• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Investor

Haha it is always good to secure your roof access though we normally don't... i did not know about this until my landlord told me. Next possible intrusion point we should look at is underground... sometimes the thieves dig a tunnel to get into your house hence not advisable to have garden within house... means those without concrete type... just kidding :biggrin:

Haha this kinda house's design seems familiar to me leh :biggrin:

Investor

Singapore crime watch slogan is "Low crime doesnt mean no crime"

I think JB's crime watch slogan is "High crime doesnt mean every time"..haha.

Hahaha! That's a good one.
By the way Singapore is really good at 'advertising'. The slogan sounds more like telling people about our 'Low Crime' rather than alerting people about 'doesn't mean no crime'.

tutucake

If they have no fear, they wouldn't be wasting their time cutting grilles. They would be walking into Jusco during the day and rob everyone, rob the banks, rape the girls and bring back a few girls in your car as sex slaves, load all the loots in everyone's car in the car park and drive off slowly - one car at a time(laughing loudly when driving off).

Did they do that? Nope.
Why? They fear.

Knowing this, you can reduce your chances of being the next statistic of house break-in by;
1) Getting a unit away from the outer perimeter of the development, preferably in the middle of the development.
2) Install good quality security grilles.
3) Install good alarm system with sensors for movements, cutting vibration etc.
4) Eliminate dark corners outside your house by illuminating it. If electricity charges is a concern, install movement sensors which will activate the Bright Lights only when movement is detected.(Don't be surprised that many landed houses in Singapore have that)
5) Land mines and electric fencing (Just Joking) :biggrin:
6) As Lemans mentioned - Be vigilant, not paranoid.

Nothing can assure 100% prevention, at least chances are reduced.
Singapore's crime fighting slogan - Don't be an easy target!

Alamak... when i say "without fear"... Im not talking abt the extreme to the extend of walking into Jusco and rob everyone.... But i'm sure you have seen videos of robbers walking into coffeeshops with parang and snatching the patrons laptops and ripping off the cash register from the counter.... damn "Chang Kuang"

Do you have a good idea of how much would a good alarm system with all those features you mentioned cost? im now saving $700 per month for my renovation.... will need to budget this in as well... =\

Investor

Alamak... when i say "without fear"... Im not talking abt the extreme to the extend of walking into Jusco and rob everyone.... But i'm sure you have seen videos of robbers walking into coffeeshops with parang and snatching the patrons laptops and ripping off the cash register from the counter.... damn "Chang Kuang"

Do you have a good idea of how much would a good alarm system with all those features you mentioned cost? im now saving $700 per month for my renovation.... will need to budget this in as well... =\

Haha I stated the extreme just to make it interesting mah :smile: and most importantly to highlight that they have fear, not no fear!
Did you see the robbers sitting down for a cup of coffee after robbing? :biggrin: (haha just another extreme)
They ran away quickly to avoid being caught as they are afraid of the consequences too.
So, the loud alarm is to make them run before they even start to rob.
How much? I also dunno :biggrin: Just goggle for it tutucake :smile:

tutucake

Haha I stated the extreme just to make it interesting mah :smile: and most importantly to highlight that they have fear, not no fear!
Did you see the robbers sitting down for a cup of coffee after robbing? :biggrin: (haha just another extreme)
They ran away quickly to avoid being caught as they are afraid of the consequences too.
So, the loud alarm is to make them run before they even start to rob.
How much? I also dunno :biggrin: Just goggle for it tutucake :smile:

LOL.... i think i saw one robber tabaoing a Milo Peng before fleeing.... :biggrin:
Thanks for the info dude.... I will post the info up if i manage to find anything on the internet...

mathstub

Dear Bros and Sis,

Have been out of SG for so many days and have just got a chance to come by the forum to wish everyone here has had a Merry X mas and have a Happy New Year and my best wishes and blessing to all of you who have bought or rented or will buy or rent the properties in Iskandar Malaysia!

DREAMorACTION

For those visited to Horizon Residence, do you share the same perspectives?

Hi, I went to look at it. Price is reasonable and they include good kitchen cabinets and nice floor finishes. What stopped me from thinking of buying was :-

1) if it is meant for investment, the location will lose to the giant tower suites in BI
2) the pool is not big
3) the location is right inside low cost housing, and I have reserve
4) the sales person was pushy and I sensed some fishy marketing tactic. They have been marketing for more than 9 months and some units are still available. When u enquire, they will tell u that only one or two units are available due to the loan application not being approved by the previous applicant. Once u said u don't like the limited selected units, they will leave it for a day and call u the next day to tell u that they are more rejected application coming in and thus persuade u to consider and buy. I mean come on, the price is not that high and yet so many loans were rejected? I just didn't buy it.
5) the developer has yet to proved themselves on middle to high end development. So, that discounted a bit, for me.

Thats Just my opinion :-) don't smack me if my points are being irrelevant. Cheers

DREAMorACTION

Re: causeway link bus

Hi diaspora

U mentioned ni having 10% rebate ? R u sure ? I bought last mth n promotion is 10k discount. That's a great difference!

Hi crystal, I was also being told that it's 10k only. If it was 10%, I will grab it without hesitation. Still thinking if I shall buy at P8b. The 10k promotion will end by end of this month. Argh!!'

jasonjst

Hey wuqi, I can only find ah poo , dun have Poh Near to satu Malaysia workshop....
Anyway he quoted me total rm650 to spray front n back bumpers n side door n repair e dent. he is a young BENG boss.
I think e price is reasonable. Coz I sprayed bumper in sg it's sgd200 Liao.
Jus that I dun know how to kill my time coz I got to wait there till evening. Not too sure is it safe for me to walk to jusco since no car.

Normally you can request the machanic to sent you Jusco . When the job is done , pick you up again at Jusco . This is what I normally do when sending my car for repair at BI area.

jasonjst

Bro, the semi Ds are about 1.3mil to 1.6mil. Phase 1-3 all sold out except for bumi reserves. Phase 4 was launched about 3 mths ago. More than 50% sold, mostly near the clubhouse. You might want to consider bumi release phase 3 for sea facing units. The clubhouse is about 75% completed. Pretty impressive - you should drop by and check it out.

Bro , thanks for info . Just wanted to have a feel of how is market like lah. No intention to buy anything as bullet is limited.

jasonjst

Bro Nusajaya, Diaspora,and others...

thanks for your mind advice.
It is in fact good to ask myself what I need or want.

What I don't need:
- I don't need a place for stay (other than my current place) for next 20-25 years. At least I believe, I should work for this duration.

What I want:
- I want a property for investment
- It needs to easily find tenants.
- Hopefully it appreciates faster than surrounding and probably I can invest for my 2nd property

In case my expectation doesn't work out:
- I may just use this property as holiday home/weekend home.
- and if I'm no more competitive earlier than I thought: I may migrate out earlier and earn my rental income from SG property.

I analysed this whole development over this weekend period and I finally believe:
1) It may take 20-30 years for the whole Iskandar (3x of SG) to fully develop.
2) The 1st 10 years will focus on inner Zone B (East Ledang, Medini, Kota iskandar, Puteri Harbour, Educity)
This is the key of the development. If it succeed, others will. If it fails, others have not much chance to survive.

Therefore I feel it is very important for me to pick property in this region as there will be many business activities in this area which requires housing.
The housing in this area:
- East Ledang is no more affordable for me.
- Puteri Harbour is too expensive
- 1Madini is very interesting. But it is Leasehold and using commercial term (electricity, tax, etc will be higher).
- Ujana sold out.
- Impiana has some available looking as the best candidate in this area for me.

The outer zone B such as:
- Horizon Hills
- Nusa Idaman

are the next on my list. But as it is separated by highway to the city, it becomes less appealing to me. But I have not totally given up on this area unless someone prove me otherwise.

So this morning I went to Impiana Showroom (Nusajaya Centre) and signed a contract by giving RM10k deposit. Pick up the highest available floor (9th) from 3rd phase release.
There will be final phase next year which has 22nd floor as its peak.

I had an agreement that in case I cancel it within 2 weeks and they'll refund me RM9500. So I will only lose RM500. Which is worth a bet and my trip.

View attachment 3274

Bro Impiana seem a good idea ... cheer !

DREAMorACTION

Your first 10 posts will be delayed due to moderation. Subsequent posts will all be immediate.

Oh I see. I thought it was something to do with iPhone. The suspense and delay in posting is not much fun when I'm so looking forward to the replies to my post. The suspense is killing me lol. Thanks for clarifying, investor :smile:

Investor

Posted by DREAMorACTION.

Hi all, just registered and pls bear with me if I'm asking questions that have been well deliberated before. I have read so many pages and I'm not sure I have digested all of it lol

Hi diaspora, pertaining to NI P8b, is the rebate 10% or 10k? I was told by the marketing agent that it's 10k. If it is 10%, it will be a different ball game to me. I think the P8b (with only 10k rebates) is quite steep, for the quality of the finishes that they are providing. I have had 3 sleepless nights thinking and tossing if I should buy i. This will be my first home purchase. If it's 10% rebates, then I will have a different view on it, and I think I will buy it right away.

Concurrently, also looking at the phase 7A (hillside home, not the courtyard). I noticed that for these 2 phases, there are still quite a lot of vacant units (especially the intermediate), despite the fact that phase 7A was launched in may/June and 8b in September. What do u guys think these 2 phases are receiving low response, when the other phases were so well received, and the price is much cheaper than the new launches of HH? And not only that, with the low response, the agent said that from 1st jan 12, there will be no discount whatsoever, and this is consistent with the marketing practice of the other precincts. Is it true? Is it true that for every launch, they will first offer 20k rebates, then 10k and follow by "nothing"? The agent also said that for all new launches, the 8c etc, the prices will increase even more, despite the gloomy economic.

I have really torn as to what to do now (this house is for own stay). Shall I keep dreaming that they will give more discounts (especially for P7A - due to its completion date of June 12 and poor response) or shall I just buy it? Also come across HH the gateway, there are some terraced house going for slightly less than 500k. I'm torn. Both locations meet my needs, so it's now a matter of which one gives me better sentiment, and I'm inclined to choose HH, but I hate going into subsale market as I'm not familiar with it. Have to stress again that Im buying my first home for own stay, so being very cautious in the thinking process. Buying subsale also means I must have negotiation skill and gotta pay all the fees.

I also read that standard chartered bank, UOB, HSBC and public bank are not good. That will leave only banks like cimb, am bank, rhb, alliance and may bank to choose? I'm sure some of u guys have explored the different options. Can some one be nice enough to summarize and direct me to the best and most efficient bank to deal with? I'm looking for flexi payment, earlier redemption of loan without penalty and online payment (extra payment, as and when). From cimb's website, their package seems to tick all my boxes. Any body has experiences dealing with them? Rhb is also possible, but the website says that I can only get 80% plus MRtA is compulsory. I'm a local, do u know if rhb will extend 90% to me instead?

I really do hope u guys can enlighten me and any advice will be greatly appreciated. Much thanks bros and sis :-)

Having boxing day btw :-)

greddy88

vulnerable period is at the initial handover stage when occupants have not moved in.

i believe there are some timer-based system that will automatically turn on lights and electrical stuff at a programmed interval. this will probably give people outside a false impression that the house has occupants.

sggecko

anyone know the price for Nusa Idaman Project 2-sty Terrace/Link House?

do u know where I can see the location map?

thanks.

lastresort

Most of these burglars are professionals and they break and run many times a night. Some come from other states and they will flee once the jobs are done. I know there is a group who stays in a well guarded taman (in the northern side of Iskandar Malaysia), so they might even be your neighbors. These guys drive luxury cars when they are doing their job. Police officers once commented these guys can't be burglars since they drive BMWs.

lastresort

Putrajaya contracts Gemas-JB double-track to Chinese firm

http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/...tracts-gemas-jb-double-track-to-chinese-firm/

KUALA LUMPUR, Dec 27 — Putrajaya has agreed to award a Chinese firm, most likely the Chinese Road and Bridge Corporation (CRBC) with local partner Gamuda Bhd, a multi-billion ringgit contract to build the 197-km Gemas-Johor Baru electrified double tracking project (EDTP), instead of front-runner China Railway Construction Corporation (CRCC), sources say.

The Malaysian Insider understands the project is worth between RM7 and RM8 billion, after it was put under a mid-term review in the Ninth Malaysia Plan. The Gemas-Johor Baru sector would be the final package for the EDTP, with the other sectors being the Ipoh-Padang Besar and Seremban-Gemas lines.

“Putrajaya has decided on China Road and Bridge Corporation after some last-minute lobbying,” a source told The Malaysian Insider.

Another source said the award could be a wrinkle in Putrajaya-Beijing ties as only CRCC is authorised to tender for rail-related projects abroad. “The decision has been made and will be announced very soon,” the source disclosed.

Putrajaya and Beijing maintain very good political and business ties, with China taking palm oil and other commodities apart from a flow of goods being traded under the Asean-China Free Trade Agreement (FTA). However, the Penang Second Bridge project has not drawn down a US$800 million soft loan from Beijing while Putrajaya has also rejected a Chinese firm’s US$1 billion (RM3.1 billion) redevelopment bid for the Pudu Jail land.

But the Gemas-Johor Baru EDTP has always been seen as a project for Chinese companies, the sources said.

The project includes building nearly 200km of parallel railway tracks, including stations, depots, halts, yards and bridges and cover systems such as electrification, signalling and communications. This includes a realignment between Pulau Sebang, Melaka and the Gemas section.

Transport Minister Datuk Seri Kong Cho Ha said in July that the Gemas-Johor Baru stretch was already in the final stage of design but declined to state if the tender would be open to foreign parties when it is completed by end of the year.

He said the EDTP in the northern section was slated for completion by end-2013 and the line to Johor by 2016.

There has always been great interest in Malaysia’s double-tracking project as it was part of a larger Trans-Asian rail link between Singapore to China.

On May 2009, Global Rail Sdn Bhd, a relatively small contractor and its Chinese partner, China Infraglobe, submitted a proposal to Putrajaya to build and upgrade tracks from Gemas to Johor Baru at a cost of RM5 billion. The Business Times reported that the project will be on a private finance initiative (PFI) basis and the plan submitted to the Finance Ministry later in June 2009 was conditional upon signing over mineral rights in Johor State.

Kong said last January that the government hoped to appoint the contractor for the project this year and Malaysia is still in the midst of talking with CRCC but nothing had been confirmed yet. He also said two consultants had been appointed, a design consultant and an independent checker, to monitor the project..

LeMans2011

Most of these burglars are professionals and they break and run many times a night. Some come from other states and they will flee once the jobs are done. I know there is a group who stays in a well guarded taman (in the northern side of Iskandar Malaysia), so they might even be your neighbors. These guys drive luxury cars when they are doing their job. Police officers once commented these guys can't be burglars since they drive BMWs.

There is a guy who drives an old model 3-series staying at my precinct, he parks his car far away from his house and we have many theories speculating why he needs to do that. If you have a BMW, why do you park it far away from your house??? Another guy often drops him at our taman in a new 5-series and they are always very secretive.. i have been watching him. My theory is this guy is a criminal (possibly one of those professional burglars).

I have a pair of binoculars and whenever any car stops for too long nearby i will observe them.
Haven't caught anything so far other than some young couple stopped their car to hanky panky :smile:

Status
Not open for further replies.