• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Retired SAF Officers in Public Sector

SAF ociffers must be looked after ....
It will be an insult for a general to be a Grab platform worker.
Or heavens forbid ... a kopitiam cleaner.

After a certain age, especially after 55, it is always easier to put down the pride and move along.For the younger ones, is not easy to overcome it to take passengers who were once their subordinates or clients.Last time after I was fired from a good paying job, I took up another job in the same industry but suffered high pay cuts, I always need to avoid going to the ex company for any client meetings. I worried to meet those ex colleagues in the lift etc. Then whenever the company assigned me to goto the ex company, I always need to think of ways to skip it and goto a fresh company.Even in the mrt, I happened to bound onto some admin staffs, the first question they bombarded me was Where is your car? Wtf how not to escape?
The worst case scenario is that of my former colleague who was laid off following a stroke. As he ran into financial difficulties and became irritable, his wife also left him. He was eventually forced to sell his home, and shift back with his mother, with whom he lives with until today.

Your former colleague is a strong fighter.
Hope things is better for him now.

Tbh at that time I suffered great depression till the state of wetting my bed :notworthy:
Only then I learnt that depression can cause bed wetting.
Luckily I managed to move on eventually and started to be very thrifty, and from then onwards, I started to see my bank account going up and far more than when I was earning high salary.

Your former colleague is a strong fighter. Hope things is better for him now. Tbh at that time I suffered great depression till the state of wetting my bed Only then I learnt that depression can cause bed wetting. Luckily I managed to move on eventually and started to be very thrifty, and from then onwards, I started to see my bank account going up and far more than when I was earning high salary.
It is most unfortunate that my ex-colleague has descended into depression and self-pity. He blames the world for his misfortune, and resents his former colleagues who are still gainfully employed, living in condos and continuing to own cars. He lost his own HDB flat and was forced to give up driving following his stroke and retrenchment.

He might need some religious enlightenment. Buddhism to find peace.
Life is never fair.

Who did he vote for?

where got enough space in all the GLCs and Stat Boards to absorb so many jiakliaobee SAF officers? Many are now being parachuted into SSC, and MFA. One of my former useless CO, the most stupid fucker will meet, did his 25 years in the SAF and then all of a sudden can become consulate general in Pekan Baru. LOL. What he knows about diplomacy can fit on my little finger..
A plum posting.
Relatively easy.

He might need some religious enlightenment. Buddhism to find peace.
Life is never fair.
Maybe the unfairness started when the person was doing well. The subsequent fall from grace is, in truth, fairness in disguise.

When other people gain an advantage over you, the sense of unfairness is often jealousy in disguise. You strive to restore the "balance". But when you gain an advantage over others, it's called "success" which you use to define happiness. You don't think about restoring the balance.

There are more things to learn in life when you are swimming against the current. That, in itself, is the fairest thing in life. The life lesson you learned cannot be taken away from you, unlike a job, a gf or value of your material possession. It's just that most people do not attach a meaningful value to non-material things.

Peace is the prize that you should be seeking at all times, not a consolation after you have fallen behind others.

where got enough space in all the GLCs and Stat Boards to absorb so many jiakliaobee SAF officers? Many are now being parachuted into SSC, and MFA. One of my former useless CO, the most stupid fucker will meet, did his 25 years in the SAF and then all of a sudden can become consulate general in Pekan Baru. LOL. What he knows about diplomacy can fit on my little finger..
Definitely not a right fit & will create tensions with colleges & subordinates when no in depth knowledge or skillset while running organisation like army.

Not too sure what this thread is about...you expect these retired or retiring uniform officers in their late 40s to early 50s to say no to a cushy civil or public service job, irregardless of their skills set? Hmm...anyway in times of crisis or war they will be activated first to the frontline as well? And not to mention the numerous weekends they have to work, no?

Not too sure what this thread is about...you expect these retired or retiring uniform officers on their late 40s to early 50s to say no to a cushy civil or public service job, irregardless of their skills set? Hmm...
Blurring the line of the different pillars in the society. Administration, legislative & judiciary. Muddy as it gets.

SAF ociffers must be looked after ....
It will be an insult for a general to be a Grab platform worker.
Or heavens forbid ... a kopitiam cleaner.
There is nothing to feel insulted as long as they themselves don't show off and wear the army uniform.
BTW Grab worker and Kopitiam cleaner are promulgated by PAP as good and stable jobs with good career prospects in S'pore reserved for sinkees.:roflmao:

Very fee from the 1970's with O or A levels were promoted to colonel.
Almost all are LTC.

no lah .... most kenna condemned at Major. Even for them to promote from LT to CPT smelly smelly also must wait 15 years if he not malai.

those with A level in the 80s then can sign on OCS as officer maybe got chance to go up to LTC max if not malai.

Maybe the unfairness started when the person was doing well. The subsequent fall from grace is, in truth, fairness in disguise.

When other people gain an advantage over you, the sense of unfairness is often jealousy in disguise. You strive to restore the "balance". But when you gain an advantage over others, it's called "success" which you use to define happiness. You don't think about restoring the balance.

There are more things to learn in life when you are swimming against the current. That, in itself, is the fairest thing in life. The life lesson you learned cannot be taken away from you, unlike a job, a gf or value of your material possession. It's just that most people do not attach a meaningful value to non-material things.

Peace is the prize that you should be seeking at all times, not a consolation after you have fallen behind others.
Is this your secret code mantra or from Buddhism?
I'm not a Buddhist but I find some Buddhism teaching is worth to explore.
I'm currently a little enlightened by an Indian monk who always appear in my Tik tok swipe.
There are also a number of Christians under his guidance.