• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Status
Not open for further replies.

euphony

Then what if you turn your back and he poke his needle on you?

no le, i liken it'll be a starring contest, never break eye contact and until he leaves the scene. never turn back towards the perpetrator. e.g. when lions/tigers fight back down facing the 'enemy'.

toyohon

cathy quite a tossup really. going to popular ones at least have a chance of authorities trying to catch illegal pumpers therefore they can see for themselves what is happening with such cases even if crime rate is high. further ones may be a bit too isolated for comfort in terms of low traffic...

Of course I am not suggesting that you go find the most remote of petrol stations deep inside some kampongs. Those around your tamans would be good enough?

aangsc

welcome! I'm also new to this forum, but sadly only hangyong replied to my first post yesterday. Maybe I should introduce myself more.

I've been travelling around Iskandar with my parents over the last 3 years since my parents bought their first home in Horizon Hills. It was love at first sight for our family. We would not have enjoyed this life if not for my father who insisted and nagged my mom to go there and take a look. He had nagged her for more than 6 months (actually more than that, probably 2 years) to check out developments like Sutera Utama and other older developments. They would often quarrel because it seemed impossible for her to ever live in a place she's afraid to go.

And eventually she was kinda forced to go there and have a look because she is the kind who is so negative about the area and also the kind you cannot persuade and change her mind.

At last they went there, and it all changed when she first entered the Horizon Hills Golf and Country Club and saw the scenery and green. That very night she could not sleep. It was the first time she is so excited about wanting to buy a new home, what more a home in a place she would never want to go. We have been going around Singapore to look for a new home for years and she has always complained about this and that. But when they were there, everything seems so perfect. They didn't feel like they were in Johor, a place where they have heard many negative stories, about the poor security, about abandoned projects. It felt like some resort estate in a country far from here.

I have to say we were quite lucky my mom got a very good first impression of the place. Had we not gone there, things would be very different now. The first step out to a foreign land seems so important to us, we chose the right path and direction. We eventually discovered more great places (EL, LF, etc) to visit.

And after that night, they did not think much, and drove in again a few times to check out the area and finally got a home there. Since then, we have been travelling there every week, we watched our home built from scratch. Bukit Indah and the surrounding townships have suddenly mushroomed and we witnessed all the rapid changes. There wasn't Jusco, Tesco, or even Giant in Bukit Indah/Bestari, not that I know what Jusco or Tesco were.

Just recently, we bought our second unit in HH. It's a new chapter in our lives and we are watching the unit been built like a new baby growing. I can strongly feel my relationship with my parents have grown so much stronger because we are enjoying all the good times together. :smile:

We have also met many happy families there. Just like many of us here who are full of excitement and energy despite the rare occasions when something bad happens.

This is just so great!

That's a nice story and I am sure eveyone has a story to share ! If your parent has bought in 2008, that is about the same as mine. I went to see Ledang height first but did not commit and I think until today it is still not so develop. I tagged along with a total stranger from another forum to HH and he was there to sign on dotted line. Well I was also impressed , the next trip I pull my wife and kids . The rest was history. Of course many sleepless nights after that , wondering if the developer is still going to be around the next trip. It has been a enjoyable experience and journey of explorations over the causeway, that alone has occupied many of my weekends which would have been boring if spend in SG.

austin_hts

Wondering if the announcement to be made in Jun is Temasek's investment ...

No setback in investments to Iskandar M'sia
2011/05/22 By Shahrum Sayuthi
http://www.nst.com.my/nst/articles/2iskdr/Article/

The RM90 million campus is the first Newcastle University campus outside UK.
— Pictures by Hairul Anuar Abd Rahim

ISKANDAR Investment Bhd (IIB) has rubbished reports which suggested that foreign direct investment (FDI) from Singapore to the Iskandar Malaysia will be reduced following the republic's recent election results.

IIB president Datuk Syed Mohamed Syed Ibrahim said the close ties between the governments of Malaysia and Singapore and their commitment to work together for mutual benefit will ensure no setback in the momentum of investments coming from the republic to the development corridor.

He said Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak and his Singaporean counterpart Lee Hsien Loong are scheduled to meet next month where they will among others make an announcement which will be significant for Iskandar Malaysia.

"I cannot disclose what it (the announcement) is going to be, but the effect will definitely be positive," said Syed Mohamed after a media briefing on the new campus of Newcastle University Medicine Malaysia (NUMed) in Nusajaya near here recently.

He added that it was baffling that certain quarters could perceive the Singapore election results, where the ruling People's Action Party (PAP) suffered some setbacks, as having a negative impact on the progress of investment in Iskandar Malaysia.

"I just do not understand how the perception of negative impact was established," he said.

IIB oversees the development of approximately 3,900ha of strategically located properties in Iskandar Malaysia.

Provectus managing principal Sreedhara Naidu was quoted in a recent report as saying that the Singapore election, which saw PAP losing 40 per cent of the votes, meant that Malaysia's dependence on Singapore's FDIs, particularly in Iskandar Malaysia could also see a slight fall within the next three to four years as the island republic looks more inward in terms of investments.

Provectus was described as a performance transformation specialist which has advised Iskandar Malaysia, the Economic Planning Unit, the Prime Minister's Department on the Economic Transformation Programme, Government Transformation Programme, Sabah and Sarawak Bumiputera development and other programmes.

At the media briefing, Education@Iskandar Sdn Bhd, a member company of Iskandar Investment Group announced the completion of development of the NUMed campus in EduCity which will be opened for students in September.

The RM90 million campus is the first Newcastle University campus outside the United Kingdom.

Education@Iskandar chief executive officer Khairil Anuar Ahmad said NUMed Malaysia will complement the growth of Iskandar Malaysia's healthcare sector which includes the Columbia Asia Hospital, Nusajaya in Afiat Healthpark and Gleneagles Medicine Hospital in Medini Lifestyle, as well as the upcoming wellness township jointly developed by Khazanah Nasional and Singapore Temasik Holdings.

Provost and chief executive officer of NUMed, Professor Reg Jordan said Newcastle University had made a strategic decision to establish its first Asian campus here as education and healthcare sectors in the region are thriving.

"Our aim is to provide a cost-effective medical programme which will meet the needs of our students and the regional health economy, and translate the benefits of our academic endeavour for the benefit of Malaysia and the region," he said.

Other campuses which are already taking shape in Educity are those of Netherlands Maritime Institute of Technology, University of Southampton, and Marlborough College which are scheduled for completion next year.

Educity is the education hub of Iskandar Malaysia, comprising world-class multi-university campuses, international schools and colleges, as well as recreational facilities and accommodation for over 20,000 students.

cathylmg

Each and everyone of us here has a story to tell. Depends on whether we ask. So I would like to ask for an introduction from all newbies that comes here. We would like to hear your story. :smile:

austin_hts

Application for Newcastle University Medicine Malaysia is opened for Sep 11 in-take. Good for those who want to study medicine, but cannot get a place in NUS.
But need to check whether and when the degree will be recognised by the Singapore Medical Council.

http://www.ncl.ac.uk/numed/

Extracted some info for easy reference :

How to Apply - Entry 2011
Application for the MB BS programme is free and is now open for the September 2011 intake. Places are limited, but if you already meet the entry requirements or are forecast to meet them by mid-August 2011, then please complete and submit an application form.

Fees
The comprehensive tuition fee for the academic session 2011–12 is set at RM90,000.

Entry Requirements
A-Level. Applicants wishing to be considered with A levels are normally required to achieve 15 points at H2 (A=5; B=4; C=3; D=2; E=1). Subjects should include Chemistry and/or Biology at H2 or H1 level. Normally we take the three highest ‘A’ level grades offered, however further consideration may be given to additional academic achievement.

aangsc

Has Temasek or SG GLC invested anything in Iskandar ? Any idea from anyone? As far as I know nothing concrete from SG side, although the talk is still on about wellness center .

aangsc

Application for Newcastle University Medicine Malaysia is opened for Sep 11 in-take. Good for those who want to study medicine, but cannot get a place in NUS.
But need to check whether and when the degree will be recognised by the Singapore Medical Council.

http://www.ncl.ac.uk/numed/

Extracted some info for easy reference :

How to Apply - Entry 2011
Application for the MB BS programme is free and is now open for the September 2011 intake. Places are limited, but if you already meet the entry requirements or are forecast to meet them by mid-August 2011, then please complete and submit an application form.

Fees
The comprehensive tuition fee for the academic session 2011–12 is set at RM90,000.

Entry Requirements
A-Level. Applicants wishing to be considered with A levels are normally required to achieve 15 points at H2 (A=5; B=4; C=3; D=2; E=1). Subjects should include Chemistry and/or Biology at H2 or H1 level. Normally we take the three highest ‘A’ level grades offered, however further consideration may be given to additional academic achievement.

Is degree recongnised in SG ? Would be scarry after spending a few hundreds thousand ringgit and can only practice in Nusajaya.

jasonjst

Went to KSL last weekend. Very impressed and I like the concept. Fully integrated with shopping mall. Sales person brought us to look at the units on 7th & 8th floor (despite building still under construction). Unblock views from high floors facing Spore/City) will be fantastic. Studio unit at RM360K (533 sq ft, 12 flr, facing west unblock, fully furnished with air-con/beds/tables/cabinets). Pay 10% (i.e. RM36K). 8% GRR on RM360 for 3 yrs (i.e. less 24% x RM360K). Hence, progress payment on RM360K - RM36K - RM86.4K = RM237.6K

Originally Posted by 2bfree2b

Pardon me, but wat is GRR scheme? Actually, I find that this location quite good becos it is quite near to CIQ. I dont mind staying there. But still abit skeptical abt this part of JB city. It seems that ksl city condo comes with a 4 tier security. Sounds impressive. It might be an alternative for me since most of the condo developments in Nusajaya will be only completed in a few years.....And most of it are booked.

You are a Malaysian ? Singaporean cannot buy anything below 500K right ?

euphony

welcome! I'm also new to this forum, but sadly only hangyong replied to my first post yesterday. Maybe I should introduce myself more.

am so happy to read about your story. to the rest of the readers do come on in to pitch your stories like cathy mentioned! =)
it could be a learning point for everyone. Also beg your pardon for some of your posts missed. Because the board moves very fast, those who have clocked <20 posts (I think?) will have to wait for moderator. when they do turn up it could be a few pages back already. Repost them if you need the info. Because the board contains massive amounts of info some of the things may have been previously discussed and answered. You can go to the top right of the forum click search thread and click advanced search and type in key terms and work from there. Love to hear more stories keep them coming!

2bFree

Hmm..having some issues applying for fixed broadband at HH.

Am currently using Digi's wireless 3G broadband but running only on EDGE due to poor coverage in HH at a speed of 238kbps.

Have attempted to appy for TM Streamyx but differing views from TM staff has left me confused. The counter staff at TM branch at Kulai told me that HH does not have a fixed line network while calling TM hot line told me they can only check if Streamyx is available if I have a fixed line. Hmm...I know the terrace has phone jacks so I am naturally assuming there is fixed line support? Or where can I go to get a clearer picture?

Any assistance from people who have applied for fixed broadband line? Thanks! :smile:

austin_hts

Oh, sales person said they will reflect sale price of RM501K, but give more 'discount' so you essentially pay base on RM360K gross. The disadvantage is that stamp duty is based on sale price of RM501K.

And yes, higher floors bigger units will be >RM500K.

You are a Malaysian ? Singaporean cannot buy anything below 500K right ?

Grago

The rates I got to day 1613 hrs. at Taman Perling money changer is 2.435. Money Changer is JB Central. Big red sign next to the Maybank. I think they also have a branch at Bukit Indah. I spoke to a Ms Loh.

jasonjst

Greetings all, I have been following this thread from the beginning, and kudos and thanks to all those who've learnt and shared selflessly. The appeal of moving to JB is clear to all, and with limited downsides, the pros seem to outweigh the cons.

However, I'd like to ask an interesting hypothetical question, which I am not sure has been asked before, but here goes:

If you could afford to stay in Singapore, would you still move to Johor?

When I say "could afford" I mean you can pay up your primary residence (whatever type, before retirement) and have enough income to cover your needs, plus you project that retirement by a decent age is still achievable.

I hope those who've made the move or are considering the move, can shed some light as to how they might think, assuming they could achieve financial independence in Singapore. In other words, would the scale still tip in the same direction.

Any replies are much appreciated, and many thanks in advance.

Pleb.

Well , if I strike TOTO of 2 million SG dollars now , I will still choose to stay here in JB , maybe ungrade to a higher range of house thats all ! Once you fall in love in this place , you wont like to move back to SG liao !
Just my view.

29ers

Well , if I strike TOTO of 2 million SG dollars now , I will still choose to stay here in JB , maybe ungrade to a higher range of house thats all ! Once you fall in love in this place , you wont like to move back to SG liao !
Just my view.

I like your quote, i use this a lot. I always tell my friends, buy the things u like, make sure that even if u were a millionaire, you would still buy it.

On another note, a couple of weeks ago, my son fell sick (rashes whole body) at midnight, was forced to decide if i was to rush back to SG to see a Dr or to try something local, thanks to this forum, i decided to give Columbia Hospital a try. To sum it up, the experience was good, we arrived there took us less then 10mins to see the Dr and most of all the price was reasonable (RM140). 2 thumbs up to the Hospital.

Cheers

jasonjst

Oh, sales person said they will reflect sale price of RM501K, but give more 'discount' so you essentially pay base on RM360K gross. The disadvantage is that stamp duty is based on sale price of RM501K.

And yes, higher floors bigger units will be >RM500K.

I see ! But might have problem if you want to resale to foreigner . Just feel that for a small flat of 533sq ft , is quite ex leh !

29ers

do they have 24x7 service for doctor and emergency ?
Look rather quiet from outside.

Hi Aangsc,

I actually called before i went down, they have a Dr on standby 24hrs, i think the Dr duties are just to access the situation. If he/she can settle it then no issues but if they can't settle it, my understanding is that they will call the specialist to come in to attend to you but they did not say how long the turn around time would be.

This was quoted by the guy over the telephone.

Cheers

Status
Not open for further replies.