• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Investor

Hi Bro Investor, do you mean houses with golf course view will be launched in the near future in the Hills precinct in Horizon Hills? Are they terrace, cluster or semi-D? Generally the terrace house does not get the Golf course view, right?

Yes you are right, only bungalows in the next launch of The Hills enjoy golf course view.

An intermediate lot (terrace house) with no Golf course view in the Hills precinct in the current launch already costs 800K+ in Horizon Hills. Would you mind sharing your guess for the price of a unit with Golf course view in the next launch in Horizon Hills?

You can definitely judge the value of a house by its ultimate selling price if you are buying it for your own stay as you are the one paying.

BUT, when it comes to an investment point of view, you'll have to judge the value in terms of PSF.
In terms of PSF, the price of a terrace in The Hills doesn't really have such a big gap like the way you see it, as you are comparing ultimate selling price. The terraces in The Hills are much bigger than those in earlier precinct. I didn't do any research in the pricing or size of terraces in The Hills versus older precincts, those are just my views based on my own logic.

Below is HH's statement which further endorses the simple logic of judging value by PSF. HH stated that he got his semi-d for RM 1.2 mil while his friend got his semi-d from the same row at the same time at RM 1.4 mil. So can you say that price increased by RM 200k when both semi-dees were being marketed at the same time?
One of my friends got his along my row for RM 1.4M ( same timing ) but the house is much bigger than mine.

Again for investment point of view, it'll be the best to put in more effort and try to find the best deals in Nusajaya, deals with pricing of 1 year plus ago like what Wuqi had found and secured. For me, I'm not getting a unit in The Hills purely for investment. I'm getting something which I really like and I get to enjoy it for free as I forsee that I'll definitely be able to sell it with profit in future(although the profit, in terms of percentage, will be lower than investing in better deals like what Wuqi
found, but I don't mind). The judgement of a future higher selling price is of course based on many factors.

So my guess, just a wild guess, for the PSF price of the next launch will be between 5-15% higher than present launch. Whereby the ultimate selling price of each unit, whether terrace or bungalow, depends on the size they intend to offer and build.

I still don't understand given the fact that most houses in the Hills precinct (for the past few launches and the current launch) don't have Golf course view, what make them so expensive? Is there anything special about the Hills precinct?

Many have answered your question as shown below in quotes. Additional reason is the one I stated above(compare in PSF).

Another reason I can add is that The Hills precinct is right in the middle of the entire Horizon Hills territory, completely surrounded by the other 12 precincts and gof course. Thus being the most secured location within Horizon Hills itself.

Imagine a robber with parang entering HH's territory from the outer perimeter fencing, do you think he will walk or run all the way trying to reach The Hills by passing thru so many other properties, roads, golf course and finally climbing up the slope to The Hills? Even if the robber drives into HH, there is no road(except if he is able to gain entrance into The Hills Precinct itself) which can let him gain access near to your house for a fast escape.

The Hills is expensive as its about one of the highest point in HH. Its also slightly more exclusive and the heads of the state have some property there as well.

Those in the hill with golf view are bungalow.. and expected to be snapped up during the Nov Isakandar Golf events.. No more semi-D will be built for next 2-3 years.

The hills are expected to come with better furnishing, fiber to the home, alarm direct to the guardhouse etc.. That is why the bangalow are selling 2.5 to 3M.. and corner terrace with land are at 1.1M and above..

From what I heard,
1st stretch of bungalows in The Hills facing golf course = RM2.2 mil to RM2.7 mil.
2nd stretch of bungalows in The Hills facing golf course = RM3.2 mil to RM3.7 mil.
Next launch = I dunno.

As bros here have already pointed out, better finishing and quality as well as better security.
The quality of the neighbours should(assumed but not 100%) be slightly higher and of course
with royalty there means tighter security.

Hi Mathstub,
Mine is not in the Hills.. Even though the link house are more expensive, they are also bigger as well, close to the size of my semi-D... and looked more modern...
I think they are quite solid houses.

yes, it apply to all the houses in the Hills precinct, direct alarm with panic button for emergency too.

They did do it differently for the premium prices. :biggrin:

Yes, in a way, kind of copying EL houses with the panic button.

According to the brochure, East Ledang's panick button not only link to Guardhouse but also to Nusajaya's command centre.

Actually , price there is not that high for the rich and well off . Imagine they can buy sentosa cove at s$30M , what is RM2M to these people .

g3abc

Is the price at approx rm 750psf, for the Imperia ?
Would You know the price for the commercial block - unit price ar Imperia ?

What is better ? Ujana at East Ledang, or Imperia ?
Thanks

Investor

Hi all, thanks for wealth of information. I made a trip to Nusajaya last month and place was an eye-opener. A very nice lady at UEM office took me around and I was quite impressed with the quality at East Ledang but also the infrastructure being built around the place. Having missed the boat on Semi-Ds and Terrace units, I am quite keen on UEMs upcoming condo launches.

As I understand, that have 2 launches in the pipeline, Crescent (likely to be renamed) at East Ledang and Imperia at Puteri Harbour. They did not confirm the price but gave me an indiicative range of RM 400 - 600 psf for the condo at East Ledang and RM 550 - 800 for Imperia at Puteri Harbour.

They definitely more expensive compared to the numbers I saw on the posts earlier. That said, it wuld be very helpful if someone may advise if Imperia's 40% odd premium over East Ledang condo is justified.

Hi IskandarRocks,

You posted the above just 2 months ago and now you've already bought both Impiana and Imperia? Or East Ledang landed plus Imperia? I mean that's great to hear, you are one who acts and not just talk.

Investor

Hi guys,

From Coastal Highway, what is the exit to East Ledang? I don't see any sign along the highway..

Rgds

No need to do any exit along the Coastal Highway because it's at the end of the Highway. Meaning just go straight along Coastal Highway and you'll reach Anjung Mall(outside East Ledang). The sign on the Highway, if I'm not wrong, should be 'Nusajaya'.

Investor

Mine are facing the Gateway and there are no obstruction at all. Therefore I am somewhat shocked ( or pleased? ) that someone has snapped up the "no-view" semis for RM 1.68M when I got mine at RM 1.2M.

Not forgetting the fact that he paid RM 1.68 mil for a unit with full Interior decor. So let's say we minus off RM 200k, he is actually willing to pay RM 1.48 mil for that unit, and it depends on the size of his unit too when comparing value to yours.

arsenal

No need to do any exit along the Coastal Highway because it's at the end of the Highway. Meaning just go straight along Coastal Highway and you'll reach Anjung Mall(outside East Ledang). The sign on the Highway, if I'm not wrong, should be 'Nusajaya'.

Thanks.. Anyone know the direction to the Orang Asli Seafood Kelong from Bukit Indah area?

IskandarRocks

Hi IskandarRocks,

You posted the above just 2 months ago and now you've already bought both Impiana and Imperia? Or East Ledang landed plus Imperia? I mean that's great to hear, you are one who acts and not just talk.

Yes, you have noticed well. I did act fast and picked up a EL landed and Imperia. I was quite convinced about the potential after 2-3 visits. Of course, the wealth of information on this forum was definitely the accelerator. Many thanks to all of you.

For some of you who have questions about Imperia, the price at pre-launch (from what I remember) started at RM 550 psf and goes all the way to RM 800 psf. This one has no bumi units from what I understand. The ones (3 bedrooms) facing the marina are significantly more, on a psf basis, than the ones that face the office block. On the day of the soft launch, they had received payments for around 60 units and were waiting for a wire transfer for another 20 units from Japanese buyers who were looking into the MM2H program. Not sure what the current number after adds and dropouts are. This is out of a total of 250 units. Given that I have not seen a single advertisement, I consider this to be pretty good. As someone mentioned, the full-launch will be in November and they were talking about bumping up the prices.

In terms of the developments, as you all know, Traders Hotel and Indoor Theme Park are coming up fast. I was also told that Legoland is putting a lot of pressure on UEM Land to get the CIQ center going fast so that they can start ferrying in visitors to the theme park once it opens next year. Not sure how soon this will happen but this should help boost the potential.

What is better? Ujana or Imperia? I was asking the same question earlier. Ujana is sold out. The new launch at East Ledang is Impiana. Pricing is different, as it was from RM 400 to RM 600 range. To me, Impiana sounded more like an upper-mid market segment. The targeted residents would be students at Educity. Imperia, on the other hand, is positioned at high end or luxury and the target residents would be professionals and executives. So it really depends on what you are looking at as well as your appetite for risk. Imperia is definitely riskier, as it is more expensive and there are fewer firmed up developments around Puteri Harbour (meaning under construction) compared with East Ledang. My decision towards Imperia was based on the potentailly fantastic views of the harbour, located near future CIQ, and also the quality of finishings as noticed in the show units. Hope this helps.

mathstub

Bro Wuqi, Thank you very much for the info. It makes sense to me when you are helping people and doing good deeds, you can get surprising prizes. I am also helping a lot of younger ones to improve their studies and they are the future of the country.

You find them if you are
1. Well connected

Or
2. In property line

Or in my case
3. Help in some tiny little insignificant ways for others.
All of a sudden, some neighbours or people i know will just drop by,
bringing lots of food and information.

Yes and Yes to both questions. The thing for HH is their Bumi units are sold almost as soon as they come out (released) into the market.
You can definitely get it cheaper versus the newly launched ones. The thing is, you will have a shorter defect coverage period typically but
this differs from developer to developer.

euphony

aiyo very hard to describe and not easy to get to as well. You can go via gelang patah passing by LF or go via PTP highway, at the crucial junction where the 2 roads meet make a turn and follow the road towards the PTP direction. should see a sign 5 minutes in where you cross over a single lane bridge. there are 2. Chinese one on left and malay on right. I have tried the chinese-owned (but halal) one. Food is not life changing but the ambience over the waters is great. not cheap but not expensive either. if i do venture there in the future, I will take down the gps coordinates.

Thanks.. Anyone know the direction to the Orang Asli Seafood Kelong from Bukit Indah area?

mathstub

Hi Mathstub,
Mine is not in the Hills.. Even though the link house are more expensive, they are also bigger as well, close to the size of my semi-D... and looked more modern...
I think they are quite solid houses... however I just want a house with unblocked golf view... if not I will definitely get the unit in the hill..
rgds

Thank you very much for sharing. Glad to hear that you think they are solid houses.

mathstub

Thanks for telling me there is a white brochure. Hope I can grab one of the copies next time I visit there.

yes, it apply to all the houses in the Hills precinct, direct alarm with panic button for emergency too. HH have recently print a thick white brochure for the hills, I manage to grab a copy of it, the details are all in it.

cleyeo

bro, the place is just behind the Taman Laguna. If you use the new highway from Danga Bay, you exit just before the second bridge. turn left, about 250 m, you will see Taman Laguna on your right. You can go there via Taman Laguna, or just continue driving (small road). about 1 km, you turn right, then just drive to the end of the road. There are few seafood restaurant there.

mathstub

You're right. I have almost forgotten we have the ultra rich people to compete buying the properties.

Actually , price there is not that high for the rich and well off . Imagine they can buy sentosa cove at s$30M , what is RM2M to these people .

euphony

bro, the place is just behind the Taman Laguna. If you use the new highway from Danga Bay, you exit just before the second bridge. turn left, about 250 m, you will see Taman Laguna on your right. You can go there via Taman Laguna, or just continue driving (small road). about 1 km, you turn right, then just drive to the end of the road. There are few seafood restaurant there.

ah this is another famous one. i forgot.

maxpark

Anyone using hsbc loan? From the previos post i saw ppl say its nt nice? Mind to share?

My own personal opinion is hsbc service was the best.
Ambank/SCB OK so-so but product no good and no follow-up.
PB promise alot but end up cannot make it.
Maybank the worst, enuf said...

I guess everyone got different experiences lah...

Investor

(Nusajaya, Iskandar Region) From the middle of nowhere to prime waterfront land
Straits Times 8 Oct 11;

Village houses, forests, dirt tracks and palm trees.

That was what greeted Mr Muhammad Aswan, a 35-year-old Singaporean, as recently as five years ago when he visited the area around his family land just outside Johor Baru.

The 0.4ha plot by the waters of the Strait of Johor faces Singapore.

It is in a village in Tebing Runtuh, about 25 minutes' drive from the Johor side of the Second Link highway in Tuas.

His grandfather bought it in the 1960s for RM1,000.

Mr Muhammad's father went on to build a jetty, bought two boats and built several small houses for use by the family, as it has many fishing enthusiasts. Part of the land was cleared for the planting of durian and jackfruit trees.

'There was nothing around here but forests, but things have really changed,' said Mr Muhammad, who works in the service sector in Singapore.

Today, about 2km from the kampung, a new highway cuts through the area. And hectic construction is going on to build theme parks, universities, houses and commercial buildings all around the village.

Change has come about because it falls within Nusajaya, one of five 'flagship zones' of development in Iskandar Malaysia.

About a kilometre away from the Muhammad family land and sharing the same waters of the Strait of Johor is the Puteri Harbour marina, where yachts and luxury boats are berthed.

The rise of these projects as part of the Iskandar Malaysia development has naturally led to a spike in land prices.

About seven years ago, Mr Muhammad said, a Malaysian bank estimated that the family plot, which has the status of agricultural land, could be sold for RM1.5 million.

Today, he reckons that the sea-facing property could fetch RM3.5 million (S$1.4 million).

He bases this on the recent sale of a nearby inland plot of 1.2ha for RM8 million.

The family is considering putting it up for sale as his 62-year-old father died recently and 'no one could really take care of the land anymore', he added.

Mr Muhammad hopes that with all the big Iskandar projects, a government agency or a private developer would see its potential as an idyllic waterfront retreat.

'It's a nice, quiet place to fish or read a book,' he said.

REME AHMAD

Iskandar Malaysia five years on
The Iskandar Malaysia development zone was launched five years ago, with the aim of boosting Johor's economy by attracting a wide spectrum of investments. As it approaches its fifth anniversary nextmonth, The Straits Times looks at how it's faring.
Reme Ahmad Straits Times 8 Oct 11;

NUSAJAYA: Some time next year, frisky American pre-schoolers squealing with delight at the madcap adventures of The Cat In The Hat will join budding doctors and seamen in the education hub that is rapidly taking shape in southern Johor.

EduCity in Nusajaya, a 15-minute drive from the Johor side of the Second Link, has become a popular destination for education providers looking to open new schools and campuses.

Raffles Education Corp, a private Singapore education group, told The Straits Times that when its American school opens next year, it will offer classes starting at kindergarten level all the way up to 12th grade, the equivalent of the GCE A levels.

Apart from the ample land in Nusajaya, one of its key attractions is its proximity to Singapore, where the large number of expatriate families is seen as a potentially lucrative source of revenue. 'There are a few hundred people in the queue for the American school in Singapore,' said Mr Gan Chin Huat, the group's special project director.

To make it more attractive, the group plans to run a shuttle bus service to and from Singapore, as well as offer hostel facilities for older children.

The Raffles group, which has 38 colleges in 14 countries, is one of several foreign education providers that are making Nusajaya the fastest-growing of the five Iskandar zones.

Other players include Britain's Newcastle University Medicine Malaysia and the Management Development Institute of Singapore (MDIS), with plans for a 12ha campus. Marlborough College, the British public school whose alumni include Prince William's wife Catherine Middleton, will open its campus next year.

The sprouting of the schools is in marked contrast to the initial scepticism towards the Iskandar Malaysia project. It was launched along with four other huge 'economic growth corridors', making some observers wonder if there were sufficient investment dollars to make them viable.

And then there was Malaysia's chequered record with mega-projects. Some, like the Entertainment Village and BioValley ventures in Selangor, were ditched after failing to pull in investors.

So, will Iskandar Malaysia meet the same fate?

Five years on, progress in the sprawling and multifaceted economic region has been uneven. The Iskandar region, which covers most of southern Johor, has an area of some 2,200 sq km. Other than Nusajaya, none of the other four 'flagship zones' appears to have created the same buzz or reeled in big foreign entities. It has yet to get a company that's big in business process outsourcing, or the backroom operations of a foreign bank, to come on board.

It is also too early to say whether the newer services being brought in, such as movie-making by Pinewood Studios, and tourist facilities like Legoland would create big demand for skilled labour, said Mr Francis Hutchinson, a visiting fellow at the Institute of Southeast Asian Studies.

'With regard to competition on service quality, Singapore comes out ahead, and with regard to competition on price (such as for call centres), the Philippines will win,' he said. But he added that Johor has always done well with property and manufacturing, and has shown potential in education, health and logistics.

Certainly, there is interest from small and medium-sized industries from Singapore in ventures involving engineering and manufacturing, said Mr Loh Lian Hiang, president of the Johor Baru Chinese Chamber of Commerce and Industry.

By February, cumulative investments in factories from Singapore companies stood at RM3.49 billion (S$1.4 billion), compared with RM517.9 million when Iskandar was launched in 2006, officials say. In the last five years, Iskandar has attracted cumulative investments of nearly RM76 billion. Of this, the government's share is RM6.28 billion - or just 8.3 per cent of the total, said the Iskandar Regional Development Authority.

And of the total investments pulled in, 40 per cent 'have already been spent on the ground for the various projects', said the government agency's chief executive Ismail Ibrahim.

'The development of Iskandar Malaysia is private sector-driven. As such, the government sees its role as facilitating and encouraging investment, rather than just injecting it in,' he said.

For those coming in, Iskandar offers the convenience of being near Singapore, minus its higher costs. Crossing into Nusajaya from parts of Singapore via the Second Link would take about the same time as 'going to Jurong or Changi', said Dr R. Theyvendran, MDIS' secretary-general.

The entry of UK-based Pinewood Studios has raised hopes of benefits to downstream industries. Global Capital & Development, a firm majority-owned by Abu Dhabi investment fund Mubadala, wants to set up a 'media village' next to it to be used by related media businesses.

To be sure, the studios will not be completed until 2013, and much more remains to be done to rev up investor interest and activity in the other zones.

But Mr Ismail, in an interview earlier this year, believes things will pick up once the first phase of major projects comes onstream. These include the medical university, the Johor Premium Outlets, scheduled to open next month, and the Legoland theme park which will open next year. 'People will really see the buzz in Iskandar Malaysia' then, he said.

The big projects

APART from educational facilities, other big projects coming up include Pinewood Studios, Legoland and an indoor theme park featuring Hello Kitty and other cartoon characters. The expected completion dates of the projects are given in brackets.

MOVIE MAKING

Pinewood studios (2013), the same group that produced Johnny English, Batman and Lara Croft, among others, will occupy 32ha of land.

THEME PARKS

Legoland Malaysia (2012)

An indoor theme park (2012), with attractions that include Hello Kitty Town, Barney and Bob the Builder, will be located by a retail mall.

SHOPPING

Johor Premium Outlets mall (to open next month) will have 80 shops offering discounted fare from top brands such as Burberry and Armani.

HOTELS

Traders Hotel, 292 rooms (2012)

Renaissance Hotel, 300 rooms (2014)

Palazzo Hotel and Serviced Suites, 293 rooms (2014)

HOSPITALS

Gleneagles Hospital, 300 beds, 150 suites (2014)

Columbia Asia Hospital, 82 beds (opened this year)

OFFICES AND COMMERCIAL SPACE

Medini Square, 1.05 million sq ft of office space and retail shops (2013)

HOMES

Many new projects have been launched by landowners. These include waterfront homes in Danga Bay (by a Malaysian group of the same name), and Senibong Cove by Australia's Walker Corporation.

Temasek Holdings and Malaysian sovereign fund Khazanah Nasional are planning a wellness township.

Background story

The flagship zones

MOST reports on Iskandar Malaysia tend to zoom in on Nusajaya - large plots of empty land now being transformed into Legoland, university campuses and residential areas. But Iskandar actually has four other 'flagship zones'.

Johor Baru City zone: The area located just past the Causeway includes the Johor city centre, with its supermarkets, hotels and malls that many Singaporeans often patronise. There is also the Danga Bay waterfront project facing Singapore.

Western Gate Development: The Port of Tanjung Pelepas is found here as well as the 2,100-megawatt Tanjung Bin Power Plant. It also includes Heritage Park with its 9,300 hectares of mangrove park suitable for eco-tourism.

Eastern Gate Development: Site of Johor's key industrial hub that includes Pasir Gudang and Tanjung Langsat industrial parks, the Johor Port and the Tanjung Langsat Port that handles bulk cargo and liquified petroleum gas.

Senai-Skudai zone: Senai airport along with an air cargo and logistics park are its key features. Universiti Teknologi Malaysia is also located here.

Iskandar Malaysia in total covers 2,217 sq km, about three times the size of Singapore. Launched on Nov 4, 2006, it is part of the federal government's strategy to turn Malaysia into a fully developed nation by 2020 by lifting per capita incomes to US$15,000 (S$19,500) from US$6,900 in 2009. Incentives include tax breaks and exemptions from the so-called 'bumiputera rules', allowing foreign investors to own 100 per cent of their businesses.

arsenal

aiyo very hard to describe and not easy to get to as well. You can go via gelang patah passing by LF or go via PTP highway, at the crucial junction where the 2 roads meet make a turn and follow the road towards the PTP direction. should see a sign 5 minutes in where you cross over a single lane bridge. there are 2. Chinese one on left and malay on right. I have tried the chinese-owned (but halal) one. Food is not life changing but the ambience over the waters is great. not cheap but not expensive either. if i do venture there in the future, I*€###########1111##

Thanks for the guide, will figure it out..

Status
Not open for further replies.