• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Moving to China for good

ahbengsong

China don't give citizenship... the "highest" a foreigner can get is a sort of green card but that is unless you are somebody like bill gates level....

Initially.... as a spouse of a prc.... you can get a year visa stay.... then after 3 years... "upgrade" to a 2 or 3 year resident visa.... but note that different province assess you differently....

beng

ahbengsong

Yes , i may consider move to china for good, everything in spore go home. Standard of living is high ,, when i Got my CPA , maybe that is the time to moved there .

Thats the sgporean mentality.... "I'll move when I got this.. got that..." and when you finally decide to move... property prices will have gone up so high you abandon your plan with another "I'll move when I strike toto..."

So in the end... you get stuck with pap....

beng

Nomad

dun anyone thinks that the golden time is already over liao.
maybe if you are considering those inner cities,there may still be opportunities for you to explore.

those big cities are already developed and nothing left for you unless you have tons of cash.

ahbengsong

dun anyone thinks that the golden time is already over liao.
maybe if you are considering those inner cities,there may still be opportunities for you to explore.

those big cities are already developed and nothing left for you unless you have tons of cash.

Just to add my cent worth..... there are still many small and medium cities in china worth considering... one has to go there and see for oneself.... almost a decade in china and yet I always find a small or medium city sprouting up nicely...

A good example... in Ningbo city... a small town call Fenghua... nice apartments are sprouting up in a nice greenery space... near the ChungHua Hotel....

shining shin

I try my best and I hope it can be enough and not too late. Sometimes, I can
understand Sam's frustration with the quality of questions being asked here...

1. S'poreans thinking they can be 'consultants' in China or investing their
puny $20K in China. Have they even been to China recently? Have they
walked the streets, talked to a Chinese businessman, checked out a graduate
or even visited a business investment office?

2. I was recently in Beijing airport new T3 terminal; the biggest and
swankiest terminal in the world. Did anyone know that Beijing airport was
just a small, run-down and poorly maintained airport just a mere 12 years
ago?

Yet, while queuing to clear customs, I could hear two middle-age
executive-type male S'poreans telling each other how parts of the T3 was
poorly designed or how Changi airport beats T3 here and there. Seesshh...

3. I find it sad that Taiwanese, S.Koreans and Japanese will gather together
in any part of China for social and business purpose without government interference
but S'poreans will ignore each other even if they happened to be working in some
remote Chinese town.

I find it sad that after 43 years of national day parades that S'poreans remain
not worldly-wise, unthinking and forever on their moral high grounds. Is this
the fault of the government or our own fault? Why are we in such a state of
affair? Materially, we are much richer but mentally, we seemed to have not
improve anymore than our forefathers who came here...

Totally agree with James Porn that Non_Elite is the man! To me he is someone who has walked the ground and humble to see the facts.

Singaporeans have been living in an island for too long to know what is actually happening in the world. We still think we are the best in this, that or that our neighbours are not as good as us or will never catch up with us.

Is this due to the government's propaganda? Or maybe the media's fault?

The British said Singapore was an impregnable fortress. We all know what happened after that.

ahbengsong

Totally agree with James Porn that Non_Elite is the man! To me he is someone who has walked the ground and humble to see the facts.
Singaporeans have been living in an island for too long to know what is actually happening in the world. We still think we are the best in this, that or that our neighbours are not as good as us or will never catch up with us.
Is this due to the government's propaganda? Or maybe the media's fault?
The British said Singapore was an impregnable fortress. We all know what happened after that.

The british is correct about sgp being an impregnable fortress.... from a frontal assault but the japanese came from the backside... which is why the british make it illegal for anal sex after that....

QQQ

Non_Elite bro is the man.

But I am compelled to balance up the view of cn.
cn got its own problems that can hide behind all these great economic news of cn

1. 70% of rivers polluted. Some ae worse than sg sewage
2. all most all rivers are dam up affecting or destroying the original eco-system
3. the air is full of good stuff from the factories. even beijing cannot improve it to fit olympic standard even though spend damn lot of monies
4. the fruits are coated with solid pesticides. some solid pesticide actually penetrate into the fruits. so washing also no use. no wonder they are so cheap.
5. the animals blood stream full of great anti-biotics, growth hormones and other good stuff the farmers feed them and yet appear in walmart or carfour there
6. the animals are pump water into stomach then go into body so that they weigh more then can sell for more rmb
7. dog meat is a delicasy
8. plastic used in food are inferior and get absorbed into our stomach
9. corruption is an industry
10. can be extremely noisy
11. the number of smoking deaths per year can form a small country
12. can buy yourself a kidney from military hospital and harvest from prison. anyone needs a penis?
13. all this money spent in olympic is beijing way to use the country money to benefit who else but bj officials. this money is significant and created a bubble that may burst soon.
14. all these economic growth is not good to show off. it is actually badly needed to provide jobs for millions from the poorer places. if no growth, how? millions will become beh song and you will see chaos
15. stock prices reflect the moods of communists
16. some listed companies are in fact no company. u go to the address and can see a few stray dogs in empty lands.
17. ceo like to under-report performance, then stock price down, then ceo do a management buyback of stock at pennies. then change company name, then do another listing and repeat again
18. baby milk powder better to feed your dog. sz mums prefer to smuggle milk powder from hk or pay someone to do so from luohu or huanggang
19. mass media is propaganda like media whores in sg
20. by 2012, 10million males more than females. if u count the female who fly off, more imbalance. then these 10mil make how? go find a spider? syt running out fast...

dream_waker

China don't give citizenship... the "highest" a foreigner can get is a sort of green card but that is unless you are somebody like bill gates level....

Initially.... as a spouse of a prc.... you can get a year visa stay.... then after 3 years... "upgrade" to a 2 or 3 year resident visa.... but note that different province assess you differently....

beng

Wrong, you can get a Chinese citizenship if your wife is PRC. Check the official Chinese website for further details. With a PRC wife it become so much easier to invest in China.

dream_waker

Non_Elite bro is the man.

But I am compelled to balance up the view of cn.
cn got its own problems that can hide behind all these great economic news of cn

1. 70% of rivers polluted. Some ae worse than sg sewage
2. all most all rivers are dam up affecting or destroying the original eco-system
3. the air is full of good stuff from the factories. even beijing cannot improve it to fit olympic standard even though spend damn lot of monies
4. the fruits are coated with solid pesticides. some solid pesticide actually penetrate into the fruits. so washing also no use. no wonder they are so cheap.
5. the animals blood stream full of great anti-biotics, growth hormones and other good stuff the farmers feed them and yet appear in walmart or carfour there
6. the animals are pump water into stomach then go into body so that they weigh more then can sell for more rmb
7. dog meat is a delicasy
8. plastic used in food are inferior and get absorbed into our stomach
9. corruption is an industry
10. can be extremely noisy
11. the number of smoking deaths per year can form a small country
12. can buy yourself a kidney from military hospital and harvest from prison. anyone needs a penis?
13. all this money spent in olympic is beijing way to use the country money to benefit who else but bj officials. this money is significant and created a bubble that may burst soon.
14. all these economic growth is not good to show off. it is actually badly needed to provide jobs for millions from the poorer places. if no growth, how? millions will become beh song and you will see chaos
15. stock prices reflect the moods of communists
16. some listed companies are in fact no company. u go to the address and can see a few stray dogs in empty lands.
17. ceo like to under-report performance, then stock price down, then ceo do a management buyback of stock at pennies. then change company name, then do another listing and repeat again
18. baby milk powder better to feed your dog. sz mums prefer to smuggle milk powder from hk or pay someone to do so from luohu or huanggang
19. mass media is propaganda like media whores in sg
20. by 2012, 10million males more than females. if u count the female who fly off, more imbalance. then these 10mil make how? go find a spider? syt running out fast...

China is an inspiring place fill with dynamism, patriotism, optimism, in contrast Singapore is a totally sleepy town whose people have no sense of national identity and destiny and worse, they think that their little peesai is the best in the world.

ahbengsong

Wrong, you can get a Chinese citizenship if your wife is PRC. Check the official Chinese website for further details. With a PRC wife it become so much easier to invest in China.

Read and where is the part of getting prc citizenship with a prc wife ?

According to the Law of Citizenship of People’s Republic of China, following terms are remarkable:

Article 3: PRC doesn’t accept Chinese citizenship of double nationalities.

Article 4: He who was born in China, and both or one of the parents has Chinese citizenship, has Chinese citizenship.

Article 5: He who was born outside China, and both or one of the parents has Chinese citizenship, has Chinese citizenship; unless he gets his foreign citizenship first at his born.

Article 7: Foreigner or people who has unknown citizenship, accept and obey Chinese constitution and laws, and is in one of following terms below, can apply and be approved to have Chinese citizenship:

1. He who is close relative of a Chinese
2. He who settles down and lives in China
3. He who has other good causes

Article 8: He who has been approved to have Chinese citizenship, officially gets his Chinese citizenship, but no longer reserves foreign citizenship.

Article 9: Chinese citizen who settled down in a foreign country, voluntarily joins or gets a foreign citizenship, automatically loses his Chinese citizenship.

ahbengsong

China is such a dynamic country.... countless options.... variety of lifestyles.... the good, the bad and the ugly..... I'll live with its imperfections considering all these......

China as a practice does not give citizenship even if their laws allow it. In fact if you read their laws, getting citizenship seems to be a breeze. There is no law that I know that specifies chinese wife as a consideration.

Its however allows restoration of citizenship to previous nationals such as 3 lady tables tennis stars.

There is also a difference between been given nationality and citizenship. The Chinese have been known to grant nationality which acts like a permanent visa. No voting rights and all other privileges as a citizen.

QQQ

Continued:
21. You can easily buy/borrow/apply-illegally a brand new identity card in whatever name you want with your photo thereby become a "chinese citizen". Can even buy house, take loans, marry and apply for a china passport. And perhaps vote for your chinese government in 91 years time. There are many law-escaping taiwanese do that.

So.
Why the f+%$ you want to give up a useful passport for something you can buy off the shelf???????

Tailok

Why need Citizenship to stay in China? Wan to drink milk, dun have to buy whole cow mah. Just stay there with long term pass. If not happy, move on lah. :p

aman

Why need Citizenship to stay in China? Wan to drink milk, dun have to buy whole cow mah. Just stay there with long term pass. If not happy, move on lah. :p

I agree with you...you can get 3 yrs working pass..:smile:

Non_Elite

Hi all:

I think this is what I'm advocating all along. Don't bother with Chinese PR or
citizenship. Singapore may not be the best place to live but it's passport still
has some use internationally. At the very least, you don't need to apply for
visas to go to a lot of countries.

What best to do for "suffering heartlanders"?

Rent out your HDB and collect rental. With that rental, go retire in a second
or third tier city. Despite all the nonsense in parts of China, some 2nd and
3rd tier cities are shaping up nicely.

Some of these 2nd/3rd tier cities are scoring big in cleanliness, efficiency,
healthcare, public security and eco-friendliness. Believe me...there are such
Chinese cities. Hordes of Chinese officials came to S'pore to study our
system in the 80s and 90s...and some of these officials are bringing back the
better aspects of S'pore.

For the more garang S'poreans, sell away your HDB and buy 3-4 decent
apartments in a 2/3rd tier city, be a landlord and survive on rental income.

For the rest of S'poreans, sit back and continue whining.

To each his own.

Wuwei

Read and where is the part of getting prc citizenship with a prc wife ?

According to the Law of Citizenship of People’s Republic of China, following terms are remarkable:

Article 3: PRC doesn’t accept Chinese citizenship of double nationalities.

Article 4: He who was born in China, and both or one of the parents has Chinese citizenship, has Chinese citizenship.

Article 5: He who was born outside China, and both or one of the parents has Chinese citizenship, has Chinese citizenship; unless he gets his foreign citizenship first at his born.

Article 7: Foreigner or people who has unknown citizenship, accept and obey Chinese constitution and laws, and is in one of following terms below, can apply and be approved to have Chinese citizenship:

1. He who is close relative of a Chinese
2. He who settles down and lives in China
3. He who has other good causes

Article 8: He who has been approved to have Chinese citizenship, officially gets his Chinese citizenship, but no longer reserves foreign citizenship.

Article 9: Chinese citizen who settled down in a foreign country, voluntarily joins or gets a foreign citizenship, automatically loses his Chinese citizenship.

May I know where do you get this source?