• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Analytical Professor

so many configurations and colours of bead and so many numbers.

dunno which one is best

yea! and they are the cheapest i can find around. jusco has something similar at almost double the price.

i use the greenish blue ones. i agree they really induces a growth spurt.

if you don't mind me being gross, get your children to pee on it. free and works the same way its the nitrogen, phosphate and potassium that drives growth and pee has no lack of that plus more =D

mallow

Good idea! Mmore pressure from the mass media should help..
Folks, while I fully agree with the sentiments, may I advise sensitivity in this vitally important matter?
This is not our country, we are guests. True we are heavily invested financially and our lives and assets are at stake - but we came into this with eyes wide open.
It is not that citizens and many people in officialdom are not aware and disgusted - I have spoken to many up and down the peninsular. And every time the matter of Singaporeans' and foreigners' lack of interest because of security is brought up, I have seen the frustration and apology from many Malaysians.
Nonetheless, caution in criticism and finger-pointing is advisable.
You may know, of course, that many of the criminals are Singaporean? And that we have plenty of unreported crime at home? With a single theft over here blown up in the Spore media?
Certainly a steady barrage of factual objections to the situation should have some effect. And it has improved somewhat, so I am told by Johorians.
Can we consider this soberly and act in a polite, determined way that helps rather than creates antagonism? It is the criminals that are to be targeted, and it is more helpful to make it clear that that is the aim, not present a superior and irritating Singaporean front.
Note that there is said to be 2 million illegal Indonesians [one in Johor state alone], who pass in and out of the country at will - the problem is huge and the last time Malaysia did something about it there was an unreasonable reaction from Indonesia ... it is complicated.

ArtIsEverywhere

Shall we start with a simple introduction of yourself?
Hi Cathylmg,
Yeah sure....I am a not local johorian but from KL but working in singapore so i am considered not local here hehe. Let me know if you want to learn a bit Malay or anything malaysian....i glad to explain. Just want to know more people here in this unfamiliar land. And hey you are vegetarian right? I have eaten in one vegetarian shop in Perling near a temple. Will let you know the shopname(forget) when i pay a visit next time...the food is good and cheap. Price range around local kopitiam economy rice(non vege)type. got chizar too.

Welcome. Just curious which HH precinct are you in ? Gateway or Golf ? I am sure you will enjoy the better air and peacefulness there. I am just a Gateway weekender ....just like the red car plate; turn up on weekends !
Hi Aangsc,
Bought in Gateway....Great we are at the same precinct. Another neighbor i know from here hahah....You are welcome to drop by when i get stuff done over the next 3 to 4 months.Yeah getting excited as to live there...one with the nature...that's the slogan for HH. Guess have to try it out the air and peacefulness there.Can't wait.

am very happy there is existence of this forum to bring all of us together to discuss various aspects of living in JB I can only forsee it getting bigger with an ever more vibrant community just in here alone in fact so much so that we will be finding our neighbors (or to be neighbors) here! Imagine asking your neighbor for extra salt on the forum =D
Hi Euphony,
Yeah it's a good place to meet up like minded people here who is far from their comfort land. Love the site you share (1rice100lives) which i have browse through and read every single one...time flies and i guess i am enjoying it. I find it inspiring and refreshing to see blogs like this.Are you the site owner?If yes please continue the good work.Have a nice day.

Folks, while I fully agree with the sentiments, may I advise sensitivity in this vitally important matter?
This is not our country, we are guests. True we are heavily invested financially and our lives and assets are at stake - but we came into this with eyes wide open.
It is not that citizens and many people in officialdom are not aware and disgusted - I have spoken to many up and down the peninsular. And every time the matter of Singaporeans' and foreigners' lack of interest because of security is brought up, I have seen the frustration and apology from many Malaysians.
You may know, of course, that many of the criminals are Singaporean? And that we have plenty of unreported crime at home? With a single theft over here blown up in the Spore media?
Certainly a steady barrage of factual objections to the situation should have some effect. And it has improved somewhat, so I am told by Johorians.
Can we consider this soberly and act in a polite, determined way that helps rather than creates antagonism? It is the criminals that are to be targeted, and it is more helpful to make it clear that that is the aim, not present a superior and irritating Singaporean front.
Note that there is said to be 2 million illegal Indonesians [one in Johor state alone], who pass in and out of the country at will - the problem is huge and the last time Malaysia did something about it there was an unreasonable reaction from Indonesia ... it is complicated.

Oops I think you're right, on second thought better keep it low profile lest it become miscontrued as a Singaporean thing, although I don't think there was any intention for it to be a Singaporean vs Malaysian issue in the first place...

maxpark

Dear Wuqi, et al,

For you and many of the folks here who own several Malaysian properties for rental income and investments, what are the tax issues that you have faced?
I assume some/most of you folks still pay your income taxes in Singapore... so how do you square this with your Malaysian rental incomes?
Sorry, I'm quite lost when it comes to these tax matters as its always done by the wifey but for this Malaysian part, she is equally clueless.
I dont want to run afoul of any legal matters or the law, so would appreciate some advice.

Can elaborate in detail?

Thanks.
Max

contra

This is just a suggestion, you know that reporter that came up with that article on Iskandar living several weeks back, get in touch with her, I think, and let her know. She might just do a follow-up piece and would be picked up by the National papers here, the authorities would surely look into this as these incidents are definetly a PR nightmare, especially when the govt. Is putting in a lot of money to attract investment to Nusajaya. Would hurt image if a foreign investor, be the person a Singaporean or an expat, was to be seriously hurt in a theft that went wrong.

I agree with mallow that the benefit of doing so is not obvious enough. The last thing to do is to call in SPH reporters. Recently the car that got 'attacked by mob' was used during the elections period. Perhaps time to consider buying the proton or perodua to go along with the local house as a necessity to blend in.

But I could not help thinking about raffles tiger's experience of being picked pocketed by the Indons in the bus. What made him stand out? Is it the clothing? Or a random event?

Is there a channel to write in or suggestion box for the Iskandar authorities? I recall jasonjst's comment that they work with police to address official police report lodgements? Surely they must be reading these posts? Anyone ever met with MMSH authorities?

contra

Last Friday visited HSBC Bukit Indah next to Giant for my loan arrangements follow up. While there I saw an English gentleman (lecturer/administrator) doing his banking arrangements with a bank officer . From the papers he was carrying, he was from the Newcastle University Medical faculty. It striked me, all these talks are turning real right now. On way back to Singapore, went to check out Nusajaya exit and made the loop to the Gelang Patah exit (East Ledang). The road has a detour and was forced onto a small but real stretch of the Coastal Highway. It was quite exciting experiencing something that I have only seen as dotted lines in maps. The software and hardware are coming already and tipping point on target... more Singaporeans & expats should draw even more security & police attention.

singaporeplebian

Greetings all, I have been following this thread from the beginning, and kudos and thanks to all those who've learnt and shared selflessly. The appeal of moving to JB is clear to all, and with limited downsides, the pros seem to outweigh the cons.

However, I'd like to ask an interesting hypothetical question, which I am not sure has been asked before, but here goes:

If you could afford to stay in Singapore, would you still move to Johor?

When I say "could afford" I mean you can pay up your primary residence (whatever type, before retirement) and have enough income to cover your needs, plus you project that retirement by a decent age is still achievable.

I hope those who've made the move or are considering the move, can shed some light as to how they might think, assuming they could achieve financial independence in Singapore. In other words, would the scale still tip in the same direction.

Any replies are much appreciated, and many thanks in advance.

Pleb.

aangsc

Agree with you . Be humble as guest and let's blow this out of proportion. I am sure they are doing something about it but maybe not at the speed that Singaporean are expecting. Given the high exposure of Nusajaya in the international arena, they have more to lose than us guests' resident.
I recall with embarrassment during a session of defect submission , a fellow resident from M'sia complainted so loudly that the maintenance team seem to be treating singaporean case faster and question if our Sing $ is better than M'sia ringgit. My fear is that when we make our too demanding in mudland, our stay will no longer be welcome, somewhat like us complaining about FT in Sg !

RafflesTiger

I agree with mallow that the benefit of doing so is not obvious enough. The last thing to do is to call in SPH reporters. Recently the car that got 'attacked by mob' was used during the elections period. Perhaps time to consider buying the proton or perodua to go along with the local house as a necessity to blend in.

But I could not help thinking about raffles tiger's experience of being picked pocketed by the Indons in the bus. What made him stand out? Is it the clothing? Or a random event?

Is there a channel to write in or suggestion box for the Iskandar authorities? I recall jasonjst's comment that they work with police to address official police report lodgements? Surely they must be reading these posts? Anyone ever met with MMSH authorities?

I am chinese... I look very simple, dress very simple and there is no way for them to know I am Singaporean just by looking at me... But they can tell I am chinese for sure..

cathylmg

there are increasing reports of people going around with 'AIDs' needles at petrol stations. I saw a potentially effective solution post on mcf. To grab the petrol nozzle and threaten to douse the person in petrol. I now carry a lighter on me. In case i encounter such cases. Also use your car's glass reflection to observe the environment around you as you pump watching out for approaching persons from time to time.

euphony, I suggested this to my hubby and he said that the whole petrol station will caught fire if you do that. LOL!

InformedHH

Malaysia ranked world's 10th largest consumer of alcohol

Kuala Lumpur (The Star/ANN) - Malaysia has been named by the World Health Organisation (WHO) as the world's 10th largest consumer of alcohol despite its small population and size.

Statistics by the international body this year also showed that Malaysians spent over US$500mil on alcohol with a per capita consumption of seven litres.
Beer consumption in Malaysia is 11 litres per capita.

Deputy Women, Family and Community Development Minister Heng Seai Kie said the problem of alcohol consumption in the country was getting serious.
"Alcohol is not only causing a lot of health issues but is also contributing to a significant number of accidents," she said here yesterday.
Heng was speaking to reporters after launching booklets and seminars on

"Promote Healthy lifestyle: Reduce Alcohol Harm" organised by the Kuala Lumpur and Selangor Chinese Assembly Hall (KLSCAH) and supported by IOGT International, a worldwide community of non-governmental organisations, and the National Association of the Prevention of Drug Abuse (Pemadam).
She said the ministry, through the National Population and Family Development Board, would hold a campaign to create awareness on the danger of alcohol abuse.

She said 10 seminars would be held nationwide this year.
They would be conducted in Mandarin, Malay, English and Tamil and were aimed mostly at those from the Chinese and Indian communities, which had a high alcohol abuse rate.

"The public has to understand that alcohol is not part of our culture and it will bring harm if it is abused," she said.

Earlier, in his speech, KLSCAH secretary-general Yong Yew Wei said the Road Safety Council estimated that drinking and driving caused 30% of road accidents nationwide, with 38% of these resulting in fatalities.

"A study also shows that absenteeism from workplace among alcoholics is 16 times higher than others," he said, adding that non-governmental bodies played a vital role in promoting a healthy lifestyle.

2bFree

Very well said. I think we all have to take responsibility by not painting ourselves as easy targets. We take security for granted in SG but have to be more careful abroad.

I find it wise to park closer to crowded areas although got to walk more and ensure no bags/cases/laptops or anything that looks valuable is kept out in the open. It is also good to dress simply and ditch the high-and-mighty attitude that SGporeans adopt when overseas. Yes our currency is strong and our money goes a lot further in MY but there is no need to exclaim loudly that things are cheap and have that smug and holier-than-thou mentality when speaking to locals. It is a truly ugly trait that I have seen very frequently. You can normally spot a SGporean from afar based on mannerisms!

toyohon

The natural reaction when one is in a familiar or perceived "safe" location/environment, would be to let your guard down. Popular petrol stations just around CIQ/2nd link will draw Singaporeans especially those whose main purpose is just to top up. Criminals looking for "rich" and easy targets would naturally ambush their prey around these places. So, either you open all eyes or avoid crowding these stations, and for those who know their way around JB, try to top up at other stations instead of adding themselves to the criminals' list of targets.

cathylmg

Which do you think has a higher rate of crime? Popular petrol station near the customs or the next one down the road which has less people going there? Can have your views please?

euphony

Which do you think has a higher rate of crime? Popular petrol station near the customs or the next one down the road which has less people going there? Can have your views please?

cathy quite a tossup really. going to popular ones at least have a chance of authorities trying to catch illegal pumpers therefore they can see for themselves what is happening with such cases even if crime rate is high. further ones may be a bit too isolated for comfort in terms of low traffic...

Status
Not open for further replies.