

Lexus also unveiled a BEV concept car, the "LF-Z Electrified", which will include features such as a new four-wheel driving force control technology.
Two new models will be launched this year, Lexus International President Koji Sato said at an online press conference on Tuesday.
He also said Lexus would open a business and technical centre in March 2024 within the Toyota Technical Center Shimoyama in Japan's Aichi Prefecture.
Toyota launched its all-battery electric Lexus car last year. Carmakers around the world are switching to battery-powered vehicles amid tougher emissions regulations and growing competition to develop zero-emissions vehicles.

(Reporting by Eimi Yamamitsu; Editing by Kirsten Donovan)
Source: Reuters