What a idiotic family. If I were to pull that stunt with my parents, I would be whipped. We are a family of "everyone eats whatever we are eating".
IMHO the customer should have asked for permission first, basic courtesy. Even if the shop reject her request, I dun think they would be so nasty if she had asked beforehand.
KNN, this LJ Kia had too much education and with some achievements in his career, decides to swing his Tua LP. Notice his style of writing is somewhat purposely aligned to his inner ego by throwing seemingly cheem terms irrelevant to his complain like "10 key attributes of the business excellence framework", "Customer-centric excellence" & " Business Times on my Desk" etc.... Using one's backside to think also can tell he wants to let people know he is some big shot in business world and whatever he says is justified no matter what.
I recall a conference in Johannesburg and one of attendees badly wanted to try KFC as she came from an African country that did not have KFC. As the informal dinner was held at a restaurant next to a KFC, one of the delegates spoke to the restaurant staff and they graciously provided her a plate while another delegate went and got her some to try. Now thats class and good uprbringing.
Why so uptight about keeping to rules, etc?
Say the family spend $50 eating yong tau foo, seriously what is the issue if a child wants to eat something different??? It's not as if the bunch tah-pao all kinds of food there and only one of the members spend $10 at the YTF shop.
The worries that once an exception is made everyone follows suit - this argument is purely academic. The particular situation is an exception. I eat at the Thai restaurant at Siglap, and i buy HK milk tea from next door - the shop has no issue about this.
Agree the right thing to do is to ask the shop before proceeding.
certain places sell dining experience..
certain places sell only food, like 安邦酿豆腐..
You know what is interesting about this story is that we have taken for granted how well we have raised our own kids. I am sure most of us have never ever encountered a situation where our kids insisted to have something from a neighbouring shop. It tells us that at such a young age, they know what is right.
Occasionally I have come across spoil brats refusing to eat and throwing tantrums in a restaurant but it usually rare.
I recall a conference in Johannesburg and one of attendees badly wanted to try KFC as she came from an African country that did not have KFC. As the informal dinner was held at a restaurant next to a KFC, one of the delegates spoke to the restaurant staff and they graciously provided her a plate while another delegate went and got her some to try. Now thats class and good uprbringing.
Those restaurants which offer dining experience, will not let people bring outside food as well. :p
Talk is easy but this is not practical if the child is young, bring the child for his meal later? What kind of parent are you? You expect the child to starve while waiting for you to eat?
<iframe width="425" height="350" frameborder="0" scrolling="no" marginheight="0" marginwidth="0" src="http://maps.google.com/maps?f=q&source=embed&hl=en&geocode=&q=225+East+Coast+Road+Singapore&ie=UTF8&hq=&hnear=225+E+Coast+Rd,+Singapore+428922&ll=1.30759,103.907213&spn=0.015724,0.006641&z=14&layer=c&cbll=1.307587,103.907238&panoid=Woh45CJXD7IeqAJKZ-Er7w&cbp=12,293.51,,2,8.91&output=svembed"></iframe><br /><small><a href="http://maps.google.com/maps?f=q&source=embed&hl=en&geocode=&q=225+East+Coast+Road+Singapore&ie=UTF8&hq=&hnear=225+E+Coast+Rd,+Singapore+428922&ll=1.30759,103.907213&spn=0.015724,0.006641&z=14&layer=c&cbll=1.307587,103.907238&panoid=Woh45CJXD7IeqAJKZ-Er7w&cbp=12,293.51,,2,8.91" style="color:#0000FF;text-align:left">View Larger Map</a></small>
http://maps.google.com/maps?f=q&sou...=Woh45CJXD7IeqAJKZ-Er7w&cbp=12,293.51,,2,8.91
拒绝调上“人情味” 的酿豆腐专卖店
The problem started when my younger boy decided he preferred chicken rice.
While I sat down in this simple, no-fuss shop with my older boy waiting for our order to be served, my younger son came in with his packed chicken rice which he bought from the coffee shop a couple of units away. He did not want to eat alone. Mindful of the feeling of most food sellers but not wanting to reject my son’s desire to be with us, I told him to eat in such a way that the table would not be dirtied. He began eating sheepishly.
Blame shop owner too strict and customer too fussy.
If customer want to eat different food as in this case. She can always tell his children 12 year old to eat the same meal. Why want to have so much trouble eating different food from other shop. Either ask his son to eat alone at the shop or she can eat chicken rice with his children.