• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Desmond Kuek - Leadership Failure

Have to disagree with you on this. Do agree that we have practitioners of the "velvet glove" in our hierarchy but this is poorly coordinated and executed if ever there was a plan.

Very sloppy. Why meet the PRC driver in the dorm and obviously the posed photo giving the impression of serious empathy while one third of the staff were going to detained.

What about talking to his customers - the ones who pay for his services - the ones who were inconvenienced - the ones that will rate him. This is common sense.

This guy is "velvet glove, iron fist" type. He was probably in some "war room" with the other minyons like TY Lui and CH Teo. What we are seeing is all scripted.

enterprise2

Let me say that I continue to be surprised. Usually a broken organsiation will learn from their failure. Maybe I am too optimistic.

Why r u still surprised?? The whole gahment has been in shambles for some time now. HDB screwed up by not building enough flats and now have to pay a massive catchup, our home team chiefs more interested in blow jobs than your jobs, and ..SMRT. Ah...what can I say about this organisation that has not been said yet!!

Thick Face Black Heart

What more can we say about the quality of leadership in the SAF & Singapore Inc and Singapore leaders in general?

Just look at how many ministers come from the military and then look at their caliber.

Speaks volumes. They have scraped the barrel, and now cutting out the wood.

Actually there are outstanding leaders in the civil service and society is such that there are bound to be good leaders. Do agree that the system and culture over the years has evolved to such a state that it is indeed taboo to acknowledge adverse events.

This is an excellent opportunity to sack this bugger, send a clear message to all those highly salaried arseholes to pick up their game and serve the nation.

People must be laughing at us. We got a Malaysian with bad hairdo that screwed what was once an iconic transportation structure and now an army chief who can't even instill confidence.

Comments about opening lines of communications - that is cardinal in an army. You certainly do not want to fire on your own men.

Scroob we all know for long time liao, acknowledgement of any fault is taboo sure jeopardize their salary and even very existence, so don't even expect this to happen.

I heard this comment a number of times over the years. My sense is that it is not penalised but that Type A personality traits are not rewarded. Thus they lean to damage control, not taking on or avoiding tasks and responsibility that might have career impact. We are unlikely to see Bogaars, Pillay, Sim etc.

Imagine a cabinet minister Khaw who came out confidently to state that the foldable bicycles purchases were above board. If Netizens had not done a detailed CSI, these morons would not have a clue. Why did it need a Netizen to do the expose. No manufacturers guarantee???

The Singapore system severely penalizes Type A personalities, even in the military where it should thrive.

watchman8

Just look at how many ministers come from the military and then look at their caliber.

Speaks volumes. They have scraped the barrel, and now cutting out the wood.
I see it differently. This is a reflection of the failed talent training program since the first president scholar. The confirmed rapid promotion, cosy assignments, sending them for many years of post grad studies, special career protection from the very top etc. have created a unique class of "leaders".

Just look at pinky, TCH, LTY, TCJ, kee Chiu etc. which of them inspire you? Which of them gives you the confidence of leadership? None, not because they did not have the potential when they were young, but because they never had to fight their way up and demonstrate real capability. Their career path is laid out at 18 years old, and all they had to do is show up and know how to suck the right cock.

M

Mdm Tang

Can you imagine how frustrated he is feeling now? Two of his former subordinates are above him, and TCJ probably made him stand at corner of conference room during the crisis committee meeting.

but DK is the one laughing to the Bank.

my guesstimate At least S$2m per years

with Stock Options and Executive Perks throw in :smile:

M

Mdm Tang

his monthly compensation alone can bank roll hundreds of Sporean bus drivers

at S$4k per mth :(

That he did not deem it fit to cancel his holiday to Hawaii speaks volume.
For all the money he is making, he does not even have the class to 'waste' his holiday expenses by taking the first flight back.
Instead, he left it to one even more uninspiring insipid-looking auntie-like (salary $500K) to take the shit.

Bro, this is classic gaming. Nearly every one of our chaps have topped classes in various US run courses. Note the female Artillery Capt who topped the class in the US where participants came from all over.

Topping the class is a tick in the box. It is easier to quantify.

Maybe they should use the SMRT incident as a case study in Harvard. Frankly an average senior manager would have known what to do after the crisis exploded.

If my memory serves me well, I recall that he was first in the Battalion Tactics Course.
May be he did not apply what he learned from the various case studies at Harvard?

... Imagine a cabinet minister Khaw who came out confidently to state that the foldable bicycles purchases were above board. If Netizens had not done a detailed CSI, these morons would not have a clue ...
wat type a type b? ... tis burger juz evryting oso open his blahdy mouth n say tings 2 make himself rook goot ... tok as if he noes evryting ... tok like anyting dat he has done is correct n bestest ... his kind of character is very prevalen in sinkielan ... usu dey haf li'l in btwin their ears ... n r goot conmen ...

Thick Face Black Heart

I see it differently. This is a reflection of the failed talent training program since the first president scholar. The confirmed rapid promotion, cosy assignments, sending them for many years of post grad studies, special career protection from the very top etc. have created a unique class of "leaders".

Just look at pinky, TCH, LTY, TCJ, kee Chiu etc. which of them inspire you? Which of them gives you the confidence of leadership? None, not because they did not have the potential when they were young, but because they never had to fight their way up and demonstrate real capability. Their career path is laid out at 18 years old, and all they had to do is show up and know how to suck the right cock.

The scholarship selection process is fair enough, but scholars should not be given a free ride and an iron rice bowl just because they did well in ECAs and "A" levels/"S" papers. A kid at 18 years old may have loads of potential but he still needs to prove it when he gets out into the real world and works with real people, crafts policies that affect REAL families, etc. You're right .... all these people have the red carpet laid out for them since young and they grow up without having had their feet put to the scorching fire.

Leaders are made, not born. Mollycoddling a scholar all the way up is not going to produce many capable leaders. Even those who are capable ... their ranks are dwindling over the years due to emigration, etc. Terrific brain drain.

oppoibchief

PAP created a system to perpetuate their power. As long as they hold large majority of seats, all the dirty tricks and tactics will be well covered up. Sillyporeans continue to be cheated and lied to on the guise of Scholars who have been roped to perpetuate the "dont rock the boat mentality" with high salaries.

If you are a scholar been paid 2m a year, would you rock the boat?

Even a George Yeo wouldnt after losing Ajunied!

A cancelled holiday to attend a company crisis is fully reimbursable including for the civil service. This is nothing new. He should part the buttcheeks of the lay Singaporean to find his answers.

For all the money he is making, he does not even have the class to 'waste' his holiday expenses by taking the first flight back.
Instead, he left it to one even more uninspiring insipid-looking auntie-like (salary $500K) to take the shit.

Spot on. Imagine TCJ who had his PD rating done by Desmond Kuek teaching him to open his lines of communication.

Can you imagine how frustrated he is feeling now? Two of his former subordinates are above him, and TCJ probably made him stand at corner of conference room during the crisis committee meeting.

Thick Face Black Heart

PAP created a system to perpetuate their power. As long as they hold large majority of seats, all the dirty tricks and tactics will be well covered up. Sillyporeans continue to be cheated and lied to on the guise of Scholars who have been roped to perpetuate the "dont rock the boat mentality" with high salaries.

If you are a scholar been paid 2m a year, would you rock the boat?

Even a George Yeo wouldnt after losing Ajunied!

Good angle.

The problem with the establishment/ political elite is focus only on leadership succession at the very top echelons, but LACK of proper system to talent grooming, putting people through the fire, encouraging character development and risk taking, instilling the right values and mindsets, etc.

It is a system of patronage and cronyism, not a baptism of fire to throw out the good men/women. That's why they're scraping the bottom of the barrel now. VERY HEAVY PRICE.

oppoibchief

Its boardroom politics. That auntie is Saw's dog. he probably wants to get rid of her anyway and sacrifice her. Desmond Kuek probably never thought that the netizens were observing him instead!

M

Mdm Tang

Did he flies SIA ?

RSAF or SIA would have fixed it easy easy for Him .

Mon to Fri = 4 to 5 days to come back !