• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

“I’m staying, I’m fully invested,”

Khun Ying Pojaman

Taken from Temasek Review:

“I’m staying, I’m fully invested,” the Straits Times’ headline screamed. The quote is from PAP newbie Janil Puthucheary.

But wait. Rewind. Lets play that tape again.

Janil Puthucheary (which I shall address as JP from now on) is the elder son of Dominic Puthucheary, 77, founding member of the PAP, and the Barisan Socialis. The elder Puthucheary was jailed under Singapore’s Internal Security Act (ISA) for 10 months in February 1963 under Operation Coldstore. He was one of the suspected leftists at that time.

Dominic Puthucheary was never tried or given his day in court.

When asked what he thought of the incarceration of his father, JP – quite stunningly – said:

“It was something that… happened in the long history that we were told about.”

Told about? It is puzzling why he said this considering that it was HIS FATHER who went through it. He is not an outsider who didn’t have access to information about what happened to his own father.

And then he added:

“It wasn’t something that we lived with or we knew of ourselves.”

HUH? He didn’t know about what happened? Stunning indeed. Is he an ignorant fool?

JP also said, when asked if he was angry about what had happened to his father:

“No, not at all. Certainly my father never expressed any anger or rancour so I could not express any anger for that.”

Hmm.. he can only be angry if the other party is angry. Otherwise, best to wipe the dust off his butt and make like nothing’s wrong.

Quite a sad answer to hear.

JP, gathering from what the ST reported, spent most of his life overseas – in London, Belfast and Sydney, “before settling here in 2001.”

His father presently lives in Malaysia. He was banned from entering Singapore until 1990.

And JP, through all of this, apparently slept through it all.

Can’t be bothered, is the phrase.

The Today newspaper reported:

“Asked for his views on the ISA, Dr Puthucheary said the way the law has been used and the potential for its use after the 911 terror attacks is “very different” now. And while he could discuss the philosophic aspects of the law, “the philosophy is not as important as the pragmatic implications for our state”, he added.”

In other words, please throw principles out the window.

Principles such as rule of law, right to counsel, fair hearing in open court. Burden of proof. And so on.

Throw them out for “pragmatic implications” – a euphemistic phrase which could be decoded as “abuse of power is ok”.

And the good ole JP says:

“I’m staying, I’m fully invested.”

How can you be when you do not even care about what happened to your own father?

Worse, how can you care when you feel that what happened to your own father is alright?

To me, this fella will sell his soul to the devil – even his own blood relations – for “pragmatic implications.”

And oh, the fella also said:

“The question is who is going to be prepared to stay and fight and make this country what it will be, what it can be.”

And his punchline:

“I am that person.”

“I’m staying, fighting, I’m fully invested.”

Empty words from someone who hasn’t served a single minute of National Service, unlike those of us Singaporean men who give years to the service.

Nah, this fella won’t get my vote.

I will never vote for a person who doesn’t even care about the sufferings his own father went through.

Khun Ying Pojaman

A person who is so well-educated and speaks like a moron. Why is he opening all the lobangs for opposition supporters to cannon him ?

Ah Nehs will betray anyone, even if family, for money, status and career. Quite lucky he did not sabo his papa already.

BusNo64

Never ever ever ever believe even 1% the words coming out from ahneh mouth.

Knn he never go fro NS, how to fight and defend? use his kukujiao to fight arh?

Knn he readily broke his promise his wife, wat make u so sure he will keep the promises he had uttered now?

Knn, furthermroe would u vote for someone who betray his father and go be a lapdog to his father tormentor? KNN if he can betray his own father, wat make u so sure he wont betray us?

KNN NEVER EVER BELIEVE AHNEH LAH!!!

cooleo

He has 3 strikes against him:

1) He is ah neh (just ask KNNBCCB on how he will vote lor. haha)
2) He has done ZERO NS
3) He will sell his dad if the opportunity arises. So what do u think he will do to people like u and me?

HellAngel

He is thankful to what happened to his father. If not, he would probably end up here and KPKB in forum.

If not for what happened, he wouldn't have gone abroad for his education and returning as a potential MP.

Ah Nehs will betray anyone, even if family, for money, status and career. Quite lucky he did not sabo his papa already.

Maximilian Chua-Heng

I saw Dr Janil Puthucheary on Ch5 coverage of the press conference.

He needs to work on his body language and eye contact. He seemed flustered when he uttered those words, maybe because he's been asked a hundred times on why he should stand despite being a new citizen.

Jiayou, Dr Puthucheary! :wink:

BusNo64

he shld be more honest and say dat he joined the party to help them screw sinkies more, then at least i will respect him for his honesty :rolleyes::oIo:

cooleo

He needs to work on his body language and eye contact. He seemed flustered when he uttered those words, maybe because he's been asked a hundred times on why he should stand despite being a new citizen.

He gives people the perception that he is a two-faced liar and scumbag. You can tell from the way he stammers and look down on occasions. This is a scumbag who will hone his skills in bullshitting in years to come. But for now, he is still an amateur.

the PAP por lumpars not free u wanna take over their job is it :oIo:

jia you ?? my foot :mad:

Brightkid

“I’m staying, I’m fully invested,”

Now, when someone said the above line, that he is 'fully invested'.......let's analyze.

I just googled 'Meaning of Invest' and among lots of search results returned, one which I use as example :

invest

Definition : To engage in any activity in which money is put at risk for the purpose of making a profit, and which is characterized by some or most of the following (in approximately descending order of importance): sufficient research has been conducted; the odds are favorable; the behavior is risk-averse; a systematic approach is being taken; emotions such as greed and fear play no role; the activity is ongoing and done as part of a long-term plan; the activity is not motivated solely by entertainment or compulsion; ownership of something tangible is involved; a net positive economic effect results.

http://www.investorwords.com/2598/invest.html

Above is self-explanatory key motivation of this ah neh when he said he is 'fully invested'. Watch out for any gain he may be expecting to gain from for 'serving' his ward should he be voted in.