• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Migration for Successful Singles/Couples

moolightaffairs

sinkies who ran road to the netherlands were very capable of chasing hongkie triads away and taking over the drug trade. many fighters were well trained with firearms, combat, and fibua tactics, thanks to the saf. they were put to good use. the problem was gambling and backstabbing. succession plans were not very good.

hahaha, glad that someone got some successful stories from the dark side. in Thailand too, chase away ah tiong to take over the turf. but in Thailand, whatever you do must pay respect to the Thai king.

roadrunner

i'm talking about going to other country & find wife, not gay-lang there:biggrin: if you go OZ & pay money find wife.. i think they dun care about going to ur country/singapore, they just want the money & after a few yrs get divorce. my friend like that run, wife is from OZ & they married in OZ, after 5yrs divorce & he's now free agent running amok there... every w/end got new chiobu, i rang him i didn't even recognise his voice, picked up a Aussie accent liao :biggrin: Alamak, dun go gay-lang there find wife, go somewhere more atas can? why dun you check out some of those singapore expat website & see where those US/UK/OZ/Canaduck chiobus hangout. Yes these are the same FTs some people on this forum are complaining about... dun get angry, get married to them & you'll be on the next flight out!

i know of this method but im not taking this path.
if can get into marriage or buy a wife so easily, most probably they are more desperate than you to leave their own country.
instead is the other way round, they want you to apply visa for them.
if lidat, i go geylang should be the easiest way out.

blur sotong

I have spent time in Sydney, Melbourne, Brisbane and even Adelaide. I have worked with native Aussies and Aborigines before. It is a beautiful country. I love the sceneries, I am able to work in an "Australian" environment and I can fit into their culture.

Bro, you have Class 5 driving licence? If you have one, you may want to try to go WA or Queensland or where ever instead of Mel. Go to the mines, they are very short of operators / drivers. You can google for mining opportunities while in SG.

Wish you good luck!

hahaha, glad that someone got some successful stories from the dark side. in Thailand too, chase away ah tiong to take over the turf. but in Thailand, whatever you do must pay respect to the Thai king.

also took over gambling, pros, drug and racketeering business in cambodia. one of the bros of the gangleader who left netherlands to settle down in cam is killed recently.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
generally singaporean are very capable, its our gov want us to feel useless.

Thank you for speaking up for the underdog, must remember to up your points again.
You must spread some Reputation around before giving it to moolightaffairs again.

roadrunner

absolutely agree.. but only for those in the previous years, these days sg training not up to standard like last time, sg kids these days are dem lazy & have no fire in them, everything also expect to be given to them. i give you one example.. my fren sent his pu bor kia go london study, after graduation even managed to find work & on paper everything is in order to apply for pr after 5yrs of work permit there, the pu bor kia so dem lazy expect everything to be done for him like in sg, you know england dem luan one the civil service/home office fucked up his application & in the end he just balek sg, now i heard he's festering in sg, everyday CBCB becos his father scold him, say england pr given to you on a plate u still can fuck up!! i think his father was hoping his pu bor kia would get pr & later citizenship so they all can go over. mai kong lanjiao weh...this pubor kia is kena fuck till his old man dies, what a life!!!

generally singaporean are very capable, its our gov want us to feel useless... i think sg done well in training sgporean, all go other countries usually got no prob surviving. got the skill but the mindset must change.

Velma

Agreed with one of the forummers here that there should also be another thread for those Singaporeans who want to migrate to Asian nations. Think we got quite a few 'specialists' here who can provide useful advice. drifter for Japan, joetys for Thailand and I remember one here who is living in China now. Pretty sure there are others who had lived in Taiwan and etc, but I can't remember their names.

Singaporeans are not willing to take the plunge because they have been conditioned from young that taking risk is bad. Stick to the formula that the government provides and everything shall be fine. Try something different and you shall be fucked. For men, the NS years were especially crucial to condition the 'obedient sheep' mindset. Anything different from doctrine and you shall get your informal punishments. So, in the end, most Sinkies stay safe and just be employees to the govt.

It didn't help when Sinkies happily believed the mainstream media back then. Talk to a typical Singaporean and you will get the picture. America is the "land of drug peddlers and gun-toting psychos", Australia is the land where "whites spit and beat up any asians they see", etc. To them, any land where they are minorities and the majorities are white, they think they will get beaten up or shot at sight. So, let us just stick to safe Singapore where it is 100% safe, they think.

Then, there are some Singaporeans who will want to migrate, but have the warped mentality that the country over there is 100% perfect. Their delusional "cheap car and cheap housing" while not wanting to work or pay the price for it mentality just makes them poor immigrants and in the end, they run back to SG because they think overall SG is cheaper. In short, they want the cheap stuff but want to be stingy on paying higher taxes to support a better welfare that covers all. No wonder they will go back to SG, they can join their selfish brethren.

When you plan to move over, I have always urged friends to do their homework and research. Many don't, as Sam said, they have the spoon-fed mentality that all these info should come in a brochure for them to read instead of scavenging the net and forums for the info. So they end up stuck here and whine about how terrible SG is, but they are too lazy to even dedicate some time just to understand their potential host country.

Lastly, a successful migration can happen anywhere. It need not be confined to the Anglo-speaking nations, it can also happen to non-Anglo nations. Friend of mine went to Korea to do his post-grad, took a year to learn Korean, managed to secure good grades over there, found a lovely Korean wife and is on the verge of getting his PR. As long as one is willing to work hard and do his research, a happy migration is possible. :smile:

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Agreed with one of the forummers here that there should also be another thread for those Singaporeans who want to migrate to Asian nations. Think we got quite a few 'specialists' here who can provide useful advice. drifter for Japan, joetys for Thailand and I remember one here who is living in China now. Pretty sure there are others who had lived in Taiwan and etc, but I can't remember their names.

Singaporeans are not willing to take the plunge because they have been conditioned from young that taking risk is bad. Stick to the formula that the government provides and everything shall be fine. Try something different and you shall be fucked. For men, the NS years were especially crucial to condition the 'obedient sheep' mindset. Anything different from doctrine and you shall get your informal punishments. So, in the end, most Sinkies stay safe and just be employees to the govt.

It didn't help when Sinkies happily believed the mainstream media back then. Talk to a typical Singaporean and you will get the picture. America is the "land of drug peddlers and gun-toting psychos", Australia is the land where "whites spit and beat up any asians they see", etc. To them, any land where they are minorities and the majorities are white, they think they will get beaten up or shot at sight. So, let us just stick to safe Singapore where it is 100% safe, they think.

Then, there are some Singaporeans who will want to migrate, but have the warped mentality that the country over there is 100% perfect. Their delusional "cheap car and cheap housing" while not wanting to work or pay the price for it mentality just makes them poor immigrants and in the end, they run back to SG because they think overall SG is cheaper. In short, they want the cheap stuff but want to be stingy on paying higher taxes to support a better welfare that covers all. No wonder they will go back to SG, they can join their selfish brethren.

When you plan to move over, I have always urged friends to do their homework and research. Many don't, as Sam said, they have the spoon-fed mentality that all these info should come in a brochure for them to read instead of scavenging the net and forums for the info. So they end up stuck here and whine about how terrible SG is, but they are too lazy to even dedicate some time just to understand their potential host country.

Lastly, a successful migration can happen anywhere. It need not be confined to the Anglo-speaking nations, it can also happen to non-Anglo nations. Friend of mine went to Korea to do his post-grad, took a year to learn Korean, managed to secure good grades over there, found a lovely Korean wife and is on the verge of getting his PR. As long as one is willing to work hard and do his research, a happy migration is possible. :smile:

Absolutely agree, Thailand, Taiwan and China and some say Vietnam too. The world is our oyster if only we dare but try. Everyone is so afraid of failure that few if any ever ventures out beyond mandated business trips. Unfortunately, many times they do not want to help themselves though. :(

Velma

Absolutely agree, Thailand, Taiwan and China and some say Vietnam too. The world is our oyster if only we dare but try. Everyone is so afraid of failure that few if any ever ventures out beyond mandated business trips. Unfortunately, many times they do not want to help themselves though. :(

Just don't believe the myths of typical Singaporean. I have still remembered that when you first started on your JB move and announced it to this forum with good intention, a few morons were saying that "JB is full of rape and robberies of Singaporeans", "You will get robbed at night", etc. I'm glad you never took their words seriously and learnt on your own how to avoid all these nasty situations. Now you are a much happier man, living in comfort with other good neighbours and now dispensing advice because of your own kindness to any Singaporeans considering JB. I have immense respect for your patience and virtue.

I am currently still living in Singapore, but am already making plans and doing research, while also trying to up my qualifications just in case. It is sometimes tough to see others enjoying while you have to slog hard on your free time. But I tell myself, it is for a better future and exploring the world makes a matured man.

Any nation will be suitable so long we learn the language and have a mindset of "can do". Learn to be independent and tolerant that the first few times are never going to be easy or smooth. Many Sinkies cannot take a bit of setback and hardship, hence they belong to the pigeon holes and cooped up for their lives. :biggrin:

moolightaffairs

Thank you for speaking up for the underdog, must remember to up your points again.
You must spread some Reputation around before giving it to moolightaffairs again.

someone i know "jump aeroplane" in US, know english, speak cantonese, hokkien and chinese. IT savvy too. surviving very well in US and got his own business.

moolightaffairs

absolutely agree.. but only for those in the previous years, these days sg training not up to standard like last time, sg kids these days are dem lazy & have no fire in them, everything also expect to be given to them. i give you one example.. my fren sent his pu bor kia go london study, after graduation even managed to find work & on paper everything is in order to apply for pr after 5yrs of work permit there, the pu bor kia so dem lazy expect everything to be done for him like in sg, you know england dem luan one the civil service/home office fucked up his application & in the end he just balek sg, now i heard he's festering in sg, everyday CBCB becos his father scold him, say england pr given to you on a plate u still can fuck up!! i think his father was hoping his pu bor kia would get pr & later citizenship so they all can go over. mai kong lanjiao weh...this pubor kia is kena fuck till his old man dies, what a life!!!

yes, typical sg youngster. ai mai ai mai attitude very tulan. :biggrin:

People have actually done it. I am not kidding. I personally know a bank staff who underwent a nursing course for the purpose of migrating and she did it. Other have done VITB courses to do it.

Can I do it this way? I will go and learn to be an electrician now, by formal learning and apprenticeship and try for emigration 3 years later. This is a serious question. Thank you.

Just thought I clarify couple of things.

Tier 1 Countries: I have classified these countries as such because you are given a actual guarantee of an migrant status with a clear pathway to citizenship. Except for the US, these countries have comprehensive health and welfare safety. You are also stepping into a country that has acquired first world status and an excellent opportunity to raise kids.

Many Asian countries offer excellent opportunities for those with entrepreneurial spirit, those who have skills that these countries need and get a lift similar to expats in terms of income. it is also good for those who are retired or have been displaced and have skills to offer.. But people must be clear that there is no guarantee of citizenship, a safety net etc. These are also homogenous societies and those who marry a native have a distinct advantage.

South Africa is now the new kid on the block and is offering similar guarantees as tier 1 countries in terms of migrant status and citizenship.

Attractive Low Cost Countries:
These are for those who want to remain as Singaporeans but want to have a lower cost base and still enjoy space and greenery. Malaysia especially JB and Penang are very popular. So are Bali, Thailand, Philippines etc. Some have started businesses and are doing very well. Malaysia's silver haired programme is also popular.

homework and researchRe: Migration for Successful Singles/Couples

I am curious. As you have written a long post and after doing "homework and research" if given a choice which country and in what order would the majority of Singaporeans pick and why?
Korea
USA
UK
OZ
NZ
UK

roadrunner

Re: homework and researchRe: Migration for Successful Singles/Couples

with the exception of Korea, the rest of the countries on ur list are all English speaking countries, i think one of the key facts facing people is ease of assimilation be it language or culturally. Yes i think people should look at other countries besides the Tier 1 English speaking nations, it all comes down to personal choice. WTF why want to run so far when at the end of the day, if what you really want is living in JB!! There's already roadrunners who have left 30, 40yrs ago & now being valid citizens of Tier1 countries are looking to retiring in a cheaper location.. Malaysia Boleh is what i'm hearing from these AhPeks. Others who have totally assimilated into their new countries have no desire whatsoever to leave.. & i mean totally assimilated, speaking fluent french, dutch or german etc. My money is on Brazil if you're on the adventurous side, hot chicks, already very racially tolerant & fast becoming a very rich country, thats if they dun burn up all of their rainforests or natural resources!

Here's some homework for roadrunners, go youtube & watch the 3 part "The chinese are coming", these guys have the can do mentality & pioneering spirit that SG has now lost.

I am curious. As you have written a long post and after doing "homework and research" if given a choice which country and in what order would the majority of Singaporeans pick and why?
Korea
USA
UK
OZ
NZ
UK

nayr69sg

Staff member

with the exception of Korea, the rest of the countries on ur list are all English speaking countries, i think one of the key facts facing people is ease of assimilation be it language or culturally.

I agree. Actually many Singaporeans travel on holiday quite a bit. They will know how the other countries are.

To each his own.

I have never liked the southeast asian countries like Malaysia, Indonesia, Thailand.

Korea was quite nice but I only went there to experience winter before I left for Canada.

The reason why scroobal and others like samleong talk about 1st tier countries like NZ and Oz is because they have gone there. If you want to discuss more about those non english speaking countries, then ask those who have moved to come and share. As it is there are probably thousands of Malaysians in Singapore. Thousands of Filipinos. Thousands of Indonesians. Don't have to look very far.

I agree. Actually many Singaporeans travel on holiday quite a bit. They will know how the other countries are.

Travel gives you first impressions of a very small part of a country. These impressions are very inaccurate as they depend a lot on the frame of mind during the visit.

EG the impression you have of a place while you're on your honeymoon could be quite different from your view of the same place if you were there on a business trip all by yourself.

A number of Singaporeans who emigrated to NZ settled in Queenstown because the fell in love with the place while there during their honeymoon 20 years earlier. None of the lasted more than a year there. One winter was all it took.

gz0707

his PR. As long as one is willing to work hard and do his research, a happy migration is possible. :smile:

Off track a bit. Recently I have noticed people such as doctors and businessmen who have resorted to buying old cars with new license plates. So they drive BMW or S class which look fairly new. It takes only 30 sec to find out that these are 7 yr old cars. Are they money smart, buying old cars? Or they die die want to look good driving a conti luxury marque? You be the judge.

nayr69sg

Staff member

Good point Sam.

However I was referring to countries rather than cities.

When you travel, you will go through airports, use toilets, eat in Macdonald's, take public transport, talk to locals, listen to people talk to one another, walk along streets, cross roads etc etc. For some unlucky ones (bearing in mind it's their holiday) they visit the police station, the hospital, the clinic.

All these will play a part in forming impressions.

I still think the personal reason and objective in migrating is very important. There will be some who want to migrate and make wherever to go, turn into a mini-Singapore with their personal maid, low or zero taxes, cheap labour when it comes to trades work etc.

But I digress once again. So back to the choosing of a country, one has an idea roughly what kind of culture/religion/public sector/economy the country has.

When it comes to migrating and choosing which city to live in, earn a living at, it is a different set of considerations for each individual. You could go to NZ and pick a town which has very few jobs that fits your skills and experience. Of course that's silly.

Truthfully, I had never stepped foot in Canada till the day I did my landing! Same with Edmonton where I live now. You just have to make a decision and take action or else nothing will change for you. If you don't want change then that's a different story altogether.

nayr69sg

Staff member
Off track a bit. Recently I have noticed people such as doctors and businessmen who have resorted to buying old cars with new license plates. So they drive BMW or S class which look fairly new. It takes only 30 sec to find out that these are 7 yr old cars. Are they money smart, buying old cars? Or they die die want to look good driving a conti luxury marque? You be the judge.

What they do is none of my business. Why bother to think about them?