• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Coolsaint77

Malaysian people are not stupid. They can see that only the top few richest can own Freehold Landed Property in Singapore. In Malaysia, even the roadsweeper and toilet cleaners have their own Freehold Landed Property.

In Singapore, everything must Pay and Pay. In Malaysia, just walk out to your Chicken Coop and pick out a few eggs, pull up some vegetables from your garden, can have lunch, dinner already.

They would have to be nuts to give up their M'sia citizenship!

On a lighter note, one thing i find amusing in Nusa Idaman is, a lot of people indeed turn the land around their houses into farms. In Singapore you would expect residents to do landscaping, plant flowers. Here they plant vegetable!

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
You can get a good sized corner terrace in Nusajaya area for 500k, at a reasonably good location. No need 3 units lah, my neighbours in Nusa Idaman for example are pretty decent. Buy a unit that is not at a secluded corner. Most new properties are gated these days. Avoid single storeys.

Yes, don't expect to live the luxurious life in JB as that would be too high profile and attract lotsa attention.

Agreed, just keep things low profile, what you do for your own home, no one bothers though. :smile:

toyohon

Thats my point exactly, for all the dissing and complaints i hear about MY, every time we asked them, since you are always praising SG, why don't you be its citizen? Its almost 100% that they will say, no way, my home is in MY.

Its not only an exit strategy, its also very prudent.
Thats why this place is ideal for retirement and those looking for slower (and cheaper) place.

Car or car modding enthusiasts should come out here, solar film, air filters, etc. Can mod to your hearts content especially if you are staying here and have a MY car.

I have a friend looking for a landed house in JB to park his collection of classic bikes and cars!

sillysinky

Hi, anyone can help? thanks.:smile:

hi, you can hire a virtual address for just SGD99 per year. just google for "virtual address singapore" and you will find one that offers SGD99/year, the cheapest.
then you can reroute all your banks corresnpondence to this address. They can also help to forward the mails to you in JB provided you pay for the postage etc.
hope this helps.

silverfox@

by the way, you stayed in Tun aminah for so many years, which I have to assume that you either you or your wife is a malaysian. As far as i know and from fellow sinkies info, Tun aminah is quite a "notorious" area, no ?

Tun Aminah have robbers who rob even school children.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
I have a friend looking for a landed house in JB to park his collection of classic bikes and cars!

How many cars does he have, there are still 1-2 2.5 storey cluster houses here in HH that have very large areas, can park at least 4 cars just inside the compound.

Some of the houses in Gateway, near the golf course has even own driveways that can park 2 full size buses outside, not counting inside so lots of parking space that is free.

Yes, i still keep my SG address for mails. Essentially keep mails from both sides separate and just come back once or twice a week to check, etc.

Hi wuqi, thanks, been reading this thread and finds the info useful. Just wondering how to keep your SG address after renting out the property, wouldn't the tenant mind if they keep receiving your mails?

Coolsaint77

How many cars does he have, there are still 1-2 2.5 storey cluster houses here in HH that have very large areas, can park at least 4 cars just inside the compound.

Some of the houses in Gateway, near the golf course has even own driveways that can park 2 full size buses outside, not counting inside so lots of parking space that is free.

Yah the long driveway is nice. Pity it's outside the gate but still it is something i've never seen. Tested their security couple of months back when i tried to get into Gateway by saying the marketing people ask me to come directly - the security responded i have to ask the marketing people to personally bring me in. So it seems security is ok.

Investor

WOW! Hello people, Great to see so many 'like minded' people here. I've just bought 3 units in East Ledang recently, 1 semi-D and 2 terraces which are expected to be completed in 2012. Semi-D will be my weekend holiday home and 2 terraces are for investment. Surprised to see that so many people are into it so much earlier =)

Coolsaint77

Wait a minute... if i want to get a cheap JB plate car for local transport... how can i do that? I don't believe SG licence can drive an MY plate car or even buy an MY plate car right?

Charlie258

Now the security of JB is much much better, somewhat like Singapore about 10 years ago...Singapore security is like some parts of Indonesia or something like JB when it was a cowboy town... except that robbery in lifts or void decks etc are much more rampant in Singapore. Havent never heard of car-jacking for at least a few years.

Are you sure security in Singapore is that bad? I am not here to argue with you, just that I need to know, because sometimes I go out late at night in Singapore.

I almost kena robbed in a multi-storey car park in CCK in 2007 by 3 young guys, but that's the extent of my experience with crime in Singapore.

Generally, try to avoid the Outskirt towns of Singapore. Lots of poor families live there, if not poor families, then it's lots of young people. Like Downtown East Pasir Ris. Try to avoid multi-storey car parks late at night.

If I go to a kopitiam or cafe, I try to park my vehicle within sight of my table. This learned from my USA working and living days. So you don't come back to a vehicle with broken windows and missing laptop and cashcard!

Cruxx

Anyone who doesn't feel safe in one of the safest countries in the world deserves to be emasculated.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Wait a minute... if i want to get a cheap JB plate car for local transport... how can i do that? I don't believe SG licence can drive an MY plate car or even buy an MY plate car right?

You can, some bros here even have 1-3 MY cars. Just need to apply for the conversion and pay RM30 yearly. :smile:

congo9

I am in the best position to comment as I have roamed Singapore and Malaysia, esp JB in the wee hours of the morning to noon or nighttime etc over the past decade. Just 5-10 years ago, the crime rate and polis in JB literally suck. When I see them, i will mumbled CCB to myself. Because they simply deserve it. Useless ,damn useless and greedy. After midnight u cant see a single polis car anywhere. You call polis they take their own sweet time to appear. Fast is 3 hours, slow? They dont even appear. Thats how bad the situation was at that time.

Needless to say, Horizon Hills, 90% of Bukit Indah 2 and 60% of Nusa Bestari are flat land or forest that time. That is why even when Sutera Utama shophouses were selling at RM 600-RM700k+ ( 3 storey freehold ), no one was interested as Singaporeans like us totally had NO cofidence in the security. Singapore was damn safe that time of cos. There was no sutera mall, no other shophouse, only the ones that u see at the main road. Its a haunted town but security in Sutera Utama is "among the better ones" in Johor Bahru that time. Now the shophouses are selling at RM 1.5 or almost RM 2 million. Of cos, we have all missed the boat.

Touch wood, but i have travelled alone between 12am-6am in Johor bahru these past 2 years and witness a dramatic surge in road blocks and police cars. I feel safer. The gang fights recently in Singapore doesnt surprised me. Singapore is already a dangerous place for girls in the past few years. The "Heartbeat molestor" in Sengkang was caught recently and I heard he molested over 20 or 30 young girls???!!

And I also heard that one china girl was forced into a bush in AYE and RAPED by a China man? Here in "safe" Singapore? Needless to explain about the countless life robberies and snatch thefts, car windows kena smashed etc. Its a daily occurence just that it dont get reported in the papers.

Personally when i was much younger, I tot singapore was so safe that I went jogging in a carpark at 2am in the morning to beef up my stamina for NS. I was robbed by 3 malay girls armed with choppers. Argh what a malu incident which I rather not mentioned!

What kind of business can we do in the 3 storey shop house ? No crowd no nothing ... what can we do ? Really nothing can do in johore

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
What kind of business can we do in the 3 storey shop house ? No crowd no nothing ... what can we do ? Really nothing can do in johore

Depends on where you are, if your shop is at those Nusa Bestari or near the Sutera Mall, then no problem. Food, KTV, motor car repair shops for example. :wink:

aquilani

Hi new to the forum and went to visited HH condo yesterday and is very interested.

2 qns.

1) What is the rental potential for HH condo?

2) Want to compare with Puteri Harbor condo development, but its website has no info on them. Anyone has any info on this or where to visit for the showroom?

Thanks in advance.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Rental potential is good for HH Condo but i would say Puteri Harbour is better for rental.

Can go on weekdays but need to make appointment, go straight to Puteri Harbour and the 2nd floor is their showroom. With the CIQ to be built onsite there, its a choice place. HH will be very convenient too though, because with new road joining Kota Iskandar, its only 5 minutes away.

Most of the units have been taken up or reserved already though, saw that most of the names there had either E or S in front of them for NRIC/Passport.

Status
Not open for further replies.