• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

5 minute chat at Kopitiam with Oppositions big 3 chiefs

Bigfuck

Spot on. One of Singapore's highly secretive project on horizon scanning has been discussed in international forums and seminars and the locals have no clue.

I never knew the word but I play around with the concept every day. This goes beyond deductive logic which simplest kind of logic and the only kind of logic LKY and his selected minions understand in general. Inductive logic and probabilistic futures are far more complicated and scarier. No dictatorial government likes it, including China. But since the world is integrated and the price of being a close system to the world is far more dangerous, it is not an option either. The old man tried to shut out the internet by delaying its popular entrance into Singapore by 5-10 years and we are paying that price for that delay on socioeconomic and technological progress. I am not even talking politics, mind you. If the doors to knowledge and alternate futures open, the 90% (arbitrary number)of the current team cannot catch a ball.

Say "please" for the sake of my bloated ego and I "may" explain and provide some context behind not only the letter but the spirit of the law.

since you are so knowledgeable, jolly well explain as per the clause you shown in this thread, whether the parliament must pass the resolution .. ie a must to make the seat vacant for the next person to take up.... can they choose not to do so if they do not want a "replacement".

just get straight to the point..

and please stop generalising everything... your ego is bloating like a dead corpse... :mad:

Z

Zombie

Say "please" for the sake of my bloated ego and I "may" explain and provide some context behind not only the letter but the spirit of the law.

lolzz.... you have made the equal share of blunders... and you have no clue..

if the law requires ncmp to be filled in all circumstances, there is no need for a thing called resolution to make something vacant (if you know what resolution means)... just a resolution to name the next person will do..

Last edited by a moderator:

All you have do is say "please" . Reverse psychology is done in primary school. Here is a clue - why is there a "May" and not a "Must" and why is it predicated on the oath of allegiance.

lolzz.... you have made the equal share of blunders... and you have no clue..

if the law requires ncmp to be filled in all circumstances, there is no need for a thing called resolution to make something vacant (if you know what resolution means)... just a resolution to name the next person will do..

Z

Zombie

All you have do is say "please" . Reverse psychology is done in primary school. Here is a clue - why is there a "May" and not a "Must" and why is it predicated on the oath of allegiance.

stop your habitual diversion to other things lah... if the law says the parliament may pass the resolution to make the seat vacant, then the parliament has the legal option to agree whether or not to make the seat vacant.... that is the spirit of the law

it is only the spirit of "good politics" that they will do so..

Last edited by a moderator:

kingrant

Scro,

Nice art form. A bit unfair to GMS, but what the hell, who asked him to perform so badly?

Between Lina and Nicole for parliament, I'll plonk for Nicole anytime. Lina will give the Opp a bad name in Parliament altho she is a good ward guardian. She is not articulate or eloquent enough as the CNA "debate" has shown.

Will your play be serialised? Guess not, it's for 5 mins only.

Thick Face Black Heart

Scroobal thank you very much for making me spill my milk tea onto my microsoft ergonomic keyboard. That was $40 bucks damn it.

Chiam: Look Low, I have spoken to Meng Seng and he will nominate Nicole for NMP if you do not slot in your 2nd nominee from East Coast GRC.

Low: So SPP and Lina will not take up the post

Chiam: Yes if you agree only to take up 2 slots - Joo Chiat and for East Coast, Lina and I talked about it and we feel the young lady has the spirit and passion that this country needs and we feel that she can do the job.

Low: I too agree that the lady is a rare Singaporean

GMS : Thanks Sifu.

Low : Meng Seng shut up. You blackmailed me over Moulmein. You better keep quiet.

Low: If I don't agree, then what.

Chiam : Then Lina will take up the NCMP post.

Low: So the deal is Lina will not take up the post. JJ Yee will go up to No. 1 and Gerald Giam will go to No 2. We will notify parliament that we will decline the second slot for East Coast and NSP can only pick Nicole Seah.

Low: Ok, lets go to our respective CEC to get their approval.

GMS: Let me double confirm with Sebastian first.

Chiam: Are you the secretary or the secretary general. Don't let take my walking stick and wallop you right here and now.

UY: Hello gentlemen, can take video?

Ok, will let you off the hook.

The primary purpose behind that clause is to stop someone refusing to take the oath and still wanting to rave and rant in parliament. There must also be some leeway that an eligible candidate in the event is unable to take the oath of allegiance due to health reasons etc and down the road the prognosis is not good. The intention is to fill up all 9 seats. The PAP needs the numbers because it is becoming increasingly embarrassing that it now the "democracy" with same govt in power the longest in the world with near total monopoly and in fact is totalitarian in form and function. The kids from PAP families are shy and ridiculed when they study overseas or work overseas and so the pressure is to make claims there are 9 opposition candidates in power. It is also to appease the young local.

At the end of day, laws in Singapore are generally built with a backdoor so that PAP still can have control but they will face the wrath of society if they stop someone like Nicole getting by this approach. At the end of the day, they still have the compliant press to skew parliamentary reporting or mute the opposition stinging comments and there are arseholes like Han who has been gifted with cancer for his good work to do their bidding.

stop your habitual diversion to other things lah... if the law says the parliament may pass the resolution to make the seat vacant, then the parliament has the legal option to agree whether or not to make the seat vacant.... that is the spirit of the law

it is only the spirit of "good politics" that they will do so..

I think the Chiams know Lina's limitations and age is also a factor.
Scro,

Nice art form. A bit unfair to GMS, but what the hell, who asked him to perform so badly?

Between Lina and Nicole for parliament, I'll plonk for Nicole anytime. Lina will give the Opp a bad name in Parliament altho she is a good ward guardian. She is not articulate or eloquent enough as the CNA "debate" has shown.

Will your play be serialised? Guess not, it's for 5 mins only.

kingrant

So Han has cancer...retribution lah..

GY will have good karma!

At the end of the day, they still have the compliant press to skew parliamentary reporting or mute the opposition stinging comments and there are arseholes like Han who has been gifted with cancer for his good work to do their bidding.

With TinTin's rear entry to parliament, it would be most interesting to see Nicole outshine her in parliament. There won't be a close battle. NS will embarrass TinTin even though the latter would be 'coached' on what to say and not to say. Other PAP MPs would be expected to back her up.

But, if I have my choice, I rather have TJS as NCMP. From his past PPS posting, even if more than 20 years ago, he has the edge over others coz he is familiar with how the govt machinery functions, the decision-making processes involved etc. He is more than qualified to question the government on economic policies and directions.

SpareTyre

TJS is not an option because the NCMP seat will not fall down to SDP. In addition, I think TJS is not the best option within SDP because he a bit rash and tends to jump into things. Vincent, or even Michelle, would be a better choice.

Within the NSP, there is no better option than Nicole in Marine Parade. On a party wide level, I think GMS and perhaps Hazel Poa would be good as NCMPs

Of course la, this is still contingent on SPP wanting to pass on that seat and then being able to strike a deal with LTK. And then the seat will fall down to Marine Parade where it will be taken up by Nicole.

And course, what is also possible is that CST also strikes a deal with GMS to pass and that NCMP falls one further into the losers of the Bishan Toa Payoh contest. Then, Benjamin Pwee becomes favourite to take the NCMP seat

With TinTin's rear entry to parliament, it would be most interesting to see Nicole outshine her in parliament. There won't be a close battle. NS will embarrass TinTin even though the latter would be 'coached' on what to say and not to say. Other PAP MPs would be expected to back her up.

But, if I have my choice, I rather have TJS as NCMP. From his past PPS posting, even if more than 20 years ago, he has the edge over others coz he is familiar with how the govt machinery functions, the decision-making processes involved etc. He is more than qualified to question the government on economic policies and directions.

Pek Kim Lui

Agreed. But it seems that they are concentrating on pushing her profile at her ward first. Won't be surprise if Tin Tin's MPS letters will suddenly work wonders. At the most Tin Tin will from time to time add her 2 cents worth in parliament.

dankos

Ok, will let you off the hook.

who the fuck u think u are over here? another lky is it :oIo:

greg-chappell-middle-finger.jpg

Frankiestine

How come Rin Tin Tin already start doing MP meet the people session so fast? I thought they must be sworn in first?

lockeliberal

Dear Scroobal

Its merge or die at this moment for many parties. if they do no get any results by 2016 then its down hill all the way.

1. Jee Say see's the writing on the wall as does the new batch of candidates from the SDP. Yawning bread has already clearly stated the need for retail politics 101. The question is can SDP to retail 101 or do they need to merge with people who understand and can do retail 101 and lose that bloody bear. Jee Say's first approach was not the SDP , he came with to many conditions attached on his participation and was rightly told to F Off. NSP might have taken him in but heck his conditions were also to onerous for them. And how he is arranging M n A 's ?

2. The Split within the NSP is within the old boys who stayed west and the new boys who stayed east. The Newbies did better. GMS as the Sec Gen is stuck in the Singapore River trying to balance both. Can he do it or will the New Ones leave ? Remember the balance of power lies with the old ones and the cadre memberships and not the new ones.

3. SPP dead as a doornail. My recommendation is that SPP should merge with WP. Chiam be made hounary Chairman and WP goes and gives WKS a heart attack the next round. Lina to retire from politics and let the Chiam name retire
with Aplomb. I love the man to bits but its depressing seeing him at his age throwing himself against the PAP brick wall. Rocky Balboa is fine when he is old but not to Old Rocky Balboa is painful when he is the age of your grandfather

4. The question as always is the last NCMP seat. Honestly between letting her grow as an NCMP under the NSP and its factions, or letting the WP dominate the NCMP seats and letting her learn retail politics under the WP, I would recommend the latter. Her head and heart all are in the correct direction she just needs grounding and experience and the only party that can provide that at present and also needs help from all levels is the WP.

Locke

I think the Chiams know Lina's limitations and age is also a factor.

Windsor

Dear Scroobal

Its merge or die at this moment for many parties. if they do no get any results by 2016 then its down hill all the way.

1. Jee Say see's the writing on the wall as does the new batch of candidates from the SDP. Yawning bread has already clearly stated the need for retail politics 101. The question is can SDP to retail 101 or do they need to merge with people who understand and can do retail 101 and lose that bloody bear. Jee Say's first approach was not the SDP , he came with to many conditions attached on his participation and was rightly told to F Off. NSP might have taken him in but heck his conditions were also to onerous for them. And how he is arranging M n A 's ?

2. The Split within the NSP is within the old boys who stayed west and the new boys who stayed east. The Newbies did better. GMS as the Sec Gen is stuck in the Singapore River trying to balance both. Can he do it or will the New Ones leave ? Remember the balance of power lies with the old ones and the cadre memberships and not the new ones.

3. SPP dead as a doornail. My recommendation is that SPP should merge with WP. Chiam be made hounary Chairman and WP goes and gives WKS a heart attack the next round. Lina to retire from politics and let the Chiam name retire
with Aplomb. I love the man to bits but its depressing seeing him at his age throwing himself against the PAP brick wall. Rocky Balboa is fine when he is old but not to Old Rocky Balboa is painful when he is the age of your grandfather

4. The question as always is the last NCMP seat. Honestly between letting her grow as an NCMP under the NSP and its factions, or letting the WP dominate the NCMP seats and letting her learn retail politics under the WP, I would recommend the latter. Her head and heart all are in the correct direction she just needs grounding and experience and the only party that can provide that at present and also needs help from all levels is the WP.

Locke

Hi Locke,

Jee Say is no politician nor an outstanding orator, in fact he far from being a good orator. As someone with such good credentials he can be an asset but as a front man I doubt he has the ability to capture his audience's attention.

As for Nicole, she will be good for any party if they wish to have her. It is up to her to know what is best for herself if she has any ambitions to move further afield. If she is unaware that she is being headhunted, then she is naive which I sincerely think she is not. She is head and shoulders above a lot of the would be politicians with the added advantage of her age. 5 years down the road she will be a force to be reckon with and I hope she knows that too. As long as she keeps her nose clean and not get her reputation tarnished, plays her cards right, she stands a very good chance to get into parliament after the next elections. There are a lot of enemies I am sure who will be only too happy to see her fall and we are talking about powerful enemies.

Agree with all your points. The bright side is that there many possibilities and opportunities and hopefully it gels into one manageable piece with 2 or 3 opposition parties with structure and an decent operating rhythm. Just have to follow WP's operating formula but have one's own ideology that is acceptable to the electorate.

Folks like Jee Say do not realise the pain in managing a political party. This elections is a huge learning curve.

I do like the part of WP taking in SPP and therefore reserving the Bishan-TP and more importantly the PP turf which is hanging by a thread. If the merger happens with Chiam given an honorary role, the PAP will be doomed. No amount of pork barreling is going to save them. As you correctly pointed out WKS would be toast and Mt E will see the return of a surgeon to practice.

Dear Scroobal

Locke