• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Living in JB 2 (Johore)

Status
Not open for further replies.

nicholas1213

Bro, how is the speed acceptable ? My children keep complainting about slow speed in Malaysia , they are damn difficult to please . I can live with 56K , dont know why modern kids is so demanding , sibeh jialat .

Yes speed is acceptable, definitely not fantastic - but again depending on the location to see if the signal is strong / weak. I would say the normal package is equal to 2mbps speed in SG (just a rough comparison).

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Jasonjst, when you sign up with most broadband or providers here, they will ask you your area and check for you before you sign up.
This is quite good and most have a 7 day return policy. Just check the fine print if they will overcharge you after you exceed the download
amount allocated (monthly)

I have used quite a few, Celcom and U mobile as well as Streamyx and now upgraded to Unifi (Fiber).
Pretty impressed with the Unifi so far as upload speeds are high too.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
What some friends including myself did is to buy those cheap Acer broadband mobile sharing thingy. A friend who travels alot was thinking to have one mounted in his car powered by one of those onboard power convertors so he has constant wifi for business. I told him then he should start charging. A simple device like a Samsung Galaxy Tab or the new generation smart phones can share a broadband internet connection well as well.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Very good guidance from Nusajaya, you are still able to get a loan, while you can, use it to get something for investment.
Definitely not for cars though which is a depreciating asset unless you really need that many cars or for business.

My staff commented to my wife today that so many Singaporeans are really rich, paying more than what a house is worth
(even not factoring the conversion rate) for a car which one then polishes and cleans every Sunday before having to scrap
or renew COE every 10 years.

Bro Greddy,

Mid Life Crisis has arrived a tad early for you at 40 years old! You will be better off worrying about it now than later. What it means is a bit more serious thinking and planning has to be done going forward. You are ahead of a lot people if you start planning now because I have seen some many friends only relying on their CPF/HDB for children's education, medical bills, retirement with the hope of continue working until the sunset on him. This is indeed a pitiful sight but reality for many.

For you, you've already settled your current home - that's a BIG tick. You are only 40 not 50s or 60s. I fully appreciate your current position of being the sole breadwinner and the vulnerability. You have to come to grip with the fact that things are indeed uncertain, no guarantees, the outlook is alittle dim - BUT hey, nothing has change except for your perspective, has taken a different turn! I have gone through this rabbit hole and pls dont hibernate there too long. It will suck the daylight out of you.

I can tell you from experience, no matter what we say is not going to make sense to you if you dont dig yourself out. Everything will look risky hence, back to the

In any case, pls stay invested and keep investing. You will not go wrong on a long haul regardless where you invest. That will be your answer to your retirement plan but you have to keep investing and investing.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Tomorrow would be our first day in Nusa Idaman as we have rented a house. This wpuld allow to have a look at differen developments and buy a house down the road. Can somone advise a good internet package for Nusa Idaman please (rather urgent)?

If there is anyone else living in Nuda Idaman and want to stay in touch please feel free to do so.

Thanks

Congrats on taking the step and coming out here. Well done. NI is a pretty nice neighbourhood to venture to. :smile:

Avonup

For the MM2H programme only lah . Normal people need to pay tax , but mover can settle for you, I think by giving some kopi lui .
Anyway any bro/sis know of mover to transport one lorry load of funiture from Singapore to JB . Any bro/sis have done it before ?

Thanks. Appreciate if you could PM me the contact.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
What Maxpark said is pretty true, buy in from family especially wife is really critical. The minimum amount across the country still looks to be the same though(happy to stand corrected)

Some links:
http://www.epu.gov.my/guideacquisitionproperties
http://www.epu.gov.my/c/document_li...8c4-1043-47d1-90c1-c3f2f02aea76&groupId=34492

Some incentives for MM2H
http://mm2hmelaka.com/about-mm2h/incentives

More links:
http://www.rehda.com/resources/fic/index.html - This one has earlier and current FIC guidelines.

http://www.rehda.com/bulletin/10/bulletin-1002.pdf

http://www.rehda.com/posts/100115.html

Business investment:
http://www.iskandarmalaysia.com.my/foreign-investment-overview

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Originally Posted by jasonjst
For the MM2H programme only lah . Normal people need to pay tax , but mover can settle for you, I think by giving some kopi lui .
Anyway any bro/sis know of mover to transport one lorry load of funiture from Singapore to JB . Any bro/sis have done it before ?

--------------------------------------
Definitely lots of bros have done this before using a single transport company which handles all applicable "taxes" for you.

Hi Avonup, some bros have shared their links before. As for me? A friend i know recently bought a large MY MPV and asked someone local to help drive it into SG and moved their stuff over here. I have slowly over the years moved in stuff myself as well.

jasonjst

Thanks. Appreciate if you could PM me the contact.

I am waiting for bro darrkie.y for contact lah . Myself have not done it before . Last time I move a little a time using my car , but now wanted to move the whole family across , need tons of moving ! haha ..

Originally Posted by darrkie.y
Hi Jasonjst,

To clarify.. I'm not in mm2h, spend about sgd580 to move my items in jb. This 580 Is for 10"ft lorry space though they use a 20"ft lorry.. My exp is morning 9.30am they cane to pickup my furniture..timing they told me is 4pm they will reach. I waited till 5.30pm for the movers to reach. Their service is pretty good as they dismantle my bed frame in Sg and assemble when they reach my place.

Let me know if you want their contact number =)

abugumgum

Tomorrow would be our first day in Nusa Idaman as we have rented a house. This wpuld allow to have a look at differen developments and buy a house down the road. Can somone advise a good internet package for Nusa Idaman please (rather urgent)?

If there is anyone else living in Nuda Idaman and want to stay in touch please feel free to do so.

Thanks

It is a good move, try before commit.
Happy living!

P1 as recommended by some bros. :smile:
There are down times though, but I have the Digi 3G to back up. But if all service providers are down, then "bo pian". No such occurrence for a year since I used them.

LGLab

@lglab:
i think i'm in a better state as u.. our parents are self-sufficient (thank God they are healthy) and have their own hdb
initially thought of getting a bungalow and have them rent out theirs and stay with us... then dropped the idea cos of the potential conflicts
got 2 kids, lower primary. wife is a homemaker, but a typical singaporean woman (if u know what i meant) :wink:
what i'm doing now is to plan for my retirement and at the same time kids' edu.
at 40, if u have been prudent with your money during your earlier work life, i believe u will have a sum of savings.
only thing is that the next 10-20yrs of earning power will be at risk, if u still need to work for others.

but u and many bro/sis here are more courageous than i am.. think think think.. the boat gone already and i'm still thinking..

yeah definately u are better in term of earning power and status.
I left 1 module to deem graduated from the university.

I am like just starting my career, and this burden came falling on me.

1. Elderly
2. Newborn

what else to expect? Moving to JB to cut cost is the only way for me now i guessed.
At least moving there, i can start saving and can then afford my parents' medical bills.

PROS
1. Maid ( Thanks bro wuqi for pointing that i will be able to hire 1 to take care of elderly)
2. Utilizes would be definately charged cheaper than SG. i cannot image my relative turn on aircon 8 hrs per day cost them $300 SGD on PUB
3. food ( definately cheaper)
4. medical (someone pointed out that i can get Parkinson's disease cheaper in Malaysia). so much on the subsidy that sg government is proving..
5. environment - it gonna be greener with better air.. - only thing is that i gonna try getting more sulfur to prevent invasion of snakes.

CONS
1. bad internet connection.
2. you definately need a car to compute, just in case of any emergency.
3. we cannot just complain like we like, and call the police to handle anything, everything.. lol..

crystal_tiong

Alternatively, u can try the digi 3G. This is for short term solution while u search for the best Internet provider. Whenever I go to Malaysia, I use the digi 3G on my iPhone. And I tether the connection to my iPad as well. It's only RM3 per day, or u can subscribe for a week for RM15. Note that the quota usage is rather low, about 250mb per week. For normal usage such as web surfing etc, it should be sufficient and will tie u over this period while u settle down at the new house. If need more info, let me know ...

Bro Doa

This digi 3G must go to their shop to apply?
Btw, which telco is e best in jb in terms of reception n coverage? Wan to apply line or buy prepaid card to make calls in jb le.
Tks

CameraMan

Congratulations on your move, bro Polarbear.

May I know the reason that you decided to rent a place at NI among other places?

Can reveal the rental?:smile: If not, please PM me.

Thanks

jasonjst

yeah definately u are better in term of earning power and status.
I left 1 module to deem graduated from the university.

I am like just starting my career, and this burden came falling on me.

1. Elderly
2. Newborn

what else to expect? Moving to JB to cut cost is the only way for me now i guessed.
At least moving there, i can start saving and can then afford my parents' medical bills.

PROS
1. Maid ( Thanks bro wuqi for pointing that i will be able to hire 1 to take care of elderly)
2. Utilizes would be definately charged cheaper than SG. i cannot image my relative turn on aircon 8 hrs per day cost them $300 SGD on PUB
3. food ( definately cheaper)
4. medical (someone pointed out that i can get Parkinson's disease cheaper in Malaysia). so much on the subsidy that sg government is proving..
5. environment - it gonna be greener with better air.. - only thing is that i gonna try getting more sulfur to prevent invasion of snakes.

CONS
1. bad internet connection.
2. you definately need a car to compute, just in case of any emergency.
3. we cannot just complain like we like, and call the police to handle anything, everything.. lol..

Bro , where got snakes ? I think you will have a bigger headache to deal with mosies lah .

edragon

I am looking for interest matching scheme type of housing loan and appreciate any advice for suitable banks and terms/conditions/rates.
Thanks in advance.

DREAMorACTION

Sis, only one time registration when u buy a new sim card pack. Very cheap only, somewhere around RM10-RM18, and there will be a stored value of RM5 inside. The registration is needed because the gov said so. just a simple procedure, they will do it for u, can be done less than 2 mins. Your sim card will be activated immediately. For the Internet, you subscribe through your phone as and when u wanna use it. Very easy and simple. But take note that once subscribed, if u choose a daily plan of RM3, it will be automatically renewed the next day, after 11.59pm. So u must unsubscribe if u don't want it to auto Renew. Alternative, don't put so much credits inside. It won't be renewed if u have insufficient credit.

Prepaid 3G for digi is one of the cheapest in JB. No other provider has such scheme of daily/weekly subscription. I har checked around before using digi. It's good coverage and the speed is okay for normal usage. 3G signal might be lost if u go to the remote areas and they will switch u to "EDGE" but is very slow ... All in all, given the price, flexibility, area coverage, I'm a satisfied customer of digi

Bro Doa

This digi 3G must go to their shop to apply?
Btw, which telco is e best in jb in terms of reception n coverage? Wan to apply line or buy prepaid card to make calls in jb le.
Tks

DREAMorACTION

Oh forgot to answer the first part.

Any authorized dealer shop will do.

Since u frequent jusco BI, there is a shop at 3rd floor. Very close to the fitness equipment shop

yonglip

medical (someone pointed out that i can get Parkinson's disease cheaper in Malaysia). so much on the subsidy that sg government is proving..

Yes bro, medication in general are cheaper than in SG. Also there is more opportunity for self-medication as controlled items like anti-biotics is readily available over the counter. So dont need to spend monies seeing GP who basically prescribe the same medicine.

Cheers.

arsenal

Oh forgot to answer the first part.

Any authorized dealer shop will do.

Since u frequent jusco BI, there is a shop at 3rd f miloor. Very close to the fitness equipment shop

Hi bro,
I am keen to know if I have a digi prepaid voice sims, can I upgrade it online or via other means to have mobile broadband?

Cheers

Status
Not open for further replies.