• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Nasi Lemak

Haha cannot be lah, sure we know more than three words just by driving on the roads - AWAS (danger), masuk (enter), keluar (exit), berhenti (stop), kereta (car), bas (bus). I had done a basic Malay course in community centre many years ago, was surprised to know then some words like sabun are actually Malay (soap). So you probably know more words than you thought so. :biggrin:

I think Malay not that difficult to learn though I have forgotten everything by now. Somebody can tell me satu ragus limu puluh ringgit empat sens is how people say RM154.40? If not, how to say it correctly? Trying to learn to understand what is the amount supermarket cashier is telling me to pay. Can't find through online Malay translator. But English and Chinese are everywhere in supermarket, and the cashiers/staff at Jusco etc all can speak English, so can buy things easily even without knowing Malay.

AWAS - CAUTION.

BAHAYA - DANGER.

RM154.40 - Satu Ratus Lima Puluh Empat Ringgit Empat Puluh Sen.

:smile::smile:

abugumgum

Yes, I face this problem, so I carry my old passport with me.

Eventually the various agency and businesses will have to rectify this by updating database with new passport numbers. I certainly do not want to carry so many expired passports.

I am not sure whether other bros have thought about this problem. This problem comes to my mind because my passport is going to expire in 7 months. When you sign the sales and purchase agreement or any other legal documents indicating your ownership of your property and all those documents you have signed during the process, some information regarding the owner, for example his/her name and passport no. etc. will be shown there so that this information together with the document can be used to prove he/she is the owner in case it is necessary in the future.

After your passport expires, you will get a new one with a different passport number. So do you think those sales and purchase agreement, legal documents need to be updated? Or simply keeping the old passport (the one you are holding when you buy the property and that is listed in the document for proving ownership) will do?

According to the website, it said applying MACS required the passport to be valid for at least 2 years. This means when your passport is going to expire in less than 2 years, you will not be able to get MACS unless you get a new passport. I assume this requirement is still valid, right?

Any bros here have encountered and thought about similar problems?

arsenal

Let them win.. Anything happen you lose more..

Had a really bad day yesterday towards HH to makan with a sales man in the the cathy. One blue kancil with yellow lights literally cut into my lane as i was accelerating when the light turns green all without signals. Bugger literally has no respect for other fellow car users. When I overtook him, he accelerated as if trying to get into a race with me. When i saw my speed was 150km/hour, I eased off while entering the taman while he turned back into those flats. If u must stay in JB, you must be prepared for these rascals who literally drive around without licenses. Even if they have, they bought it.

Side track a bit, the coastal highway from HH seem to be opened but not to public. Saw some cars using it to leave or enter HH.

Investor

the coastal highway from HH seem to be opened but not to public. Saw some cars using it to leave or enter HH.

From HH's exit, I drove into Coaster Highway illegally and headed towards Nusajaya. On the Coaster highway, you'll see that the road further ahead has been blocked, preventing access to Nusajaya. But as you drive closer, you'll find that it's a fake barrier as you can actually drive in a zig zag manner thru the barriers and reach Nusajaya.
Be very careful of the construction trucks if you're trying this route which is still under construction.

crystal_tiong

Hi Guys

Is there any way to go Bt Indah without paying the tolls from first link ?
I remembered few mths ago , i went thru small road , I dun have to pay a single toll.
Seems like now to and fro have to pay tolls already.

Thanks

toyohon

I've read throught most of the pages on this thread ...I may have missed this out.

Very little is mentioned of Austin Heights and Austin Perdana... Any comments on this development?

These areas are in the Tebrau Corridor, development built around Austin Hills Golf resort. Amenities like Sultan Ismail Hospital, Jusco Tebrau, Tesco, Sunway College, International Schools, Foon Yew Pri Sch etc. not forgetting "the soon to be built" Ikea.. The other developments nearby are Setia Indah, Seri Austin, Adda Heights, Desa Tebrau, Taman Gaya, Pelangi indah etc.

lastresort

After sunrise, Gamuda, Island & Peninsular Bhd, Petaling Garden Bhd, Pelangi Bhd, Eastern & Oriental Bhd are all nationalised, now another giant developer is soon to be nationalised. :mad:

PNB offers RM3.90 a share for SP Setia takeover

http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/business/article/pnb-offers-rm3.90-a-share-for-sp-setia-takeover/

KUALA LUMPUR, Sept 28 – Malaysia’s state-controlled asset manager Permodalan Nasional Bhd has offered RM3.90 apiece for the remaining shares in builder SP Setia it does not already own, the deal’s adviser Maybank Investment said in an e-mail statement today.

The offer price represents a premium of 11.4 per cent over SP Setia’s last traded price of RM3.50. – Reuters

PNB offers to take over SP Setia

http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/business/article/pnb-offers-to-take-over-sp-setia/

KUALA LUMPUR, Sept 28 — Permodalan Nasional Berhad offered today to take over the nation’s second-largest developer by market value.

Shares of the developer had been hit by poor sentiment, dropping about 30 per cent off its high of RM4.62 per share but surged 13 per cent or 40 sen yesterday to RM3.50.

SP Setia Bhd said in an announcement to Bursa today that it received a notice of takeover offer from Permodalan Nasional Berhad, a major shareholder of SP Setia, and had informed it of its obligation to extend a conditional takeover offer.

SP Setia had also asked that trading on its shares be suspended.

The Edge Financial Daily had reported this morning that there had been rumours SP Setia would be taken private so that PNB could use the developer as its main vehicle to consolidate its investments in various property companies as well as to consolidate the interests of the various government-linked funds in SP Setia into one fund.

PNB at present has a 28.5 per cent stake in SP Setia while EPF has 13.4 per cent.

The major private shareholder is Tan Sri Lee Siew Kin, who has about 12 per cent.

SP Setia ranks only behind UEM Land in market value. It is involved in the KL Eco City project, which has an estimated gross development value of RM6 billion.

The group is also pursuing a land swap deal with the government to exchange 40 acres of prime land in Bangsar for a 53-acre integrated health and research facility in its Setia Alam township.

SP Setia reported third-quarter earnings of RM91million, taking its nine-month total net profit to RM246 million representing a year-on-year growth of 39 per cent.

cathylmg

These areas are in the Tebrau Corridor, development built around Austin Hills Golf resort. Amenities like Sultan Ismail Hospital, Jusco Tebrau, Tesco, Sunway College, International Schools, Foon Yew Pri Sch etc. not forgetting "the soon to be built" Ikea.. The other developments nearby are Setia Indah, Seri Austin, Adda Heights, Desa Tebrau, Taman Gaya, Pelangi indah etc.

And also Setia Tropika, Kempas Utama, Soon to be built 400 bed specialist hospital at Bandar Dato Onn...etc

Personnal I like Bandar Dato Onn. It is a Bandar and suppose to have everything. Schools, swimming pool, police station, hospital, shopping centres, international schools.....etc..... The thing is land is so big, double the size of Setia Tropika. Takes time to build.

lastresort

I think it may affect a number of things. Firstly, overseas investors may take this news negatively (afterall it is the largest if not second largest listed developer). Instead of opening up the economy, the government is investing and controlling privately owned companies. Merging some of these companies, reducing competition.

Think about UEM land and Setia dominating the property industry in Johor, cyberjaya, putrajaya, Eastern & Oriental Bhd in Penang, BRDB in KL, Sunrise in KL (mount kiara, duatamas, hartamas), UDA land, Sime Darby, UM land.

cathylmg

I think it may affect a number of things. Firstly, overseas investors may take this news negatively (afterall it is the largest if not second largest listed developer). Instead of opening up the economy, the government is investing and controlling privately owned companies. Merging some of these companies, reducing competition.

Think about UEM land and Setia dominating the property industry in Johor, cyberjaya, putrajaya, Eastern & Oriental Bhd in Penang, BRDB in KL, Sunrise in KL (mount kiara, duatamas, hartamas), UDA land, Sime Darby, UM land.

If they can take down 1, it means that they can take down anyone.... Not a very good sign for us investors....

arsenal

The toll free road is the new coastal highway that is being discussed..

Hi Guys

Is there any way to go Bt Indah without paying the tolls from first link ?
I remembered few mths ago , i went thru small road , I dun have to pay a single toll.
Seems like now to and fro have to pay tolls already.

Thanks

Investor

After sunrise, Gamuda, Island & Peninsular Bhd, Petaling Garden Bhd, Pelangi Bhd, Eastern & Oriental Bhd are all nationalised, now another giant developer is soon to be nationalised. :mad:

PNB offers RM3.90 a share for SP Setia takeover

http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/business/article/pnb-offers-rm3.90-a-share-for-sp-setia-takeover/

PNB offers to take over SP Setia

http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/business/article/pnb-offers-to-take-over-sp-setia/

if the takeover is successful, what kind of implications does it have for buyers then? I wonder

If they can take down 1, it means that they can take down anyone.... Not a very good sign for us investors....

Hi Lastresort and Cathylmg,

Care to share your views in more details?
I see it as something good to our present properties investment in Iskandar instead.

Aisanbo

I see it as something good to our present properties investment in Iskandar instead.

That's what I felt too. If government owns SP Setia, wouldn't it mean they are bullish on the property market in Iskandar . And they would tend to develop infrastructure to boost the SP SEtia developments, etc....So its good for SP Setia home buyers. On the other hand, government can now control prices and supply of new launches.

lastresort

Maybe I looked into the fundamental of the economy, the long term prospects. Many sensitive issues internally (the cronism and songlaps), but to foreigners like us, we are more concerned about fair investment opportunities. I'm taking a more macro view of the economy and not just looking at the purchase of our properties in certain developments. For the economy to be more efficient, there should be more competition, opening up of sectors, fair and transparent tender of contracts, i.e. the government shouldn't be inward looking.

From what I've gathered, UEM Group used to be a private company owned by a minority group. It did not have developer background, but its subsidiary UEM Land managed to become the master developer of Nusajaya, and subsequently acquired a more established well known developer.

Gamuda was also a private company that is now linked to an influential royal family, it is now able to clinch infrastructure contracts one after another.

These are probably the factors investors (major investors like Temasek) would consider when deciding whether or not to invest in this economy, their investments will bring about higher value added jobs and higher income. :wink:

euphony

You are so environment friendly, i see all those ang moh staying in humongous houses in the west. Recently i watched this BBC decor show and they featured one normal (i.e not extra rich) couple with a child staying in this humongous house in the UK non-urban area. Everything is huge and open. The view is perfect, no neighbour in sight! Where to find such house in Asia? So far only see some in south Taiwan.

wow very good for kids play hide and seek can take the whole day as there's just too many places to hide.

euphony

From HH's exit, I drove into Coaster Highway illegally and headed towards Nusajaya. On the Coaster highway, you'll see that the road further ahead has been blocked, preventing access to Nusajaya. But as you drive closer, you'll find that it's a fake barrier as you can actually drive in a zig zag manner thru the barriers and reach Nusajaya.
Be very careful of the construction trucks if you're trying this route which is still under construction.

was using the coastal highway earlier, I did notice an opening through the barriers to continue on at the bukit indah exit. I also saw a car or two continuing up the bridge onwards. and i was just wondering if its 'soft launch'...

euphony

Maybe I looked into the fundamental of the economy, the long term prospects. Many sensitive issues internally (the cronism and songlaps), but to foreigners like us, we are more concerned about fair investment opportunities. I'm taking a more macro view of the economy and not just looking at the purchase of our properties in certain developments. For the economy to be more efficient, there should be more competition, opening up of sectors, fair and transparent tender of contracts, i.e. the government shouldn't be inward looking.

agree. look at internet broadband for example, obvious government monopoly until recently. the quality and the per byte costs pale in comparison to sg even thou my is a bigger market altogether.

Status
Not open for further replies.