• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Status
Not open for further replies.

arsenal

Hi Seri,
Good info.. and thanks for sharing..

Ok. we cool now.
Wanted to contribute to filter discussion before I got sidetracked.

Water Filter.
Saw some huge tanklike installations outside a few houses. But after thinking thru it,
I gather the best is a faucet filter.
1. Its installed right at the very end of the supply chain.
2. Bypass feature so you can choose to filter only for potable needs.

Quite a few selection of faucet filters here in Johore and Spore diy shops and big marts. I am not into those brands claiming dubious health benefits, zooming in only on reputable brands offering straight water filtering properties.

1. Panasonic PJ-225R. Price RM119. Made in Japan. Old model but cheapest so far. Filter canister lasts 700 litres. Replacement Filter price RM28 for 2pcs. Canister has little see thru window. New model Japanese made faucet filters cost about $300 and above.

2. Waterpik by instapure. Brand known for water implements. $79 and above. Available at best Denki. Most attractive design. For those those with stylo mylo kitchen don't want to spoil the sleek lines with white plastic blob hanging off the sink tap, the F8 is your answer. Nice chrome look to match your tap.

3. Gurgle by Hyflux. $100 in Sing and RM250 in My (no arbitrage opportunity). Replacement canister $46. Lasts 1200 litres. After all water filtration is Hyflux' raison d'etre, they don't do anything else. Proprietary membrane tech. Your best bet.

For best results run water thru the filters a few sec before filling your jug or kettle everytime. (Water collects at the canister). If going on holiday, unscrew canister, put in ziplock bag and keep in fridge (not freezer).

Another topic..
The top of the line Astro subscription.

If you are thinking of subscribing or upgrading to Astro Beyond PVR. You get HD and a recording settop box that allows you to record 2 channels or watch 1 channel while rec another channel at the same time.
BUT, the big but they don't tell you at signup is, they need to run 2 coax cables from dish to your settop. Most households have been wired with only a single coax run.

Just a heads up so you can factor this in your home reno wiring, else engage comms contractor to install diplexors and such if you have already moved in and don't want ugly wiring on your wall.

Grago

Ok. we cool now.Wanted to contribute to filter discussion before I got sidetracked.Water Filter.Saw some huge tanklike installations outside a few houses. But after thinking thru it,I gather the best is a faucet filter.1. Its installed right at the very end of the supply chain. 2. Bypass feature so you can choose to filter only for potable needs.Quite a few selection of faucet filters here in Johore and Spore diy shops and big marts. I am not into those brands claiming dubious health benefits, zooming in only on reputable brands offering straight water filtering properties.1. Panasonic PJ-225R. Price RM119. Made in Japan. Old model but cheapest so far. Filter canister lasts 700 litres. Replacement Filter price RM28 for 2pcs. Canister has little see thru window. New model Japanese made faucet filters cost about $300 and above.2. Waterpik by instapure. Brand known for water implements. $79 and above. Available at best Denki. Most attractive design. For those those with stylo mylo kitchen don't want to spoil the sleek lines with white plastic blob hanging off the sink tap, the F8 is your answer. Nice chrome look to match your tap. 3. Gurgle by Hyflux. $100 in Sing and RM250 in My (no arbitrage opportunity). Replacement canister $46. Lasts 1200 litres. After all water filtration is Hyflux' raison d'etre, they don't do anything else. Proprietary membrane tech. Your best bet.For best results run water thru the filters a few sec before filling your jug or kettle everytime. (Water collects at the canister). If going on holiday, unscrew canister, put in ziplock bag and keep in fridge (not freezer).Another topic..The top of the line Astro subscription.If you are thinking of subscribing or upgrading to Astro Beyond PVR. You get HD and a recording settop box that allows you to record 2 channels or watch 1 channel while rec another channel at the same time. BUT, the big but they don't tell you at signup is, they need to run 2 coax cables from dish to your settop. Most households have been wired with only a single coax run. Just a heads up so you can factor this in your home reno wiring, else engage comms contractor to install diplexors and such if you have already moved in and don't want ugly wiring on your wall.
Hello Batok
Glad matter is resolved and moving on. Good piece of Infor both for the filters and the Astro.

Investor

Ok. we cool now.

Water Filter.
Saw some huge tanklike installations outside a few houses. But after thinking thru it,

Quite a few selection of faucet filters here in Johore and Spore diy shops and big marts. I am not into those brands claiming dubious health benefits, zooming in only on reputable brands offering straight water filtering properties.

1. Panasonic PJ-225R. Price RM119. Made in Japan. Old model but cheapest so far. Filter canister lasts 700 litres. Replacement Filter price RM28 for 2pcs. Canister has little see thru window. New model Japanese made faucet filters cost about $300 and above.

2. Waterpik by instapure. Brand known for water implements. $79 and above. Available at best Denki. Most attractive design. For those those with stylo mylo kitchen don't want to spoil the sleek lines with white plastic blob hanging off the sink tap, the F8 is your answer. Nice chrome look to match your tap.

3. Gurgle by Hyflux. $100 in Sing and RM250 in My (no arbitrage opportunity). Replacement canister $46. Lasts 1200 litres. After all water filtration is Hyflux' raison d'etre, they don't do anything else. Proprietary membrane tech. Your best bet.

For best results run water thru the filters a few sec before filling your jug or kettle everytime. (Water collects at the canister). If going on holiday, unscrew canister, put in ziplock bag and keep in fridge (not freezer).

Another topic..

If you are thinking of subscribing or upgrading to Astro Beyond PVR. You get HD and a recording settop box that allows you to record 2 channels or watch 1 channel while rec another channel at the same time.
BUT, the big but they don't tell you at signup is, they need to run 2 coax cables from dish to your settop. Most households have been wired with only a single coax run.

Just a heads up so you can factor this in your home reno wiring, else engage comms contractor to install diplexors and such if you have already moved in and don't want ugly wiring on your wall.

Wow Batok Seri, that's really a comprehensive and detailed info. Thanks for your effort in this contribution.
From the above, one can easily see that you are an intelligent and highly educated individual. More importantly, like most Malays, peace loving and forgiving =)

mallow

Hello All: I am seriously considering to move to JB, can someone recommend a good development with security (perhap terrace or semi) that are price around RM500K? Obviously HH is out of reach for me as it is too expensive ...Any suggestions and comments are greatly appreciated. Any that are nearer to 2nd link would be ideal as I work near Jurong. Thank you in advance.
Can you wait for three years?

THE IMPIANA'S LAUNCH IS SUNDAY 25TH SEPTEMBER ... tentative name was The Crescent
Saw the three show flats yesterday ... certainly worth a visit - can you believe they already have 15 cheques for a full 10% down already? Both Malaysian and Singaporean purchasers.

The sales manager told me that the studio apt about 600 sq ft is abt RM300,000 so only for sale to Malaysians, since the lower limit is RM$500,000 for foreigners.

The cost for 2/3/4 room apartments is from RM$470 - 490 per square foot. Penthouses are about RM890 per square foot! Sales Packages will include :-

1) Free legal fees on S&P
2) Air-Cons to all rooms (all bedrooms, living and dining xcept bathroom and maid's room)
3) plaster celing fitted with downlights
4) Shower screen in all bathroom except maid's bathroom
5) Built-in wardrobe in master room only
6) Engineered timber flooring in all bedrooms

Important point: only two blocks are being released. After these are sold out, the next release is 10% higher. The three show flats [studio, 2 & 3 rooms] are ready for viewing - modern and sparkling. This being Malaysia, going before the 25th is possible,and no one will swear at you for being in a rush if you are simply polite.

When the highway is ready before the end of the year [already looking tantalisingly ready!] it will be 7 minutes to JB town and No Tolls!

Tell UEM you hear it all from me!

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
A few friends went around house shopping these couple of days. First some updates:

There are still terrace houses available in Nusa Idaman and Nusa Sentral.
Nusa Idaman is because its the new phase. Selling quite well. The semi-ds
that they are marketing are selling for 880k RM and above.

They gave me the following updates:

Nusa Sentral houses(terraces) are selling pretty well.
Nusa Duta still has some Semi-Ds that are about 800k.

Next phase for Nusa Duta clusters starts from about 750k.

My neighbours have went into the market, i may go into
another one or two as well.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Hi idwish,

For your budget, if you are into landed units, you can still get easily from:

Nusa Idaman
Nusa Sentral
Setia units around Bukit Indah or nearer the first link

cathylmg

Peace be to all. :smile: Its finally the weekend

Wife and i had a restful day today, took her out shopping, sight seeing and massage. Just don't feel so well lately, probably not sleeping well because of additional work coming in.
Lost balance and had a bad fall the other day so pain all over. As dim as this candle may burn (and i don't know when it will go out) but i still see and have hope in people to do the right thing.

Btw, its amazing but seems like even Mr Lee has seen the light.

Oh! Please take of your health bro Wuqi. Must take care of this shrine of existence in ordered to enjoy the fruits of your labour.

It is amazing to be able to do so much things in such a short time frame for the benefits of other people. Bro Wuqi, 你活该会发财! :biggrin:

cathylmg

Peace be to all. :smile: .......
Btw, its amazing but seems like even Mr Lee has seen the light.

Mean they are ready to sell/rent to you people liao. I get the feeling that they are always one step ahead... Same as the shuzhuo industrial. When they finally ask you go, they have already been there long ago... :biggrin:

cathylmg

Ok. we cool now.

Glad to see things settle bro Seri. Hope to learn from your contributions as well. :smile:

Water Filter.

Another topic..

Good info. Thanks for the contribution. :smile:

Luckily you mention it here. I have been thinking of whether to instal antenna or the dish. Have been putting it off, again because ds having his psle this month. Don't want to give him anything to indulge himself in. Will go around shopping next month then. :smile:

Investor

A few friends went around house shopping these couple of days.
My neighbours have went into the market, i may go into
another one or two as well.

You must have made a lot from stocks market recently, but you don't seem like a shortist(short seller) to me :biggrin:

mintosh

Hi all. New here - and interested in all issues regarding moving to Johor. Heard this was the place to be - and sure enough - found lots of good information.

But still confused - about expat on Singapore work permit - working in singapore and living in Johor. So - I wouldn't need an MMh2 visa to do this? Can just travel back and forth on visa?

Sorry if this repeats earlier questions - if someone could point me to proper thread, that would be great.

Mintosh.

cleyeo

Hi idwish,

For your budget, if you are into landed units, you can still get easily from:

Nusa Idaman
Nusa Sentral
Setia units around Bukit Indah or nearer the first link

went and saw Nusa Idaman, I think its quality is not that good.
Also went to see Bestari Height, personally,, I like this best !!! the cheapest unit is RM560K for cluster 32" by 75" intermediate unit. The corner will be higher due to the extra garden. their semi d show unit is also open to public now !

matx3315

Also went to see Bestari Height, personally,, I like this best !!! the cheapest unit is RM560K for cluster 32" by 75" intermediate unit. The corner will be higher due to the extra garden. their semi d show unit is also open to public now !

May I ask, What do you like best about Bestari Height?

LeMans2011

huh.. i tot the semi-D show unit opened for ages liao. The strong point is the very deep and long car porch/driveway. If you are ok with the environment then it is fine.

Inception

Malaysian govt to consider limiting home purchases
Sep 13, 2011 - HomeGuru.com.my

The Malaysian government may impose a one-house-per-individual restriction, according to Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri Yaakob, Minister of Domestic Trade Cooperatives and Consumerism.

He said that any individual who wants to acquire a second home must sell his /her first house and that the government is studying the possibility of approving only 10 percent rental increases for houses once a contract expires.

“Since there is no rule to control the rental rate, some owners increase it by 100 percent,” Ismail Sabri said.

He said that a room in Kuala Lumpur has a rental cost ranging from RM300 to RM400 and added that only the affluent can afford to buy eight to 10 houses to be rented out to those who cannot afford to purchase their own homes.

“The owner would then increase the rental after the contract expires after two years,” said Ismail Sabri.

http://www.homeguru.com.my/property...sian govt to consider limiting home purchases

tansi

good food
If you like mutton berayani, then I have a recommendation. Went to Mydin supermart at Ledang Height today and had lunch in the canteen annexed to mydin. There is a store with a signvoard "middle eastern food". I ordered "lamb mandy" and it was super. It is similar to mutton berayani, minus oil and curry. So good that I ordered another portion to take away, microwaved it as dinner. It tasted even better fresh out of the oven as the fragrance of the rice was strong. I also had chicken kebab and it was delicious too. A set of lamb mandy is RM10. Two chicken kebab cost RM8. Only a few stalls were operating in the canteen and it is easy to spot the said stall.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Very unlikely to imprement such things. More likely they will curb lending on 2nd , 3rd loan to 70% or maybe 60% lah .

Asked around a couple of days back and got the same conclusion. They would likely curb the lending and even if they need to go further, it will likely be on certain value/types of property. Example, below 300k. They will be very unlikely to force one to sell any existing ones. Just on the next purchase, one has to sell ones own. Affecting mainly new purchases.
Won't really affect folks who only need one house.

If they implement this for all types of housing, It may also mean some folks would be going after bigger houses since if one house is going to be the norm, then they might as well get a bigger one.

Status
Not open for further replies.