• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Bangkok Runroaders, are you ready for the worst flood come next week ?

dietcoke

hi, can anyone update me on the flooding? i'm going to bangkok (i booked the package before the flood), so need to know where can thread, where cannot thread..

some place i'm intending to go : kings palace, dusit zoo, Erawan shrine and if possible, authaya(don't know spell correctly or nt, thats the old siam capital)

hi, can anyone update me on the flooding? i'm going to bangkok (i booked the package before the flood), so need to know where can thread, where cannot thread..

some place i'm intending to go : kings palace, dusit zoo, Erawan shrine and if possible, authaya(don't know spell correctly or nt, thats the old siam capital)
Think most place you mentioned are clear to go except Ayuthaya.

Let's wait for confirmation from the resident BKK specialists. :smile:

Ok, thanks. I'm really surprise about this but it must be a Thai thing:smile:

When I opened my Malaysian account I provided my Spore address. Maybank is actually using the address to send me stuff.

Yo johnny333 I think you also serious runroader open bank account many countries. LOL.

Except for Ayutthaya the rest no problem. I am sure Ayutthaya now dry but because flood damaged many relics so they're closed for repairs. Since you booked package you're advised to check with agent for details.

dietcoke

visit the 9 ruin temple will bring good luck.. which i want to relate to bros in Thailand. this is true. i went to it once, and my last stop was at temple that has a scaled down model of the temple near its entrance. that time was, i think early feb or march.. then i and my friend walk around the ruins, and we found a stone embedded in the ground, that says 0626. know what, the next day, its was 16th, thai 4D. it opened first prize, 062...

so flooding at ayuthaya is high? i wanted to visit the 9 temple ruins again leh...

It's highly unlikely you will be able to do this in Ayutthaya right now. Flood had receded now just pockets of flooding only.

Yo johnny333 I think you also serious runroader open bank account many countries. LOL.

Years ago before I was thinking of leaving paradise I noticed that the interest rate was higher outside Spore. Back then since I travelled alot, I was looking at oppurtunities for better returns by parking funds off shore. Also back then the PAP was taxing interest earned in Spore.

Now my new mission is to find a new & cheaper home:smile:

Years ago before I was thinking of leaving paradise I noticed that the interest rate was higher outside Spore. Back then since I travelled alot, I was looking at oppurtunities for better returns by parking funds off shore. Also back then the PAP was taxing interest earned in Spore.

If u have a hsbc premier account in one country, I think u can open a hsbc premier account in other countries even if ur balance does not meet the premier requirement in these other countries.
Not sure about the branch coverage in LOS though. Can check at their website which has branches by country.

:biggrin::biggrin::biggrin: bangkok condos very cheap leh and if you have lobang bangkok land also very cheap leh . . . . I just bought one in bangkok, 8,000sqft land nothing on it cost less than 3-room HDB new (not open market na) in a cluster housing with big swimming pool, tennis court, gym, lake, 24/7 security. Here also near sinkieland can runroad easily. But then here 3rd world country la some people in this forum kept calling my country of resident poor, dirty, low class . . . . . but I love it leh

If u have a hsbc premier account in one country, I think u can open a hsbc premier account in other countries even if ur balance does not meet the premier requirement in these other countries.
Not sure about the branch coverage in LOS though. Can check at their website which has branches by country.

I'm a long time Citibank customer & I'm sure I could open another Citibank account in LOS. However Citibank is only present in Bangkok.
If I decide to stay long term in LOS, I think it would be prudent to have an account with one of the local banks because I will probably staying outside of Bangkok. Bangkok is nice place but the pollution is a killer:(

i only remember the first citibank was opposite the singapore embassy.....alway lookout for the citibank sign whenever going there

:biggrin::biggrin::biggrin: bangkok condos very cheap leh and if you have lobang bangkok land also very cheap leh . . . . I just bought one in bangkok, 8,000sqft land nothing on it cost less than 3-room HDB new (not open market na) in a cluster housing with big swimming pool, tennis court, gym, lake, 24/7 security. Here also near sinkieland can runroad easily. But then here 3rd world country la some people in this forum kept calling my country of resident poor, dirty, low class . . . . . but I love it leh

What's important to me are the hospitals, clean air, walking space. I've already had a heart attack & my priorities are slightly different from most Sporeans:o
I live in a condo in Spore & to be honest I've never used many of the facilities:wink:

I've done my fair share of travelling & I think there are worse places in the 1st world than 3rd world LOS.

I'm a long time Citibank customer & I'm sure I could open another Citibank account in LOS. However Citibank is only present in Bangkok.
If I decide to stay long term in LOS, I think it would be prudent to have an account with one of the local banks because I will probably staying outside of Bangkok. Bangkok is nice place but the pollution is a killer:(
Johnny, think citibank ATM do not charge THB 150 for using foreign ATM cards. May have change.

But cannot use citibank ATM card on other banks ATM.

i only remember the first citibank was opposite the singapore embassy.....alway lookout for the citibank sign whenever going there

I've only been there once when I had problems with my ATM card. Found out that I was carrying an expired ATM card:eek: Citibank ATM cards used to have expiry dates like visa cards. Glad they now don't have expiration dates:smile:

Oops notice that their cards sitll do have expiration dates :(

Johnny, think citibank ATM do not charge THB 150 for using foreign ATM cards. May have change.

But cannot use citibank ATM card on other banks ATM.

I usually carry cash when I visit LOS but I remember once in Hatyai when I did use my ATM card in a a Thai ATM machine which is part of the PLUS network. Of course I had to pay a fee but it did work.

Looking at my Citicard & I can see that the card is accepted in ATM machines that is part of the Plus, NYCE & Star network..

I usually carry cash when I visit LOS but I remember once in Hatyai when I did use my ATM card in a a Thai ATM machine which is part of the PLUS network. Of course I had to pay a fee but it did work.

Looking at my Citicard & I can see that the card is accepted in ATM machines that is part of the Plus, NYCE & Star network..
Noooooo. if you use your citicard on other bank ATM, you have to pay THB 150 regardless of the amount you withdraw.

I am agreeing with you.:smile:
All banks will charge extra only if you are from a different bank, but not from a different branch.

I know that Citibank has no branches outside Bangkok. That's why I want to open an account with one of the local Thai bank which has branches in places like Pattaya & Changmai. These are the places I am likely to want to stay in.

Soon, we will have new sticky thread _ Living in BK

headed by pi Joe

The JB thread is getting kinda crowded :biggrin:

Many Sporeans are reaching retirement age & they are ALL looking for a place. More & more are realising that they can't retire in Spore:rolleyes:

Sawasdee Krup everyone especially all brothers in Thailand. Now on the way home maid driving so I can suuuurf.

Hey Jonhhy, if you're looking for a nice city with clean air many told me its Chiang Mai in fact many Singapore friends aspire to retire there one day. I went there a few times and noticed that its a foreigner friendly place, many Japanese lives there too. It's got very good hospitals catering to foreigners too and quite a few international schools. Of course if you golf this will be a perfect place. Having said that I personally find that the air in Bangkok generally is now much worst than in Singapore.