• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Big problem for Singapore : Stronger Sing Dollar and Higher inflation...

jubilee1919

The poster of this was banned...http://forum.channelnewsasia.com/showthread.php?125441-Big-problem-for-Singapore-Stronger-Sing-Dollar-and-Higher-inflation

Big problem for Singapore : Stronger Sing Dollar and Higher inflation...

Happily I go to Malaysia change my S$1 to $2.52+ ringgit every few weeks to spend...however, some Singaporean ya-ya-papaya think that strong S$ means Singapore economy more powerful or gaining strength on Malaysia and so on. This is the view of IGNORANT people.

1. Why did MAS allow Sing$ to go up so much despite negative GDP growth last quarter?

There is very high inflation in Singapore and raising the S$ makes the imported component of the CPI lower thus lowering the overall inflation figure to 5.3% which is already quite bad. Imagine at 6% our inflation will be higher than 3-month spanish bonds!!!

This is a sign the Singapore govt is losing control of domestic price inflation and using the S$ to make imports cheap to hide inflation pressures.

2. Our export sector is hurting and property bubble is prop up to keep us out of recession?

Why you think MAS allow 50 year home loan. If property sector shrink immediately Singapore will be in recession because export sector is weak. The govt is just playing the number to prevent a recession by artificially propping up property sector.

3. As for some people think S$ strong almighty against the ringgit means Singapore BETTER

http://www.tradingeconomics.com/malaysia/inflation-cpi

Actually Malaysian inflation rate is 1.7% vs 5% in Singapore. Malaysian economic growth is 5% vs negative for Singapore last quarter.

The way Singaporeans can gain from this is stronger Sing$ is to go to Malaysia to spend their money. But you cannot spend every S$1 in Malaysia no matter what most of your money has to be spent n Singapore unless you MOVE TO MALAYSIA. That means you're exposed to high inflation while Malaysians are not despite their weaker ringgit. The weaker ringgit means Malaysian exports are stronger.

4. Strong S$ despite strong outward remittance flow=high dependency on capital inflows of hot money, tax evaders and money launderers

Half the workforce is foreign. They feed their families back home in Philipines, India and China. This means there is high remittance flow as these workers convert their salary to foreign currencies putting downward pressure on S$. Our trade deficit is very large.

To balance our accounts we depend on rich people from India, China, USA to shift money here to avoid tax in their home countries. Some of the money (like Ma Chi's) are of unclear origin. This means Singapore is forced to keep taxes on wealth artificially low even as income gap balloons. If billionaires stop parking their money here, the merry-go-round stops and things can sink FAST.

Singapore economy is propped up artificially. It is not healthy. We have no Samsung, Acer or HTC. We are flushing the economy with all sorts of money avoiding taxes, running from their own govt. This means we try to makan the highly corrupt western banking pie as western banks fail - this is likely done by deregulation and allowing more shadow activities in Singapore. If Obama wins again, he is likely to shut down this type of parasitic business growing like cancer and breeding the most foul type of financial businesses and humans.

Ok...next week I happily go spend my S$ in Malaysia...but I not so gong kia to think it is because things are so steady poon pi pi in Singapore.

Last edited by TopSageTemp; 07-28-2012 at 08:42 AM.

strong sing $ attract mor ft's 2 sinkielan ... ft's feel happy wen dey can get mor wen dey send moni home ...

1. Why did MAS allow Sing$ to go up so much despite negative GDP growth last quarter?

perhaps with strong dollar , people who hoard a lot of it can now change it to other currencies.
prepare for the impending doomsday when the dollar collapse.

2. Our export sector is hurting and property bubble is prop up to keep us out of recession?

Leongsam and kinana will tell you everything is ok.
they will cite example of condo and iphone are selling like hot cakes.

3. As for some people think S$ strong almighty against the ringgit means Singapore BETTER

The way Singaporeans can gain from this is stronger Sing$ is to go to Malaysia to spend their money.
and go to other countries for holiday. The Wooden said sinkies become birds in australia.

4. Strong S$ despite strong outward remittance flow=high dependency on capital inflows of hot money, tax evaders and money launderers

Half the workforce is foreign. They feed their families back home in Philipines, India and China. This means there is high remittance flow as these workers convert their salary to foreign currencies putting downward pressure on S$. Our trade deficit is very large.

This means Singapore is forced to keep taxes on wealth artificially low even as income gap balloons. If billionaires stop parking their money here, the merry-go-round stops and things can sink FAST.

forced is not the correct word. it is a planned , designed scheme.

Ok...next week I happily go spend my S$ in Malaysia...but I not so gong kia to think it is because things are so steady poon pi pi in Singapore.
happy shopping .

Last edited by TopSageTemp; 07-28-2012 at 08:42 AM.

yeah yeah .....

I notice that more hawkers are struggling e.g. queues getting shorter. Recently saw a few long timers close shop. At this rate I think by the next GE many will not be too happy with the PAP;)

I have limited my local spending to only food & necessities like utilities. If possible I get things from overseas from such places Amazon, JB,.... Even after paying GST & shipping the cost is lower than getting it in Spore:rolleyes:

Govt wants to reduce cost of living for singkies, thats why.

Kinana, looks like you still love to rebut and unwilling to repent...Well i will sent you back to the zoo and clear up the shit and feed the animals till you wake up ! :)

I notice that more hawkers are struggling e.g. queues getting shorter. Recently saw a few long timers close shop. At this rate I think by the next GE many will not be too happy with the PAP;)

Food is good but they gave up because of high rentals. Coffee shop owners changed so many hands and marking up the prices each time. That's what i've been told. Who allowed this to happen? :D

Strengthening the currency does not equate to lowering the cost of living for COMMON folk Sinkie.

For richer folks, sure it'll lower much of their cost of living, as a higher currency enable them to have a better purchasing power.

My overseas purchases are definitely of much better value to me now but with a higher currency and a higher inflation rate right now, it's killling the common folks!

Lies! Blatant lies! Singapore has recently been crowned the richest country in the world. You opposition supporters are just jealous of the PAP's success. Majulah PAP!

Audi,+Porsche,+Lamborghini.jpg

Food is good but they gave up because of high rentals. Coffee shop owners changed so many hands and marking up the prices each time. That's what i've been told. Who allowed this to happen? :D

Boss, I thought you don't give a damn about politics? :confused:

Greedy Bosses GIVE a damn to politics when they are unable to 'carrot chopped' another victim by constantly upping prices!:D

:

in the past 15 years the only things that can keep on increasing and increasing are :
1]rental of store in hawker centre and food courts ,
2]rental of office space
3] price of housing
4]bonus of ceo
5]directors' fee
6]gst
7]rental of shop in shopping centres.
8]hospital charges
9]whatever fees that you need to pay.
10]price of food
11] the value of a property whenever a real estate valuation 'expert' do an appraisal.
12] the wealth of the rich crooks

the only thing that managed to stay put or hardly moved is the salary of those low pay sinkies.

in the past 15 years the only things that can keep on increasing and increasing are :
1]rental of store in hawker centre and food courts ,
2]rental of office space
3] price of housing
4]bonus of ceo
5]directors' fee
6]gst
7]rental of shop in shopping centres.
8]hospital charges
9]whatever fees that you need to pay.
10]price of food
11] the value of a property whenever a real estate valuation 'expert' do an appraisal.
12] the wealth of the rich crooks

the only thing that managed to stay put or hardly moved is the salary of those low pay sinkies.

No one owes the PAP a living :rolleyes:
It's time that Sporeans got rid of this entitlement mindsest that has set in among the PAP.

I used to life in PP & I never understood why Sporeans kept on returning the PAP into power:eek::confused::confused: :confused:
I still don't understand why the people of Spore allowed Lee & Co to ruin the rice bowls of so many.

Strengthening the currency does not equate to lowering the cost of living for COMMON folk Sinkie.

For richer folks, sure it'll lower much of their cost of living, as a higher currency enable them to have a better purchasing power.

My overseas purchases are definitely of much better value to me now but with a higher currency and a higher inflation rate right now, it's killling the common folks!

With stronger currency, we import deflation yu dummy.

you are right . you can always see the logic while sinkies still dreaming.
hope your points are up again.
i sick and tired of having to tell the sinkies again and again how lucky they are , how the gov has done so much for them.
yet they still don't understand.
fortunately we have people like you to enlighten those sinkies.
good work.

Strong currency is good. Current US$1 = SG$1.25.
Imagine if US$1= SG$1.5 . Food price/material/fuel/electricity ............. all price up.
What does Sinkie really want??
Currency strong complaint currency weak complaint. CCB sinkie complaint king?
If want weak currency go to Ah Neh.