• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

PAP Spin - We can't find people to work for $1800!

No more new TungLok restaurants
Rebecca Lynne Tan | The Straits Times | Tue Feb 26 2013

Mr Andrew Tjioe, executive chairman of TungLok Group, says the company has spent more on automation to reduce reliance on manpower.

Singapore, February 26, 2013

Who: Mr Andrew Tjioe, 54, executive chairman of TungLok Group, which runs 25 restaurants islandwide including Tung Lok Signatures, Tong Le Private Dining, My Humble House and Lao Beijing.

To cope with the manpower shortage, the TungLok Group closed its casual restaurant Lao Beijing at Tiong Bahru Plaza last December.

A sign on the shutters reads: "We regret to inform that Lao Beijing at Tiong Bahru Plaza will cease operations with effect from Dec 26 due to severe manpower shortage."

Diners after the chain's Northern Chinese cuisine now have to head to Lao Beijing's three other outlets.

The restaurant at Tiong Bahru Plaza still had another four months left on its lease, but Mr Tjioe and his team did the calculations and says it made more sense to close the restaurant and re-deploy the 16 staff to his other restaurants.

Part of the reason he is not renewing the lease there is due to a lack of manpower. Other factors include rising rentals.

He says: "It was a trade-off - we did the sums. It was better to pull the staff over so that we would be able to operate our new restaurants TungLok Xihe and Modern Asian Diner at The Grandstand than to continue at Tiong Bahru Plaza. So I decided to close."

The average spend at Lao Beijing there was about $20 to $25 a person, but at the two new mid- to upper-mid-tiered restaurants, the average cheque is about $30 to $35 for lunch, and $50 to $55 for dinner.

The TungLok Group operates on "a skeleton workforce", says Mr Tjioe.

Even with the group's 700-strong workforce, which is equally split between kitchen and service staff, it is still about 20 per cent short of staff.

And when the Ministry of Manpower's revised dependency ratio ceiling kicks in next year, the group may find itself with about 30 foreigners too many if it does not ramp up the hiring of Singaporeans.

But that is proving to be a challenge.

This year, the plan is to consolidate and strengthen the running of existing outlets, focus on its catering arm and plan for overseas expansion in cities such as Jakarta and Beijing. The group has one restaurant in Beijing and three in Jakarta.

He does not face the same manpower issues overseas as he does here. He says: "As long as you are willing to pay, you will get the manpower you need."

In Singapore, he adds, it is a different story. The starting pay for service staff without experience is $1,800, by far one of the highest in the market. Recently, the company received 20 applications from Singaporeans, but only one person took up the position.

"The problem is choking," Mr Tjioe says of the manpower crunch in the restaurant scene. "We have been doing business overseas anyway but perhaps now, that is the way to go - to spend more time exploring overseas markets than wasting time here.

"I will not be opening any more restaurants for a while. I have to stop, not because there are no opportunities but primarily because of the labour shortage. The market can definitely afford to have more restaurants."

The company has already spent about $2 million to $3 million on machines over the last two years to help with automation to reduce the reliance on manpower at restaurants.

For example, TungLok's popular pork shank, which is available at many of its restaurants, is marinated in bulk at the group's 20,000 sq ft central kitchen in Bukit Batok. In fact, Mr Tjioe says, for some items such as the pork shank, preparing them in bulk adds to intensity of flavour to the dish.

Aside from machines for sauces and marinades, he also has one that can make superior stock in one hour, as opposed to the usual eight hours it would take to prepare it at an outlet.

While technological advancements and machines such as these aid productivity, he insists that it is not always achieved through these means.

"When you have more manpower, you can send some staff for training and they can take turns. You will then have much better quality staff in the long run," he says, adding that well-trained staff lead to better efficiency and more sales.

But he says, sending staff for training can be tough "when you are tight on manpower".

Profits are also shrinking, with manpower and rental and the costs of ingredients on the rise. But these costs cannot be passed on in full to customers, because of the competitive restaurant market.

A whole fried chicken, Mr Tjioe gives as an example, typically costs $40 at most Chinese restaurants, and if a restaurant is to increase this price, diners will go elsewhere for the same dish.

What can be done, he says, is to create different "value-added" dishes by adding additional ingredients so that the dish changes into something new and a higher price may be warranted.

Chinese restaurants also function differently from Western ones in terms of culture. Meals typically call for more plate changes and more frequent topping up of small tea cups, and for managers to mingle with diners, offering a more personalised service.

He adds: "We are not just competing locally, we are also competing on an international level.

"When those who have been served in Chinese restaurants in Hong Kong, Shanghai and Taipei come to Singapore, they expect exactly the same experience, and we cannot be too far off."

The PAP Times is churning out lots of articles to support the PAP's contention that sinkapore needs more foreigners. Let's look at the bs in this article.

"We regret to inform that Lao Beijing at Tiong Bahru Plaza will cease operations with effect from Dec 26 due to severe manpower shortage."
It is half truth. He shut it down because he can't charge as much in the Tiong Bahru restaurant than in the restaurants in other areas. He can keep this restaurant going only if the government lets him bring in CHEAP foreign labour.

He does not face the same manpower issues overseas as he does here. He says: "As long as you are willing to pay, you will get the manpower you need."
That's pure bs. His overseas restaurants are in countries with cheap labour!

In Singapore, he adds, it is a different story. The starting pay for service staff without experience is $1,800, by far one of the highest in the market.
He is comparing sinkapore's labour cost with that of Jakarta and Beijing! Why doesn't he compare it with HK, London, LA, NY? Compare apples with apples mah.
If he is really paying that amount for starting salary for inexperienced employee, then he has a good catchment pool, like that couple whose take-home household income is $800. So, either his recruitment strategy is bad or he isn't telling us the whole story.

"We have been doing business overseas anyway but perhaps now, that is the way to go - to spend more time exploring overseas markets than wasting time here.
It is no loss to sinkapore.

"I will not be opening any more restaurants for a while. I have to stop, not because there are no opportunities but primarily because of the labour shortage. The market can definitely afford to have more restaurants."
The only way for him to compete in the heartlands is to have cheap foreign labour. He is not willing to earn less. So, he just decides to leave the heartlands. But he wants to make it seem like he is forced out because of labour shortage.
The market for his price range restaurants is saturated. That's why he moved into the heartlands.

"When you have more manpower, you can send some staff for training and they can take turns. You will then have much better quality staff in the long run," he says, adding that well-trained staff lead to better efficiency and more sales.
That's the biggest bs in the whole article. He doesn't want to pay $1800 a month but he is willing to fork out money to train cheap foreign labour.

Is this believable?

Bigfuck

We cannot find our fucked scholars and ministers to work for 70K a year. But their ability is only 48K at best.

batman1

All these SME bosses are barking at the wrong tree.The high costs of doing business is HIGH RENTALS,NOT WAGES.
The PAP propaganda machinery is now in full swing,everyday the MSM echo no cheap foreign labour,businesses will close down !Good riddance !
All these SME bosses only wayang to show how pitiful they are or compete to show who is the most pitiful without cheap foreign labour ,very disgusting !But when they made tons of profits did they KPKB and bark like a mad dog ?
Oh Yes,remember the Doughlas Fool of Sakae who dishonestly declare to the world that he cannot find a cleaner even as he is willing to pay $3K pm.But what are the conditions of employment as he did not tell us truthfully ? Maybe 6 day/week,12 hour/day,first to clock in,last to go clock out,do marketing for CEO family,standby on rest day,be janitor and sleep at workplace.....Just look at Doughlas Fool,he think his five cent coin like a bullock-cart wheel,he is just one capitalist pig !

Einfield

Did it ever occurs to them that their food sucks that cause them to close down?
The $1800 he offered to him is very high, this is a good example
Of a cheap labor drug addict boss, he made millions in Singapore and because he
refuse to pay a few hundred more therefore have to close shop?

Another rich business that profit from exploiting Singapore.

winners

Let's put it this way. If a company's aim is to only be dependent on FWs and is very reluctant to hire Sinkies at the fair market rate, I think it's better for this company to fold up and go elsewhere. That's because by remaining in Sinkie Land, it is not going to contribute to the local workforce at all. So, what's the use of this company still remaining in Sinkie Land?

Fuck this Indonesian moron lah! Boycott his fucking joints!
Same same slave driving hypocrite as that hainan fuckface Douglas Fool....rid such employers

$1,800 not so easy to earn in F&B. The boss never tell you whether it is 5 day week or 6 day week right? Also, working hours can be long even if it is shift work. Job prospects are dim.

Jlokta

Fuck this Indonesian moron lah! Boycott his fucking joints!
Same same slave driving hypocrite as that hainan fuckface Douglas Fool....rid such employers

This CB Tjoe fucker can kaopeh all he wants but he won't have the balls to close more restaurants.
The TiongBahru joint probably wasn't making much money anyway.

batman1

The Indonesia boss Andrew Tjioe of Tung Lok should closed his restaurants in Singapore and balek kampung to Indonesia where there is over-abundance of cheap labour.

Einfield

But you see how the bastards use it to spin and support PAP's FT policies
These are anti Singaporeans business, anyone with back bones should not patronize it.

Spock

Profits are also shrinking, with manpower and rental and the costs of ingredients on the rise. But these costs cannot be passed on in full to customers, because of the competitive restaurant market.

A whole fried chicken, Mr Tjioe gives as an example, typically costs $40 at most Chinese restaurants, and if a restaurant is to increase this price, diners will go elsewhere for the same dish.

He is not telling the whole truth. If the market is competitive, it means that everyone is facing roughly the same costs. Labour costs will be the same because they all have access to the same pool of labour, even if the number of foreigners is reduced. The only difference will be rental costs. It is obvious that certain locations will have higher rental costs than others. In tiny SG, if some businesses are running on lower rental costs, they can lower their prices and hence customers will flock there. It is not as if customers need to drive for an hour to get to somewhere in SG.

Bringing this argument of not being able to raise prices when labour costs rise is a red herring because if all other costs are equal, it implies that wages are too low for enough people to be able to afford going to restaurants. What this means is that the businesses can only make money through using cheap labour, not by creating innovative in-demand products or services or by raising productivity. I don't think this is something SG should aspire to.

wendychan

$1,800 not so easy to earn in F&B. The boss never tell you whether it is 5 day week or 6 day week right? Also, working hours can be long even if it is shift work. Job prospects are dim.

$1800 as good pay in f and b industry is subjective. lunch and dinner ? open throughout? hours?

$1800 can be considered good but mot of the time, you will be married to the restaurant

1. aiyoh!
2. another half-baked scenario leh.
3. spell the rental thing too mah:biggrin:

From this tung lok article. It y dont they kpkb more about the higher rentals? As if pay 1.8k soo big fuck like tat. And also the competitors will b soo happy as there is less competition.

N tung lok.should be expending overseas..concentrate on singapore is soo yesterday tactic.

congo9

He is not telling the whole truth. If the market is competitive, it means that everyone is facing roughly the same costs. Labour costs will be the same because they all have access to the same pool of labour, even if the number of foreigners is reduced. The only difference will be rental costs. It is obvious that certain locations will have higher rental costs than others. In tiny SG, if some businesses are running on lower rental costs, they can lower their prices and hence customers will flock there. It is not as if customers need to drive for an hour to get to somewhere in SG.

Bringing this argument of not being able to raise prices when labour costs rise is a red herring because if all other costs are equal, it implies that wages are

too low for enough people to be able to afford going to restaurants. What this means is that the businesses can only make money through using cheap labour, not by creating innovative in-demand products or services or by raising productivity. I don't think this is something SG should aspire to.

I can only say that they can only compete in this range of customer for the kind of money the customer is willing to fork out. If they can attract high value customer at that location to eat, why not ?

He got his marketing and price mix all wrong. Rental is sky high and cannot cover the expenses of the staff. Time to relocate and ask the mall to lower down their rental demands to a more reasonable amount.

chupacabra

Alot of peesai FnB companies boast of high pay but actual fact it's small change if you add the long hours 54-72hrs per week and NO benefits or even basic insurance. Working conditions are shit at most restaurants, most restaurants don't have bonus or AWS and don't dream of having 14 days medical or 14 annual leave.

Alot of peesai FnB companies also don't even bother giving you employment letter or even pay slips. Testimonials are also a thing of the past. Sinkee bosses can go fuck themselves.