• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Status
Not open for further replies.

geritan

Hi! Just to share with you some of my experience. I have 2 primary school kid. One is p3, the other is p6. Moving to JB has been an eye opening experience for them. People have warned me about almost anything under the sky from travelling time, to tuition avenue, to travelling stress, etc, etc, etc...

The thing is always be prepared. Have a schedule for everything. Put them to bed early so that they wake up early. Prepare things like uniforms, water bottle, clothings after school, etc... in advance. Think of a place for them to do homework. A place for tuition. A few nice place for food. The rest, just work it out as it goes. Don't think too much. They will be ok. I can do it. So can you! :wink:

Hi, thanks for sharing. Good to hear that all of you are coping well. I have a few questions, hope you don't mind.
1. What time do you reach JB CIQ and what time do you reach Sin side?
2. What time do you leave Sin for JB, any jam? Do you know what time the traffic will start to pile up? My observation is it starts from 5 or 5.30pm. Do you have the Ktm train schedule cos some days my eldest will finish school at 7pm. I thought of asking him to take a train across the causeway and I meet him at City Square.
3. Where do your kids attend tuition, JB or Sin?
Hope it's not too personal. Thanks.

arsenal

I am impressed.. But the kid will get used to it sooner or later..

Hi! Just to share with you some of my experience. I have 2 primary school kid. One is p3, the other is p6. Moving to JB has been an eye opening experience for them. People have warned me about almost anything under the sky from travelling time, to tuition avenue, to travelling stress, etc, etc, etc...

The thing is always be prepared. Have a schedule for everything. Put them to bed early so that they wake up early. Prepare things like uniforms, water bottle, clothings after school, etc... in advance. Think of a place for them to do homework. A place for tuition. A few nice place for food. The rest, just work it out as it goes. Don't think too much. They will be ok. I can do it. So can you! :wink:

arsenal

Such policy has no effect on foreigners but it sure affect the Singaporeans... What if they need to downgrade and they can only afford HDB? Sucks...

No idea how they check but i don't believe they can check! Just look at how many fake degree holders they let in and you can judge for yourself. They can't even check properly to know these overseas qualification people declared are fake, how to trust them to check properly overseas property ownership that people don't even declare?

When PRC/Indians say they don't own property in China/India, how are they going to comb the data of these countries' numerous states/cities/towns/provinces/villages etc to confirm? Don't say China/India, i don't think they can even comb Malaysia!

The conclusion is this policy - like the previous single PR can own HDB flat policy - is again biased and favouring foreigners who have it easy to own multiple properties at their home country and HDB at the same time, while Singaporean will not be able to own private property and HDB at the same time in our own country.

limmcd

Not exactly true. If I'm not wrong, Seeds is going at mid $3xx psf.

Personally, I dun think people prefer condo becos of it's high-rise but more due to facilities, security and cheaper.
If a bigger size landed terrace with clubhouse and security is at same price point as the condo, I would go for the landed.

June-11
The Seed @ Sutera Utama, located on a 19.02 ha land site, comprises 1,230 residential units, ranging from garden suites to penthouses. The garden suites include three-storey Garden and Duplex Suites, as well as six-storey and nine-storey Boutique Suites, with a floor area ranging between 1,240 sq ft and 2,390 sq ft and prices starting from RM558,000 to RM1.2 million.

Property prices are going up in Nusajaya my friends...

euphony

I don't know about bats in LF but squirrels and monkeys are spotted regularly at LF ...it's like living in Botanical Gardens :wink: And the trees are mature and green. The setting is very natural .
Personally I like the place a lot but a family member finds it too quiet ... and a hassle to travel around Gelang Patah town and the PTP road for home and out. :(

checkers, u're an LFer too? :smile:
it is indeed quiet! when i tried playing some music on my iTunes, I walked out to the car porch to grab something off the car and I can hear it reverberate through the street.

euphony

Can you share the contact Infor and your after move assessment of the movers? It would be appreciated by all here.....!

Ok! though I'll just say it right here that I don't get anything for referring. I call the boss encik. MUST be able to converse in malay. RM300 for a small lorry. 013-7272337
The furniture I shifted are for my temporal use before being shipped off to another place, it did suffer some scratches and chips but which i am ok with. They provide an as is service because they are really cheap if you want your furniture protected better do it yourself prior to their arrival with your own bubble or shrink wrap or boxes. For the undemanding this is as good as it gets. Hope this short review helps!

checkers

checkers, u're an LFer too? :smile:
it is indeed quiet! when i tried playing some music on my iTunes, I walked out to the car porch to grab something off the car and I can hear it reverberate through the street.

i almost became one lah ...been there a couple of times to show at the show units ... even stayed at garden court for one nite but due to the above stated reason , did not go ahead with booking ...

euphony

me will be moving in this dec. so how is it now that you move back to JB? do you miss living in sin? do you have kids? i'm a bit concern that my kids will complain about the commuting between sin and jb to school daily from next term.

hey there! i hope your transition will be smooth, get help here on the board if you're in need for some directions.
As for your questions, in part I want to be closer to my mum and also have a better quality of life on a stretched dollar.
I don't miss sg (except for its design centric furniture and gourmet grocers). No I don't have kids. Perhaps try renting a temporary accommodation to ease them into the routine? Perhaps tell them why you want to shift and make their stay in JB enjoyable. They may grumble especially when it comes to waking up in the early morning but they might be looking forwards to coming home afterwards. (Becomes a pull rather than push)

euphony

Cathy, I salute you for being so systematic with tenacity. Very good role model for your kids and other board users too!

Grago

Ok! though I'll just say it right here that I don't get anything for referring. I call the boss encik. MUST be able to converse in malay. RM300 for a small lorry. 013-7272337The furniture I shifted are for my temporal use before being shipped off to another place, it did suffer some scratches and chips but which i am ok with. They provide an as is service because they are really cheap if you want your furniture protected better do it yourself prior to their arrival with your own bubble or shrink wrap or boxes. For the undemanding this is as good as it gets. Hope this short review helps!
Good one Bro. Very much appreciated, I'm sure by all also :smile:

euphony

Hi, thanks for sharing. Good to hear that all of you are coping well. I have a few questions, hope you don't mind.
1. What time do you reach JB CIQ and what time do you reach Sin side?
2. What time do you leave Sin for JB, any jam? Do you know what time the traffic will start to pile up? My observation is it starts from 5 or 5.30pm. Do you have the Ktm train schedule cos some days my eldest will finish school at 7pm. I thought of asking him to take a train across the causeway and I meet him at City Square.
3. Where do your kids attend tuition, JB or Sin?
Hope it's not too personal. Thanks.

Hi Geri, perhaps whilst waiting for Cathy's answers, you can go to page 243, some of the things are covered briefly, I vaguely remember another forummer also shared about his experience driving his school going kids too. hope the info will be valuable for you.

Such policy has no effect on foreigners but it sure affect the Singaporeans... What if they need to downgrade and they can only afford HDB? Sucks...

That's me lor. :( Yeah, trust this highly talented, multi-millions paid govt to come up with such stupid policy that only allows people to upgrade but not downgrade - people can retain their HDB and buy private property after 5 years of staying in HDB, but people cannot retain private property and buy HDB after 5 years of staying in private property.

arsenal

That's me lor. :( Yeah, trust this highly talented, multi-millions paid govt to come up with such stupid policy that only allows people to upgrade but not downgrade - people can retain their HDB and buy private property after 5 years of staying in HDB, but people cannot retain private property and buy HDB after 5 years of staying in private property.

True.. out of the 1-2 million PRs working in Singapore, since they have CPF that cannot be withdrawn, I don't see any reason why they don't utilise the money to buy some properties like HDBs.. If prices go up, they can sell.. if prices crash, at most they can just forfeit the CPF that they can't withdrawn anyway.. I will be surprised if they don't own any properties in their country.. and it is impossible to check their ownership..

I don't understand why the govt policies are always biased against the locals.. If I want to retire in JB and I have a sum of CPFs that are kept by govt, why can't I use it for HDB? If HDB is really affordable housing for the poors, that is fine.. but HDB is not budget housing.. it is up to the market rate and some HDB are even better built than private..

arsenal

yeah in LF though I am not sure if its a fruit bat or blood bat, i guess if its the later it would've come straight for my blood :p

You need to have a big cross, a hammer and big nail beside your bed... In case bat come for your blood... :smile:

abugumgum

Heh heh, why not Batman and Robin? :p

I have viewed LF before and my wife told me there are bats there, although I did not see one myself. So she is right.

You need to have a big cross, a hammer and big nail beside your bed... In case bat come for your blood... :smile:

yeah in LF though I am not sure if its a fruit bat or blood bat, i guess if its the later it would've come straight for my blood :p

euphony

June-11
The Seed @ Sutera Utama, located on a 19.02 ha land site, comprises 1,230 residential units, ranging from garden suites to penthouses. The garden suites include three-storey Garden and Duplex Suites, as well as six-storey and nine-storey Boutique Suites, with a floor area ranging between 1,240 sq ft and 2,390 sq ft and prices starting from RM558,000 to RM1.2 million.

Property prices are going up in Nusajaya my friends...

i passed by during peak hour, the traffic in and around is not for faint hearted with road queues as far as the eye can see. the area as a whole is not bad with plenty of amenities and nice developments under the same brand.

euphony

sigh, its really frustrating that social development and policies seem to be lacking behind even as SG moves forwards in infrastructures with gleaming concrete towers grow up. :(

Status
Not open for further replies.