• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

PAP Spin - We can't find people to work for $1800!

batman1

Most Singapore Employers are nasty bastards.O yes,confirmed Singapore is a sweatshop cheap foreign labour 3rd world country.

Bigfuck

Alot of peesai FnB companies boast of high pay but actual fact it's small change if you add the long hours 54-72hrs per week and NO benefits or even basic insurance. Working conditions are shit at most restaurants, most restaurants don't have bonus or AWS and don't dream of having 14 days medical or 14 annual leave.

Alot of peesai FnB companies also don't even bother giving you employment letter or even pay slips. Testimonials are also a thing of the past. Sinkee bosses can go fuck themselves.
72? The people I know start at 11am and do not go home till 2am. Mondays to Saturdays. Argument is you have 3 hours to rest in the afternoon mah.

..He got his marketing and price mix all wrong. Rental is sky high and cannot cover the expenses of the staff. Time to relocate and ask the mall to lower down their rental demands to a more reasonable amount...

The landlords are probably connected to you know who & if they reduce the rentals it would mean less pocket money.

kiwibird7

All these SME bosses are barking at the wrong tree.The high costs of doing business is HIGH RENTALS,NOT WAGES.
The PAP propaganda machinery is now in full swing,everyday the MSM echo no cheap foreign labour,businesses will close down !Good riddance !

Note how these F&B bosses conveniently AVOIDED mentioning the HIGH KILLER RENTALS, UTILITY BILLS etc so as NOT TO anger those profiteers behind the GLC/GIC but zoom in on labour costs. Major landlords like Capitaland are getting off scott free who are responsible for the killer rentals.

AND these SME bosses also makan all the 10% service charge in addition to EXTRA charges lump onto overpriced titbits/peanuts billed to diners, do they pay it to the waiters?

Kinana

Its sad that a popular restaurant chain have to close shop because they can't hire enough labour to serve the demand.
We oppose the government's restriction on foreign labour.

Brightkid

Instead of kpkb via the States Times, why not Tung Luk boss opening states the condition and job scope of the $1,800 per month salary? I bet it will be the same as that sushi place, after people found out the scope, it is no wonder no one wanted that dishwashing job even though it pays $3000 a month!

Comparing even Jakarta, why not the boss try bring the sam menu and price list in Singapore dollars and try to sell in Jakarta, with all the other much lower costs in labour, rental, etc? See if he can survive there or not?

Lousy business plan and cost structure and trying to blame local for his failures!

aurvandil

The spin campaign is really stupid.

Most Singaporeans cannot afford to regularly spend $30 for lunch and $50 for dinner. Those who can afford to spend these amounts are part of the elite, the bulk of whom are already FT policy supporters.

When eating out, most Singaporeans can only afford to spend $4 to $8 for lunch/dinner during week days and $10 to $20 for selected meals during the weekends. These are the people who are opposed to the FT policy because it is squeezing them monetarily. I seriously doubt if they will be very upset to see these places they cannot afford to eat close down. After closing down, perhaps the place can even be rented out to a low cost eatery offering more affordable meals.

chupacabra

72? The people I know start at 11am and do not go home till 2am. Mondays to Saturdays. Argument is you have 3 hours to rest in the afternoon mah.

Some work 12 hours 6 days a week. Yes the lame argument to rest 3 hours in between shifts, everyone would rather go home 3 hours early and rest.

Its sad that a popular restaurant chain have to close shop because they can't hire enough labour to serve the demand.
We oppose the government's restriction on foreign labour.

I took the time to debunk that bs from the owner. Read lah, don't ape.

The spin campaign is really stupid.

Most Singaporeans cannot afford to regularly spend $30 for lunch and $50 for dinner. Those who can afford to spend these amounts are part of the elite, the bulk of whom are already FT policy supporters.

That's another reason why he wants more foreigners ...cheap labour and more customers from the richer foreigners.