• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Blame the WP and not the PAP for this election result

That is the dumbest reasoning I ever heard. If you are not planning to oppose the PAP, then why bother to form WP?. Why not just join PAP and be their candidate. That's just fucking retarded.

The dumbest thing is not able to differentiate between being a good responsible Opposition (who oppose when it is wrong, but priase when credit is due) vs one who oppose for the sake of opposing!

MaximiLian

As a moderate voter, I am glad WP has improved on its 2011 performance.

It will now have 9 MPs in parliament instead of 8 !!

kukubird59

Hahaha... Master u are back with guns blazing...
Anyway pleased to report that mission accomplished....
Your warning that WP is a fake oppo party certainly got through to the voters...

Your timing to inflict maximum damage was perfect...

Kid278

Why not? Why are singaporeans so special from the rest of the world? Name me one country where the citizens don't complain about their country's politicians or about their elections. In the US, Republicans are happy they win the Senate, but complain the President is a democrat. The same goes for every country in the world. Even in North Korea, although I am sure they don't complain publicly in a forum like this. U are entitled to complain on anything you want. If you want to remove this right to complain for yourself, that is your problem. Others want to keep theirs.

You got me wrong. What I'm saying is the electorate gave the papzis 70%. If they deliver what they promise and everyone is happy then rejoice. If they short changed and everyone is miserable then regret and don't complaint. I am directing at the 70%.

The dumbest thing is not able to differentiate between being a good responsible Opposition (who oppose when it is wrong, but priase when credit is due) vs one who oppose for the sake of opposing!

The problem with your argument is that the WP did neither. They simply did not oppose anything the PAP did. Other then 2 or 3 times, they voted with the PAP on everything else in Parliament.

Hahaha... Master u are back with guns blazing...
Anyway pleased to report that mission accomplished....
Your warning that WP is a fake oppo party certainly got through to the voters...

Your timing to inflict maximum damage was perfect...

Kukushit my doggie, you are back. Kanena, you take so long to come here, waiting for you long time. Stop fucking your mother's backside and pay more attention here, can or not?

LordElrond

Hmm... saw a few YouTube clips where LTK got whacked by LHL for not opposing PAP. I personally prefer WP to be more pointed and aggressive. Forget about this "constructive opposition" shit.

LordElrond

Having said that, I respect LTK's stance as this is the branding they chose. I do not think that WP's lack of aggression caused them to lose votes. Aggressive western style opposition is CSJ's brand of politics, which complements WP's moderate stance. The poorer performance is simply due to daftness of Sinkies, which we suspected all along and is confirmed in this election results. Sinkies prefer to bask in their glory of being a rich country (doesn't matter if I am not rich, I come from a rich country?!). They will start pleading for a saviour only when they reach a stage like where Malaysia is today. In short, Sinkies need to feel the screw penetrating their arse before screaming for help.

alantan27

Another reason I not sure whether forumer here agree or not is the free advertisement given by LTK
As an opposition leader, he given saying government doing a good job and WP is not ready, dont expect too much from WP etc
In fact when WP won the PE by election 3 yrs ago, i spot him a worried face

LordElrond

To drive the point home: This group of Swing Voters will listen to PAP to tell them whether so and so opposition politician is "constructive". So when PAP tell them WP is like mouse in the parliament, they take it as gospel truth.

LordElrond

Another reason I not sure whether forumer here agree or not is the free advertisement given by LTK
As an opposition leader, he given saying government doing a good job and WP is not ready, dont expect too much from WP etc

Don't talk rubbish worried for fuck? He is too moderate for the liking of certain people but that is his choice of branding.

To those that keep saying WP was quiet and hence the voters turn against them,,,than how come the other Oppos who were more noisier get less votes? SDP and SPP and SingFirst should have at least got 40% of the vote,,,they would have replace WP in the forums etc,, how come they get rejected by the voters?

swissbank

As a moderate voter, I am glad WP has improved on its 2011 performance.

It will now have 9 MPs in parliament instead of 8 !!

hammer broken, how ! some more so silent in parliament

• thunder.png
    thunder.png
    125.1 KB · Views: 347

LordElrond

To those that keep saying WP was quiet and hence the voters turn against them,,,than how come the other Oppos who were more noisier get less votes? SDP and SPP and SingFirst should have at least got 40% of the vote,,,they would have replace WP in the forums etc,, how come they get rejected by the voters?

Precisely. At least 25 people have been telling Papsmearer that but he still cannot see the point.

Seriously? Your grasp of singapore politics is a joke. Let me explain it to you in simple terms.

No one listens to the other oppo parties until elections comes along. The noisier Oppo you mention was only allowed to show itself during the campaigning period. People start to do their research and study all the parties once the elections is announced. Prior to that, the govt controlled media makes sure that the viewpoints of the oppo parties are muted and not presented to the voters and the public. Which voter here starts deciding who to vote for in 2012? What about in 2013? 2014? People only seriously started looking at parties only after the date was set for the elections. Prior to this, you have to go to their websites to see what is their platform. Only after the campaigning period starts can the oppo parties hold rallies, book debates, etc and get their message out. They are only given 9 days for this, from Sept 1 to 9th!! Oppo parties have only 9 days to get their message out to the people, whereas the PAP and WP had 4 years since 2011 to get their message out. The time is too short, People are not able to digest all the infor from all the parties in time. Up until a few days before the campaigning period, the oppo parties were still trying to trash out who will run where. The voters did not know until maybe 2 weeks before the actual vote who was actually their oppo party.

Contrast this with the US. The next US elections is in Nov. 2016. Yet all the debates have already started, all the candidates are already on national TV and radio and making their policies and viewpoints known. The US voters have months to study all the candidates. People have a very good idea of what Donald Trump is about. They also have a good idea of who and what the Democrat and Republican presidential nominees stand for. I can guarantee you 100% that if the campaigning period was 3 months, there is no way the PAP would have these numbers. The fence sitters need to study the oppo party in their constituency. If they don't have the comfort level they will go to PAP. But there was not enough time to make this connection.

The other factor is the PAP has the resources to track the 2011 voting in minute detail. They know which ballot boxes in which polling station had more oppo votes then PAP votes. They re-draw the boundaries to make sure they break up any oppo stronghold that could have developed. Coupled with the fact that sample polling has a psychological affect on voters that have not voted, and in the end you have the results you have. Several elections ago in the US, I recall one presidential candidate was winning by a landslide in the East Coast. because the East cast their ballots earlier due to the time difference, poll results were announced in the East even before people in the West Coast got to vote. when people in the West coast saw the run away results, they simply voted with the winner. No one wants to go to the office the next day and say they voted for the loser. Its just the human psychology. The PAP employed this when they used the sampling vote results. They may have been faked, but when people who have not voted find out that the PAP is winning comfortably, they simply vote the PAP too, because they think that voting oppo will not matter due to the PAP lead.

These are just a couple of the reasons. There are many more, Its not as simplistic as you say.

I totally agree with this, at times, he sounded like a PAP MP. No one elected him to be PAP Lite. That is the reason WP could not make any headway in the other constituencies they contested.

Sperminator

Seriously? Your grasp of singapore politics is a joke. Let me explain it to you in simple terms.

No one listens to the other oppo parties until elections comes along. People start to do their research and study all the parties once the elections is announced. Prior to that, the govt controlled media makes sure that the viewpoints of the oppo parties are muted and not presented to the voters and the public. Which voter here starts deciding who to vote for in 2012? What about in 2013? 2014? People only seriously started looking at parties only after the date was set for the elections. Prior to this, you have to go to their websites to see what is their platform. Only after the campaigning period starts can the oppo parties hold rallies, book debates, etc and get their message out. They are only given 9 days for this, from Sept 1 to 9th!! Oppo parties have only 9 days to get their message out to the people, whereas the PAP and WP had 4 years since 2011 to get their message out. The time is too short, People are not able to digest all the infor from all the parties in time. Up until a few days before the campaigning period, the oppo parties were still trying to trash out who will run where. The voters did not know until maybe 2 weeks before the actual vote who was actually their oppo party.

Contrast this with the US. The next US elections is in Nov. 2016. Yet all the debates have already started, all the candidates are already on national TV and radio and making their policies and viewpoints known. The US voters have months to study all the candidates. People have a very good idea of what Donald Trump is about. They also have a good idea of who and what the Democrat and Republican presidential nominees stand for. I can guarantee you 100% that if the campaigning period was 3 months, there is no way the PAP would have these numbers. The fence sitters need to study the oppo party in their constituency. If they don't have the comfort level they will go to PAP. But there was not enough time to make this connection.

The other factor is the PAP has the resources to track the 2011 voting in minute detail. They know which ballot boxes in which polling station had more oppo votes then PAP votes. They re-draw the boundaries to make sure they break up any oppo stronghold that could have developed. Coupled with the fact that sample polling has a psychological affect on voters that have not voted, and in the end you have the results you have. Several elections ago in the US, I recall one presidential candidate was winning by a landslide in the East Coast. because the East cast their ballots earlier due to the time difference, poll results were announced in the East even before people in the West Coast got to vote. when people in the West coast saw the run away results, they simply voted with the winner. No one wants to go to the office the next day and say they voted for the loser. Its just the human psychology. The PAP employed this when they used the sampling vote results. They may have been faked, but when people who have not voted find out that the PAP is winning comfortably, they simply vote the PAP too, because they think that voting oppo will not matter due to the PAP lead.

These are just a couple of the reasons. There are many more, Its not as simplistic as you say.

I couldn't have said it better. All in all, this Election is rigged. It's not a democratic election. It's more of a Dictatorship in this case. The control from PAP government is far, wide, deep.

Cerebral

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]
Hmm... saw a few YouTube clips where LTK got whacked by LHL for not opposing PAP. I personally prefer WP to be more pointed and aggressive. Forget about this "constructive opposition" shit.

More pointed is SDP lar. Different style of politics

I vote for any opposition as its better than voting for the pappies. N I dont see the big deal with the sampling as its announce after the polls close. So how does tat affect the vote?So yr comparison with the usa is bull shit. N now w Internet I can watch the rallies from my pc..not like in the 80s where can only depend on mainstream media. The oppos msg is out just dim wit singkies dont want to listen. When the PE BE results was announced n LTK says wp not ready to form gahmen. He was so harshly criticised. Than now WP w more n better candidates say make us ready to take over he gets criticised again. As singkies want pap to b in charge. Wat a load of BS...the fiasco is due to the fuck up singkies themselves. Dont push the blame on WP or SDP or ERP or watever P..they r the ones tat put an X for PAP

No one listens to the other oppo parties until elections comes along. The noisier Oppo you mention was only allowed to show itself during the campaigning period. People start to do their research and study all the parties once the elections is announced. Prior to that, the govt controlled media makes sure that the viewpoints of the oppo parties are muted and not presented to the voters and the public. Which voter here starts deciding who to vote for in 2012? What about in 2013? 2014? People only seriously started looking at parties only after the date was set for the elections. Prior to this, you have to go to their websites to see what is their platform. Only after the campaigning period starts can the oppo parties hold rallies, book debates, etc and get their message out. They are only given 9 days for this, from Sept 1 to 9th!! Oppo parties have only 9 days to get their message out to the people, whereas the PAP and WP had 4 years since 2011 to get their message out. The time is too short, People are not able to digest all the infor from all the parties in time. Up until a few days before the campaigning period, the oppo parties were still trying to trash out who will run where. The voters did not know until maybe 2 weeks before the actual vote who was actually their oppo party.