• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Shocked? 1am 26.May.2011 Mr. LTK's 1st Aljunied Meet The People Session still on!

And does Singapore have such welfare system for the people to abuse? No.

Singapore has plenty of measures in place to prevent people from falling into dire straits. If they end up in the gutters, it's because of their own poor choices. It's not the fault of the govt.

I'm very concerned that my beloved Singapore will end up like many western democracies who end up spending an inordinate amount of time and resources catering for the losers of society instead of using those resources to create an environment to help the winners soar to greater heights.

Give $200 to an idiot and he'll blow it in a day. Give $200 to an astute brain and he'll turn it into $2000 in a week. Where should resources go? It's a no-brainer.

dankos

Give $200 to an idiot and he'll blow it in a day. Give $200 to an astute brain and he'll turn it into $2000 in a week. Where should resources go? It's a no-brainer.

talk cock who dunno. give me $200 and i will turn it into $5000 in a week. chey.

Amakusa Kourin

Singapore has plenty of measures in place to prevent people from falling into dire straits. If they end up in the gutters, it's because of their own poor choices. It's not the fault of the govt.

I'm very concerned that my beloved Singapore will end up like many western democracies who end up spending an inordinate amount of time and resources catering for the losers of society instead of using those resources to create an environment to help the winners soar to greater heights.

We are debating on whether MPS is relevant or not, not about cash handouts. MPs of either PAP or WP do not offer cash in their sessions. These people are just asking for help, not asking for $$$.

Cruxx

:smile:

At PAp meet the people session peasants are angry, they need mata and bodyguards! Damn 1st world, had to arrest the kid when he kicked the chair!:biggrin:

Peasants met LTK all smiling happy. What a diff!

:smile:

A little pedantic perhaps but if you truly care for those in need, I suggest you drop the term "peasants". :smile:

Anyway, it's my belief that society and economy would be better off if we harness as much human capital as possible. Some of the best meals I've had in Singapore were prepared by "peasants" slogging day and night in hawker centres. I don't know about you all but I wouldn't want to compromise on the quality of my life in a mindless pursuit of macroeconomic statistics and rankings :rolleyes:

jujim

Allow me to relate one recent incident regarding my Malaysian workers who is 62+. His work pass expired last year and MOM had a condition to us when we last applied his work pass that we MUST not apply renewal for him.

Knowing how fruitless it was to beat the system to get his extension, he went to see the MP in the ward. Just a letter from the MP and MOM sent us a work pass renewal letter for him. Before you assumed anything about his Malaysian status and why he can go see the MP, his is an unique case with a Singaporean kid involved.

The point is, a letter from MP does get alot of things done. Maybe SamLeong has all his connections to get thing done, BUT not all people are so lucky. Honestly, I rather my worker go spend 5 hours waiting his turn to see the MP and get his problem solved, then go MOM for meetings/interviews with no result.

How MPS has turned into a petition writing session is another issue. It will be unfair to say ALL are morons if they choose to wait 5 hours to see MP as a way out of their problems.

Robert Half

Allow me to relate one recent incident regarding my Malaysian workers who is 62+. His work pass expired last year and MOM had a condition to us when we last applied his work pass that we MUST not apply renewal for him.

Knowing how fruitless it was to beat the system to get his extension, he went to see the MP in the ward. Just a letter from the MP and MOM sent us a work pass renewal letter for him. Before you assumed anything about his Malaysian status and why he can go see the MP, his is an unique case with a Singaporean kid involved.

The point is, a letter from MP does get alot of things done. Maybe SamLeong has all his connections to get thing done, BUT not all people are so lucky. Honestly, I rather my worker go spend 5 hours waiting his turn to see the MP and get his problem solved, then go MOM for meetings/interviews with no result.

How MPS has turned into a petition writing session is another issue. It will be unfair to say ALL are morons if they choose to wait 5 hours to see MP as a way out of their problems.

I fully agree with you.

karmabear

Let's put aside the issue of PAP vs WP. Do you honestly believe that any human being, regardless of his political affiliations, should waste 5 hours of his/her life listening to the sob stories of some useless sod who can't be bothered to solve his own problems but who expects the other person to fix his issues FOC????:eek:

If I was an MP, I'd demand a deposit of $50 before having to listen to all that drivel. It would be refunded only if the plea for help actually deserved some merit.

We can't help it if you choose to be a dickhead. There are plenty of people out there that do not categorize human beings into winners/losers. You just choose to live your life in a binary way. That is your right, your perogative but do not presume the same of others.

At a certain stage in one's life, you will consider giving back to society. This is quite inherent in good and decent people. Samaritans of Singapore have volunteers that man a 24/hr hotline for the suicidal. See the link below. There are plenty of people giving up their time to people in need. They may be wrong, they may be right. But ultimately, they are people who need a listening ear. Not everything has to be measured in dollars and cents

http://www.samaritans.org.sg/volunteer.htm

uncleyap

A little pedantic perhaps but if you truly care for those in need, I suggest you drop the term "peasants". :smile:

Anyway, it's my belief that society and economy would be better off if we harness as much human capital as possible. Some of the best meals I've had in Singapore were prepared by "peasants" slogging day and night in hawker centres. I don't know about you all but I wouldn't want to compromise on the quality of my life in a mindless pursuit of macroeconomic statistics and rankings :rolleyes:

Peasant is a lovely term to me you know?

Peasant means vulnerable and helpless victims under totalitarian LEEgime, exploited and needs help.

You don't flatter these people and hold them up highly when you fight for their rights, you will not go anywhere far. :wink:

If you fought for the rights of Peasants then you are a noble and respectable fighter. If you fought for the Rich Tycoons & Aristocrats then you are mostly a bastard that sold your soul and services to devil for money.

So you choose! You serve Peasants or Tua Tao Kay? :wink:

Peasants are more lovable & more deserving helps. Rich & famous and powerful persons don't deserve political helps. This is a rule.

can anyone tell me why all opps party dont have a decent office for meet the ppl sessions ?

Well, I am sure they could build something if they really wanted to. But I guess they want to stay true to the MPS spirit handed down from the good old days. No walls, no pomp, no pretence. Besides, having facilities means the pple have to pay for it through maintenance/conservancy charge. This is just my notion of it. :smile:

uncleyap

Let's put aside the issue of PAP vs WP. Do you honestly believe that any human being, regardless of his political affiliations, should waste 5 hours of his/her life listening to the sob stories of some useless sod who can't be bothered to solve his own problems but who expects the other person to fix his issues FOC????:eek:

If I was an MP, I'd demand a deposit of $50 before having to listen to all that drivel. It would be refunded only if the plea for help actually deserved some merit.

I don't want to speak for that "ANY HUMAN BEING" that was the subject in your question.:wink::p

Speaking for myself, when Mr. LTK or late JBJ or other persons have devotion and hearts to serve peasants I see it as their noble spirits. But there are many many ways and forms one can fight for their believes and exercise their own individual strengths. For myself, I know for sure I won't be at my own very best if I sat like Mr. LTK for hours to meet peasants & write letters for them, even speaking for them at the Parliament is in my own view not a very effective thing for myself to do.

I will prefer to interview the peasants who have hard grievances & suffered injustices etc, or had been treated badly or neglected badly by million dollar LEEgime, I will post them to web and expose to whole damn world to shatter LEEgime's falsehood. I will prefer this rather than parliament. Why Parliament is COMPLETELY CENSORED from video recording etc. Only LEEgime TV allowed. Hansards (printed parliamentary proceeding records) are seen only by a handful of people. So what for and what use?:rolleyes::cool:

It became so obvious and abundantly clear that LEEgime is already half collapsed, but essentially NOT via ballots counts NOR SEATS they lost, because by ballots and seats count, LKY GCT WKS MBT etc would still be ministers and can still increase another million dollar to their own salaries, and obviously the 6 opposition votes vs 81 PAppies aren't going to be able to stop them there. NCPMs etc can cry all you want. LEEgime's skin can be thick enough.

Furthermore, like in the past LEEgime can just run amok totally not holding any parliamentary sessions as they did so in the past. They can make parliament hall UNDER RENOVATION for 24 months, like they did before, during Barisan Socialist era & JBJ era.

Remember Mr. Chia Thye Poh? He was an elected MP in parliament just like Mr. LTK! Yes! He could not MEET THE PEOPLE like Mr. LTK, because LKy old dog thief let him MEET THE ISD. 27 years of ISD.

However why not the same any longer today, that is non-ballots and non-seat factors working, that is the Internet and other new media working, that is the reverse of fear working, that is the practical strength people had gained and demonstrated during this GE2011 that had worked. That had spoked LEEgime and Educated LEEgime. They learn that redrawing electoral boundary isn't going to work, 154th media isn't going to work, Ang Pao isn't going to work, Election deposits isn't going to work, GRC isn't going to work, kangaroo court and defamation suit isn't going to work, frightening nominators isn't going to work, Walk-Over isn't going to work, Political Donation Acts isn't going to work, ISA isn't going to work, HDB upgrading isn't going to work, FIX opposition isnt' going to work, because we can pool candidates, we can raise funds Online, we can youtube, we can go to jail, we can fight in court, we can fight on streets, we can deal with mata, we can use Internet, we have foreign media, we know our ways and our rights already.

If we did not put LKy old dog thief at the right place where he deserves, he could still make Mr. LTK another JBJ or Chia Thye Poh. It is because by so many other means we defeated LKy old dog, that we had eliminated his choices and power.

moolightaffairs

Singapore has one of the best education systems in the world. If they're illiterate, they only have themselves to blame.

brother, what u said not wrong. but in a society sure got those who stuck bellow and need help, especially pap rule sinkapoor. only the elite and the well connected people (best example TPL) who got it all. a lot got to work like a dog to make ends meet and some cant even make ends meet! if u are what u said that u r in New Zealand, maybe u are comparing poor Singaporeans to those white trash in where you stay. they are 2 very different kind of people. white trash leech on social welfare and do nothing but Singaporeans work like very hard and cant even have freedom or time to think for themselves. Singapore is developing in a very fast manner with a lot of social sacrifices made by the people who do not enjoy the fruits of their sacrifice. gov need to take care of those who make sacrifice while the gov, elites and well connected (TPL?) enjoying the fruits of the growth.

If I was their MP, I'd simply tell them to fuck off and go back to school so they can learn how to solve their own problems. MPs aren't servants of the people. They are in office so they can use their considerable skills to manage Singapore's future. I don't see why they should have to waste their time having to listen to the sob stories of a bunch of losers.

what you said here is very wrong. in a healthy political system people vote mp into parliament, mp and some appointed as ministers will oversee the civil servants. civil servants work with brain, but mp and ministers must work with heart to balance things up. i only vote for those who really want to be my humble servant than those elites with considerable skills to manage Singapore's future. Managing Singapore's future are ministries and civil servants job, not mps or ministers. they are voted in by the people to take care of their welfare than make use of the gov to enslave the people of the country and enrich themselves with obscene high pay.

maybe u kena by those white trash workers with strong union and strict labour laws in New Zealand. But in Singapore, workers welfare are not taken care of. if you cant take the heat there as employers there, why dont you come back to sg to take advantage of the lax labour law and weak union? disappointed with your self centered view.

"Government of the people, by the people, for the people" Abraham Lincoln

moolightaffairs

you now really talk like pap, which you are so against.

im those who you mentioned "Give $200 to an astute brain and he'll turn it into $2000 in a week". but i dont believe in enslaving people using the gov which pap do.

moolightaffairs

On the contrary. I'm a very nice and considerate guy and it is because of my kind nature that I feel so sorry for LTK for having to waste his time listening to loser sinkies. My advice to him would be to spend most of his time taking care of his family, his friends and himself. If he were to fall ill and end up in hospital, do you think those losers who asked him for help would lift a finger to help him?

this is a good example of how a mp should be. losers wont lift a finger to help him, but they will vote for him.

moolightaffairs

The UK is an even bigger shithole than Singapore. MPs have pandered to the demands of minority loser Pakis and the whole country is now paying the price. Half of Pakistan now lives in the UK thanks to MPs who helped them to move whole families lock, stock and barrel from Paki land. Are the Pakis grateful? only if gratitude is expressed by blowing up the underground system and killing and maiming scores of innocent people.

If the MPs had told the initial wave of Pakis to fuck off and go back to Pakistan if they were not happy in the UK, the muslim invasion of the UK could have been stemmed. It is now too late.

See how much harm "meet the people" sessions can cause!

yes! thats why we should vot pap out before they let in all the 3rd world indian and pinoy in like whats happening in UK now. :biggrin:

Amakusa Kourin

:smile: SPH MediaCorpse already left the scene by 10pm, I stayed on. But I decided to go back and post this youtube rather than wait until everything was over. :wink:

Despite our differences, I commend your effort to stay on (and in the process, sacrificing sleep) and give us a better coverage than the mainstream media.

Well, I am sure they could build something if they really wanted to. But I guess they want to stay true to the MPS spirit handed down from the good old days. No walls, no pomp, no pretence. Besides, having facilities means the pple have to pay for it through maintenance/conservancy charge. This is just my notion of it. :smile:

thankyou . now i know .