• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Fuck the ruling party for overcrowding this tiny island!

Hi Uncle, if you throw yourself off a tower you can keep saying " so far so good" all the way till the precise second you hit the ground. I would say don't be an idiot but you are just one of millions in this place and it would make no difference.

you are absolutely right
all the way good so far until he hit ground zero
by then you are sans everything - makes no difference lah
you think you can prevent a free fall

Kuailan

This is why I like NZ. 99% of the time, I can get a free parking spot just outside the shop or restaurant I'm visiting.

The only place where you're likely to be charged for parking is in the city centre.

Sinkieland is own by FamiLee so parking is Pay And Pay! nothing else!!!

soikee

Dear TS

According to Troll (his reply at my "MY Paper article.."), it's not the foreigners who drive cars.. it's the local Singaporeans.. so.. the new citizens are so not counted as well, for they are not natural-bred Singaporeans, but foreign infusion into SG.

My take? It's the friggin foreigners.. new citizens included.. screw it.. don't drive.. take a taxi.. saves u the stress of finding a parking space and waiting.

Hi DuYunQi, ignore Troll for he's a mercenary pappy dog!

soikee

Come to think of it, it's even more stupid to queue 30 minutes for a lot. Park some distance away and walk...

Singaporeans and their cars make me want to vomit sometimes.

After 30 minutes I still could not gain access into the car park and that was how freaking bad it was. The queue stretched from Plaza S'pura all the way to Cathay.

soikee

I was thinking the same thing last night. 8.30 pm at a public carpark in the suburbs and no empty slots. Worse still LTA mobile wardens handing out parking summons like no tomorrow to cars parked on side streets because drivers have no other choice. Way to go PAP. You are losing votes every weekend.

From Orchard Road I thought Thomson Plaza being in the suburb should be alright, but was again disappointed and it was 7 pm plus.

Agoraphobic

Fren, Singapore is a city. All cities are crowded. Sg was already crowded during the nineties when I emigrated, it is more crowded now. On Sundays when I do my groceries, my wife and me leave our apartment before 0930 and arrive at the mall before 1000 hours, so I can get to park somewhere convenient. That's kiasu, but we've learned to survive and get by in the city. On weekend evenings, I do not go to public places, we have a private club to go to and spend the evenings there. On long weekends, I take the family up north, out of the country to some resort, usually a real beach to unwind. I do not like government, but I wouldn't blame the government for Sg's crowdedness. It is the price of progress. Don't expect it to improve, it will only get worse.

Good luck. Cheers!

At 6.15 this evening, queued 30 minutes to find a parking lot at Plaza S'pura, but failed to find one so drove off to Thomson Plaza. Car park was also full and left for home after waiting for 20 mins.

Tiu nia seng! How are we gonna live when the population hits 7m?

DuYunQi

Hi DuYunQi, ignore Troll for he's a mercenary pappy dog!

Thank you for the advice.

Troll makes no sense.. and I have not wasted too much time on that fella's posts.

But the argument here is both interesting and weird too.. it is correct to point out that 10yrs ago, it wasn't that crowded. Yes, it was difficult to get a parking slot in Orchard.. but 30mins and still no space.. well.. I don't drive.. don't want to waste my money feeding a depreciating tool that doesn't give me any comfort or pleasure.

The overcrowding is experienced by both public transport users, as well as car owners here. It is quite obvious that the authorities have not really planned well enough to ensure that car population has not "exploded" to a point where parking becomes a nightmare.

Well.. our very teary PM DID mention that he and his party do not possess 20/20 foresight vision. So what can you all expect?!!

Tried and tested formulas might still work.. it they are updated to the changes of times and other changes that takes place in the country. It won't help if you run a system that dates back 40+ years ago and not update them with regards to how things are today.

hmm.. what was that fine print that I remember again? .. "Past performances do not guarantee future..." You fill in the last few words, ok?

soikee

Strangley enough this is nothing new to me. I last tried to park at Plaza S'pura some 4 years back but without success.
I then decided to use the carpark at Park Mall, opposite Istana Park. (I got a lot but at a high level.) I rarely venture into Orchard Road these days. :o

These days even outside Orchard Road and CBD, shopping mall like United Square, one has to wait for 30 - 45 mins to find a parking lot.

How much worse will it get when we hit 7m?

Fren, Singapore is a city. All cities are crowded. Sg was already crowded during the nineties when I emigrated, it is more crowded now. On Sundays when I do my groceries, my wife and me leave our apartment before 0930 and arrive at the mall before 1000 hours, so I can get to park somewhere convenient. That's kiasu, but we've learned to survive and get by in the city. On weekend evenings, I do not go to public places, we have a private club to go to and spend the evenings there. On long weekends, I take the family up north, out of the country to some resort, usually a real beach to unwind. I do not like government, but I wouldn't blame the government for Sg's crowdedness. It is the price of progress. Don't expect it to improve, it will only get worse.

Good luck. Cheers!

Kawan, it wasn't that bad until they let in the millions of foreigners.

If we don't blame government, who do we hold accountable? Can we drive the foreigners away?

We are overpaying for progress! And we are having the wrong kind of progress, a growth that is not sustainable. Folks like you in the top 20 percent can shrug your shoulders coz you have the means to avoid the negatives ...not the 80 percent below.

soikee

Good luck. Cheers!

Fren, when I joined the SICC I only paid $2000 entrance fee for my full ordinary membership.

I've lived in the Orchard Rd vicinity since the 70's and I've seen how the situation has rapidly deteriorated to what it is today.

wendychan

These days even outside Orchard Road and CBD, shopping mall like United Square, one has to wait for 30 - 45 mins to find a parking lot.

How much worse will it get when we hit 7m?
talking about public transport, its not so easy to get a cab these days WITHOUT a long wait, and if say bus / mrt. then get squeezed like sardines...

soikee

Fren, when I joined the SICC I only paid $2000 entrance fee for my full ordinary membership.

I've lived in the Orchard Rd vicinity since the 70's and I've seen how the situation has rapidly deteriorated to what it is today.

Especially during the last five years!

The situation is so bad that despite parking rates in all the hotels in the Orchard Rd belt have rocketed from $1 to $5 per hour no alleviation is in sight.

bakkuttay

On Sundays when I do my groceries, my wife and me leave our apartment before 0930 and arrive at the mall before 1000 hours,

On weekend evenings, I do not go to public places, we have a private club to go to and spend the evenings there.

On long weekends, I take the family up north, out of the country to some resort, usually a real beach to unwind.

Good luck. Cheers!

good luck to you, so you talk as though all others are in the same boat as you!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

soikee

good luck to you, so you talk as though all others are in the same boat as you!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

We can't be seeking shelter in the private country club otherwise my family & I will be spending most of our time in the four 18 hole golf courses at the Sime and Thomson locations.

Kawan, it wasn't that bad until they let in the millions of foreigners.

If we don't blame government, who do we hold accountable? Can we drive the foreigners away?

We are overpaying for progress! And we are having the wrong kind of progress, a growth that is not sustainable. Folks like you in the top 20 percent can shrug your shoulders coz you have the means to avoid the negatives ...not the 80 percent below.

If we follow the argument that people deserve the government they elect, then we can only blame ourselves. Specifically, the 60.1%. We created a hungry monster, and gave it free reign to do as it pleases. Until the majority wakes up and demand transparency and accountability, the rest of us will just have to put up with the nonsense that surrounds us daily in Singapore.

I agree that we are paying too high a price for progress. When this progress wanes or fail us, we will be paying a bigger price. Consider those instant trees that the government loves to plant everywhere on the island. Roots do not take hold very well, and the trees started falling during thunderstorms.

From Orchard Road I thought Thomson Plaza being in the suburb should be alright, but was again disappointed and it was 7 pm plus.

Thomson Plaza is a nightmare. The car park is small and there are some popular shops there....Peach Garden and Sushi Teh.Long House is another nightmare. You can wait and wait until your ulcer bursts. But again, what can you do but wait if you want to makan there. You can always go elsewhere where parking is free and ample...No need to wait.

bryanlim1972

If we follow the argument that people deserve the government they elect, then we can only blame ourselves. Specifically, the 60.1%. We created a hungry monster, and gave it free reign to do as it pleases. Until the majority wakes up and demand transparency and accountability, the rest of us will just have to put up with the nonsense that surrounds us daily in Singapore.

I agree that we are paying too high a price for progress. When this progress wanes or fail us, we will be paying a bigger price. Consider those instant trees that the government loves to plant everywhere on the island. Roots do not take hold very well, and the trees started falling during thunderstorms.

singaporeans deserve their government, but that's also the result of limited information or deliberate misinformation.

great analogy on the instant trees. however if the right trees are selected, even instant ones can take root.

Thomson Plaza is a nightmare. The car park is small and there are some popular shops there....Peach Garden and Sushi Teh.Long House is another nightmare. You can wait and wait until your ulcer bursts. But again, what can you do but wait if you want to makan there. You can always go elsewhere where parking is free and ample...No need to wait.

you are also right. sinkies too dumb to realize they have a choice to vote, erm, go somewhere else. :biggrin: