• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Status
Not open for further replies.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Grago, i am not Tai Ko, i am but just a Xiao Di (Hia Di), unloved by his government and even his father as well. My dad admitted to my staff very recently that he never expected his useless son who he never invested to do well. Needless to say, he hope they (my sisters) will succeed more than me.

My wife and principal related this to me yesterday, reminded me of the song my wife chose for me for my dad when i brought my parents to Hong Kong, Taiwan and US.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nEUxqyjoPCw

Sometimes, no matter what you do, you will never do enough. Still, the son you detests most may well turn out to be the son that loves you the most. Most insulting was my wife dedicated the 12 lotus song to me, everytime i kenna problems from the family. So many people just see your success now, they never saw your shedding of blood and tears or working 2-3 shifts just to pay off debts not of your own. Bros, if a lousy person like me can succeed, you can too. Background is never an excuse, just do it and show it to them. Self-pity is just part of the healing process but you need to do have action. Don't just dream, live your dreams. Do what you want, it doesn't have to necessarily be in MY. "Xiang Dao Da Ming Tian, Xian Zai Jiu Yao Qi Cheng"

Few people are fortunate to reach self-actualization in their early years and Singapore being such a materialistic society means that most have to fend for themselves, that is not a good reason though to automatically discount everyone you see. Some reach success at 20s, some in their 30s, some in their 40s and beyond. No comparison required as everyone has their own pace, we will all get there sooner or later. There are already some who are thinking to serve others at age 25. Just because you have seldom met good people in your life doesn't mean they don't exist. You just haven't met them yet.

Skippy

Wow Bro Wuqi... this is so infomative and surely would be of great help to me though i'e yet to get the keys to our house... U are so so sweet to share this wif all of us... i'm sure these sale persons you met are nice hence sharing this. I'm so thankful!!

Xie Xie ni... :smile:)

Grago

Grago, i am not Tai Ko, i am but just a Xiao Di (Hia Di), unloved by his government and even his father as well. My dad admitted to my staff very recently that he never expected his useless son who he never invested to do well. Needless to say, he hope they (my sisters) will succeed more than me.

My wife and principal related this to me yesterday, reminded me of the song my wife chose for me for my dad when i brought my parents to Hong Kong, Taiwan and US.

Sometimes, no matter what you do, you will never do enough. Still, the son you detests most may well turn out to be the son that loves you the most. Most insulting was my wife dedicated the 12 lotus song to me, everytime i kenna problems from the family. So many people just see your success now, they never saw your shedding of blood and tears or working 2-3 shifts just to pay off debts not of your own.

I hear you Bro. One learns to live with it and carry on with one's life and family. My kids are my joy together with my wife, I have what I need in and I shouldn't ask for any more.... As I surely hope it's your good fortune to have met your wife and have your own family. As I have been told "learn to be at peace with myself and not to strive to meet the expectations of others least the effort to achieve those expectations cause discord and disharmony to all those that you hold dear around you" It's much easier to be given that advice. It's been a bumby one trying to achieve it.

I'm sure I speak for all the regular contributors here in saying that the manner in which you have extended your unselfish and gracious help would not detract you from being addressed as Tai Ko/ Tua Koh - Hokkien pretty rusty:smile:

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Hi Euphony, actually they close both eyes and there is no QC involved in it at all.

Hi Skipply, thanks, you are too kind. The nicest person is actually Marcus from IJM Land for Nusa Duta. He is actually the kindest and most appreciative to us. Shows me what a good company IJM truly is with staff of this calibre.

Used to have another one (formely from HH) who was the nicest but we are no longer in contact unfortunately.

Skippy

Sometimes, no matter what you do, you will never do enough. Still, the son you detests most may well turn out to be the son that loves you the most. Most insulting was my wife dedicated the 12 lotus song to me, everytime i kenna problems from the family. So many people just see your success now, they never saw your shedding of blood and tears or working 2-3 shifts just to pay off debts not of your own. Bros, if a lousy person like me can succeed, you can too. Background is never an excuse, just do it and show it to them. Self-pity is just part of the healing process but you need to do have action. Don't just dream, live your dreams. Do what you want, it doesn't have to necessarily be in MY. "Xiang Dao Da Ming Tian, Xian Zai Jiu Yao Qi Cheng"

Few people are fortunate to reach self-actualization in their early years and Singapore being such a materialistic society means that most have to fend for themselves, that is not a good reason though to automatically discount everyone you see. Some reach success at 20s, some in their 30s, some in their 40s and beyond. No comparison required as everyone has their own pace, we will all get there sooner or later. There are already some who are thinking to serve others at age 25. Just because you have seldom met good people in your life doesn't mean they don't exist. You just haven't met them yet.

Da Ke Wuqi...
It's painful when your most dearest Dad said this to someone else outside the family... just reminded of my mom saying me being stupid in my teens when we bumped into a nice neighbour asking how all of us r and my studies while in the lift. I got so upsad that once the lift landed, i questioned am i that stupid?? or the real problem is something else.. so i asked my mom back why she must say this infront of others?? She replied we must learn to be humble... w/o hesitation my response to her was being humble doesn't mean need to claim me stupid! I then say if pple ask me my mother good anot... i should be humble and say no good lah... cos this is humble which my ma taught... i guess it's old thinking by saying this would not make u look or sound too proud. But think about this... isn't it's a great thing to know and appreciate that you have a loving kid that loves his Dad no matter whether if the kid has got the best school results or earning the most.. it matters is the true from the heart. Got such a heart it is more worth than gold.
You did your best and may even exceed the others (siblings/friends) always striving to your most best... heaven got eyes... just know as long you do with your heart... the rest no matter who, what says won't hurt you. I'm constantly reminding myself this too... (being the only child oso got this kind of problem.. )
Jia jia you ben nan nian de jin... ren yao xue wang hao de kan! Yen chian jiu hui yi pian kwang ming le... Jia you jia you jia you!

cathylmg

For restaurants with internet, Ali Cafe, Crystal Pearl Cafe, Station One Cafe, Maid Cafe is a bit weird but cute.
The Ali tea with tongkat ali is really nice
Old Town service has been quite surly of late unfortunately....
:

Wuqi bro, may I ask which one has vegetarian food in their menu pls? Thanks for the tip. :smile:

cathylmg

Da Ke Wuqi...
It's painful when your most dearest Dad said this to someone else outside the family... just reminded of my mom saying me being stupid in my teens when we bumped into a nice neighbour asking how all of us r and my studies while in the lift. I got so upsad that once the lift landed, i questioned am i that stupid?? or the real problem is something else.. so i asked my mom back why she must say this infront of others?? She replied we must learn to be humble... w/o hesitation my response to her was being humble doesn't mean need to claim me stupid! I then say if pple ask me my mother good anot... i should be humble and say no good lah... cos this is humble which my ma taught... i guess it's old thinking by saying this would not make u look or sound too proud. But think about this... isn't it's a great thing to know and appreciate that you have a loving kid that loves his Dad no matter whether if the kid has got the best school results or earning the most.. it matters is the true from the heart. Got such a heart it is more worth than gold.
You did your best and may even exceed the others (siblings/friends) always striving to your most best... heaven got eyes... just know as long you do with your heart... the rest no matter who, what says won't hurt you. I'm constantly reminding myself this too... (being the only child oso got this kind of problem.. )
Jia jia you ben nan nian de jin... ren yao xue wang hao de kan! Yen chian jiu hui yi pian kwang ming le... Jia you jia you jia you!

Wuqi bro, pardon me for saying, by the music on youtube that you have posted, and no matter how much you have tried to pacify yourself, I can still feel the sourness. After all, who wouldn't?

Wuqi bro, we are brought together by our own kharma. People around us are either your creditors or your debtors. If not our path will be parallel and we will not come together. Creditors can become debtors, and like wise debtors become creditiors. Don't take things too hard upon yourself. Nothing lasts forever. At the end of the day, its only our own kharma that we bring with us to our coffins. Others not important. Hope you be happy and stay happy! Always!

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
There is a coffeeshop, 88 i think, on the way to HH, this has a vegetarian stall if i am not wrong. There is another one, at the CW3 bus terminal, open mainly in the evening though.

Thanks for your kind words Cathylmg, it was really bad in those days, what is the issue though is no matter how much i prove to them or treat them well, its still like that, even today. My dad would seldom think whether i have eaten even when visiting but will use the money i gave him to buy food for them. He will buy for everyone, except me.

Its either that or every conversation i have involves money. Yes, i must have been a terrible person in my previous life, probably killed many or was a MIW in order to have this continued retribution even until today.

vincentck

The exchange at Bedok interchange beside the Bata shop and the 4-D still has the highest rate for those living in the east.

Cathy, you are so right! I went to the Bedok interchange money changer and saw 2.45 vs the 2.445 at Chinatown. Will consider going there to change money now since it's only 20 mins from my workplace. Thanks.

contra

Going to JB tomorrow by 2nd link ...

1) is the new ron95 rule really strictly enforced yet ? Any friendly stations?

2) Is the traffic back to normal without the fingerprinting blockup?

Have a friend who is from NZ. In the days before MACS, he measured carefully and did a "template" of the immigration card and printed out in thick black ink all the answers for the immigration card and kept a stack in the car, which he then just needed to sign and date. It was not difficult to do and we too did that for quite a while too. Give it a try?

Thanks, will consider. You use what program to do the template? Excel? All printers can print on the white card?

Going to JB tomorrow by 2nd link ...

1) is the new ron95 rule really strictly enforced yet ? Any friendly stations?

2) Is the traffic back to normal without the fingerprinting blockup?

Went to Jb today, traffic is normal. No finger printing.

Fridge and aircon you will need a genset like what bro Jason has replied.
You might get away with a large UPS unit for a small fridge but airconditioning
normally not unless you get the 13amp type of air con units like that of the portable brand, Splendid. This type of aircon does save electricity though somewhat noisy.

Gensets are also noisy, i was exploring having some type of wind/solar power over here so i can take myself or reduce the burden on the grid. Then again, everytime i suggest this, my boss at home will shoot it down, saying i will waste more money than i save given that these technology are still expensive and utilities here are reasonable.

So i basically have UPS units for:

Critical desk/stand fans
Tv and Astro
Critical Printers
Critical fax machine
Critical lights
Internet modem/wifi backed up by Celcom broadband - That way, i can fall back to using laptop and remain working for at least 8 hours even after a power outage with the Celcom broadband plugged in.
2nd floor DC powered water pump, can still bathe :smile:

There were about a total of 8 power outages in my 2 plus years here, none really bothered me. Sometimes, my wife had to come and tell me, else the beeps from the UPS units would remind me.

Stairs, i use those self powering on types from Philips that would just power on when they sense movement, good for emergencies or times when i don't need to switch on the lights.

Thanks, Wuqi. Oic can't use Ups for air con and fridge...how much is one Ups?

BTW, yesterday my estate got a SG young couples rented a house for 3.5K from my MY neighbors’. Seem that these people are testing water before taking a plunge leh . Last time, only senior citizen will buy for retirement leh! New twist, really?

Is Rm3.5k for fully furnished, partially furnished or unfurnished unit?

hpy090909

how do you guys handle your mails from singapore companies ? example singtel mobile lines , LTA letters etc ? do they send to malaysia address ?

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Hi hyp, some of my friends go back weekly, some fortnightly to collect mails, etc.

Hi Ginfreely,

UPS one unit, cheapest is about 70-110 SGD. You can also get better ones with surge protection, etc and prices ranges from 150 SGD to 600-above 1000 depending on the type.

For a unit at $3500 RM, it should be fully furnished. That is not 100% true though and depends on the place and location, another SG neighbour just rented out out his semi-d place at 5k in HH, empty.

Status
Not open for further replies.