I am afraid the question could only be answered by the defence minister or his perm sect of that time.
have you seen an ah neh neh platoon before?
I am afraid the question could only be answered by the defence minister or his perm sect of that time.
you are just denying for the sake of denial....and twisiting my words as usual....i said mandarin connect you to 300 years while dialects brings you further
i didn't twist them. these are the exact words u use, msg 275.
"my message is to those who think that they are sinophiles and are being in contact with your chinese roots by learning and perfecting your mandarin . you are totally barking up the wrong tree. Learning mandarin only gives you three hundred years of heritage and history and most of these are manchu or tungustic heritage."
haizzzz....the point is those poems were not written in mandarin...but in middle chinese.... are you trying to tell me li bai and all tandg dynasty people were a linguistic joke?
you are really pathetic....pls dun try thi stunt in front of uncle...
let me reproduce all the relevant parts from my post to debunk you...stop this dirty tactic of only reproducing one part of my post to support your feeble arguments
<,my message is to those who think that they are sinophiles and are being in contact with your chinese roots by learning and perfecting your mandarin . you are totally barking up the wrong tree. Learning mandarin only gives you three hundred years of heritage and history and most of these are manchu or tungustic heritage.
learning and being aware of your dialects will connect you further to your chinese roots. those who watched the Red Cliff or play the sangoku game and knows a little abt chinese history. please take note that after the time of three kingdoms and on more than one occasion, china was ruled by northern barbarian tribes form the tungus and their language is altaic in origin (sometime like korean and japanese). three kingdoms history ended sometime around the 200s AD and by the 300 ADs, china (esp. the north) was fragmented and ruled by different barbarian tribes like the Di, the xianbeu and hsiong-nu alongside chinese kingdoms for another 300 years. that ended in the 600s AD with the sui and tang dynasties. Tang dynasty lasted another 300 years and was largely a chinese edynasty even thought the tang rulers themselves are half chinese and half barbarian. china was fragmneted again for 200 years before the sung dynasty. significantly during the time of the sung, the jin dynasty or ancestors of the manchus ruled northern china before their regime was destroyed by the mongols. then came the mongols who ruled china for 100 over years before the next chinese dynasty, the ming came about. Ming ended in 1644 and the manchus came to power for another 300 years. >>
Massive U-turn by you. I thought you were right behind old man where Mandarin is concerned. Read your earlier posts. Suddenly you must have realised the menaing of mother tongue.
so in order to connect to the chinese roots we should speak like the ancient chinese, who sound muddled as compare to speaking mandarin??
please. it is interesting, and educational to note how it sound like, the ancient chinese speak, but it serve no purpose to learn and speak like them, people before tang dynasty. we are not ancient chinese!
go read msg 324.
oh ....did anybody including myself ask you to learn middle chinese or old chinese? so now you are saying our ancestors and confucius were all slurring and unclear in their speech and we are so blessed that we are speaking like them anymore?
it does not matter to be unable to appreciate old poems written by li bai and confucius because they are all unclear anyway, is that what you are saying?
are you trying to cleanse us of our linguistic roots which according is bad anyway because it is unclear and muddled
will you stop being this dirty stunt which i have just debunk'd? i.e. cut and paste only one part of my post to support your feeble arguments?
i am saying that those who say speaking mandarin would not connect one to chinese root, thats bullshit.
will you stop being this dirty stunt which i have just debunk'd? i.e. cut and paste only one part of my post to support your feeble arguments?
what the fuck is wrong with u? u want me to cut out the whole fucking long winded article and paste in order to quote u? u think your whole article is gold???
Ah Chek ! lu kau peh kau bu simi lan jiao?
small boy quick come nad learn from uncle.,..see how uncle make my arguments...sak sak wan, you want to learn anot?
i am really sick of your word twisting la...my point is clear hor....speaking mandarin is only good for three hundred years.... you want to go any deeper, ols retain your dialect roots...go and argue with this
Screwball, show me the post that I am right behind old fart discriminative, tyrannic policy against the dialect.
Go to your own post #36. You are even shy to mention your owm mother tongue.
This is what happens with circular logic - you can't even remember what you have stated.
No. There are Sporeans here in this country, I believe they do have mandarin as their mother tongue just like me.Here is a gist of what people are saying
1) Mandarin is not the mother tongue of Chinese Singaporeans
2) Since its is not their mother tongue, any cultural nuances and experiences are diluted and cannot be mirrored
3) Roots are tied with the language that is associated with it to get the best out of it.
Why is Mandarin a political tool of manchus? Can we say English is political tool for the Brit and American? Can we say French is political tool for the French? That doesn't do justice to the language isn't it?Mandarin is the political tool for Manchus and it is the same for the PAP. I can understand the economic value of learning Mandarin and the doors that it opens but it has nothing to do with culture and roots.
A simple example is our rich variety of chinese dishes and that is the contribution of our brothers from different dialects. Its culture, roots and heritage.
i am not shy to mention my mother tongue. i just dont wanna add something irrelevant to the thread. u ask me whats my mother tongue and i ask u in return, does it matter? so going by your logic, are u shy in telling me why do u wanna ask whats my mother tongue?
my mother tongue is teochew and mandarin. these are the two languages spoken in my family since i was young. so what does it have to do with the thread?
kindly show me where's the circular logic in my messages.
No. There are
Sporeans here in this country, I believe they do have mandarin as their mother tongue just like me.
And also, almost all Chinese dialects share the same written Chinese language.
As for point number 2 and 3, I don't know what are u trying to tell me.
Why is Mandarin a political tool of manchus? Can we say English is political tool for the Brit and American? Can we say French is political tool for the French? That doesn't do justice to the language isn't it?
Mandarin is not just economic value. It has it purpose in uniting the Chinese. So that different Chinese dialect group could communicate with one antoher.
Its not just economical. There are cultural aspect of it.