• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Status
Not open for further replies.

kennyc

Thanks for the reply Sanur, the deodorized insecticide can be spray to plant? also to wall and windows etc cos those mozzies likes to cling to these places too, thank again.

Hi Linked,

how abt getting mozzi nets? We are using different type of mozzi net for different area. The magnet type for fix location like the door grills and toilet windows.. and we use the corrugated sliding type for access areas, like window, sliding doors and stuff.

Looks very neat, keep the bugs out while still able to enjoy the nice breeze.

checkers

Hi Linked,

how abt getting mozzi nets? We are using different type of mozzi net for different area. The magnet type for fix location like the door grills and toilet windows.. and we use the corrugated sliding type for access areas, like window, sliding doors and stuff.

the magnet types do not help when you are outdoors in the garden :smile:

kennyc

the magnet types do not help when you are outdoors in the garden :smile:

true... for outdoor.. u can try drinking serai drink (home cook) or elder flower drink which u can find in ikea.

mix the elder flower concentrate and mix it with water.. 1 to 6 parts initially, after.. say a day or two.. u can diulte it more and drink it like water, just to get it into ur system.

many neighbours in LF tried and it work for them.... all these are natural extract.... another alternative :smile:

Investor

true... for outdoor.. u can try drinking serai drink (home cook) or elder flower drink which u can find in ikea.

mix the elder flower concentrate and mix it with water.. 1 to 6 parts initially, after.. say a day or two.. u can diulte it more and drink it like water, just to get it into ur system.

many neighbours in LF tried and it work for them.... all these are natural extract.... another alternative :smile:

Am definitely going to try this out. To have a more accurate result, maybe I should breed some mosquitoes myself and try the before and after effect of the drink 

aangsc

agree...have eaten better and more crunchy roti prata ...and nann... ....i think it is the whole atmosphere of the place that draws me there ... a place that is authetic ..good for people watching too ....(not car watching) :biggrin:
Eat@Habib once when I read someone said it is good but I was quite disappointed with their naan,it's so dry, too thick and huge indeed. I still like the one back home at upper bukit timah shophouse.
Nice variety of curry to go with it. The one at jalan kayu also good. Seem limited choice for good indian foods there . Have not seen any nice appam and masala thosai .

Investor

Am having teh tarik, an egg tart and 'wu kok'(yam pastry) in a newly renovated kopitiam in Sg now. The coffee shop's owner did the extension with concrete roof instead of those retractable, soft top shelther or whatever the proper name for it  With ceiling fans everwhere, the place is windy and I'm enjoying the birds' chirping.

I just went to one bank to withdraw some money and brought it to another bank for deposit. I can say that I did it with no fear or worry, have to be grateful that we are living in such a safe country.

Having said that, I don't despise other countries for being unsafe, we came from that stage too just a few decades back didn't we? In the irony, I actually like Johor because it is not as safe as Singapore! It gives me the thrills whenever I'm there with friends or family. Maybe I'm the adventurous kind who finds routine and safe life a bit boring. It keeps my adrenaline pumping whenever I cross the boarder, it keeps my mind active and alert of the surroundings instead of living in complacency in the safety of our environment. I really enjoy seeing the world when I am still physically fit and able to. If we always take Singapore's safety standard as a benchmark, there is really a handful of countries left for us to visit in our lifetime. I would rather take some risk to see the world than to die confining myself in a tiny island, even if it's a paradise island.

checkers

Eat@Habib once when I read someone said it is good but I was quite disappointed with their naan,it's so dry, too thick and huge indeed. I still like the one back home at upper bukit timah shophouse.
Nice variety of curry to go with it. The one at jalan kayu also good. Seem limited choice for good indian foods there . Have not seen any nice appam and masala thosai .

think..for good Indian food ... go to little India in Sg ... u will be able to find very good ones there but pricey as well.

Habib's quality is ok for its cheap price and good service lah :smile:

Sanur

The catholic church at pekan nanas, celebrate with chinese mass every other week, its week 1,3 and 5 if not wrong. There is another church tat hold mass on week 2 and 4, and they are also chinese mass. Not so easy to locate both these church thou.

My wife and neighbours in LF attend Immaculate Conception. Last week was English mass at 8.45am.

Hi

Believe this church near to link one?? How long from LF to church? Tganks

yonglip

Not bad leh..at habib.. first time there on Sunday with a friend who bought idaman.

ordered nann with tendoori chicken...their parsley sauce (i think) got some kick man...

tea tarik good..all in spent RM17 nia for 2 sets...

wanted to try chef wah but afternoon rest.

checkers

Am having teh tarik, an egg tart and 'wu kok'(yam pastry) in a newly renovated kopitiam in Sg now. The coffee shop's owner did the extension with concrete roof instead of those retractable, soft top shelther or whatever the proper name for it  With ceiling fans everwhere, the place is windy and I'm enjoying the birds' chirping.

I just went to one bank to withdraw some money and brought it to another bank for deposit. I can say that I did it with no fear or worry, have to be grateful that we are living in such a safe country.

Having said that, I don't despise other countries for being unsafe, we came from that stage too just a few decades back didn't we? In the irony, I actually like Johor because it is not as safe as Singapore! It gives me the thrills whenever I'm there with friends or family. Maybe I'm the adventurous kind who finds routine and safe life a bit boring. It keeps my adrenaline pumping whenever I cross the boarder, it keeps my mind active and alert of the surroundings instead of living in complacency in the safety of our environment. I really enjoy seeing the world when I am still physically fit and able to. If we always take Singapore's safety standard as a benchmark, there is really a handful of countries left for us to visit in our lifetime. I would rather take some risk to see the world than to die confining myself in a tiny island, even if it's a paradise island.

malaysia in general is a nice place with many beautiful beaches and off-shore islands ... i especially enjoy driving holidays in malaysia ... wonderful family moments and memories ...in fact JB used to be a place we just passed by before heading off to faraway islands, beaches and towns :smile:

Hi Linked,

Hi What is the material for sliding type of mosquito nets and the cost? You have the contact?

crystal_tiong

Not bad leh..at habib.. first time there on Sunday with a friend who bought idaman.

ordered nann with tendoori chicken...their parsley sauce (i think) got some kick man...

tea tarik good..all in spent RM17 nia for 2 sets...

wanted to try chef wah but afternoon rest.

Hi Yonglip

Yr friend bought which prescint ? I heard 7B is going to launch soon

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
CannonFairy - most people here live in Singapore lah...(the title is a little misleading) ... who bought property in JB ...may or may not intend to shift in ... could be for rental or waiting for capital appreciation ... some stay over during weekends ....only a handful actually live in JB ....so only these people can help you :smile:

i can't help you too..i only shop,eat and enjoy life in JB ...and singapore too :smile:

Hi checkers,

I have already replied to your question about flashy cars, again i am not into flashy cars and definitely agree that flashy cars doesn't equate to wealth. There are also individuals who are indeed wealthy and drive flashy cars. I am just now one of them. Like a bro once commented, we drive many cars but no flashy cars. :smile:

Actually there is an increasing number staying here. I started this thread when i first moved my family out here, hence the name, living in jb.

Out of my relatives, friends, colleagues and even tenants, at least 10 families are here now. A colleague of mine parents are here almost full time. I posted some time back about how long someone could last here with 1 million SGD. Its slightly more than 25 years if i am not mistaken and that is living a life with most items like housing, car, maid, medical taken into account.

Expenses are about the same for me as i eat out frequently, only difference is that over here, rather than food court(my area in SG no coffeeshop), i tend to eat at different places. Most of the savings comes from utilities, petrol, etc.

Cannonfairy, a quick breakdown:
Car - Monthly average about 500 MYR for petrol. Varies as i have some cars and some are gas guzzlers. I also lend them to some close friends when they are in town.
Maintenance - Really worth it, fixed a switch for my sisters day running lights for 15 MYR. Meng took my car for 2 days to fix small problems with handbrake, steering wheel and gear shift (bushing change) for a grand total of 50 MYR. Please note that once most of them know you, your prices will remain pretty constant. Folks here even insisted i used semi-syn for some of the cars as they feel that syn is wasted for that type of engine.
Road tax - 90 MYR per car, only one of the cars cost more, the most expensive one is about 800 MYR
Petrol 1.90 for RON 95 and 2.80 MYR for RON 97, i use 97 most of the time (though some of my cars can pump 95 as they are MY cars) but you can save more if you get a MYR car and use RON 95.
If you have a car loan, expect about 400-1500 MYR monthly unless you are tempted to get a flashy car

House - If you have loan, then its about 1000 plus to 4000 thousand MYR monthly to the bank
Maintenance, houses are like 90-130 per house for maintenance
Eating out, expect about 30-40 MYR for cafes for 2 person. If at coffeeshop, per meal for 2 persons are like 10-15 MYR. If prata type then below 10 MYR unless you get Nasi Berani. There are cheaper food options available, if you go for vegetable rice (economy rice), then its about 10 MYR inclusive of drinks.

Bros (I mainly like 2 things about HABIB - One is the nasi berani, another is the murtabak, your mileage varies if you try others as i have not tried some of them myself, nasi goreng is not that bad so is their morning nasi lemak)
Utilities - 200 plus MYR inclusive electricity, water and phone line, gas wise we order per cyclinder and always have 2 at home in ventilated cabinets
Internet - 60 plus, i have 3 lines now, so its 160 MYR for me as i need internet connectivity

Things we save other than fuel, utilities and food:
Groceries
Parking - My friends and relatives all know they can park their cars with me anytime (as long as there is still space)
Hardware stuff
IT stuff
Accessories, modding and Solar film for cars
Books - General
Price of cars

If one has a house and car fully paid up, one can live ok with about 1000 plus RM.
Else you will need about 2000 plus Rm or more.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section

Paiseh, my apologies, that person should be me. I have never tasted their naan but i take full responsibility for the bad recommendation.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
If i may, i would like to suggest to some bros here who may want to save some money by using MY car plates to pump petrol. Its really a big risk even if you are staying just nearby the petrol kiosk. Since you have a MY car, if you really need to save, then get an electric pump and pump it over once you are at home. Don't need to take unnecessary risk.

I am a risk taker but i tend to take those manageable ones.

Bros who drive here, be it SG or MY car plates, please do remember to have your driving license with you.

Someone once berated his sister out of love and duty.

Ah girl, If you can remember to bring your license for driving in the states, what makes it different than in Johore? We are going to another country, hence need to respect their laws by bringing in license.

Imagine what if someone from another country crashes into someone in Singapore and he/she has no license? What then?

Hi what is serai drink? Where to buy?

Hi linked

U might wan to try this, we uses deodorized insecticide which contains synthetic pyrithoid. Mixed it with water n in a commercial spray. We sprayed it when necessary in the garden and the perimeter of outside of yr house. Remember to close all doors n windows first. We are doing it for both Singapore n Jb home. And never experience mosszie than.

Hi for your Spore home, how frequent do you spray this solution to ward off mosquitoes? Once a week?

For cakes and bread, try

* Lavender - cakes and bread are great though not cheap, their kueh lapis is popular

* Seasons - like their pineapple tarts, scones , their ang ku kueh sold out fast

* Bread Talk - slightly cheaper than singapore - nice bread

* Secret Recipes - lovely cheese cakes

Also try Tuti fruiti
- yummy yoghurt which is cheaper than Sogurt in singapore

Yeah Secret recipes cheese cakes are good...tried Vivo in Sutera mall, the Oreo cheese cake and green tea latte are not bad too, cost only around Rm12 for weekend. In Sg, a piece of cake and tea at a cafe in a ulu location cost around Sgd18...

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
If you are like me, travelling in and around Nusajaya and Johor in general with huge amounts of cash, you wont like the feeling once u cross the custom into JB. My relative is a hardcore loanshark in Petaling Jaya and he himself was robbed of a 6-digit cash outside his own house in Seremban recently. The culprits were armed with parangs and masked and easily made off with the cash in less than 30 second. My relative is a burly man .. about 130kg and he too was robbed outside his house. Damn

I am really sorry to hear. Probably travel with family when carrying large amounts of cash. Best not to share with anyone even family members as just in case they talk about it in a coffeeshop and some bad guys hear it. Most of these type of crimes are committed with some advance knowledge at least especially if its in a group. I would drive different cars as well as dress differently and take different routes. I actually had the same feeling when i walked down Orchard road with some of my watches when i took them to service last time.

One thing in my favour though, i look so useless and CMI that most robbers will run away when they see me as they think i will rob them :smile:

I noticed though that robbers will only pick those who they know are wealthy. I travel around most time in uniform or in really CMI type of clothing.
Which probably explains why people do a doubletake when i want to buy good quality bathroom stuff like a jacuzzi or a generator.

Most refuse to give me a 2nd look though and i have to ask very politely again. One time recently, just bought one generator from a neighbouring shop (their opening day, so want to support) to test but the service was so bad plus the generator was with a faulty oil plug (thus spilling Vpower (yes i know its a waste) all over my back seat) I had to wash the car bay at the petrol station as i was worried people will slip and fall. Almost fell myself twice as it was a rainy day.

Worse was, they kept me waiting, then tell me no replacement and they had to order, i cancelled and asked for a refund as they sold me something faulty and most importantly, no one thought to apologise. Black face from the boss when he refunded me. One guy though, did wash one of the seat cover for me as my whole vehicle was soaked with petrol. Before that, their service was really good and i had bought at least 500-1k worth of items from their shop.

Just now during lunch, passed by a holy place and wanted to do what i always do, the guy in charge there was so suspicious of me and kept following me
around. He gave me extra when giving the change and it was only after i chased and gave it back to him then he probably realises i wasn't a crook.

Status
Not open for further replies.