• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Malaysian ringgit top loser among Asian FX in first-half, equities mixed

SBFNews

A customer counts her ringgit notes outside a money changer at the central business district in Singapore August 25, 2015. The Malaysian ringgit hit a fresh pre-peg 17-year low on Monday as sustained worries about China\\'s economy dented global risk appetite with European and Wall Street stocks suffering their largest one-day drop in nearly four years. REUTERS/Edgar Su - RTX1PJJ9 , Reuters Images

A customer counts her ringgit notes outside a money changer at the central business district in Singapore August 25, 2015.

Malaysian ringgit top loser among Asian FX in first-half, equities mixed​

The Malaysian ringgit hit a fresh pre-peg 17-year low on Monday as sustained worries about China's economy dented global risk appetite with European and Wall Street stocks suffering their largest one-day drop in nearly four years. REUTERS/Edgar Su - RTX1PJJ9
Reuters Images

For the first-half, the ringgit was the biggest loser in emerging Asia, losing 5.8% weighed by capital outflows
Nausheen Thusoo, Reuters News

June 30, 2023

The Malaysian ringgit was set to log a near-6% decline in the first-half of 2023, leading losses among emerging Asian currencies, while equities in Malaysia and Thailand were the biggest losers in a mixed market.

On Friday, most Asian currencies recovered losses from earlier in the day, with the Philippine peso and Thai baht leading gains with a 0.4% appreciation each.

For the first-half, the ringgit was the biggest loser in emerging Asia, losing 5.8% weighed by capital outflows. It was last trading at 4.670 per dollar, hovering close to a near eight-month low.

"Malaysian ringgit has been an underperformer in Asia given sustained foreign equity outflows. That said, a pick-up in growth could turn around sentiment, and we could see USDMYR consolidating around 4.60-4.70 levels in 2H 2023," Wei Liang Chang, a macro strategist at DBS Bank said.

Equities in Malaysia were set to lose 7.7% for the period, and were among the worst performers in the region.

Next week, the Bank Negara Malaysia will meet to decide on its monetary policy. Analysts at Barclays expect the central bank to leave its benchmark rate unchanged.

https://www.zawya.com/en/markets/equities/m...-mixed-c5d96lwl

tobelightlight

But still i wanna move to Malaysia leh, why har? There must be something attractive about Malaysia and fucked up about sg the i wanna move out of it.

the ringgit still has room to drop....Anwar is doing a good job. he is weakening his ringgit to raise competitiveness of malaysian palm oil.

k1976

Malaysia will need to send it's chiobu to conquer GL200 again.... It is good money De woh

tobelightlight

That is why luckily we are in good hands
Good hands? U lose ur life by getting vaccinated because of pple running the show saying " we just follow the WHO guidelines" but they drop dead. Important to jab so business can conveniently go on to maintain the currency.

They bring in ceca and create social issues so that to top up the losing birth rate that they dun not know how to solve natively. So the currency is good in the expense of social integrity.

Yeah good hands,kee Lan.