• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Living in JB 2 (Johore)

Status
Not open for further replies.

avalon74

Yes, usable and it works. Folks also tend to think you are local when you use a card. :smile:
For my car kit, i make it a standardized thing so i don't need to depend on others and avoid
tyre/jumpstart or tow services.

Being independant since young has its advantages at times.

Actually think most locals still use cash as MY credit cards is not given free & need to pay annual fees unlike Sg version where banks always offer free.. (Maybank is free for 10 yrs)

Maybe I am too dependent on recovery services.. the accident triangle & tire jackup gear was never touched since I purchased the car..

avalon74

I use BHP whenever possible but thats me. :smile:

One near Perling:
Perling Star
PTD 30504, Jalan Layang, Taman Perling, 81200 Johor

Just type in Johor. http://www.caltex.com/my/resources/station-finder/

Some quite far away:

BF Petro
Lot 7493, Mukim Pulai, Jalan Emas Putih 5, Taman Sri Skudai 81300 Skudai, Johor

Innovat Sdn Bhd
2, Jalan Pendekar 15, Taman Ungku Tun Aminah, 81300 Skudai, Johor

Kee Fatt Service Station Sdn Bhd
GM 679, Lot 1283, Mukim Pulai, Batu 8, Jalan Skudai, 81200 Johor Bahru, Johor

Koperasi Kakitangan Lembaga Pelabuhan Johor Berhad
PTD 9035, Kawasan Perindustrian Pelabuhan Johor Berhad, 81700 Pasir Gudang

The one I pump in Pelangi is ard 7km from causeway.. Pelangi Giant was my old jb shopping venue for milk powder till 2 yrs back..
Now I get all I need from BI since there is Tesco, Jusco, Giant & Carrefoure..

avalon74

Funny incident:
One time, a Kancil was trying to overtake my wife, there was such a loud roar from their engine and i was half expecting the Kancil to shoot pass us. Nothing though, after 10 seconds of heavy revving, it was still way behind us. After 20 seconds and a lot of roaring, my wife was still way ahead (still within legal speed limits)

Back then, my wife put out her hand and waved in a friendly manner to him to stop trying.

LOL... reminds me of a fren who did a cosmetic mod to have 2 fierce exhaust outlet which are not connected to existing exhaust system...

josh88

Went in to JB to survey the eastern part today and here are a two project info that I gathered.

1. Bayu Puteri Marina - located just before Permas Jaya bridge facing Ponderosa golf course. They have terrace (sold out), semi-Ds (1.3mil) and bungalows in future. Also a serviced apartment ($600 - $800K for 947 - 1406 sq ft) with GRR feature, 7% p.a for 5 years + 5 years. The apartment is meant to be rented out so unless you buy from 18 - 22 storey, you cannot stay there. Will rebate of about 5% off selling price.

2. Senibong Villas - Across the road from Senibong Cove but not the same developer. Only got about 104 semi-D units and supposedly 5 mins from a future MB Shopping Mall (like KSL City). Got two type, one 2,900 sq ft and another 3,300, starting at 1.1mil but after discount, rebate etc. about $960K plus another 40K move-in bonus. Prices expected to increase by Wed as they have met the 55% sales quota. Lady also mention that state consent fee is increasing soon but dunno when.

Found another way from Park View to Causeway and took us about about 40 mins with little jam to get back into Singapore. Spoke to sales rep and he told us that within Park View residents are mainly professionals and businessmen. So when I told him I want to buy and rent, he looked rather flabbergasted. Ha ha. But after second visit and scouting the location, we're more convinced that this is the place after comparing other locations and prices.

We may even enjoy the residence so much to consider commuting eventually. I feel like I am becoming half Johorean!! Now need to start scouting for loans.

Just wondering if you have surveyed the areas further north such as Austin Hts, Setia Tropika, Adda Hts & Setia Eco Cascadia . Lots of amenities nearby these areas & prices are not as high HH . Also with the imminent opening of the EDL travelling time would be significantly reduced to about 10mins from the Johor CIQ.

spidey

Guys and gals, is the EDL open to public?
I heard it was supposed to be open end feb, but some bros here says it's still not open to public yet...well it's been 2-3 weeks liao, so is it open?

edragon

For e touch n go card , u hv to use once a yr to keep it active. If deactivate u can just go to the office n refund.Never heard of rm10 will be deducted. Today rarely I spent my weekend in sg , just parking fees it's abt 20 bucks at town n east coast park in e evening ! I wish my jb house can complete this yr so that I can really enjoy e shopping n dinnings in shopping centers without paying so much for car parks!!

The RM10 should be deposit value for a new card if a new card is required. If only refund and new card is not required, it should not be deducted.

RafflesTiger

How do we 'up' someone's points?
Is it by adding to his reputation(star icon)?
I've just added IskandarRocks's reputation but his points still remains the same.
Or do I need more points myself in order to give points to others?

You need power to up someone... If you have power 3 you can up 3 points liddat

RafflesTiger

Hi to all,

Where would be the best place to learn driving in JB if I just want a Malaysian license.. Can advice how much roughly is a mazda 3 in malaysia... Thanks a lot

IskandarRocks

Najib rolls out the red carpet for S'pore SMEs
Iskandar Malaysia to beef up security, improve transport links to draw S'pore businesses

By MALMINDERJIT SINGH
IN JOHOR BARU

ISKANDAR Malaysia will court small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs) in Singapore struggling with high rental and other business costs to establish some or all of their operations there. To help achieve this aim, Malaysian Prime Minister Najib Razak yesterday announced new initiatives to ease concerns about the security and accessibility of the economic region.

MR NAJIB
Announced investment of RM24.5 billion to improve conditions in the Iskandar development region
Mr Najib announced an investment of RM24.5 billion (S$10.2 billion) to improve conditions in the Iskandar development region as well as the rest of southern Johor through 32 projects in three key areas: security, public transport, and physical outlook and infrastructure. According to Ismail Ibrahim, chief executive of the Iskandar Regional Development Authority (IRDA), these initiatives will be used to attract more Singaporeans, particularly SMEs, to Iskandar.

'We will very much look towards Singapore businesses to come here, and this interest is already happening as I have regular contact with the business community in Singapore and whenever I have any discussions, I will consult them,' Mr Ismail said.

He said Iskandar Malaysia would be looking towards attracting businesses that operate within the region's designated economic growth sectors and those that can create skilled jobs and add value to the wider Johor economy. The nine sectors that have been identified as instrumental in catalysing growth for the Iskandar region are: education; tourism; logistics; creative industries; petrochemicals; polychemicals; electronics and electrical engineering; food and agro processing; and healthcare.

Speaking to BT, Mr Ismail noted that with these 32 projects in the pipeline, Iskandar Malaysia could become an attractive destination for SMEs from Singapore, with the cost advantages thrown in. Many SMEs coming into Iskandar Malaysia have already done their sums, but he didn't rule out more sweeteners in the future. 'Any incentives rolled out in the future will be a bonus,' he said.

Mr Ismail explained that from consultations with Singapore businesses, their concerns about the Iskandar region centred around the location, connectivity, infrastructure and security of the place - concerns that he feels have been addressed by Mr Najib's announcement yesterday.

'To improve access to Iskandar Malaysia, we need to ensure that infrastructure is built. If we don't improve connectivity, in 2-3 years, we may face problems for the movement of people and goods from Singapore to Iskandar Malaysia,' he said.

Mr Ismail added that the Rapid Transit System (RTS) was an example of how both governments saw a need for greater connectivity. 'We are targeting the RTS for 2018, probably by developing a tunnel. The RTS could either happen by rail, road or a combination of the two.'

Mr Najib said that the quality and capacity of the public bus system would be improved and there would be better roads to drive on. There would be an integrated terminal and ticketing system for public transport. The taxi industry would be reformed.

This will be followed by other more innovative measures including establishing a domestic rapid rail and water taxi system by 2020, which will involve redeveloping key river routes in the region.

Mr Ismail acknowledged that security is a concern for Singaporeans and so measures have been rolled out to ease these worries. 'In order to ensure that this region can offer an attractive environment for business and investment, we need to look very closely at matters regarding safety and security,' he said.

Adding that a security blueprint with 40 measures had been developed, he pointed out that the crime rate in Iskandar Malaysia had fallen - last year's crime index showed that the crime figures for the region were lower than the national average.

Nevertheless, he pointed out that out of the 32 projects announced by Mr Najib, up to 10 were specific to addressing security concerns. These include an integrated CCTV system and 138 community police posts to be set up by 2020 across Iskandar Malaysia, closer coordination among enforcement agencies and crime prevention programmes.

'An estimated RM14.2 billion, or 58 per cent, of the total investment for these projects (RM24.5 billion) will be fulfilled using public funds, while the remaining RM10.3 billion or 42 per cent, will be contributed by the private sector,' Mr Najib said.

The prime minister was speaking on a visit to Johor Baru yesterday, where he launched the Iskandar Malaysia Economic Corridor Transformation Programme, a programme that includes 27 Entry Point Projects in the tourism, education, and oil and gas sectors.

Along with the security, infrastructure and transportation initiatives, the total of 59 projects unveiled by the prime minister yesterday are expected to attract as much as RM139.3 billion in cumulative domestic and foreign investments, while contributing RM25.57 billion to Malaysia's gross national income (GNI) and creating 68,000 jobs by 2020.

Lord Aragorn

spidey said:
Guys and gals, is the EDL open to public?
I heard it was supposed to be open end feb, but some bros here says it's still not open to public yet...well it's been 2-3 weeks liao, so is it open?

No. I just drove past EDL. Some reports say it will be opened to public next week.

Personally, I find it difficult to reconcile with another report that quoted Najib as saying that only EDL users will be charged. I wonder how they can achieve this without incurring additional construction to build the tolls outside the checkpoints. If they've to build the tolls, how are they going to open to public so soon?

Narmi

Was at the IT Show @ Suntec today. As usual, the crowd was in full force. But somehow the prices are not that different outside. Used to have really good bargains but now feels like the hype is more. In the end didnt buy anything except a couple of bicycles for my kids at Carrefour.

spidey

No. I just drove past EDL. Some reports say it will be opened to public next week.

Personally, I find it difficult to reconcile with another report that quoted Najib as saying that only EDL users will be charged. I wonder how they can achieve this without incurring additional construction to build the tolls outside the checkpoints. If they've to build the tolls, how are they going to open to public so soon?

So no go lah! As usual flip flop decision!:confused:
Planning to go in this sch hol and thot of using it to hv a look at the progress of my place in dato Onn...so ...aiiii:(

greddy88

okay... i just got home.. found one i really like, corner unit with turf, fully furnished (without furniture though) and importantly, way within my budget :biggrin:
and more coincidentally, from the 2 fengshui books i read, the door direction is a direct match to my my birth year:wink:

the agent told me if i want, i should open a check 2% of the total asking price, and addressed to the law firm.

i don't remember reading from earlier threads that 2% is the norm for deposits.. can anyone advice?

Status
Not open for further replies.