• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Status
Not open for further replies.

jasonjst

Re: Investing in Nusajaya

TIME FOR REALITY CHECK !

I feel like beating up the UEM Management after reading this. Another thing that pissed me off is they have failed to stop some residents from modifying their house in a super ugly manner, despite the fact that everyone signs a covenant. I visit the construction site at least once a month, i have never seen a local foreman supervising the workers in all my visits. 100% FTs at work. How do you expect quality control? In the end.. you can only HOPE the bunch of workers do not stuff empty coca-cola bottles into your walls.

The only consolation is we bought these properties early, hence i would say... just add 5% to your house price for putting it into decent condition. I dare say, none of the developer in JB are responsible enough to upkeep their reputation. Sadly, these are some of the pitfalls in a less advance countries. We know very well this even happen in Singapore with FEO and some other developers... but there is yet to be any CDL in MY.

Ha-ha, why would people want to spend so much money to modify their house into super ugly look? But it this true, something which I don’t understand :wink: But to be fair there are some owners who do a good job on their modification in the same style/colour as the original architect, and look great.

arsenal

Bubbles formed in China?

The bubbles already formed 10 years ago when there are so many high rise buildings that are built but unused.. Sure the price will drop one day but this news is not really something new to me.. Just don't gear your investment too much..

---------------------------------------------

BEIJING / SHANGHAI - Home prices in China's key cities are falling more quickly as property developers, under increasingly tight cash-flow pressure, are cashing in as pessimistic forecasts are issued for the property market.

Though data from the National Bureau of Statistics show the month-on-month price remained unchanged in Beijing, Shanghai, Shenzhen and Guangzhou from July to September, home prices fell from 30 percent to 50 percent in the suburban areas of these cities.

Chen Li, head of China Equity Strategy at UBS securities Co Ltd, said fluctuations in the property market may pose the biggest challenge to China's economy next year.

"The decline in home prices, I believe, is just beginning. And this price adjustment will cut deeper than was the case in 2008 to 2009," Chen said.

The higher-than-expected price decline has triggered strong protests from earlier buyers.

In Shanghai, nearly 300 agitated people stormed the sales office of a property project in the Jiading district on Saturday afternoon, shouting for an immediate refund as the project price slumped up to one-third since they bought the houses.

The early homebuyers, who purchased properties from Longfor Properties Co Ltd, felt they had been tricked when they learned the average price of the project dropped from a peak of 18,500 yuan ($2,900) a sq m to 14,000 yuan a sq m, Shanghai Youth Daily reported.

Also on Saturday, another group of homeowners gathered outside the sales office of China Overseas Property Group Co in the Pudong New Area protesting the price cut from 23,000 yuan a sq m to 17,000 yuan a sq m, Securities Times reported.

A similar scene played out about a project in the Jiading district developed by Greenland Group, whose price shrank 8,000 yuan a sq m.

James MacDonald, head of Savills China research, regarded the incident at the Jiading district on Saturday as a one-off case.

"It could have been that the developer promoted the project at a price that was too high for the market to accept or it could be due to the individual developer's finances. However as a strata title retail project it represents a relatively unique case," he said.

In Beijing's Tongzhou district, the price of a landmark residential project has been nearly 50 percent off the peak price, triggering a violent conflict between earlier homebuyers and the property developer.

These price cuts that led to these conflicts are an indication of how tight the working capital of the once cash-rich property developers has become, according to Huang Zhijian, executive director of Uwin Real Estate Research Center in Shanghai.

Wang Gehong, president of Beijing Grand China Real Estate Fund, said some property developers are seeking financing from the fund even though they've got all the licenses ready for a sale, a situation that has seldom happened in the past.

"Their financing cost also rose quickly to around 30 percent or even higher, compared with the central bank's 6.56 percent one-year benchmark lending rate," Wang said.

A similar situation is found with high-end residential projects.

Helen Chang, director of Savills Residential Beijing, said that even though the price of high-end luxury apartments is not likely to plummet as other residential units did, it will definitely stop rising.

"In fact, the property developers of luxury apartments are also not optimistic about the market and quickened their pace in launching products to cash in," said Chang.

Upper East Side, a luxury apartment project along Beijing's central business district, for instance, is open for sale amid the sluggish market, with the price of its duplex units around 10 percent lower than the market price of comparable properties at the same location.

According to Chang Zhi, an analyst for Century 21, a US-listed real estate company, the effects of the latest round of policy tightening are stronger than expected.

"Only the property developers who cut prices first and offer a bigger discount could get some cash back," Chang Zhi said.

According to Chen at UBS, because the supply will greatly increase in the fourth quarter, especially in third- and fourth-tier cities, the price decline will be even more obvious around the end of the year.

"Moreover, once people's expectations for property prices have changed, even if the policy on limiting the home purchase were canceled, it is doubtful that people will still rush to buy property," said Chen.

In the past decade, most Chinese have seen buying property as almost a 100 percent safe investment, but now they should be more critical, attaching more importance to the location and the city, Ren Zhiqiang, chairman of Huayuan Real Estate, said at a sina.com forum on Monday.

According to MacDonald, the next two and a half months are going to be particularly difficult for the residential market as it has been reported that a number of commercial banks have reached their loan quotas for the year and will therefore be unable to issue mortgages, while other banks are steadily increasing first-property mortgage rates above the base lending rate.

"This will make it increasingly difficult for buyers unless they are able to buy properties without mortgages," he added.

tutucake

Emery Point condominium residents have filed a suit against listed property developer City Developments Limited (CDL), the main contractors, five subcontractors and the architect, due to many building defects.

The condo's management operation (representing the owners) is claiming approximately S$600,000 in compensation to resolve defects in 17 areas.

These include cracks in walls, lift lobby ceilings damaged by rainwater and a leaking basement carpark, which is situated below a swimming pool.

Opening in the High Court on Monday, the lawsuit is fixed for a 10-day hearing.

Located at Ipoh Lane in the Tanjong Katong area, Emery Point is an 18-storey block of 51 units. The freehold project was completed in 2003 and fully sold in 2007.

Leo Cheng Suan, the lawyer representing the condo owners, said in his opening statement that CDL was aware of the defects. "The plaintiffs are extremely disappointed that CDL, being a public-listed company, did not live up to its social responsibility to build quality homes."

There is Sunway Development in Malaysia, a top quality developer whom was bought over by UEM recently. Any development is bound to have defects and I was believe in luck, whether you are lucky to have a good unit or not. Just like a brand new car, even Mercedes have its flaws too.

I don't know if sueing the developer in Malaysia helps... I heard from some fellow malaysians that it's "waste time waste money"... I bought a terrace at Bukit indah from sp setia... Heard that they uses PVC water pipes... Is this extremely uncommon for Malaysia houses? I know hdb uses copper pipes though....

I know that most new developments now uses metal roof frames.... Guess wad, sp setia still uses timber frames.... That doesn't help especially when the houses r current built in a termite fested area... Does getting the pest terminator guys to spray chemicals help to eliminate the problem forever, or do I have to do it periodically?

arsenal

Just 10m from my house in Singapore, 1 owner tore and rebuilt his house.. I can see very clearly they are using timber for the roof.. Copper piping is not corrosive proof.. Life span is around 10 years... PVC piping is not corrosive and cheaper..
So it might be a bad thing.. Anyone in forum can confirm? Of course for showing area, copper might be better for heated water..

I don't know if sueing the developer in Malaysia helps... I heard from some fellow malaysians that it's "waste time waste money"... I bought a terrace at Bukit indah from sp setia... Heard that they uses PVC water pipes... Is this extremely uncommon for Malaysia houses? I know hdb uses copper pipes though....

I know that most new developments now uses metal roof frames.... Guess wad, sp setia still uses timber frames.... That doesn't help especially when the houses r current built in a termite fested area... Does getting the pest terminator guys to spray chemicals help to eliminate the problem forever, or do I have to do it periodically?

jasonjst

Just 10m from my house in Singapore, 1 owner tore and rebuilt his house.. I can see very clearly they are using timber for the roof.. Copper piping is not corrosive proof.. Life span is around 10 years... PVC piping is not corrosive and cheaper..
So it might be a bad thing.. Anyone in forum can confirm? Of course for showing area, copper might be better for heated water..

Yes I think mostly use PVC pipes , even the main undergound pipes coming into the house is PVC pipes . I think is just too expansive to use coper pipes / stainless steel pipes . Donkeys years ago HDB also use PVC pipes , then change to stainless steel pipes , in the long run the higher cost is justified. In JB I think people have yet to come to accept the higher prices and hence most developer still using PVC pipes.
Also agreed that the timber roof structure can be a problem, but it was been used since hundreds of years back . Only recently , people in JB go away with it as prices of metal structure become lower relative to the timbers . Timber cheaper but more labour intensive and slower to construct. Maybe some expert can tell us how to termite proof these timbers . ?

jasonjst

Bubbles formed in China?

The bubbles already formed 10 years ago when there are so many high rise buildings that are built but unused.. Sure the price will drop one day but this news is not really something new to me.. Just don't gear your investment too much..

---------------------------------------------

BEIJING / SHANGHAI - Home prices in China's key cities are falling more quickly as property developers, under increasingly tight cash-flow pressure, are cashing in as pessimistic forecasts are issued for the property market.

Though data from the National Bureau of Statistics show the month-on-month price remained unchanged in Beijing, Shanghai, Shenzhen and Guangzhou from July to September, home prices fell from 30 percent to 50 percent in the suburban areas of these cities.

Chen Li, head of China Equity Strategy at UBS securities Co Ltd, said fluctuations in the property market may pose the biggest challenge to China's economy next year.

"The decline in home prices, I believe, is just beginning. And this price adjustment will cut deeper than was the case in 2008 to 2009," Chen said.

The higher-than-expected price decline has triggered strong protests from earlier buyers.

In Shanghai, nearly 300 agitated people stormed the sales office of a property project in the Jiading district on Saturday afternoon, shouting for an immediate refund as the project price slumped up to one-third since they bought the houses.

The early homebuyers, who purchased properties from Longfor Properties Co Ltd, felt they had been tricked when they learned the average price of the project dropped from a peak of 18,500 yuan ($2,900) a sq m to 14,000 yuan a sq m, Shanghai Youth Daily reported.

Also on Saturday, another group of homeowners gathered outside the sales office of China Overseas Property Group Co in the Pudong New Area protesting the price cut from 23,000 yuan a sq m to 17,000 yuan a sq m, Securities Times reported.

A similar scene played out about a project in the Jiading district developed by Greenland Group, whose price shrank 8,000 yuan a sq m.

James MacDonald, head of Savills China research, regarded the incident at the Jiading district on Saturday as a one-off case.

"It could have been that the developer promoted the project at a price that was too high for the market to accept or it could be due to the individual developer's finances. However as a strata title retail project it represents a relatively unique case," he said.

In Beijing's Tongzhou district, the price of a landmark residential project has been nearly 50 percent off the peak price, triggering a violent conflict between earlier homebuyers and the property developer.

These price cuts that led to these conflicts are an indication of how tight the working capital of the once cash-rich property developers has become, according to Huang Zhijian, executive director of Uwin Real Estate Research Center in Shanghai.

Wang Gehong, president of Beijing Grand China Real Estate Fund, said some property developers are seeking financing from the fund even though they've got all the licenses ready for a sale, a situation that has seldom happened in the past.

"Their financing cost also rose quickly to around 30 percent or even higher, compared with the central bank's 6.56 percent one-year benchmark lending rate," Wang said.

A similar situation is found with high-end residential projects.

Helen Chang, director of Savills Residential Beijing, said that even though the price of high-end luxury apartments is not likely to plummet as other residential units did, it will definitely stop rising.

"In fact, the property developers of luxury apartments are also not optimistic about the market and quickened their pace in launching products to cash in," said Chang.

Upper East Side, a luxury apartment project along Beijing's central business district, for instance, is open for sale amid the sluggish market, with the price of its duplex units around 10 percent lower than the market price of comparable properties at the same location.

According to Chang Zhi, an analyst for Century 21, a US-listed real estate company, the effects of the latest round of policy tightening are stronger than expected.

"Only the property developers who cut prices first and offer a bigger discount could get some cash back," Chang Zhi said.

According to Chen at UBS, because the supply will greatly increase in the fourth quarter, especially in third- and fourth-tier cities, the price decline will be even more obvious around the end of the year.

"Moreover, once people's expectations for property prices have changed, even if the policy on limiting the home purchase were canceled, it is doubtful that people will still rush to buy property," said Chen.

In the past decade, most Chinese have seen buying property as almost a 100 percent safe investment, but now they should be more critical, attaching more importance to the location and the city, Ren Zhiqiang, chairman of Huayuan Real Estate, said at a sina.com forum on Monday.

According to MacDonald, the next two and a half months are going to be particularly difficult for the residential market as it has been reported that a number of commercial banks have reached their loan quotas for the year and will therefore be unable to issue mortgages, while other banks are steadily increasing first-property mortgage rates above the base lending rate.

"This will make it increasingly difficult for buyers unless they are able to buy properties without mortgages," he added.

Everyone know that the china bubbles were there 2 years back and it is a matter of time it burst , now finally burst liao ! The question is how badly can it affect properties price in Singapore and JB , which is everybody guess. I got a customer who wanted to buy a house in JB a year back but he say that china bubble about to burst so best to wait. But he see price in JB keep going higher and higher , he kangchong and bite the bullet , dont want to wait anymore .:biggrin:
In Singapore , properties sale agents tell me Singapore not affected because the island very small , can never have enough houses for FTs , they come with cash to buy houses , no need loan one . He made me feel like Singaporean is farking poor cant even have money to pay down payment. :biggrin:

Sanur

My house was built on a reserve, naturally there will b termites, insects etc. It was built using steel structural. We love the natural woods for doors n windows frames,but being in our humid weather, inorder to minimize maintenance , we chose wood tone aluminum frames, construct it to the same thickness of wood frames. After years, we change all our wooden floor to wood looking homogenious titles. Being surrounded with greens, it doesn't help to have straw, water hyacinth, some Chinese wood or certain type of wooden furniture as it tends to get moldy. We have change almost all furnitures to those outdoor type. As for paints, be it ceiling or wall, we used outdoor weather proof paints. And we never had problem with water marks, moldy or patches. I plan to change my wooden room floors to wooden looking homogenious tiles when my SIL is doing hers.

Sanur

I know that most new developments now uses metal roof frames.... Guess wad, sp setia still uses timber frames.... That
doesn't help especially when the houses r current built in a termite fested area... Does getting the pest terminator guys to spray chemicals help to eliminate the problem forever, or do I have to do it periodically?

Sueing in Malaysia is a very tedious job, my hub company bought many units of condo in KL, paid a certain sum n project went bust. ( many years ago n it was also joint venture with bank) sued but at the end give up. Business too, collection of debt is a major problem , sue?? Case will b on n on, layman terms.. Like open file n close n many months down the road , same thing happen. At the end of the day, give up.

Sanur

There is no end to waiting, cos when it go down everyone will rush to buy. I paid a one percent for a condo in novena, next day stock market crashed, hub decided to let go of the one percent, I was very unhappy as it's penthouse with very good MBS n fireworks view. His analogy, why buy high when we can buy low later? Am still waiting ( neck very long liao) my analogy, why bother? As we intend to rent out. Which bank will give u the interest as the rental U?

My tots, buy according to affordability.

jasonjst

There is no end to waiting, cos when it go down everyone will rush to buy. I paid a one percent for a condo in novena, next day stock market crashed, hub decided to let go of the one percent, I was very unhappy as it's penthouse with very good MBS n fireworks view. His analogy, why buy high when we can buy low later? Am still waiting ( neck very long liao) my analogy, why bother? As we intend to rent out. Which bank will give u the interest as the rental U?

My tots, buy according to affordability.

Wow forgo one percent of that millions penthouse is quite a big sum of money right ? so wasted leh ...:(

tutucake

My house was built on a reserve, naturally there will b termites, insects etc. It was built using steel structural. We love the natural woods for doors n windows frames,but being in our humid weather, inorder to minimize maintenance , we chose wood tone aluminum frames, construct it to the same thickness of wood frames. After years, we change all our wooden floor to wood looking homogenious titles. Being surrounded with greens, it doesn't help to have straw, water hyacinth, some Chinese wood or certain type of wooden furniture as it tends to get moldy. We have change almost all furnitures to those outdoor type. As for paints, be it ceiling or wall, we used outdoor weather proof paints. And we never had problem with water marks, moldy or patches. I plan to change my wooden room floors to wooden looking homogenious tiles when my SIL is doing hers.

Hi Sanur,

I guess it would be real expensive to change the door and window frames to aluminium...especially to that kind of thickness.... a regular guy like me cant afford that... but i would probably invest in aluminium kitchen cabinets and wardrobes if my budget permits....

i'm so in love with having white brick walls that i wanted to do up one whole piece of my living room wall with white brick inspired veneer... until i got to know that my area is termite vested, i drop the idea...

now my biggest headache is the timber roof structure... i have no means to check how badly it is 'eaten' up.... and i think getting a contractor to re-do the structure using metal will be too expensive... damn pissed with SP Setia....

Grago

Yes I think mostly use PVC pipes , even the main undergound pipes coming into the house is PVC pipes . I think is just too expansive to use coper pipes / stainless steel pipes . Donkeys years ago HDB also use PVC pipes , then change to stainless steel pipes , in the long run the higher cost is justified. In JB I think people have yet to come to accept the higher prices and hence most developer still using PVC pipes. Also agreed that the timber roof structure can be a problem, but it was been used since hundreds of years back . Only recently , people in JB go away with it as prices of metal structure become lower relative to the timbers . Timber cheaper but more labour intensive and slower to construct. Maybe some expert can tell us how to termite proof these timbers . ?
In the US and UK, PVC or CPVC pipes that are rated for heated water use are generally used unless other medium like copper is specifically mentioned. Cost is the main factor.
My house was built on a reserve, naturally there will b termites, insects etc. It was built using steel structural. We love the natural woods for doors n windows frames,but being in our humid weather, inorder to minimize maintenance , we chose wood tone aluminum frames, construct it to the same thickness of wood frames. After years, we change all our wooden floor to wood looking homogenious titles. Being surrounded with greens, it doesn't help to have straw, water hyacinth, some Chinese wood or certain type of wooden furniture as it tends to get moldy. We have change almost Tall furnitures to those outdoor type. As for paints, be it ceiling or wall, we used outdoor weather proof paints. And we never had problem with water marks, moldy or patches. I plan to change my wooden room floors to wooden looking homogenious tiles when my SIL is doing hers.
Thanks for this timely Infor. Wood, be it for flooring or decking purpose is nice and warm but maintainence is an issue. Unfortunately.... :smile:

Sanur

Hi Sanur,

I guess it would be real expensive to change the door and window frames to aluminium...especially to that kind of thickness.... a regular guy like me cant afford that... but i would probably invest in aluminium kitchen cabinets and wardrobes if my budget permits....

i'm so in love with having white brick walls that i wanted to do up one whole piece of my living room wall with white brick inspired veneer... until i got to know that my area is termite vested, i drop the idea...

now my biggest headache is the timber roof structure... i have no means to check how badly it is 'eaten' up.... and i think getting a contractor to re-do the structure using metal will be too expensive... damn pissed with SP Setia....

Hi tutucake,

So sorry to hear yr plight. The problem about termite is long term, like for us, I treated my land my Neighbors too, ( those touching mine) and after building we still sees termites as some of the neighbors seems like keeping termites as pets, they throw waterer spoil furnitures, chipboard, newspaper to name a few. We can treat but very difficult to prevent others, so no choice but to use as little wood as possible, but considering changing the roof structural is important if possible.

jasonjst

Hi Sanur,

How old is your house? How do you know the roof timber is already being attack by termite? Maybe you can call pest control company to termite treat it, as a preventive measure?
I guess houses that are more than 5yrs old mostly use timber roof structure can’t blame SP Seta, it was then the industry norm in JB. Anyway I guess the wooden roof structure can last at least 50yrs or more unless kena termite attacks. If you go to Melaka, you still can see a lot of shop houses with timber floor and roof structure, 100yrs or more still no problem.

BTW now the new design with flat zinc sheet roof, look like factories, ha-ha. But some people love it and think it look cool and modern. Actually these zinc roofs also need to change after around 20 to 30yrs as coating wear off and get rusted. It is also hotter as the roof space between the ceilings is smaller and the zinc sheet conduct heat . The real reasons the developers change to such design is cost cutting and need to rush out the houses to meet the high demand. The old timber roof with ceramic roof titles is very laboured intensive and costly to build now a day.

tutucake

How old is your house ? how do you know the roof timber is already being attack by termite ? Maybe you can call pest control company to termite treat it ?
I guess houses that are more than 5yrs old mostly use timber roof structure cant blame SP Setia , it was then the industry norm in JB . Anyway I guess the wooden roof structure can last at least 50yrs or more unless kena termite attack. If you go to Melaka , you still can see a lot of shophouses with timber floor and roof structure , 100yrs or more still no problem .

Hi Jasonjst,

My house ah... still building leh...hehee.. ready next year sept.... thats why im complaining... new generation liao still uses timber.... Im sure timber roof structure can last... but becoz my house is built in a termite vested area (hear said from fellow Bukit Indah buyers), hence it became a concern for me...

Besides, there has been alot of quality issues with SP Setia houses... from leaking toilets, leaking pipes to falling ceilings :eek:
If the contractors can screw up/cut cost on water proofing, im sure it can happen to the roof structure... wouldnt want the roof to fall on my family members... if that happens...sue who also cant compensate....

arsenal

Ha ha stilling building than how to sue.. Maybe there will be no problem... As I said my neighbour in Singapore is also using timber for roofing in today time.. So what worry us but end up no problem.. Maybe being ignorant is good sometime.. I haven't engaged my contractor and I also started to get worried, but it might end up ok... Just go and do more good deed and hope the heaven will protect u..

Hi Jasonjst,

My house ah... still building leh...hehee.. ready next year sept.... thats why im complaining... new generation liao still uses timber.... Im sure timber roof structure can last... but becoz my house is built in a termite vested area (hear said from fellow Bukit Indah buyers), hence it became a concern for me...

Besides, there has been alot of quality issues with SP Setia houses... from leaking toilets, leaking pipes to falling ceilings :eek:
If the contractors can screw up/cut cost on water proofing, im sure it can happen to the roof structure... wouldnt want the roof to fall on my family members... if that happens...sue who also cant compensate....

jasonjst

Hi tutucake,

So sorry to hear yr plight. The problem about termite is long term, like for us, I treated my land my Neighbors too, ( those touching mine) and after building we still sees termites as some of the neighbors seems like keeping termites as pets, they throw waterer spoil furnitures, chipboard, newspaper to name a few. We can treat but very difficult to prevent others, so no choice but to use as little wood as possible, but considering changing the roof structural is important if possible.

I think roof structure cannot change one , cost a bomb / as good as buiding half a new house ! It is best to do preventive maintainance if you feel that termite is a problem :rolleyes:

tutucake

Ha ha stilling building than how to sue.. Maybe there will be no problem... As I said my neighbour in Singapore is also using timber for roofing in today time.. So what worry us but end up no problem.. Maybe being ignorant is good sometime.. I haven't engaged my contractor and I also started to get worried, but it might end up ok... Just go and do more good deed and hope the heaven will protect u..

hahaha.... okie i will do more good deeds from now onwards.... ur HH house's roof also timber structure meh?

aangsc

Do you still have the contact? Can share?

Bro, sorry I took a while to find the nos. I vaguely remember liao as I used their service once before renting out.
I believe it is on FB now.
http://www.facebook.com/pages/TSCS/109028512503011?sk=info
[email protected]
017-7074546

<tbody>
<th class="label" style="padding-top: 3px; padding-right: 8px; padding-bottom: 1px; padding-left: 0px; text-align: left; vertical-align: top; color: rgb(153, 153, 153); font-weight: bold; width: 125px; line-height: 15px; ">Email</th>
<th class="label" style="padding-top: 3px; padding-right: 8px; padding-bottom: 1px; padding-left: 0px; text-align: left; vertical-align: top; color: rgb(153, 153, 153); font-weight: bold; width: 125px; line-height: 15px; ">Phone</th>
</tbody>

Status
Not open for further replies.