• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Woman dies because no money to see Doctor.

Conan the Barbarian

Husband earns only $1000 a month. She has 3 kids
from 7 to 14 years old.

http://tnp.sg/news/story/0,4136,207093,00.html?

Husband: She didn't see doctor to save money
Housewife dies in sleep. Husband says slimming drink made her weak
By Elysa Chen
July 07, 2009 Print Ready Email Article
Click to see larger image
CAMERA-SHY: Youngest daughter Yock Peng holding the most recent photograph of Madam Lai, a family photograph taken last year. Her sister, Yoke Teng, said her mother had been so conscious of her weight that she did not like taking pictures.

SHE was so self-conscious about gaining 20kg a few years ago that she hardly posed for photos with her three children, aged 7 to 14.

So when a close family friend offered Madam Lai Sock Kim a weight-loss supplement to try for free, she agreed.

The side-effects appeared almost immediately.

The 35-year-old housewife, who weighed 100kg, could barely walk or eat, said relatives.

Her family said she would hallucinate often.

Though Madam Lai stopped taking the powdered supplement six months ago, the symptoms never went away.

She was often dizzy and suffered from headaches.

Her 11-year-old daughter Yoke Teng even quit school to run the household, as Madam Lai had no more strength to do housework.
GAINED WEIGHT: A less-heavy Madam Lai and as she appeared in a family photo taken last year. Two of the kids, Yoke Peng and Jin Long. TNP PICTURES: GAVIN FOO

On Saturday afternoon, Madam Lai died in her sleep in her three-room flat in Bukit Merah.

Her daughter couldn't rouse her from sleep, and called for an ambulance. Madam Lai was pronounced dead at home.

The cause of death is unknown at this point.

Madam Lai's husband, odd-job worker Lim Beng Siah, does not know the name of the weight-loss supplement.

Neither could he show us the sachets of powder, as he has handed them to the authorities, who are investigating.

All he knew was that for 25 days last November, his wife would dissolve a packet of the powdered formula into a cup of water - drinking half a cup in the morning and another half a cup at night.

Very weak

At the funeral wake at the void deck below their flat last night, Mr Lim told The New Paper in Mandarin: 'She became very weak after taking the medicine.

'I tried taking it for five days myself, and it made me so weak, I couldn't even hold a cigarette.'

However, the friend who supplied the weight-loss formula told him that the symptoms would disappear with time as their bodies get used to the supplement, Mr Lim claimed.

Mr Lim added: 'He even told me that if my wife managed to lose weight successfully, he would ask her to star in an advertisement.

'But now that this has happened, he has not even come to the funeral.'

Although the weight-loss supplement had made her so weak that she would pant after taking a few steps, Madam Lai continued to drink it every day for almost a month.

She had been so conscious of her weight, she did not like taking pictures, said Yoke Teng. She said there were no recent photos of her mother.

The most recent group picture was taken one year ago with their extended family.

Madam Lai was so weak, it was an effort to even eat her meals, said Yoke Teng and her older brother, Jin Long, 14. They have another sibling, Yoke Peng, 7.

Yoke Teng said: 'She would take a really long time to finish her meals, and she would have to eat very slowly.'

Still, Madam Lai refused to see a doctor.

Mr Lim said of his wife: 'I earn only $1,000 a month. She has always scrimped and saved, so she thought that seeing a doctor was a waste of money.

'Whenever she had any extra money, she would spend it on the children.'

Her sister-in-law, Madam Lim Lay Kheng, 40, also said that though she felt unwell, Madam Lai kept putting off her visit to the doctor because she was worried about her three children if she were to be hospitalised.

Madam Lai had suddenly ballooned from around 80kg to 100kg a few years ago, relatives at the wake told The New Paper.

According to Mr Lim, it happened after Madam Lai suffered a miscarriage four years ago but he did not want to elaborate.

All he would say was that before she started taking the medication, she was very healthy.

Her children also said that besides being obese, Madam Lai only had a skin irritation, for which she would apply cream.

However, after taking the slimming powder, Madam Lai could not even do housework.

That burden fell on Yoke Teng, who stopped going to school, partly to help out at home and partly because she didn't enjoy studying.

Yoke Teng recalled: 'My mother would sit on a stool and watch me cook in the kitchen. She would give me instructions on what to cook and how to cook it.'

She added that her mother often sat by her table in the bedroom in a daze, and sometimes suffered hallucinations.

She said that sometimes, even though they weren't talking, she would ask them whether they were talking to her. She added that it was 'frightening'.

She also recalled: 'She told me that when she closed her eyes, she would feel as though the ground was spinning.'

Madam Lai also grew fearful of sleeping, often staying up all night to chat with her son, Jin Long.

Said the student: 'Each time she came to look for me because she couldn't sleep, I was very worried about her.

'I wonder how she knew that she was going to die in her sleep.'

shOUTloud

this is very very sad but she should have gone to see any doctor. I am sure at least have one decent doctor who can treat her for free.

this is so sad. her death is needless and now we have 3 children who are motherless.

Char_Azn

The thread title is very misleading. There's a difference between dying coz she has no money to see the doctor and dying becoz she was too stingy to see a doctor. Unfortunately in this case its the latter there are times when U save money on a trip to the doctor, but in the case when she can barely walk more then a couple of steps, she should be seeing a doctor. If she finds it too expensive to visit a GP, she could have gone to a polyclinic, and there happen to be one at Bt Merah Central.

Mr Lim said of his wife: 'I earn only $1,000 a month. She has always scrimped and saved, so she thought that seeing a doctor was a waste of money.

TeeKee

you din read the later part?

'Whenever she had any extra money, she would spend it on the children.'

Char_Azn

I did, which was why I said

Unfortunately in this case its the latter there are times when U save money on a trip to the doctor, but in the case when she can barely walk more then a couple of steps, she should be seeing a doctor

Char_Azn

how could you say she's stingy?

she spent it on her children.

OK, I admit I could have used a better choice of words. Stingy was not the right word for this case but it still doesnt change the fact that she died not because she was too poor to seek medical help, rather she refused to seek medical help because she wants to save on medical bills

TeeKee

OK, I admit I could have used a better choice of words. Stingy was not the right word for this case but it still doesnt change the fact that she died not because she was too poor to seek medical help, rather she refused to seek medical help because she wants to save on medical bills

has it ever occured to you that she why she refused to seek medical help?

imagine having to pay 100K for operations.

do you want her to incur such debts for her family?

I guess she made the mistake of having too many children. Poor people should know better than to procreate in Spore. Its no wonder that many have chosen not to produce the next generation. So who is going to end up doing NS :confused:

jim007jimmyboy

all the deaths of the poor and under privilege sinkies will haunt

old man and PAP for many yrs! Their future generation will be cursed!

TeeKee

all the deaths of the poor and under privilege sinkies will haunt

old man and PAP for many yrs! Their future generation will be cursed!

boh leh lau lee still going strong...

haunt see mee?

SATAN is much too happy to collect many lost souls.....

downgrader

alamak, there are free buddhist clinics throughout the island and also some doctors will waive if patient is really poor

YOu are a bloody sinkie who uses words that directly cover your own ass.

If she is stingy, she will not spend it on her children. It is just that she does not have any money for herself as her children needs it. If her husband earns $10000 per month, you think she needs to go through all these shit

or if visiting a doctor that cost less than $5, you think she will not go and visit the doctor.

If you do not know how to use words correctly or rather uses words to cover ur own bloody ass, then i think you should refrain from talking.

I guess she made the mistake of having too many children. Poor people should know better than to procreate in Spore. Its no wonder that many have chosen not to produce the next generation. So who is going to end up doing NS :confused:

SHe made the mistake of giving birth in the wrong country lah. IN other country , you can have many children.

Char_Azn

YOu are a bloody sinkie who uses words that directly cover your own ass.

If she is stingy, she will not spend it on her children. It is just that she does not have any money for herself as her children needs it. If her husband earns $10000 per month, you think she needs to go through all these shit

or if visiting a doctor that cost less than $5, you think she will not go and visit the doctor.

If you do not know how to use words correctly or rather uses words to cover ur own bloody ass, then i think you should refrain from talking.

Before U call me a sinkie, have U ever visited a polyclinic. Last I've checked, Polyclinic doesnt cost >$50 for consultation and medication. In fact consultation fees is >$10. Medication will depend on what she needs but the medication in Polyclinics are usually the cheapo ones and they are also subsidized. I think U should stop pulling BS from your mouth and start doing some research BEFORE u come up with nonsense

Char_Azn

has it ever occured to you that she why she refused to seek medical help?

imagine having to pay 100K for operations.

do you want her to incur such debts for her family?

If she actually goes on to see a Doctor and have to go through a 100K operation which she could not pay and was refused medical help then yeah the thread title "Woman dies because no money to see Doctor" would have been valid.

However the fact still remains that she did not see a doctor and she died NOT because she was refused medical help because she was too poor to afford it but rather she DIDN't seek medical help in the first place.

There are very expensive doctors, the specialist, >$100
the moderately expensive ones, our normal GPs < $50-100
the cheap ones, Polyclinics <$20
free ones, some chinese medical clinics, base on donations
She chose none.

Like I said before, the thread title is very misleading

Char_Azn

And since we are still on the subject. I would be interested to know if we have any example where locals seek medical help but was so poor that the doctors refused. It would be good if it was from Public Hospitals or Polyclinics since GPs are private establishments and not government controlled