• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

5 minute chat at Kopitiam with Oppositions big 3 chiefs

Chiam: Look Low, I have spoken to Meng Seng and he will nominate Nicole for NMP if you do not slot in your 2nd nominee from East Coast GRC.

Low: So SPP and Lina will not take up the post

Chiam: Yes if you agree only to take up 2 slots - Joo Chiat and for East Coast, Lina and I talked about it and we feel the young lady has the spirit and passion that this country needs and we feel that she can do the job.

Low: I too agree that the lady is a rare Singaporean

GMS : Thanks Sifu.

Low : Meng Seng shut up. You blackmailed me over Moulmein. You better keep quiet.

Low: If I don't agree, then what.

Chiam : Then Lina will take up the NCMP post.

Low: So the deal is Lina will not take up the post. JJ Yee will go up to No. 1 and Gerald Giam will go to No 2. We will notify parliament that we will decline the second slot for East Coast and NSP can only pick Nicole Seah.

Low: Ok, lets go to our respective CEC to get their approval.

GMS: Let me double confirm with Sebastian first.

Chiam: Are you the secretary or the secretary general. Don't let take my walking stick and wallop you right here and now.

UY: Hello gentlemen, can take video?

vamjok

real one a not, dun make me happy. i will be damn happy to be able to see my future wife in parLeement

aurvandil

Chiam: Look Low, I have spoken to Meng Seng and he will nominate Nicole for NMP if you do not slot in your 2nd nominee from East Coast GRC.

Chiam: Yes if you agree only to take up 2 slots - Joo Chiat and for East Coast, Lina and I talked about it and we feel the young lady has the spirit and passion that this country needs and we feel that she can do the job.

Low : Meng Seng shut up. You blackmailed me over Moulmein. You better keep quiet.

Low: So the deal is Lina will not take up the post. JJ Yee will go up to No. 1 and Gerald Giam will go to No 2. We will notify parliament that we will decline the second slot for East Coast and NSP can only pick Nicole Seah.

Chiam: Are you the secretary or the secretary general. Don't let take my walking stick and wallop you right here and now.

Wow you are fast :smile:

annexa

Lena is cannot speak well, not her fault. Best not to put her in.

WP should be clever and not take all NCMP slot. Why? Because this time PAP cannot focus is because they kena all over the place. West for TJS, VW, Ang. MP got Nicole, Bishan got Chiam and Pwee. Aljunied got Low. If WP take all NCMP slot, then they make themself the natural target for ALL PAP canons. Why let PAP have a easy targetting time when they laready have the most and bestest canons and canon balls? Might as well spread out the damage but let other parties have chance next erection. PAP will again cannot just whack on party in 2016 and be force to improve themself. But look at their 2011 slate is very hard. The new ones are not that impressive and their old ones need to retire.

I think the NMP posts should be taken up by other parties instead of just WP. SPP's Ah pwee should take up the post.

1. bro, your script and scenario is at least betterer than our local useless television stations.
2. but choon boh?

Forvendet

Guys, I think you've got it all wrong. I've spoken to an elections officer. She said there's no such thing as opposition parties negotiating NCMPs among themselves. Those who're offered can either accept or reject. Once rejected that seat is voided.

Bro, you spoke to Environment Officer or elections officer?

Failure to take Oath of Allegiance by non-constituency Member
53. —(1) Subject to subsection (3), if any non-constituency Member declared to be elected under section 52 fails to take and subscribe before Parliament the Oath of Allegiance under Article 61 of the Constitution at the first or second sitting of Parliament during its first session after the general election, Parliament may by resolution declare that his seat has become vacant and that it be filled by the next succeeding candidate at the general election in the order of priority as determined in accordance with section 52(2) from among those candidates who are eligible to be elected as non-constituency Members and have not been so elected.

"Following the general election of December 1984, Opposition candidates Chiam See Tong and J. B. Jeyaretnam were voted into Parliament, thus making one NCMP seat available. This seat was offered to M. P. D. Nair of the Workers’ Party. After Nair turned it down, the seat was offered to Tan Chee Kien of the Singapore United Front who also did not take it up, leaving the NCMP seat vacant."

Guys, I think you've got it all wrong. I've spoken to an elections officer. She said there's no such thing as opposition parties negotiating NCMPs among themselves. Those who're offered can either accept or reject. Once rejected that seat is voided.

Forvendet

I see. Apologies for listening to the wrong advice. She must be still in concussion over the bad PAP results. Thanks for the correction. Anyway, my personal preferred choice of NCMPs are Lina Loh, Yee Jenn Jong and Gerald Giam.

Bigfuck

I see. Apologies for listening to the wrong advice. She must be still in concussion over the bad PAP results. Thanks for the correction. Anyway, my personal preferred choice of NCMPs are Lina Loh, Yee Jenn Jong and Gerald Giam.

You cannot trust the civil servants of today. I had quite a few statutory boards question me and my affiliates before on how I acquired data, claiming that it was supposed to be secret, when the fact of the matter the data was released at public international forums. Many a time, I can tell them information about their organization which is open knowledge that they do not even know, in the capacity of the positions they hold.

Z

Zombie

Parliament may by resolution declare that his seat has become vacant

it is not a "must" to declare his seat has become vacant?
even if the chosen one rejects the seat, can the parliament "reserves" the seat for him?

edited:
maybe the seat is considered void, unless the parliament chooses to declare it as vacant and to be taken up by the next person..

Last edited by a moderator:

SpareTyre

How much of that is wishful thinking and how much is real?

My guess is 50-50

Nicole Seah as NCMP could whip up some real fervour, and mobilise young voters against PAP in greater numbers

However, SPP should not be in the business of helping out other opposition parties....unless it is favour they can call back next time

Forvendet

Best solution is NSP merge with SPP. They've worked together before in SDA until Desmond Lim and PKMS screwed it up.

Not to worry bro. I know a chap who has a perm sec as a good friend and believe me this guy is close to the establishment. The chap migrated and wanted to know his son's status and how to ensure that he follows the rules. After consulting the Perm Sec and after 15 years, both his sons have been classified as deserters and they can't step into Singapore. This chap still visits his perm sec friend who has since retired.

I can give you a litany of advices given by civil servants that causes people mayhem and heart pain.

Spot on. One of Singapore's highly secretive project on horizon scanning has been discussed in international forums and seminars and the locals have no clue.

You cannot trust the civil servants of today. I had quite a few statutory boards question me and my affiliates before on how I acquired data, claiming that it was supposed to be secret, when the fact of the matter the data was released at public international forums. Many a time, I can tell them information about their organization which is open knowledge that they do not even know, in the capacity of the positions they hold.

SpareTyre

Best solution is NSP merge with SPP. They've worked together before in SDA until Desmond Lim and PKMS screwed it up.

Ya boy. WP is now the 2nd party.

There is possibly room for one more party....the rest will disappear over the next couple elections.

The first to merge out of this lot: NSP, SPP, RP, SDP....will survive and that merger must include either NSP or SDP.

NSP-SPP: makes sense. You could make a case for either SPP or NSP as the 3rd strongest party this time round. SPP got the NCMP seat but NSP got the higher overall vote. Merging these two would make sense from a rebuilding point of view.

SDP-RP: tying up the two liberal parties make seem like common sense. but you have the two most hardheaded people in KJ and CSJ. Could be too much ego.

SPP-RP: could still happen as the flirtation seems to be continuing. And then followed by a merger with NSP? That'll make it a worthy challenger for WP. CST as chairman, GMS as SG. Loaded with talent, but will need a lot of time to digest so plausible if the first merger happens very soon, and the second one as a lead up to the elections

Z

Zombie

..and the locals have no clue.

since you are so knowledgeable, jolly well explain as per the clause you shown in this thread, whether the parliament must pass the resolution .. ie a must to make the seat vacant for the next person to take up.... can they choose not to do so if they do not want a "replacement".

just get straight to the point..

and please stop generalising everything... your ego is bloating like a dead corpse... :mad:

Last edited by a moderator: