• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Teacher cuts pupil's hair, mum files police report

anttan

i think this kid must have been warned already,but he and his idiot mother did nothing. She complained to MOE and make police report? No wonder kids today are so messed up,lack discipline and have no respect for elders and others. Always thinking they are right and very ya ya. this mother ought to get fucked by a dozen banglas.

djent

Many donkey years ago, this is common and no one, even the parents will bat an eyelid if this happen in the past.

KNNBLCB

Many donkey years ago, this is common and no one, even the parents will bat an eyelid if this happen in the past.

And the parents still have to go to the school and thank the teacher. How have the world changed since then :biggrin:

Kohliantye

I can never believe that such a thing could have happened in Singapore schools.

Today there is much left to be desired in the manner discipline is enforced in schools in comparison to our era of sekolah-attap (broken down wooden schools).

In those good old days, we were caned publicly, made to stand on tables and chairs, pick rubbish wash school toilets - night-soil carrier era.

We also had to endure acute pain from being caned on the hands, made to write lines and many other punishments that was meant as a form of humiliation.

So Ms Belinda Cheng, what you did was an extremely noble act. There is still time to fine-tune punishment in schools.

I congratulate Belinda Cheng for having the guts to take such an action. Keep up with the good work!!!!!!!!!!!.

In the same vein I condemn the cowardly principal for "passing the buck" and shielding herself from responsibilities as a Head of the School. Her actions and the statements she made stinks.

Finally, that spoilt brat deserve no mercy. He simply has no right to sport such a hair-do!!!!!!!!!!!!.

He is a student in a government school where he ought to respect discipline and act responsibly at all times.

It is so sad that encouraging words like "empowerment", "operational-attuneness", "wisdom and ability to make sensible judgements" practised by policemen have not been in the books of teachers.

School Heads should not bent down just to sattisfy the whims and fancies of irresponsible parents. If the brat's mother isn't happy with the punishment meted out to her "good-for-nothing and spoilt" son, she has all the right to withdraw her "24-karat golden child" from that school and have him enrolled in an international or private school...

The MOE tell her that her child should either shape up or ship out...Make it a point and stand by such words....Many other parents will leran a lesson or two from this incident.

Imagine a situation of a cornered policeman facing imminent danger of severe injury or death from an armed gangster!!!!

Can we expect him to get "instructions on what action to take from his operations room".

That beleagured cop has to make a decision there and then and stand by that decision till an Inquiry is over.

The golden words for that cop would be "in the face of imminent danger that may lead to serious bodily injury or even death".

So Ms Belinda Cheng, what you did is worthy of support from Minister Heng Swee Keat.

Our schools ought to produce good students and not future hoodlums.

It would be good if Minister Heng or the PM can cover this incident in the coming ND Speech.

We need such supportive and forward-thinking people to head our schools, police, army, navy, air-force and Government.

There was a time when two policemen were brutally attacked by members of the Pek Kim Leng secret-society at Upper Serangoon Road.

The government leaders and community fumed with anger at such senseless attack against two uniformed BUT un-armed policemen.

The Parliament immediately huddled and passed a law declaring a TOTAL BAN on fire-crackers.

There were people that were incensed but on the brighter side many gangsters were brought on their knees and many a kampong spared from the fiery fury that had once razed Bukit Ho Swee.

Please encourage our teachers for they needs lots of motivation to continue with their noble and sacred duty as a Teacher.

Not to do so would make many a teachers leave the Education Service and schoold would become breeding grounds of future hoodlums.

I have personally spoken to many ex-teachers and feel sorry for them. Their intention to mould good citizens was sincere.

These poor teachers, just like good parents who love their children, are infact rendering a sterling service to the Nation in moulding kids to become better citizens.

Let us not allow lack of immediate attention to lead to a situation where our poor "unprotected" teachers are afraid to make decisions.....

Do we want our school pupils to start bringing in weapons into schools for killing and maiming others.

Left unchecked and un-punished, such ill-disciplined brats will become a thorn to the other citizens. This is a reality...........

Crime will increase and Singapore will become a Harlem one day with murders and mayhem on a daily basis.

Look at US and other European school incidents. Surely, we can learn a thing or two from their horrific experiences.

Mr Heng Swee Keat as a former policeman is a right person at the helm of the MOE. He is a very brilliant-thinker and someone most capable of making our schools into real places of education and learning of discipline. He was an excellent cop and can easily implement new measures to support our many teachers who are suffering from a low-morale today.

Maybe, he should consider setting up a Committee to put up a Standing Order spelling out the Do's and Don'ts On Dispensing Punishment To Students.

That "bible" would empower the Principals, Vice Principals, Discipline Masters and Operations Managers to take such action against "kurang-ajar and anak nakal"!!!(juvenile delinquents). Maybe the current orders on inflicting corporeal punishment of caning should be re-looked..

Let us all not forget the good old wise saying, "SPARE THE ROD AND SPOIL THE CHILD".

seesuatah

if Ms Belinda Cheng wants to be a hairdresser, she should quit her job and become one!

this kind of standards also dare to cut for someone else?

she is directly messing with hair dressers artistic integrity.

roadrunner

I know the need for discipline in school..

In this case, i think the need for discipline applies to both parties! taking a pair of scissors to a childs head with or w/o permission.. she must be very stupid, that's a barber's job, since when did moe train primary school teachers to cut hair? what if she cuts the boy? kena sued by parents or kena go jail? mother spending $60 bucks on the childs hair.. thats stupid too, you sending ur child to school to study or a fashion show. Mother called police first than later complain to school in the evening.. what kind of logic is that? why is it a police matter? why dun settle direct with school? why must call police unless she wants to make a big STUPID thing out of it. I think both mother & teacher should be shaven botak botak, jialat jialat.. lydat than maybe they'll learn their lesson faster!

Balls2U

Look at the hair of the guy on the extreme left in the front row. His hair is considered long. But why is it acceptable in the Western countries but not in Sinkieland?

14.jpg

roadrunner

KNN how stupid is she.. got NTU graduate, U of Toronto Masters graduate, MOE graduate.. & still ends up cutting boy's hair in class, is this Fucked up or what!

btw.. can't help seeing she likes her drinks in the photos, maybe her excuse was i mabok that day when i cut hair.. anyway, she's still stupid for posting pics like that in social media, well more for us to make fun of her stupidness:biggrin:

If she was intelligent, she wouldn't be teaching primary school kids in her 40s with all these qualifications. That's bloody pathetic.

sirus

[video=youtube;YR5ApYxkU-U]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YR5ApYxkU-U&feature=related[/video]

Everything over done is no good.

Nothing to do with hairstyle. Sinking land this type of weather keep long hair? Knn, sibeh smelly one you know?

Me kept long hair before. Not becos' cool or saki but because of laziness. The smell damm steam cognac especially if you are smoker. Double the intensity if you smoke in aircon room cos' smell kena trapped in hair. How to tell? Just smell your own hair know liaoz.

Jlokta

Me kept long hair before. Not becos' cool or saki but because of laziness. The smell damm steam cognac especially if you are smoker. Double the intensity if you smoke in aircon room cos' smell kena trapped in hair. How to tell? Just smell your own hair know liaoz.

I kept long hair for almost 1 year, that time Ekin Cheng was the man.

The kenna SAF100, went back, cut short hair and couldn't fucking bothered to keep them long now. Bestest is cut short, after drinking session, 10mins after shower can sleep already. :biggrin:

If she was intelligent, she wouldn't be teaching primary school kids in her 40s with all these qualifications. That's bloody pathetic.

Don't assume that just because she's only a teacher that she is a failure or poor. I know someone who is only a part time teacher but she's loaded, a multi-millionaire. She inherited the $$$ & has been flipping properties for years. Her part time job is to just keep busy.

steffychun

ST_20120823_JMHAIR23_3266278e.jpg

Ryan’s hair before it was cut by his teacher.

ST_20120823_JMHAIR234JIX_3266280e.jpg

Ryan’s hair right after the cut

A MOTHER has lodged a police report after her 12-year-old son's teacher cut his hair an hour before his PSLE oral exam last Thursday.

The mother, Madam Serene Ong, is outraged that the teacher did this just before a crucial exam, that it was done without her knowledge - and that it ruined the boy's $60 haircut.

She claimed the teacher - Ms Belinda Cheng of Unity Primary - also threatened to deduct marks from the boy's exam if he refused to have his hair cut.

Yesterday, the school's principal, Mrs Jasmail Singh Gill, agreed with Madam Ong that the teacher had no business cutting the boy's hair.

But, she said, Primary 6 pupils had been warned before about sporting long hair, and Ms Cheng had the right intentions. "The teacher cut the boys' hair as she wanted them to look neat," said Mrs Gill.

Ms Cheng, who had also cut the hair of two other 12-year-old boys that day, did not want to comment. But Madam Ong said the teacher apologised to her and the three pupils yesterday.

Madam Ong, 39, a sales manager, said she received a call from her son Ryan Ang at about 10am on the day of the exam. His oral exam was at 11am.

He was crying and told her that Ms Cheng, who is one of his form teachers, had cut his fringe and sideburns. He and the two other boys had been pulled up during a spot check for long hair.

"The teacher had no right to cut his hair," said Madam Ong.

"She showed me no respect by not telling me that she was going to cut his hair beforehand," she said. "Worse, she threatened to deduct his oral marks if he didn't agree to let her cut his hair. It was an hour before his PSLE oral exam. What if it had affected his performance?"

She said she was so upset she made a police report and complained to the Ministry of Education that night.

She said Ryan did not dare to step out of the house for two days "because he thought he looked funny". :rolleyes:

Ms Cheng, she added, had also wasted the $60 she had spent on Ryan's hair just five days before the incident. He has been going to a hairstylist at Reds Hairdressing for several years. Madam Ong spent another $60 getting his hair restyled on Saturday.

She said the ministry told her to "forgive the teacher" and the police said she could seek legal advice. The ministry also told her on Thursday that marks would not be deducted for pupils' appearance during the exam.

A ministry spokesman yesterday said schools may formulate their own rules based on their needs, within given guidelines for school discipline.

Several principals contacted said that students sporting unkempt hair is a common problem they face. But they felt Ms Cheng's approach of just chopping it off was outdated.

"Doing this is like going back hundreds of years," said Dr Foo Suan Fong, principal of Dunman High. His students are given a warning and a deadline to get their hair cut. If they do not do so, the school will contact their parents, whom it regards as "our education partners".

Mrs Lee Hui Feng, principal of Nanyang Primary, held the same view. "We have to work closely with parents and reinforce the notion that their children's personal image is very important."

[email protected]

Will mummy file a police report when they cut his hair off during NS?