• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

8M population also no problem here - from a pirated singaporean

Re: If mati-mati want to increase population to 7 million, please think out of the b

Getting rid of paya lebar airbase will do the job. Note the mrt master plan does not include anything on ubin.

Once paya lebar airbase is gone, right away enough land for a town the size of bishan and amk combined. Road system and mrt can also be connected and extended into the new towns easily. The surrounding areas of paya lebar will also get to triple or even quadriple the height limits.

yes, agree. at the same time get rid of Sembawang AB and Tengah AB. they should just reclaim and join up Pulau Sudong, Senang and Pawai and centralise the whole RSAF there. don't know why need so many Air Bases, waste of resources duplicating guards, logistics, base defence/security etc

Re: Another Evil Scheme

good suggestion.

but the pap will not have the courage to bring their suggestion to the people

If they won't someone else could. set up a blog or something and ask people to register their protest!!!

does mr paul cheung take public transport or eat at hawker centers or food court during lunch time?

is he out his minds?

we dun have china across the border you know.

Paul Cheung was from HK and has greatly benefited from the pap at the expense of Singaporeans. He will say whatever the pap wants him to say

If they won't someone else could. set up a blog or something and ask people to register their protest!!!

will such a blog be ignored just like the SDP's initiatives?

the pap needs to be trounced a few more times at the ballot boxes before they wake up

lianbeng tells leetahbar: 10 Million is the target lah but cannot say so much straightaway wait frightened everyone mah!:Dso say 6M - 7M lor.

They cannot even handle a 5.3 million population, let alone an 8 million population. They couldn't even do basic planning, screwed up the whole infrastructure, knowingly flooded the whole country (literally, if you look at Orchard road just one year ago during SG Water Festival).

People like Paul Cheng are academics who eat breathe and shit PAP nonsense, and have a vested interest in perpetuating the bullshit. Absolutely no contribution of any substance, and feeding off society all this while. They are like the China scholars of feudal times.

PAP gets Paul Cheung to say that SG can have 8million people. This is a psychological game to prepare Singaporeans mentally for a rowded Singapore.

When the Population paper finally presents a future 6.5m population, the PAP will get lesser resistance from Singaporeans as they have ben mentally conditioned for a8m population.

I cant imagine SG with 6.5m residents and a yearly tourist arrival of 15m.

Regardless of what Paul Cheung said, let singaporeans oppose if the recommendation is to have a 6m population

Fortunately he is not going to get very far because there is a DPM who hates him for that incident so long ago.

People like Paul Cheng are academics who eat breathe and shit PAP nonsense, and have a vested interest in perpetuating the bullshit. Absolutely no contribution of any substance, and feeding off society all this while.

Latest News..... DPM says must take in 30,000 PR every year....

Teo-Chee-Hean.jpg

SINGAPORE: Singapore's population could hit 6.9 million by 2030 - up from the current 5.3 million - if strategies outlined in the White Paper on Population to mitigate the country's ageing and shrinking population are met.

The population projection also takes into account a lower GDP growth rate beyond 2020.

Singapore is facing serious challenges of ageing and dwindling population, in particular from 2025 when its citizen population starts to shrink.

The White Paper on Population, released on Tuesday, is the first comprehensive report to outline the country's strategy to ensure a sustainable population.

The proposal is to take in 30,000 new permanent residents (PR) every year which will keep the PR population stable at about half a million. Then, from this pool, take in 15,000 to 25,000 new citizens each year, to stop the citizen population from shrinking.

At this rate, by 2030, Singapore's total population numbers should hit between 6.5 and 6.9 million.

Deputy Prime Minister Teo Chee Hean said: "We have moderated the number of new citizens and PRs that we've taken in. And we've also put in various measures, some of them very strong measures, to control the growth of the foreign workforce.

"So this has already been moderated for the past three years or so and going forward, we want to make sure the road map we have is an appropriate one. And if we focus on those key issues, making sure we have enough young Singaporeans, a population structure that can provide for our seniors.

"Second that we have an economic structure that provides good jobs that an increasingly educated Singaporean population wants, and we can provide high quality living environment. I think if we can do these three, we look at the population number, and the population we need, to achieve these three objectives and that's the way we looked at it.

"So the growth rate of both the workforce and the population will be half to a third of what it has been in the last three decades, and we have to strike a fine balance because if we don't grow at all or shrink, then we'll face all the problems of an ageing population, the lack of dynamism in the economy which some of you are concerned about. But if we grow too quickly, then we may go beyond the constraints we have. So we been trying to find the appropriate balance."

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/singaporelocalnews/view/1250894/1/.html

:mad::mad::mad:

Re: If mati-mati want to increase population to 7 million, please think out of the b

yes, agree. at the same time get rid of Sembawang AB and Tengah AB. they should just reclaim and join up Pulau Sudong, Senang and Pawai and centralise the whole RSAF there. don't know why need so many Air Bases, waste of resources duplicating guards, logistics, base defence/security etc

why even bother man?

Just ask the Marines at Changi to let us tompang everything there ....

SAF is a farking joke especially all the clown generals it produces.... bet you the farkin army will get wiped out in a day when Old Man calls in his private army of gurkhas

Re: More good years for Singapore

Singapore’s total population now stands at 5.31 million with citizens and PRs making up 3.82 million, according to figures as at June last year.

Citizens around 3.3M, take away the females, the old, the unfit, the young and the newly-minted citizens, those who have served NS or are currently serving NS likely totals around 1.2M. Take away the elites who can siam NS or get an chobolan posting like the one who deferred for 12 years. 20% of the population forced to defend the entire country for virtually peanuts. Uniquely SG. Anywhere else, there would be riots.

Re: More good years for Singapore..Population to Increase

The white scums are bent on replacing old sinkies with new sinkies. Locals must really, really wake up and vote out PAP if they want to survive.

PAP trying hard to recruit new citizens who will vote for them.

In 30 years time those new imports will have to be replaced also so wdf then???

Import another 12 million new slaves?

STOP KICKING THE FUCKING CAN DOWN THE ROAD AND SOLVE THE PROBLEM NOW!!!!

By 2020, switch over to remote control machines liao, no need for so many airbases. Tengah in west, changi in east and maybe sudong in south will be sufficient. Wasting so much money buying stupid fighter jets for what? Only national day fly pass.

There is sufficient land for 8 mil, only thing concerning me is the unfair treatment of NS men.

as can be seen, losing punggol east still haven't awaken the pap.

what's next?

Re: More good years for Singapore

maybe they will just scrap general elections. Makes policy implementation so much easier....

as can be seen, losing punggol east still haven't awaken the pap.

what's next?

PAP losing many GRCs.

u concentrate all the airbases together,,the enemy just have to strike 1 place than all yr planes will be wiped out,,but seriously all the military bases are just taking up valuable land,,,,must really downsize the SAF and end conscription

Another thing: many of us are not obsessed with flipping properties to get rich quick. It's cool if you find happiness in such mercenary pursuits, but don't presume it is the 'correct' way to go about it for the rest of us. Most of us just want an affordable roof over our heads. Quite a few of us have also grown attached to our town and will not want to frivolously move house for some spare change in our pockets.

Agree. But people who are happy with simple stuff are termed as lazy, complacent losers, and need spurs in their hides.
We do not need to look far to see what is being glorified in our society.