• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Status
Not open for further replies.

mathstub

I have taken the shuttle buses several times entering Malaysia taking my wife and baby in a stroller with me. Every time, we pass by the X-ray scanner in the Malaysian customs, my baby is sitting in the stroller and the officers there say there is no need to put troller and other things to scan because I am with my wife and my baby and let us pass so easily and smoothly. But when I enter the SG customs, they will ask me to put everything to scan and take my baby who is sitting in a stroller away and ask us to fold the baby stroller and put it inside the X-ray scanner.

for everyone in JB commuting this is what I do - usually they are very polite when I smile at them they reciprocate but there is this older man who has a perpetual sour face. there was this time where he was trying to make life difficult. i didn't say much but in a stern voice I demanded his staff number and name to be written down. scared him off, he was like almost pleading with me asking am I going to complain him... After I left in a huff, I cooled down and decided against it but it is good to have these personnels details written down so that you can bring a case against them when they go too overboard.

euphony

This is what I read and heard. Dunno if it's true.
The Chinese ones live in Sutera Utama - the semi detached houses there...very good looking houses from the outside.

i suspect that's because the taman has a very 'wong' Chinese name to it.

on a separate note is there a chinese name for HH/EL/LH/LF etc??? I tried translating LF on my own and it sounds damn farnie :biggrin:

euphony

that's really silly. And mas selamat slipped past anyway...

I have taken the causeway link buses several times taking my wife and baby in a stroller with me. Every time, we pass by the X-ray scanner in the Malaysian customs, my baby is sitting in the stroller and the officers there say there is no need to put troller and other things to scan because I am with my wife and my baby and let us pass so easily and smoothly. But when I enter the SG customs, they will ask me to put everything to scan and take my baby who is sitting in a stroller away and ask us to fold the baby stroller and put it inside the X-ray scanner.

danteakc

To Wuqi advise needed

Life was peaceful ever since I had no neighbours until recently no 78 employ a contractor who has no respect for rules and people property. They exploited the weakness and slackness of the security guards. Security guard no longer patrols Horizon Hill gateway as consistent within schedule time. Previously when the Botak Manager of Security is here any renovation has to be cut off by 5pm if flout the rules their men and head would be refrain from entering gateway without a warning at their HQ. Now all is lost.

They trespass my kitchen garden without proper permission.
They hoist my the other neighbor water hose right across my car poach and into their work area.
And now they boldly push the limits of the security guards eyes by working beyond 6pm. The last I heard before I left for dinner which was 8pm they are still at it. Drilling cabinets.
No one rush them out. No one monitor them after the working time.

How can we ensure that this does not happen to you? How can we let the head of security knows his boys are not doing his job. That they fire the one man that gave peace and assurance to the once safe and peaceful gateway.

I need help on how we can give the committee a warning on their boys. How can we not be a victim of complacent so that we will not have our first ever break in.

Please help Wuqi.
Ps I know I am not in my hometown. I should be wary not to create enemies but what if my children get hurt.

Sanur

Re: To Wuqi advise needed

Life was peaceful ever since I had no neighbours until recently no 78 employ a contractor who has no respect for rules and people property. They exploited the weakness and slackness of the security guards. Security guard no longer patrols Horizon Hill gateway as consistent within schedule time. Previously when the Botak Manager of Security is here any renovation has to be cut off by 5pm if flout the rules their men and head would be refrain from entering gateway without a warning at their HQ. Now all is lost.
They hoist my the other neighbor water hose right across my car poach and into their work area.
And now they boldly push the limits of the security guards eyes by working beyond 6pm. The last I heard before I left for dinner which was 8pm they are still at it. Drilling cabinets.
No one rush them out. No one monitor them after the working time

How can we ensure that this does not happen to you? How can we let the head of security knows his boys are not doing his job. That they fire the one man that gave peace and assurance to the once safe and peaceful gateway.

I need help on how we can give the committee a warning on their boys. How can we not be a victim of complacent so
that we will not have our first ever break in.

Please help Wuqi.
Ps I know I am not in my hometown. I should be wary not to create enemies but what if my children get hurt.

Hi, will it help u talk or email the sales staff whom u bought yr house from? Attached the photos n ask sales for the head/ manager Incharge of the guards, at the same time cc to everyone.

jasonjst

i suspect that's because the taman has a very 'wong' Chinese name to it.

on a separate note is there a chinese name for HH/EL/LH/LF etc??? I tried translating LF on my own and it sounds damn farnie :biggrin:

I think Sutera Utama is one of the first G&G high end taman established at least 5-8 yrs ago and just beside the Sutera Mall . At that time where got Jusco / Tesco , where got HH, EL , LF are all more like forested area. The whole place is like a ghost town at night leh . People will say you siao if you are thinking of buying a house in the area . Hence the better off chinese ( I wont say very rich lah , semi D was around 600K - 700K at most ) just buy there lor , they were quite happy about it and hence more ppls came . Now we got very wide choice already, but time will tell who can service you better in the very long run like 10yrs , 20yrs time. In fact Sutera Utama play a big part in the early days to attract a lot of ppl into this town , just like Temasik recent investment into JB act like a magnet to so many investment .

euphony

I do have some childhood friends, who were spread all over pelangi, sentosa, century garden, melody etc... now most of their parents relocated in there now :smile:

I think Sutera Utama is one of the first G&G high end taman established at least 5-8 yrs ago and just beside the Sutera Mall . At that time where got Jusco / Tesco , where got HH, EL , LF are all more like forested area. The whole place is like a ghost town at night leh . People will say you siao if you are thinking of buying a house in the area . Hence the better off chinese ( I wont say very rich lah , semi D was around 600K - 700K at most ) just buy there lor , they were quite happy about it and hence more ppls came . Now we got very wide choice already, but time will tell who can service you better in the very long run like 10yrs , 20yrs time. In fact Sutera Utama play a big part in the early days to attract a lot of ppl into this town , just like Temasik recent investment into JB act like a magnet to so many investment .

Aisanbo

Ok....why I bought a 3BR condo at Sky Gardens Residences
1. Conveniently off the N-S highway and even more so when the EDL is completed in 2012.
2. Possibility of MTR station nearby
3. Relatively near to Tebrau city area
4. Very near to some fastfood restaurant nearby and is within/near the commercial zone of Setia Tropika
5. Betting for a shopping Centre (with groceries supermart) to set up there
6. Centralized within Iskander Region
7. Good layout & facing. Don't like the sharp layout of the fanciful looking Sky Peaks (also in ST).
8. Condo has better rental returns than landed
9. About rm70k cheaper than alternative intermediate terrace or even other condos in HH (3br), EL (2br) & Seeds (3br) and furthermore unit comes with many things like aircon, kitchen cabinet, appliances, etc.
10. Low downpayment (~5%) and interest absorbed till completion. So no need to pay installment untill completion.
11. Good and Strong Developer - SP Setia
Bad Points :
- There's a worry that if poorly maintained, swimming pool no water and lift not working. Not sure true or not.
- Not in Nusajaya which is the key zone of Iskander
- Depends quite a bit on Pasir Gudang highway but quite jam and not sure will they ever upgrade it
- High end Condo not well tested in JB

That's all for now. When got time, will write about Setia Eco Cascadia.

arsenal

Hi Danteakc,
Which contractor is that, so inconsiderate? Can I have their name?
Rgds

I need help on how we can give the committee a warning on their boys. How can we not be a victim of complacent so that we will not have our first ever break in.

Please help Wuqi.

ODYSSEY

for everyone in JB commuting this is what I do - usually they are very polite when I smile at them they reciprocate but there is this older man who has a perpetual sour face. there was this time where he was trying to make life difficult. i didn't say much but in a stern voice I demanded his staff number and name to be written down. scared him off, he was like almost pleading with me asking am I going to complain him... After I left in a huff, I cooled down and decided against it but it is good to have these personnels details written down so that you can bring a case against them when they go too overboard.

Haha, serve the fella right! Some of these officers, (girls included) thought that they have a lot of authority over us, when they are actually performing the duties of a mere clerk. Just last weekend at Tuas 2nd Link, there was this immigration officer (a young girl actually, in the booth) who tried to put on some airs and was trying to look and sound stern, much like what Wuqi experienced. I think she was trying to impress her lady colleague seated next to her. But I wasnt impressed and I returned her an irated look that speaks, "are you talking to me, cos if you r u had better be polite". I was like, I m old enough to be your father - almost immediately her tone changed. Haha, actually I love putting people at their right places, esp those arrogant, disdainful, snobbish, actsy borak kind. My wife says I am always behaving like a fighting cock! But hey, I think this people deserves it. Like many of you, unprovoked I am actually a very nice guy. : )

IskandarRocks

Re: Investing in Nusajaya

Wow, someone holds a grudge against sales people. I had a totally different experience haha!!!

Call it Grudge, I am ok with that. My point is that, I made a huge commitment to Imperia, and I realize that that I will get my returns in due course. That said, I am definitely going to speak up if they try to bully me around.

BTW, I had no issues with the sales lady, Sadiah. In fact she did a great job in following up and making sure that I had my preferred unit. The problem was with the Manager. Perhaps he was the same guy whom you mentioned, as per your previous post, was 'more interested in selling you a unit that will maximize the dollar that you put in.'

On the brighter side, looks like some of you have had good experiences at Imperia recently. Looks like they are getting their act together. This is definitely a good thing for folks who have invested or are planning to do so.

LeMans2011

This is what I read and heard. Dunno if it's true.
The Chinese ones live in Sutera Utama - the semi detached houses there...very good looking houses from the outside.
The top civil servants live in molek or taman redang ... can't remember the name of the devt... with very beautiful and well guarded bungalows ...:smile:

From my observation, if the big bungalows are any indication, the abode of the rich are indeed spreaded all over. Yes, now that you mention, i do remember now Molek and Redang are names associated with the better properties before the new developments sprout at the west in the last few years. In fact Taman Molek has a lot of higher range selections when it comes to nicer furniture, restaurants, services. You will also find some old bungalows around Taman Pelangi, Taman Tasek, etc. You'll be surprised but even Perling has a bungalow clusters... you can see from google there is a row of bungalows with swimming pool. There are also Taman Sutera Utama and Perdana Fairways (beside Pulai Springs). Not forgetting the bungalows along the hills facing Danga Bay.

But is there any specific area for GCB like our Jervois or Nassim area? I am not aware of an equivalent. I think precisely for this reason, if Leisure Farm, Ledang Heights, East Ledang and Horizon Hills can successfully brand its bungalows as areas for the rich... it would be a draw to these local rich as everyone wants safety / peace of mind for their family.

Puteri harbour

Aisanbo, many thanks.......
Ok....why I bought a 3BR condo at Sky Gardens Residences
1. Conveniently off the N-S highway and even more so when the EDL is completed in 2012.
2. Possibility of MTR station nearby
3. Relatively near to Tebrau city area
4. Very near to some fastfood restaurant nearby and is within/near the commercial zone of Setia Tropika
5. Betting for a shopping Centre (with groceries supermart) to set up there
6. Centralized within Iskander Region
7. Good layout & facing. Don't like the sharp layout of the fanciful looking Sky Peaks (also in ST).
8. Condo has better rental returns than landed
9. About rm70k cheaper than alternative intermediate terrace or even other condos in HH (3br), EL (2br) & Seeds (3br) and furthermore unit comes with many things like aircon, kitchen cabinet, appliances, etc.
10. Low downpayment (~5%) and interest absorbed till completion. So no need to pay installment untill completion.
11. Good and Strong Developer - SP Setia
Bad Points :
- There's a worry that if poorly maintained, swimming pool no water and lift not working. Not sure true or not.
- Not in Nusajaya which is the key zone of Iskander
- Depends quite a bit on Pasir Gudang highway but quite jam and not sure will they ever upgrade it
- High end Condo not well tested in JB

That's all for now. When got time, will write about Setia Eco Cascadia.

aangsc

Please help Wuqi.

security rules are one of those thing I am afraid they cannot withhold for long. Should bring it up to the head of development in Gamuda/UEM, if it cannot be improve , then we shall make a fuss during their launch of new precinct . For those staying there maybe can make it more frequent until they do something right. My only bet when I bought is that they will try their best to show that security is top priority at least until the end of last precinct which is many years in future. Look like I was too optimistic .

Puteri harbour

Maybe the residents should form a resident committee that decide on the employment of the property management team. (like the way we manage our condo in Singapore). This way we can ensure the quality of maintenance and security for the estate.

Cheers,
PH

security rules are one of those thing I am afraid they cannot withhold for long. Should bring it up to the head of development in Gamuda/UEM, if it cannot be improve , then we shall make a fuss during their launch of new precinct . For those staying there maybe can make it more frequent until they do something right. My only bet when I bought is that they will try their best to show that security is top priority at least until the end of last precinct which is many years in future. Look like I was too optimistic .

IskandarRocks

Hi IR, these info are found on this thread. I read that many you here feels that you will be happy if rental can cover 50% -60% of their loan (assuming 50%) financing.

My personal thought is who will be renting IR property since it is not developed yet (not much) and what about the rental yield? i believe most are for own stay. Unlike The Sail, The Sail is built on a developed land (CBD) with infrastructure and office bulidings, mrt station etc. Enlighten me if i am wrong since I am still new to IR region.

Thanks for you view Bluereff!

My opinion - lets not talk about long term as most of us believe that the fundamentals are strong.

In the shorter, 2-3 year timeframe, my personal view is that that rental prospects should be quite good for developments like Imperia, EL, Impiana, etc. We have already talked about some of the driving factors in Nusajaya itself, such as, Students and Professors at Educity, Legoland Executives, Pinewood Iskandar and the Media Industry ecosystem that they are trying to build along. All of these developments are planned to be completed in the next 1-2 years.

However, if the CIQ at PH gets going in the next 2-3 years and they start services from Raffles Marina and Harbourfront, I can see a strong demand from folks working in Singapore as well. The reason why I am saying is that I work for a large fortune 100 company and have friends and business partners in other companies as well. We get a lot of folks who come to work in Singapore for a 3-5 year assignment. They are not necessarily on expat package. I am noticing an increasing interest from some of them who are interested in living in Iskandar and commuting. Their big concern is security and means of transportation as most of them dont drive. This should be taken care of once there is a supply of premium condominiums and they start the ferry services to CIQ.

This model has worked very well in very high cost cities, such as New York, Mumbai, Tokyo, etc. where commuting into the city is very common. Singapore is equally expensive, or getting there. Once a few desirable residential communities are in place, along with means of transportation, this model should work in Singapore as well. These are my thoughts. Would be great to hear what others think.

Status
Not open for further replies.