• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Moving to China for good

ahbengsong

Hi all:

I think this is what I'm advocating all along. Don't bother with Chinese PR or
citizenship. Singapore may not be the best place to live but it's passport still
has some use internationally. At the very least, you don't need to apply for
visas to go to a lot of countries.

What best to do for "suffering heartlanders"?

Rent out your HDB and collect rental. With that rental, go retire in a second
or third tier city. Despite all the nonsense in parts of China, some 2nd and
3rd tier cities are shaping up nicely.

Some of these 2nd/3rd tier cities are scoring big in cleanliness, efficiency,
healthcare, public security and eco-friendliness. Believe me...there are such
Chinese cities. Hordes of Chinese officials came to S'pore to study our
system in the 80s and 90s...and some of these officials are bringing back the
better aspects of S'pore.

For the more garang S'poreans, sell away your HDB and buy 3-4 decent
apartments in a 2/3rd tier city, be a landlord and survive on rental income.

For the rest of S'poreans, sit back and continue whining.

To each his own.

Good advice..... don't just grumble and bitch about how pap mess up your life... get away from it by living in prc....

ahbengsong

Wow! looks like a very good place to retire leh.

Got 外景图 also. Can go and bao some "mei mei" also. :biggrin:

It is a joint development by a sgp company with a prc joint-venture.... a small group of sgporeans already settle down there and they have some sort of a club going.... lost their number but you can try a search with the chinese name of the place....

I bought a place there.... just for holidays when the rapids are opened during the tourism seasons....

Tailok

The silly gahmen had made sillipore so expensive dat many ppl wans to emigrate. The lousy policy backfired n ppl just couldn't be bothered to have children. Now they had to give lots of scholarship to foreign students to study in sillipore.

ahbengsong

The silly gahmen had made sillipore so expensive dat many ppl wans to emigrate. The lousy policy backfired n ppl just couldn't be bothered to have children. Now they had to give lots of scholarship to foreign students to study in sillipore.

Work hard... earn more in sgp... but buy an apartment in southern china or suzhou or hangzhou or ningbo... then you can retire nicely in china with just your cpf and hdb flat rental...

It costs only SGD500 a month to live comfortably in a nice chinese city... not the shanghai or expensive cities... but nice cozy ones like ningbo or hangzhou or even suzhou...

More information in next update....

aakumu

Was reading the Chinese papers last nite and saw this news about the actor Gallen Lo who is moving to Beijing China for good.

Actually had some thoughts of moving to China after a few years and taking on a job there in Cities like Chong Qing and Cheng Du since SG investing heavily there these few years. Not thinking of going to Guangdong (ZH, SZ) as it is quite messy there while BJ and SH are too expensive

With the exchange rate difference, if we can secure a job with the same kinda pay here, then we should be quite comfortable there.

Perhaps I should consider being a consultant there or something.

Anyone have thoughts about this.

Hi bro.
Good idea, I have thought that China are open to having overseas chinese working for them.

My humble two cents.

Ridler

Suzhou is nice place to retire. After all most sg own their flats and if they rent out the rental can be used to sustain your lifestyle there. You can live comfortably with less than S$1000 per mth over there. :biggrin:

ahbengsong

Suzhou is nice place to retire. After all most sg own their flats and if they rent out the rental can be used to sustain your lifestyle there. You can live comfortably with less than S$1000 per mth over there. :biggrin:

In my tour of china... one can live comfortably in suzhou (except SIP) with less than RMB3000 or about SGD600 a month...

ahbengsong

A typical costs of living in a mid-size prc city for an adult...

Food (wet market) rmb 1500
Utilities rmb 400
Occasional eat out rmb 600
Miscellaneous rmb 500

BlueCat

Tianjin will be the next city after Shenzhen and Shanghai.
so if you want to move to China,there is the place and who know you may make it there and become an millionaire or even billionaire.

ahbengsong

Tianjin will be the next city after Shenzhen and Shanghai.
so if you want to move to China,there is the place and who know you may make it there and become an millionaire or even billionaire.

Some recommended cities (but may change as more more new smaller cities catches up).... suzhou, ningbo, hangzhou, changzhou, harbin, jilin....

travelbug

Anyone for Xiamen & neighbouring city Quanzhou Fujian province? NOT Guangzhou hah. Quanzhou is further up north also in Fujian province from Xiamen, its about 2 hrs or less away by car travel. Also Minnan speaking or Hokkien. But the proper name for Hokkien dialect in China & Taiwan is Minnan dialect. Hokkien is the name of province lah don't know why in Spore, they corrupted it & called it the dialect!

travelbug

Yah lah I know already. I find Northern Chinese aliens lah! Xiamen & Quanzhou in Fujian province should be OK.

travelbug

Non Elite,

Do NOT agree with you on the QA QC after the Olympics. PRCs will not have any sense of what is a good quality product like the Japs. The best PRC R&D scientists still prefer USA, Europe & yes even Japan. The continued efforts of China to lure back its best scientists is at best a flop. Its not just money, its about soft power like peer influence; eg how many Nobel prize winners in physics, chemistry, medicine can you find in China? Zero right! If those Chinese scientists had not migrated to USA before Communism fell in the 1945, they probably would not have won numerous Nobel prizes in their adopted country of USA!

R&D in China will always remain as Replicate & Duplicate. Why? Simple, CORRUPTION. Central govt can say stamp out corruption, but there are so many Corrupt state & county officials where the long arm of the law cannot reach becos the long arm is chopped by so many corrupted officials along the way.

travelbug

The over populated single males will resort to RAPE lah!

Still, I think Thailand beats China hands down if you wish to uproot permanently. Chiang Mai weather is cooler than Bangkok. So what if there is military coups, so what if there is mass people protest. These are signs of political maturity in Thailand unlike Spore scaredy cats citizens.

Considering Thailand. China is way too alien unless you opt for Fujian province that is if u are Hokkien speaking.

wanker10

storm, ................$10k - $20k? The only thing i can think of is to set up a factory and import to singapore for sale

Bro,

This is a very big mistake to begin with. Never have the idea of importing stuff from China & sell here. Our market is too small. Go do some market research, import something niche to China. If you can earn just 0.01 RMB from ervery chinese there will make you a multimillionaire. Btw, they have a population of 1.4 billion.

theunforgotten

On a similar note, Anyone got good tips for Getting a HK ID card and then settle back into China with Wui Heung Cheng ( Home return permit)

I understand that with HK , need 7 years of continuous stay (i.e Work permit or simlar type of permit) one is eligible for HK ID card. I am currently sourcing for either Job or my present employee to post me there so that I can start the clock on this first.

Just looking now for any ideas, as HK and China despite the lack of cleaner and neater environments, represents for me a chance to grow my career and be part of the dynamic market.

lsalsa

Wake up Singaporeans!

Be humble. Go visit China yourself and then see what they can teach us. Or be enterprising... and take advantage of their lower cost of living by moving there.

I share his views. He is correct. SINGAPORE won't make it in 30-40 years time. If not why Singapore build CASINO. Singapore is constantly fighting for SURVIVAL. PAP and Government only talk COCK. You have no fxxking idea how good the government lifestyle is while Singaporean have to fight for a living. Only big countries with power and resource has the forsight. They can take 3-4 steps ahead while Singaporean take only 1-2 step ahead.

Or if you want go travel out of SINGAPORE SHORES and see the world's perspective views and you will come to realise it. GO OUT OF SINGAPORE and see the world. You can backpack or whatever. Don't have to spend so much. backpacking is enough. Most important is learn other countries first before you can think and say here.

TRUST ME. Please go visit China and their culture will give you some insight. I can feel what Non_Elite has just said. At last he is willing to share what he knows.

Enough of my ramblings. ^_^