• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

2 Singaporeans die of altitude sickness in Tibet

RonRon

2_Singaporeans_die_of_altitude_sickness_in_Tibet-topImage.jpg

10 Singaporeans made a trip to Tibet to visit a holy mountain but only eight will return home after two died from falling ill with altitude sickness, reported The Straits Times (ST).

A 66-year-old man and a 61-year-old woman died on Monday after developing severe mountain illness and could not be rescued in time, said a Chinese news website www.8264.com.

The Ministry of Foreign Affairs (MFA) confirmed the matter and said that an officer from Singapore's embassy in Beijing has been dispatched to Lhasa, the capital of the region, to provide all necessary help to the Singaporeans affected.

The tour group were visiting Mount Kailash, which is more than 6,000m high, in western Tibet.

Thousands visit the mountain each year which is believed to be sacred for religions such as Buddhism and Hinduism.

MFA has sent its condolences to the families of the two Singaporeans who have died and are working with the local authorities to facilitate the return of the remaining eight members of the group to Singapore, said a spokesperson.

[email protected]

ya altitude sickness can be bad. Watched a programme on it on the Nat Geo channel and it can affect anyone...old or young whether you are fit or otherwise. Did they take some kind of air transport straight to 6000m which should be about 20,000 ft or did they go up in stages?

They should have taken the train, if half way cannot, then can U turn.

You are correct. I have a friend who did some physical training before going to tibet. But he cannot tahan the altitude. Another friend bui bui couch potato, bo tai chi:p And luckily they took the train.

ya altitude sickness can be bad. Watched a programme on it on the Nat Geo channel and it can affect anyone...old or young whether you are fit or otherwise. Did they take some kind of air transport straight to 6000m which should be about 20,000 ft or did they go up in stages?

yes bro...at least with the train you can progressively see if you are susceptible to altitude sickness. If so then can still got time to address the problem

by stopping further ascent. If suddenly go up then effects can be drastic.

They should have taken the train, if half way cannot, then can U turn.

You are correct. I have a friend who did some physical training before going to tibet. But he cannot tahan the altitude. Another friend bui bui couch potato, bo tai chi:p And luckily they took the train.

Agree.

It is indeed dangerous at Mt Kailash.

I was there 2 years ago. When I reached there, I felt horrible. However, I quickly did my 500 squats exercise routine and followed by togoing 6 consecutive green coloured bottle, Llasa beer to set everything in running order. The vacation carried on without a hitch .:o

Agree.

It is indeed dangerous at Mt Kailash.

I was there 2 years ago. When I reached there, I felt horrible. However, I quickly did my 500 squats exercise routine and followed by togoing 6 consecutive green coloured bottle, Llasa beer to set everything in running order. The vacation carried on without a hitch .:o

My goodness! You're resurrected!

bro ..please wait a while cause i need to pass give something to my friend ...paiseh .

Very funny why human want to live in 4000m and above?
Live there and have town for century.
They can just leave the area move downward to 2000m above the sea.
Living in above 4000m if really not convenient, can not plant/farming. Food and transportation also big issue.
I still thinking why for thousand of year they still reluctant to leave? Unless they feel danger below 4000m due to war/monster.................

ya i think so bro. If they have their peace there its good for them la.

or mebbe sbf pages up there load faster.:)

i think its their religion that stop them from doing it ...they need to pray everyday .

ya i think so bro. If they have their peace there its good for them la.

or mebbe sbf pages up there load faster.:)

yes...you might suddenly get an email from heaven .

bro , i been to tibet ...those religious freak kenna brainwashed liao ...everyday just pray ...no food never mind can pray happy liao ....so even kee siao can kneel and roll for few days to reach the temple .

their own temple made of gold yet their own ppl so poor got nothing to eat sometimes . what logic is that !!! when i was there i feel like giving those ppl some lesson on logical thinking

i know what you mean la bro....i think religion no matter what must also have so practicality .Can discuss this in the religious thread one day.

yes...you might suddenly get an email from heaven .

bro , i been to tibet ...those religious freak kenna brainwashed liao ...everyday just pray ...no food never mind can pray happy liao ....so even kee siao can kneel and roll for few days to reach the temple .

their own temple made of gold yet their own ppl so poor got nothing to eat sometimes . what logic is that !!! when i was there i feel like giving those ppl some lesson on logical thinking

i know what you mean la bro....i think religion no matter what must also have so practicality .Can discuss this in the religious thread one day.

yes...man sorry to cross the line ...lets do it in religious thread . when talk about tibet cant help but talk about religion too .